(2008/07) July 2008

Hi mummys

wanted to share my scary thursday story..I am just 16 weeks so I did the triple test last Friday and then on Thurs morn, clinic called me said results positive for risk of down syndrome..I broke into cold sweat!
So few hours later, I am at the hospital, doing amnio..initially, very brave (cos was alone, hubby traveling) but when doc showed ultrasound of baby I burst into tears and sobbed non-stop all throughout the amnio procedure.
I think in hindsight, good thing I was crying cos I did not see the needle going into tummy which would have traumatised me further :p
Anyway, whole Thursday I was pretty miserable, all these thoughts of the results running through my head.
Happy to say, on friday late evening, clinic called and say everything is OK *yay* and baby is confirmed little Girl *double Yay*
so advise to all mummy's out there, try not to jump into conclusions till final results are out and if possible, bring friend along to help hold your hand throughout procedure if hubby not around
Happy weekend everyone!

congrats to you cin bunny for having a healthy little baby girl! I guess we all can't help but worry and panic, but all's well now so be happi!!

lately I've been starting to worry to coz weight have not been increasing and the tummy doesn't seem to be growing... but I try not to worry...next visit to gynae's on wed 30th..can't wait to see my little baby then..

dor dor
Fengshui lots of 'sects' one hahaha. and while some believe in putting pics etc, others dont. they find it too minimum to change or affect? no idea. Forget liaoz. but the pic v 'shen Qi' man. Think u can put up on auction and said its power is to 'give kids'.

cin bunny
best is to know that BB is fine.

yoho mummies

me went for my scan liaoz. Gynae said can eat yusheng. but i still dont know BB gender lehhhhh but at least gynae measure BB neck n said normal. think BB position gd to see the neck. How does BB face for mummy/gynae to see gender? also horizontal or vertical? BB is horizontal / beech? position today. Not good position to see gender although BB legs wide open as what i told BB from days/wks ago. hehhee

Btw, i checked with the counter. package starts at 5th mth. $800. exclude blood test or what. Then i think add up all this abt $1000? since blood test $180+? is yr gynae ard these prices? hmn then my gynae charges (delivery) all i dont know. hehhee. What else....... Oh i was reading some threads n they said mummies have to go hospital like TMC to go for detailed scan later in 16th wk or is it 20? i dont know leh. But the counter girl said gynae will do it at his clinic. So no need to go elsewhere. I think its good. Less troublesome plus its my gynae who do for me.

i forget to ask hmn.... the album given by gynae for the ultrasound scan pic is like few pcs of pper? mine is compliments from meadjohnson. its not like photoalbum to slot in but to paste the pic. but err, the pics are pasted side by side. wont they stick together?

my husb was telling me that when he asked me if i want to scan the pic earlier, i actually told him 'who will scans these pics?' hahahaha

jang, when's your due date again? so didn't get to see baby's gender today huh...probably next visit can see liao...

about the scans.. mine didn't stick together, but after a few years it will fade..think most of us actually take a picture of the scan to keep a more lasting picture of it haha.. I heard laminating or photocopying/scanning may destroy it coz of the heat (thermal paper right?) not too sure but didn't dare take the risk..

Was at suntec but couldn't find the maternity shops there (thought I read there's lots of maternity shops there?)

went to dorothy perkins marina to look for skinny jeans too but didn't find any either.. only one last pair size 14

Due date is Aug liaoz leh. Ya maybe next visit if BB cooperate can check.

oic. i think i will scan too. it looks better than thermal paper but better dont take the risk.

i went metro and they have dorothy perkins but no maternity wear. so i finally managed to buy 1 blouse. $59 but with 20% disc. I bought the largest size. Size 14 so that I can wear later on too. However, parking at Lucky Plaza is $15++ from 11am to 5pm+. SO EXPENSIVE so like never save leh. Go Far East so many pple and not really for us to buy the clothes. The shirt/blouse quite short/small size too.

I also read that Suntec has a level full of maternity shop. I think they relocate to certain place so have to find.

The Suntec maternity shops are at the Happy Kidz area which is on level 3 I think toys r us there.

I'm very disappointed with Dorothy perkins maternity now leh so little choices n only a few places carry them now. I bought quite a few in '06 when I was expecting my #1 n was so happy I could get nice n inexpensive maternity wear there n that was at the Bugis branch small outlet too. But that day I went to the marina branch n was so pathetic can't even get a simple singlet.......sigh
Think I have to stick to my old stuff or go check out Topshop for their maternity next week liao.

hey cin_bunny

really glad to hear about your good news. phew .. that was such a traumatising experience for you right !

Jang

I also got that album from Enfa but I did not stick the scanned pics in case both of them get stick together. I intend to put in my bb album in future.

i went for gynae visit today too.
Bb is 166g now .. dr says weight is slightly over 4 mths though I am in week 16 now.

oh and he tot my bb is a boy cos we saw something there today eheh to be confirm on detailed scan.

