(2008/07) July 2008

the bumpermats are cute, but kinda pricey huh? as compared to those you can get from carrefour? I read that this one is softer and does not smell of rubber..someone mentioned carrefour one is toxic (any proof??)

I'm using palmers stretchmark cream handed down by my sis, and no rashes so far..

stroller: hmm I really love the quinny buzz but it's so huge and heavy especially for my built.. but I seem to have eyes for this one only...

teatime... egg tart n guava juice :D

Sereneyap,
Maid, should get one whom you are comfortable with. I dun think nationality matters, really depending on luck.

If there is sale for baby items, can buy cos will need them eventually.

Mummies, have you gained weight lately. I have. Makes me feel so fat.

Rain
me has gained weight...though i've been puking all day long..& didin't really eat much so wonder where did the extra weight comes from...one thing most obvious is my bum is getting bigger, even my colleague said to me..so sad...so fast my figure is changing liao...

shelia
i plannign to get sling. u like the moms in mind one? but is it hard to use?

do1nk
think the bumper mats plus point is that it is non toxic. hee, think me and sept bride can be the spokesman already. i also love it. last time when i bought it my hb also very skpetical but now i really think it's a good buy though pricey. and the material is very lasting and easy to clean. now that my boy is older, we usually put him there to change. when he was younger and crawling i used it for him so that even if he falls it's not so painful.

really good buy

rain
i will let u know whehteri gain weight on wed. hoping to gain some weight...

for the bumper mats, i did not buy.

instead i bgt the foam mat from Minitoons. Got hello kitty, Thomas Train or Winnie Pooh design. Think only $60.

very useful and easy to clean also.

SY

i have the Moms In Mind sling but think I use less than 5 times. Not easy to use, i find the video clip provided is not helpful. And I tend to put the wt on one side of the body. Dont know lah, makes my body ache after using ... so dont think will use again.

But i see there are other brands than the Moms in mind which looks easier to adjust.

Weight
My weight is gaining fast since i do not hv any MS but like to munch n munch....

SY - sling
Once u know the trick to easily slip in baby and tighten, it is very easy to use (any brand will do, not necessary Moms in Mind). I find it easier and more comfortable for both me and my baby. Once i use the sling, i will not look twice at any baby carrier since i notice it forces baby's leg to be slightly apart and also it is inconvenient when you want to sit down.

Jang,
i did bruch softly and i brush my teeth both morning and night. and it bleed alot. only when brushing. have. have been drinking a lot of the blood liao.
err..

and i didn't really take care of him. just finding excuse not to work too. it cost him $20 for me to go see the doc with him. i requested to see the doc too due to my itch. and i got an MC too. heehee.

do1nk
actually, this time round, i am more anxious to see the gynae instead of the ultrasound. i really want the itch to stop. hopefully the doc can do something about it. if not.
haiz....

chloegal,
actually i have stop eating both the obimin and calcium tablets. i was thinking they might be the cause to my itch and constipation.

cin bunny
congrats! so happy to hear that you are confirmed to have a healthy baby gal.

Wishing all mummies to give birth to healthy & lovely mickies or minnies!!!

Lbt
Wow.. Your gynae is able to measure the weight for your baby now? That's fantastic! Thought only height will be measured. Week 16 should have about 10cm??? Can calculate BMI for your bb now... Hehe...

all of us should be in our 14-15 wk by now, anyone still taking folic acid? went to gynae last week, was given fish oil, multivits and calcium supplements except folic acid. I got so many questions for him until I forgot to ask this.

jeanyard/miracle
if touch wood GD is detected, what do you do besides controlling diet? Does it affect the delivery process?

I'm quite worried if I will be getting GD, last pregnancy I was lucky to pass the test. Hopefully this time will be the same too. **cross my fingers**

bumper mats/ foam mats
I didn't buy any of them. But I notice that foam mat comes thicker than bumper mat right? So it should serve better in case the kids fall?

Gum Bleeding:
Good to have those mouthwash to further protect from germs,etc. I will mouthwash at night and morning.

I do not only have gum bleeding, but also bad breath ler.

re slings
i intend to get a sling for my second one. but haven decide which one to get. anyone got good recomendation?

sonic
think once u start on the multivit, gynae will not give folic acid anymore cos the multivit got folic acid also

i think foam mats dent more easily? not too sure. but what i like abt the bumper mat is the material. feel it is more lasting.

sonic

ya .. can see the baby tummy liao so gynae measured the circumference of the tummy to get the wt.

eheh u funny BMI ah ..

