(2008/07) July 2008

Jang,
why you vomit juice at night? what did you eat for dinner?

Holiday!
i suspect hb giving excuses. he already checked out how much for delivery and hospital stay coz i told him i want to stay in 1 bedder, no need what push presents :p so... can forget about overseas trip haha..

Diabetes
i was tested +++ for glucose in urine. nurse and gynae went tst..tst..tst... and asked what did i eat that morning :p i had yong tau foo (no noodles just soup) early morning, 1 sugar & butter bun ard 11.. appointment at 12.30pm.. am i eating too much? bo bian leh.. hungrey

anyway gynae said if 2 more positives, must go for blood test liao. so i guess have to control diet liao. but i just had a zinger burger for lunch :p

Steph

oh better control ur diet.

usually before urine test, i try to avoid sweet stuff to avoid false results such as drinking MILO.

Qing,
some of the mummies i met said that BB hyperstore's and baby kingdom's prices are not as cheap as they think.

like do1nk said, sometimes Robinson offering better prices than them but no harming to go there for window shopping.

JMON

true. but i bought my bb foam mattress and car seat there since I was there that time. And you can do bargaining so can save a little bit more.

and their choices for car seats are quite good, so worth to take a look.

Jmon:

you dare to eat lor mee ar?! every time i had beef noodles i had indigestion then throw up everything.. think it's caused by the starchy gravy. so now i avoid anything with starchy gravy.

lbt:

ya lor. now i know liao. wah.. that day after hb heard what gynae said, he kept staring at me... shaking his head... kns him hahah...

steph,
i do not have any MS at all leh. i can eat anything... i can go orchard to have lunch if i crave for certain things from there :p

Stepahnie
I vomit in the morning.

My mum said cannot eat banana leh. Then can eat banana fritters? wa now only 1st/early 2nd trimester so fang zhong already ah? later gained too much weight how? or JMon is underweight?

Diabetes Test
I think i was given the stripe paper to urine onto and then no color change, so no diabetes. but not sure if they are going to test it later anot. but i will watch my diet.

Do1nk
ya lo, 1st time mummy leh. So a lot of things all dont know. I think its better to ask now else after after giving birth might not have energy or i will barred myself from using computer immediately after giving birth.

Qing
made a mistake, Not free. Must take the family plus package to have ch70.

Evon
Kelp is normally refer to as Hai Tai. Seaweed is Chi Zai. I think take in moderation is ok. but dont eat too much as those have salt inside. Quite salty.

Re Hyermart whatever
I read the threads n they said they take their stroller stock etc from robinson/john little. so its cheaper to buy from robinson etc when they r having sales. I saw at Isetan, the stroller $700, 800. Carseat also about this amount. Then my husb go WAAAAAAA SO EXP.

Re HIV Testing
I think its compulsory according to MOH or what. To protect BB

qing
bb hyperstore prices are not necc cheaper. depends on how u bargain.

when dept stores have sales, they are cheaper

shelia
HIV test is compulsory i think. really peifu u to have #4. but i guess it is quite nice to have a bb when your kids are older. i always think i will want to have one smaller one when my kids are older.

Jang,
can eat banana. those Del Monte banana which u can find in supermarket CANNOT eat cos it's too cooling

i even eat watermelon sometimes but not a lot lah. just to kill my cravings

bb prams:
some of the strollers can cost > $1k

Jang

JMON is right on the bananas thingy. But then again, I will not eat banana fritters cos dunno what type of bananas and how fresh they are leh ..

I bgt my Britax car seat for $300+ .. no need $700 - $800 lah. As for my stroller, i bgt BABY FIRST brand, cost me $100+ only. Some brands like COMBI is very exp so depends on whether u want to splurge on it.

Of cos the more exp it is, the lighter the stroller will be. So there's a trade off. If u buy cheap one and afraid that bb wont feel comfy, can put a stroller pad on top of it lor. then can remove the stroller pad to wash regularly.

Bananas:
every one tells me Del Monte bananas cannot eat. the smaller ones can eat. i read that good to eat some bananas coz the vit. B ease MS and mood swings and constipation.

bananas used for most fritters shd be the super big ones they call it banana king. don't think they'll use the expensive del monte bananas hehe..

re bananas
for my last pregnancy, i think i do eat those del monte bananas. but for bb, cannot give the del monte bananas cos cooling.

side track a bit :p

i just remembered.. i saw a friend gave their 1 yr old son 1 whole of a small banana. after that he was super energetic! hehehe... very funny.. running about crashing into his mummy!

wow Jmon.. no MS and happily eating away? I'm still having a bit of MS.. lately headaches keep striking after lunch.. have a very tired and sng neck and shoulders..

had hor fun and soya bean milk for lunch...keep thinking of my mini muffins in the drawer which I bought for teatime haha

all these rules about wat to eat and not, bananas, cooling stuff.. I guess as long as we eat in moderation, should be ok bah..