My gynae always recommend detailed scan in TMC in week 20. The detailed scan will takes about an hour and the report will be generated within 10-15mins.

I have schedule the visit to my gynae on the same day as detailed scan so that I can bring the report to him for explanation.

wah ur gynae package a bit ex. Mine is $600 starting at 5th mth too.

I have a le blooming chic voucher (maternity & nursing wear shop at delfi orchard) to let go. value at $60. going on sale for $50.

anyone interested can let me know, please PM me.

Miracle,
I'm going start my diet on the 6th mth.
Last time, GD was detected on the 7th mth when my bb's weight overshot the average.
but i don't binge now, its just that now can still take mee pok and instant noodles. later cannot leow.

Finally, 2 more days to seeing my baby again.
can't wait to see the gynae.

hopefully he got a cure to my itchness.

anyway, i am now facing constipation and gum bleeding when i brush my teeth.
it bleed alot. kinda scary.

hi jeanyard,

why can we eat meepok & instant noodles now, but not later? what does meepok contain?

had cravings for instant noodles and felt so guilty after eating them once...

hi Qing... so you are going to see your baby on wed too huh? I can't wait either..

eat more fruits n vege n fibrous stuff to ease the constipation...

have a good week ahead mummies!!

dor dor
maybe for #2 u must make hb more hands on liao. i keep reminding hb that cos he never spend enough time wiht #1, #1 dun wan him at night. so must make the effort for #2 if not history will repeat itself.

cin bunny
congrats on your healthy little baby gal! wow u r really brave. m sure your little gal will be a brave gal too next time!

me having a very bad digestive system recently. always very bloated. do u know whether i can take some digestive enzymes to help me with it?

SY
why dont u drink Yakult/Vitagen/Yoguhurt/Oats for yr bloated sys. Honey also ok. Gynae said can take Yakult.

SereneYap
I didnt paste the chinese decor. I asked my mum but she straight away said DONT PASTE. alamak. so i pass my MICKEY MOUSE to her....... *heartache* So cuteeeeeeee

Qing
because our gums are more weak during pregnancy. Think softer. So also more prone to bleeding. I also have. esp since i dont brush at night

Then at later stage gum diseases/bleeding gum can lead to early labour. Has been proven by reports so brush carefully, floss etc lor

Mee Kia/Mee POk
I was told not to eat too much mee because they put one substance in. Not v good.

I feel like eating laksa but husb said cannot.... i also scare later buy liao only smell only and cannot eat (cannot take the taste). Sianz

jang
i m having a cough so can't take the cold stuff. hee i dun like oats..though i keep telling my son it's very nice.

re yellow noodles
think they are not too good cos of colorig? some pple can be sensitive to food coloring. i still take them though.

i also want to eat laksa. i think shd be ok. maybe dun eat the 'hum'?

Qing
I just saw Dr han on Fri and he say if having constipation should stop taking The OBmin for awhile. Think the multivitamin is too heaty.

SY
I also crave for laksa and sometimes i eat some of the hum too caused cannot tahan...

Jang
Actually i also want to buy chinese decor to paste but got prior warnings from hubby not to buy. He say better play safe then regrate later.

laksa,
ohh... i still eat wor laksa wor. Just tat i eat less hum nia.

CNY Clothes
hmm, i went shopping on Sat. Couldnt find anything. Went Dorothy Perkins,cannot find anything too!
Just managed to buy 2 tops nia.The tops that i tried on make me look fat. Due to my build, i cannot wear too loose clothes and the maternity cloths are usually quite loose. Sianz!

Jang,
Those new year decor that I bought also v cute but too bad cant paste... have to give to my mother in law.

Sept 03 Bride
Probably you wan to try out the clothes at perfect mum, i belong to bigger build they manage to tailor to the display clothes that I wan at no additional cost quite gd yeah their clothes range from $39.90 to $49.90 after you give birth n slim down you can bring the clothes back to them they can alter for you i think at $4-$6 if i'm not wrong cant rember.

they have quite few branches i always go to the one at arcade n look for younne coz she v friendly n quite nice always advise me which clothes is suitable for me.i can lend you my discount clothes if you wan i think it 10% of 15% got to check

hmm why cannot eat laksa?? as long as the hum's are all well cooked should be ok right?

some say coconut milk gives us wind.. extra chilli aggravates our heartburn? but otherwise should be ok right??

i had pepper lunch yesterday, but made sure the beef super duper cooked before mixing and eating..

hmm..what should I have for lunch now?

having an ulcer in my mouth now.. and I heard we can't use medication for it like oracort, so must endure
how to remain "cool" when we can't take cooling stuff ah?

the Oscar test is just to measure the bb's neck area during wk11-13 scan right? from the ultrasound scan? last wk i went, doc measure bb's neck. then told me a ratio (forget liaoz leh. i only know got a 'thir') and said its normal. no blood test etc. so like this is OSCAR test liaoz?

why does gynae wana look for a round head? i forget to ask gynae lehhhhhhhh coz he was busy checking the bb.

my husb down with flu. YUCKS. WALKING BIG VIRUS. haha. so i tell him to stay AWAY from me. dont spread the bugs to me. Wont take care of him one. hahahahaa. BB and Me more important. :p Very bad hor.