0.166kg/(0.1mx0.1m) = 166 ???

haha too fat ?

i think the bumper mat is thicker and heavier than the foam mat leh. The bumper mat does provides lotsa comfort but of cos have to pay for the price.

fast one coz ganchiong abt the bumper playmat
the playmat hor...... i plan to ask mum to take care of BB. so shld i buy 2? or buy 1 and put at home? mum's place buy mattress? those cheap one n put on floor? how's that compared to bumper playmat?

i am interested in LG prime because i read the website, its non toxic and accrediated by euro co etc. Very paranoid abt BB kissing, licking the materials

Lbt

Your bb is slightly underweight la, not fat at all! Haha..

0.166kg/(0.1m x 0.1m) = 16.6 (vs min 18.5)

So eat more!

Next time I must also ask my gynae to measure the weight... Not sure will the gynae entertain me or not. :p

SY
Izzit? aiya, I have been super kiasu and take both obimin and folic acid since I found out I'm preggie. Can stop now, at least get rid of one bottle of supplements from my desk.

sereneyap
i can't seem to find them lehz.
why did u get urs?

anyway, i try to bath in lukewarm water. at least not so cold.
in fact, now the itch has ease alot.
i haven't been scratching the whole day today loh.
i was wondering if it is the obimin and calcium tablets or is it the hot water.
as i stop them all together.

can use mouthwash???? i read dont know from where cannot use? *shrug*

Qing
i thought u very wei da take care of BF hahaha. but at least u still go and stand next to him. heh

maybe check with yr gynae see can go dentist for a full cleaning of gum to remove plague. One mummy mentioned here before that cannot do when stomach too big.

Hot water will aggrevate and make the rash spread too so maybe thats one of the result why yrs spread.

Sonic
when i asked counter girl abt medicine in later stage, she mentioned that my gynae give multi vitamins and inside already has folic acid. So i think yrs also the same. I checked because i'm concerned abt SIZE OF THE PILLS..... Oh Nooooo

Re BB First Month/BB First Yr Old AngBao/Present $$$

I'm thinking of buying the $152 mat for my friend's daughter but its sooo exp i'm trying to justify for it. How much one normally pack for BB 1st mth, 1yr old ah? Then I just buy and tell her 1yr old no need to give present liaoz. hahahah. Becoz i still havent get her 1st daughter 1yr old present and 2nd daughter 1mth old present. Then i think add in 2nd daughter 1yr old birthday present as well hahahahaha. But $152 like VERY EXP for 3 present. *faint*

Re BabyCot/PlayPen

Is it possible to just buy playpen and not bb cot? Husb said his friend mentioned bb cot will be out after 2yrs after BB outgrow it? So buy play pen cheaper. But err... i see playpen like so deep (i saw on forum), the person picking up the BB goig to have a backache manz

Jang
I think some gynea packages are diff as they cover diff things. That's wat my gynea tell me lah when I ask her bout the diff amt last time. Some of the packages cover the gynea fees till delievery means gynea's professional fees are included so when delivery u jus pay for hospital fees nia.
For my gynea i took the package that starts at 12 wks for $688. But delivery fees will be another charge later lor. Maybe u check with ur gynea or the recept wat exactly they cover then u know worth anot.

Jeanyard
I tot its white rice that can't take more??
Can't remember for noodles cos 1st preg I became a fan tong n potato eater so my weight shoot up.

SY
I jus want hubby to be closer to #1 n able to manage him alone I happy already cos his stupid work timing can't put #2 to sleep next time also anyway........sigh
Can try some peppermint tea it helps with digestion.

Qing
Its below knee but I sold it liao...hehe
Try not to brush so hard lor cos our gums softer now more prone to bleeding.

Sereneyap
If I remember correctly for twins the full term is not 40 weeks. I think most will deliver by 33wks as consider full term liao so its okie 1 lor.

Stretchmark cream
-----------------------
THe palmers hor I was using the last time for a while then my gynea told me that brand actually cause some ppl to have rashes n its not immediately use will get rash its use for sometime then suddenly develop rash. So I never used it anymore but seems like quite a popular brand.
But anyway gynea tell me actually any cream also can so long as u moisturise ur skin can liao use bb lotion also same effet so I jus use my normal bb lotion.
I actually bought a moistureer from Jergens before preg n find it very moisturising so will jus use that 'when I remember'.....hehehe

Laksa
--------
hehe okie I very naughty 1 I've been eating like normal......even the hums. Anyway I like them cooked so I jus make sure they r well cooked else I won't eat.