Jmon,
U same as me ler. At least, I can eat without feeling uncomfortable, just take in moderation.

Sometimes I feel bad for my baby but hard to change habits ler.

Steph,
u lucky le, gynae never make u test blood despite tested +++ ? Me tested twice ++, twice also kena ordered to do blood test. Thank God my blood test result turned out fine. But then hor, due to I got family history of diabetes, gynae already ordered OGTT test at my 28wk... eerk.. that one is real torturing.

Lbt,
haha... me did the same thing, before I go check up, I will try avoid sweet stuffs, and drink plenty of water. So my urine test will be ok. That works for my 3rd visit, only trace of sugar found. But yet gynae stressed that I have to watch out, and must take OGTT..

Sept 03 bride,
Ya lor, it'll slow down MS... But it's really good to relieve breasts engorgement. It was the nurse who told me to use cold cabbage after I decided to stop BF. What I've learned from antenatal class was to use hot towel, but hot towel is too powerful until my MS too much, then engorgement lor. Didn't manage to express it out at all. My baby also cried after suckled for so long - no milk coming out, all dusts being blocked.

3Ds family,
After u apply the cold cabbage, MS came down, did u manage to resume breastfeeding afterwards?

Travelling
I'm also thinking to go for a short holiday, probably Perth or Hong Kong. Already gotten gynae's written consent just in case. But then I noticed the consent letter stated something like "It's ok to travel on flights but occassional vaginal bleeding may happens." that makes me worried whether I should really travel or not.

do1nk

u r right lor .. eat in moderation. but my mum ban me from Del Monte. She say until very serious ahha

oh Steph .. may not be bananas. anything that is sweet will make the kid hyper active. So shld refrain them from taking sweet stuff at nite else they wont sleep !!

sonic

oh u must take care and control diet. if u control ur food intake before test and still shows as positive, then gotta kuai kuai listen to gynae lor.

actually i got a fren who is due in July has light spotting during travelling also. scary leh ..

Sonic:

what is OGTT? my gynae quite old.. think got 70... he everything also nvm.. it's ok.. don't worry.. shd i be worried?

lbt:

yes. hb has already reminded me umpteen times coz i got sweet tooth.. he worry kid will be like me :p

stephanie
isn't it good that your gynae says no need to worry? it is like that one. if everything normal, visits will be short and sweet and they will just say no need to worry.

sonic
i also wan to go short hol like HK. going to get gynae's clearnace at next visit. maybe htat is a standard statement that they include?

Steph

i think there is a relation. What the mummy eats will affect the child.

I know of a kid who hates vege since young, same as mummy.

my niece dont like fish, think my SIL din take much fish when pregnant with her.

lbt

Ya lor must control diet but it's quite hard, I'm actually don't fancy sweet things. but most of the food that we have to eat daily with high carbo.. rice, bun, noodle, etc... I'm already started to cut down on rice intake.

oh dear... does your friend know what causing the spotting? Is she ok now? hmn.. have to think twice on travelling now.

sonic

ya understand. cos got a coll who also got diabetes during preg. very cham. can only take food like niang tou fu soup w/o noodles, or fish soup w/o rice etc.

for me that wont be filling leh eheh

sonic

she travels for work. so before she leave for her next destination, she got a jab from her gynae in Singapore. She told me her spotting stop after the injection.

re diet
i heard before that if the mummy is not fussy during pregnancy abt wat she eats then bb will not be fussy abt food. dunno how true

Steph

OGTT = oral glucose tolerance test

If my memory doesn't fail me yet...

u got to fast in the morning first. Upon arrival at clinic, nurse will draw your blood for 1st sampling. Then you will be given one big cup of SUPER sweet glucose drink. after finish the drink wait for an hour for 2nd blood sampling. Then wait for another hour again to take 3rd blood sampling. No drink and food allowed before the 3rd blood sampling.

I don't like this test because

The taste of the drink is yuck!!
Whole morning can't eat/drink anything except the yucky drink!! Hungry!

SY,
If u tell you gynae you want to travel, he will give u a letter which states your EDD and the period that you are fit to travel. for me, the period covers : from now till 29 wk!!

lbt

maybe she travels at her very early stage? I guess the jab is hormone jab right?

sonic

no she travels in the 2nd tri. her edd is in July also.