SereneYap
ya loh. somemore this yr more cute. Mickey/Minnie more cute than piggy hehehhee

wow PerfectMum so good. can save $ to alter it. Where is their branches? Near Jurong/Bk Merah?

sally
think new indo maids must start from $350 is it? not too sure

do1nk
me also dunno what to eat. feeling very bloated now.

Jang,
jurong n bk merah dun have, suntec city there 1 branch.
This yr decor so nice moreover our bb in the yr ofrat.

By the way any mummies doing any DS scan ? how is it huh coz my doctor told me I'm young in fact this kind of test not necessary for me leh but i still fear leh.

serene,
i went to perfectmum too. Yah they did offer me to tailor my bottoms with an extra of $10.
But hor, their pants quite X leh. 80+.. so after discount+the tailoring of $10 i still need to pay abt 80+ wor. I very xim tia!

Jang,
u very bad leh heehee.. discriminate your HB.

Do1nk,
actually i started taking Jue Hua and Barley liao wor. But will advise u to take Jue hua cos my fren told me barley not so good for preggers.

serene,
DS scan? i think there was some discussion last week. DS scan is done ard 11-14 weeks. Hw many weeks are u now? If over 14weeks then no need to do liao cos not accurate areadi.
5th month, we will have to do detailed scanning.

Sept 03 bride,

I think I ard 14-15weeks liao, will gynae next week when i c him. is it v ex to do the scanning?

my sister expecting twins was told by the gynae to stay in hospital due to high blood pressure, i'm so scared nw the babbies on 32weeks doctor say on can give birth when bb ard 33-34 wk , when i hear this news i was so sad coz they have tried for the second bb for more than 3yrs n such things happen to her.

high blood pressure ask her to eat oats. yan mai can reduce high blood pressure one!!! but must really eat everday that kind hor.

would wan check is it necessary to check for DS ?
I check with my colleagues they in fact didnt check for this when they r pregnant leh.

Sept03 Bride
hehehe ya lo i not so wei da as Qing leh. Even go take care of her sick bf *faint*.

I will scream at my husb when he come near me...... i said keep a distance of 5 arm lengths from me. hahhhahaa. He wanted to put his virus pillow onto our bed but i stopped him too! 'TAKE away yr virus pillow!!! Wash it before u put it back. Full of yr virus and yr pi ti. Yucks'. Hahahahaa. And I tell him dont make me scream because i dont wana scare my BB. :p

anyone bought this before?

Any mummies thinking of getting this? I've checked out the korea site and hmn i think the BP guy is still selling at reasonable price, with delivery etc and shipment from korea. I am considering buying one before he decided to stop the BP due to price increasement.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1156555.html?1201432131

I'm thinking of getting Yellow Bear. Quite exp. $266 but can use long time leh. Most impt thing is item used is not toxic.

Jeanyard,

I'm wondering when i should really start to control my diet.

During my 1st preganancy, i only detected GD quite late.. around 30 weeks then start to control diet from there.

but the 2nd time round, i went for the test quite early, think ard 26-28wks and also positive for GD so also start controlling diet from there.

Now, i was wondering when my GD really start but gynae said actually shd control diet from now on. So i feel abit sian. And guilty also becos i have not control yet so far.

think the mee-pok or any fish ball noodles cannot take much becos of the carbo content. Was told not to take yellow noodles as well due to the high carbo and fats.

Actually if really strictly control, there's a lot of things outside cannot eat cos i did tried last time and glucose readings failed. The things tat are left that we can take without raising sugar level too much is really quite pathetic. That is y i dont really enjoy my pregnancy very much becos of this restriction.

Hi Mummies/mummies-to-be,
sorry to intrude, i am fr the dec'07 thread.
As i hav given up bf, am selling away my Medela Mini Electric Plus breastpump for $220, FOC additional valves & membranes worth $30.50.
Bot on 26th Dec 07. Complete set. Warranty still applicable. Good condition as used for less than 2 mths.

Also selling a Avent Isis Manual Pump at $50.
Complete Pump set but some accessories has been used. Very good condition as used less than 2 weeks.