Stroller
--------------
I'm using Maclaren Quest for my son now sold my old combi away cos I realise I never use the pram for the 1st 6mths for bb cos I always sling him out. So for #2 think will be the same. I use sling pouch cos dun need to adjust. The person 1 bought from dun think selling anymore but I'm using those I made myself. Those MIM type like alot of material n alot of ppl seem to have problem with adjusting so I never even tried them.

Jang

u can buy those playpen cum cot. The height of the bed is adjustable to 3 levels. So you dont have to bend all the way down. What you mentioned is purely playpen only.

That time is good when your bb starts to stand with support and u want to trap the bb inside.

Jang
i think the value of the present depends on how close u r to your fren. not everyone will appreciate the playmat also cos it does take up a fair bit of space. so if u really wan to buy, maybe shd check with your fren first.

personally i like the playmat. i read before when u r encouraging your bb to walk or crawl, it is impt to do it on harder surface and not something like mattress. even adults find it easier to walk on the floor and not the mattress right? so bb also find it easier to climb on the playmat instead of the mattress

i got a cot for my first one but now thinking back, actually dun need to buy cot. cos cot takes up space. the only good thing is no need to bend so low when u carry bb.

dor dor
is it ok to take peppermint tea when pregnant? i know it is on of the essential oils that cannot be used.

sally
thanks for the feedback on slings

i m keen to get one cos it will make me more hands free. i think sateen in general will be cooler. maybe i shall buy a 2nd hand one as well. only scared that hard to use.

Sally,
i got got my new indo maid last week and she has no experience anywhere. but so far so good & fast learner. *finger crossed*

her salaries is $320 per mth with no off days and last yr my previous maid is $300 per mth. heard from the maid agency, indonesia side increase the maid's pay. levy is $170 per mth for kids below 12yr old.

long time no post. so many things to catch up..was busy over the weekends, need to fetch maid and train her on house chores, then shopping for CNY, blah blah blah... tired~~~~~!

then yesterday 2 big issues happened in work. rushed here and there to settle them then afternoon rush for checkup. tot can see bb gender and who knows bb was not cooperative.

hopefully after CNY, bb is happy and willing to show me the gender :p

i did not gain much in weight so far.. only 800g hahaha.. less than 1kilo :p

Lbt
Sorry to make u worry for nothing.. BMI thingy should not be applied on baby la, moreover your baby weight is just an estimation.. Take it easy, eat as per normal ok..

Jang
Yeah now I realised I'm too kiasu. :p
Think I'm still benefiting from taking both, becos obimin only consist of 1mg of folic acid. I think FDA encourages pregnant mum to take min 4mg of folic acid per day.

Re baby cot/playpen
I didn't buy cot for my boy, knowing that he will outgrown it very fast. Playpen can serves as a cot too, so I got playpen instead. It's so much cheaper and useful as most of the time my boy will play inside when we are busy. Some people can use playpen upto 3yrs.. My boy, 14mths old now, who is hyper active, already found a way to climb out of his playpen whenever we put him in there. So it's not unuseful at all if the playpen is deeper. I need to find another way to confine him now.. Sigh.

Jmon
your maid is young and inexperience in taking care of baby? think u really need time and patience to train her.
may I know is your maid agency good? how much do u pay the agent?

sorry for a bit delayed telecast in some of the questions hehe

do1nk
yes i am a first time mummy. blur about everything! haha

sheila
since you travel so much, don't forget to buy DOM in DFS!! i think can save alot of money. i just bought yesterday at about $40+ for 1 bottle. thanks for sharing about taka baby fair!!

JMON
you work at orchard ah? near to cuppage or not? if so, maybe next time when you got time go check out this yong tao fu place in cuppage plaza. super shiok, the yong tao fu. long queue and quite expensive but all worth it :p thinking about it i lao nua already.

sonic
my gynae's letter just said 'i certify XXX as my patient and she is 15 weeks pregnant. safe to travel' or something. very straightforward one. and we got good seats on the plane hehehe. i'm still on folic but finishing liao. i think my next appt (this saturday) i'll be given multivitamin liao

qing
i was very chuan too first and beginning of second trimester. it's like that one. just take it slow. some more i stay 4th story, no lift. by the time i reach my house like i climbed mount everest like that. panting like crazy! itchy nipples- i tried using normal vaseline with aloe (green bottle). so far so good!

jang
i think baby cot and playpen are a bit different leh. baby cot mattress is built for sleeping. playpen like only for playplay only leh. and maybe less than 1 year old they won't appreciate playpen also. just blur blur lie there and stone hehe

garfield
i will also see my gynae this saturday! got chance we'll know boy/girl then!