Ya it's the hormones jab, dunno if it's the progestrone jab.

do1nk,
ya i also have the sng feeling lately so asked hb to give me some shoulder massage hehehe....

i was so tired early this wk but i feel ok today, think weekends' approaching. that's y!!! hahaha....

Rain,
i was banned from eating certain things during my 1st pregnancy but now i hack care ah.... i just eat whatever i feel like eating lor as long as my hb does not know abt it :p

cold cabbage sounds very interesting. maybe will give it a try.
now, my nipples start to itch too. and i was wondering if it is also due to my bra. i somehow have breathing difficulty. very chuan.

Qing,
Did u manage to get the shower lotion? If you buy new bra need to wash before wearing.

Evon,
I have booked my CL last week, me contacted a lot of CL through recomdation almost all being fully booked.

Steph,
My gyane have told me try not to eat banana coz it has high in sugar level, grape also cannot eat more than 10 nos, it better to eat apple it gd , fresh green apple jucie it gd for the mom n baby.

Hi Sonic,
Surprisingly yes.. it's more of like to reduce the engorgement. really pain sia..

Think we can take all those "forbidden" food as long not too much. I just had salmon sashimi yesterday lunch after clearance from gynae. he mentioned so long the food is clean and not about raw or cooked. he jokingly mentioned pple eat prima deli cake can also get diarrhoea. haha.. now craving for "YU SHENG"

sereneyap
today i so angry. the CL that i contacted who said ok go and accept a deposit from someone else and never even inform me until i contact her again today. so now i got to look forCL all over again.

qing
dun think u can use cabbage leave to cure your itch. that is to reduce engorgement, different from itch.

some mothers develop this condition called PULPPS (think it is spelt like that, cannot remember how to spell) during pregnancy. it is a skin condition. could u have that?

SY,
at least she still honest and tell u that she accept deposit from someone else. And luckier is that u haven't pay her deposit, right?

I read from other threads that some CLs are so bad, get deposit already last min say cannot do, never return deposit le. Apparently there are many of them out there cheating $$. Some are agencies.

Oh no, I think I would rather ask around my colleagues and friends to get a trustworthy CL.

Ibt, sonic
If u need to travel, don't worry too much abt spotting. However, u must be absolutely sure that u r physically fit cause if u r not, then there will be problem. I travel for 7hrs to Tokyo even after knowing that i was 6wks preggie. So far OK, no spotting. However, if u do travel, have enough rest n never over exert urself or carry heavy stuff...

OGTT
I had taken this test b4. It was yucky! My gynae insisted that i took since i was tested with glucose for 3x in a row. From then onward, i learnt my lesson, not to take anything sweet like ice kachang (my fav during my 1st pregnancy) just b4 gynae checkup!

ice kachang????? SOBSOB. i want to eat but now cannot hor?

i eat what also vomit. and i find that i eat anything with fish i normally end up vomit it out. muahhhhh i am still vomiting today! i am getting depressed liaozzzzzz

Re Baby Cot
should i go n take a look at John Little (ex OG) or Robinson? Which outlet should i go to for Robinson? Orchard or City Hall carries more BB pdt?

Re Bumwear
Whats this ah? I read this from some thread n its like reusable cloth diaper?

Re Bugis shop selling cheap BB clothes
Anyone bought from them? Think opposite Guan Yin Temple at Waterloo Street? Is the quality good?

Re Holidays
Think no chance to go holidays. Just stay at home, at night sleep dream a bit is enough already. Today just dream of controlling a big yacht or what. but v funny machiam travelling coach with seats. haha. then steered the yacht etc to avoid crashing the side. problems with oxygen tank, safety jacket etc that has holes...waa so happening man my dream

Re ShangHai/China buy
Whats there to buy from China Shanghai? My parents going there during CNY and i'm not sure what to ask them to buy them....

jang,
i eat ice kacang leh, like wat i said earlier, for this pregnancy, i hack care liao hahaha

baby items:
i personally find that Somerset Robinson has more baby items than City Hall's

bumwear:
yes, it's reusable cloth diaper. i went to Mons In Mind (MIM) which is located at Sim Ming industrial park, bumwear sharing the same showroom with MIM, there's a guy who's very patient to share with you what's bumwear. they will have regular open house for public. here's the webby: http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/showroom.html

Bugis shop selling cheap BB clothes:
i went there twice, bought some singlets for my boy. half a dozen at $7. cheap but the quality ok only. the singlet enlarge after a few wash. but if you want to let bb wear at home, they are ok.

ShangHai:
my ILs went Shanghai twice, they said nothing to buy and the prices are more ex than in Singapore.

Jmon,
U really like me ler. My husband will restrict me from certain food aka junk food. But sometime I will still eat without him knowing.....