Please PM for more details.

for mummies wiv GD.. I guess best to start controlling from now lor..cut down bit by bit so it's easier?? for the sake of your health and baby's health... if really must...juz eat a mouthful or two to satisfy the cravings?

I hear you gotto prick your finger everyday to test the level and that's really painful and bruising to the fingers right?

anyway all of us should be eating right and healthy too.. had lots of vege in my YTF juz now.. and now sipping on guava juice...

serene,
when i went to do the DS scan, i asked the radiographer for more info because i do not rem doing this test for #1. She said that this scan was still relatively new and at the trial stage during 2006. So after 2 years, it's proven to be useful so the gynaes are sending the MTBs for this test. AFter the scan, if u belong to high risk, they will send u for blood test and amnio.

Miracle,
i tink rice portion should also be reduced cos its also carbo.
U can take more fish, and veg in place of rice/noodle

Good afternoon mummies

Jang
Just scanning, i believe its not Oscar Test yet. Scanning n measure neck is preliminary test. If neck is thick, possibility of DS is high n doctor will strongly recommend do Oscar. If neck is OK, but if age is more than 30+, doctor still recommend blood test, 2nd preliminary of Oscar.

Indonesian Maid
I paid my current maid (since Jan 2007) $300/mth. Don't know whether they revise the min. salary again. On top of that, dont forget the levy.

Stretchmark cream
Mummies, hv u start using stretch mark cream? What is ur preferred brand and why? I ever tried once (couldnt recall the brand), it is very sticky and smell aweful. Any good brand to recommend?

Hi Mummies...

Wat brand of stroller u have bought can share with me your exp on your stroller cos i dun kw which brand to get lei... Any recomm??

hi mummies, long time no post...

btw, any one of u experiencing stitch like pain at tummy area? yesterday nite I feel this kind of pain...

Sheila
oic. thanks. I'm below 30yrs old.

Re Palmers
I read in forum some people have rashes or itchy skin after using this. so pls read the other threads on the forum. Patch test on the forearm (the area opposite of the elbow) for days first before using on tummy hor.

Sept03
u buy from the Alien user too? I think now i can fang xin to buy liaoz. Not cheap manz because i want to buy LG Prime. *faint*

Sept03 Bride,
Thanks for your inform will check with gynae on my visit next wk. hopefully can scan the gender of the baby.

Clothes for bb
have any mummies start to prepare things for bb? like clothes, cot, stroller, pillow, bolster n etc.
Me have bought play pram, stroller n my mum bought some clothes as well. Is it too early?

Stretch Mark Cream,
I have start applying it when I'm abt 8 weeks a lot of my freinds recom me to apply it asap to avoid all those marks.

Maid,
any mummies intend to employ mymmanar maid instead of Indonesia or phillpines?

jang
i got the mat as well. really very good. except that it takes up space only. but very good material.

garfield
i get this kind of pain sometimes. think it's caused by the bb expanding. no harm mentioning to your gynae at the next visit

evon
my stroller is a combi. very lightweight.

sally
when u get a maid, things like utilities will also go up. i think 600 is quite a safe budget.

no Jang,
i did not buy from Alien. I got mine from SSW.
I also got the LG prime. My boy loves doing stuff on the mat. And also very easy to clean!

stroller:
i'm currently using a Maclaren Quest. thinking of getting a Maclaren Techno XT.

As for clothes, not yet wor. Cos duno gender of BB yet.

hi Jang,
i have also bought a bumper mat fr alien user too. ..cost mi $152,i bot the sweet bear pic..quite useful,my #1 always play on the mat & when #2 comes along, they can play together there & #2 can learn crawling there too...

Maid
I also intend to hire a maid..haven't decide on the nationality yet...i'm lst time hiring one, am really clueless and worried too...anyone has any gd recommendation for maid agency?

Strecth Mark Cream
I bot mine from Clarins.Its recommended in this web & also thru my friends...

Maid
$600 is a safe budget physically. Dont forget on the increase cost of utilities, food, etc. Dont know abt u, but usually i will also provision for medical fees, additional toiletries & misc items for the maid.

Stroller
I do not hv prams (0-2yrs) as i feel it is wasted to hv 1. I will straight away buy stroller that can incline up to 170deg backward so baby can sleep almost flat, light-weight (Combi's lightest abt 3.9kg) so that u can carry on ur own and one that can easily open and close with 1 hand. Last but not least, i will also hv the baby sling (moms-in-mind) - strong, secure and hands-free. With sling, you can even breastfeed on the move without ppl really notice it.

Baby's clothes & other neccessities
I think it is OK bit by bit to buy from 5mth+, coz if u wait too long, u might end up missing out 1 or 2 items. I'm looking forward to Takashimaya Baby Fair starting this 6 Mar - 26 Mar to get good bargain baby items.