MS
for those of you who unfortunatley still have MS, i forgot tot say that this really works for me! my MIL tell me wan. crackers. i am eating the jacobs kind. veg high calcium kind. about $1.9 or $2+ for one box. they come in small packets like 5 or 6 in one page, and either 6 or 8 packs in one box. whenever hungry just snack on that and it helps. helps to sooth the queasy feel also

holiday
wah biang now itching like siao cos of the sunburn!! a bit shy to wear bikini cos the stomach so big liao. but hubby said never mind la! don't care what people say, just wear! but i think look preggie la, not just fatty hehe. but seriously i think if go for holiday should go for relaxing kind. we slept SO MUCH in lombok. very refreshing. i think if i go places like bangkok (which i so want to!!!) i would really feel very stressed. plus pollution not good for baby hor?

baby and mummy same food likes and dislikes
my logic is - since the baby eats what you eat from second trimester on, then obviously he/she will develop a tendency to know these foods liao. so when it's time for him/her to eat solids, he/she may tend to go towards the things that you 'fed' him/her. make sense? 'what to expect when you are expecting' says everytime you eat something, think. "is this the best food and nutrition i can feed my baby?". wah like that very stress. so i try to eat alot of veggie! even though i don't like.

clothes for baby
hubby say better not buy yet. i think he pantang. but whenever i see really cute ones i cannot resist la! haha. saw a very cute set for mummy and baby. on baby's t-shirt it says 'DEMAND'. on mummy's it says "SUPPLY" haha. think i will print myself next time. cheaper la.but i think the big things like stroller etc if got sale better buy. so far haven't bought anything yet! read somewhere that since 2nd trimester we have the highest energy level might as well make use of it to go shopping hehe

stretch mark cream
i bought mine from motherhood. $12 plus. been using almost quite faithfully since about 8 weeks.

weight gain
at the airport when checking in luggage my husband ask me to stand on the weighting machine (for luggage that kind). just over 50kg. so i guess i've put on about 2kg? cos my appetite is improving and MS has kinda stopped also. but i think i can still possibly be sensitive to certain foods. i puked out alot of watermelon during the trip. maybe too cooling

bumper mat
where to buy? and how much? is it like those A B C kind then can join together like jigsaw puzzle?

growth
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foetus

sling vs 'haversack' kind
i really think the sarong kind is very comfy but i scared it will hurt my back. hubby likes the baby bjorn 'haversack' kind. i said ex leh. maybe we should buy the two in one kind like can carry front and back kind. he really surprised me by saying better to buy 2 separate ones. cos they are built differently. this kind of thing cannot save money one. wah. i never expecting him to say that cos he's quite giam siap hehe

sonic,
no lah. at this moment, i wont let her handle baby. her current task is mainly doing house chores. cos i m staying with ILs so they are taking care of my boy. the maid is just them if they needs extra hands.

the maid agency is ok. i paid abt $500-something for admin fees to get the maid in. for the current maid i have just gotten is a FREE replacement, however, we still need to pay for the replacement maid's courses at MOM and her insurance.

sonic
i got the playyard to confine my boy when he was older. i put the playyard over the bumper mat.
then i took it apart when he started walking.

pinkbunny
sounds like u had a good rest!

i know which yong tau foo u talking abt. really nice and yummy. but need to wait for seats.

i still having MS and these few days really bad. think got gastric problems. after eating, i will feel that my stomach is empty again

SY
oh yes i had a good rest! we slept so much! hehe. ya that's the yong tao fu place. shiok right? but the wait is horrible.

maybe you could try eating smaller but more frequent meals. i think that helps.

pinkbunny

if you are thinking about getting baby bjorn then i would suggest you take a look at ergo. carriers like baby bjorn hang the bb by the groin and put unneccesary stress on the spine. Ergo lets the bb sit and is a lot more comfy for the bb. I bought a lot of things for my #1 but 2 of my greatest buys i find are firstly the bumper mat and then the ergo carrier!

doggiebb
really? stress on the spine? :S newborn can use? can it 'grow' with the baby kind, or must get a new one every 6 months?

hiya mummies........

Argkkkkkk the walking big virus at home seem to pass me the flu bugs. *faint* I am now having itchy nose/throat. @^#!%$*&! AND i have so many work to rush in office *faint* 2 more days for deadline

hi sept03 and pinkbunny

for the ergo carrier, for newborn, there is an insert you can buy additionally. but i didn't buy that, i used the carrier for my baby when she was able to hold her head up at around 4 mths old.

the ergo i think is able to carry a toddler up to 20kg. now what my hb do is to carry my 10kg 14 mth old baby piggy-backed style on his back!

Afternoon mummies!

Baby Cot / playpen
I had one for #1 and i've used it all the way to my #3. It was very useful, especially if you are FTWM with more than 1 child. I advise my maid to pull the cot (with wheels) in n out of rooms so at any time, the baby was a glance away even maid with older child.

Maid
Dont know abt others, but personally i like inexperience maid, since you can mold them to your way of doing things. Experienced ones tend to stick to their preferred way. For those maids w/resume stating w/exp., u cannot totally believe in it. My current maid is my 7th for the past 8yrs, so i learnt from experience.

pinkbunny
Welcome back! I hope you thoroughly enjoy ur holiday. I dont take DOM, cant take the taste though its good. I chose Fish Essence in Bottles, small and portable. And i always hv Anmum milk, a warm glass of milk to relax at night.

Pinkbunny
were u being asked to show them your letter prior to check in or boarding? Or u show them the letter to get good seat? hehe…

SY
i also thought of getting the playyard initially. But I'm worried as he could climb over as he attempts to climb on anything. And he's started walking (maybe I should say running).. He doesn't like to be confined.

Jmon
Wow… $500++ is quite ex hor? Or was it at market rate? Many said that to get a good maid, must start with a good agency. Mind to tell me who is your agent?

Jang
Take care, drink plenty of water & have some vit C supplements..

sonic
no worries lah ! of cos i know it doesnt apply to babies but ur BMI theory on them is very cute !

I need to get a maid in Mar or April period also .. ok so get a fresh one better hor.

I heard from a fren we can interview them over the phone when they are still in Indo. I need to get one to speak simple english.

When you go for checkup, normally do you apply for ML or AL or just go (during normal working days)....

I'm scared if I keep using my AL, i will have very little when I do need to use them especially when the baby is born.

sonic
i wasn't asked to show but i got it from gynae anyway just in case. and since we had it thought we would just try our luck hehe. but when we're more obvious i think many airlines would prefer to have a letter of confirmation

sheila
thanks. it was really relaxing to get away from it all. helps that lombok is quite ulu too. i've never had DOM but i heard that it can be used in food too so that's why i bought. i don't like all the essence things (fish, chicken etc) but if it's cooked with food then the taste is masked, then i'm fine

doggiebb
where can we buy ergo carriers from? i know someone else mentioned it earlier as well but i forgot! hehe.

crabs
mummies, any of you heard the myth about cannot eat crabs or else your baby will be very 'chew jio' (itchy hand/run around)?

rain
i get time off if i work OT so i just claim time off. some companies allow you to claim time off when you visit doctors (just get a time sheet from doctor) but not sure if it works with gynaes. or make appointments on saturdays? i also feel the pinch if have to take leave

AL / MC
For the last time, i took AL. When met my gynae, he offered MC to cover for the day. Since we hv 14days MC and no refund if unutilised, i planned to use them in future. So, for future appt, i planned to get morning appt instead and then get MC to cover for whole day, so can rest n correspond emails in the comfort of bed, ha ha ha...

sonic,
in fact hor, the $500 we paid is considered cheap cos i know Nation's agent fee is abt $700 leh.

the agency i went to is JDM.

lbt,
i find that hor interview thru telephone cant really know the maid. i interviewed my 1st one and she could not answer anything lor. normally their biodata say they know english, i find it quite bull-shxx lor, not true one...

so for my current one, i dont bother to interview her after seeing her biodata. i just based on my 1st impression on viewing her photo. she looks 'shun4 yan3' to me so i just take her.

anyway, choosing a maid REALLY depends on luck. so far she's ok and have not caused any prob to me. :p

Rain,
whenever i go checkup, i take time-off from boss. so normally i arrange my appt after 4pm cos i dont need to take AL or MC

doggiebb
Ergo is the brand name itself?

pinkbunny
not only crabs, in fact sotong/cuttlefish etc (those with lot of legs) are advised to be no-no for preggie.
But then I still eat, can't resist especially my hubby bought back the curry crabs from famous ang mo kio hawker.

lbt / jmon
Our due date is july, ya it's good to have the maid come in early so that their have more time to settle themselves.