(2008/07) July 2008

jang

u r right, i cant feel anything when gynae did the stitching. But he was quite fast. prob my cut is not that big.

the pain u experience can be your ligament stretching for your growing womb.
It is a short sharp pain right ?

If it's bb movements at this stage, shld not cause you any pain.

But when bb is bigger, some bb may press on your nerve system that cause u some pain.

pinkbunny

ur gynae v funny lor .. vomit so tummy not big ? hahaha

from what I understand from the midwife, laughing gas is not v effective and she ask me not to waste $ on that. If i want to relieve pain, use epidural straight.

In fact most of the hospital have free BF and bathing lessons for mother who just delivered. But in the antenatal course, they cover more than that.

So it depends whether u want to attend or not.

Celeste

wah !! u know how big is your cut ?

do u think for 2nd babies, still need to cut or not ?

lbt,
I donno how big is my cut...cos i dont even dare to see! *lol* I juz use the wat lotion the hospital give to wipe after visiting the toilet everytime....haha

I hope 2nd baby no need to cut....actually what I heard is its dependent on ur baby's head...the bigger the head the chances of cutting most prob higher.
But what I hope is this time round labour is shorter and not as painful! *pray hard* :D

celeste

same here.

but after delivery i ask gynae how much he cut me, he say 3 cm nia. eheh

ya I also use the antiseptic lotion.

my first bb was small still need to cut !

cant imagine if my bb is bigger this time round ?

or probably our muscles were stretch before so need to cut ? heeh eh good qn to ask our gynae !

i also hope labour is shorter and I try try try not to use epi liao !

lbt,
hehe, ya that lotion called antiseptic lotion. I still remember that time I bought 1 extra bottle and asked for extra sterile cotton balls from the hospital...hehe...cos my SIL told me to request for more so that wont run out so fast and can clean properly. But my poor wound took like bout 1 mth before I dont feel anything *sigh*...I guess my cut was quite big

Hehe, our muscles were stretch, mabbe more seasoned...so hopefully this time round dont need to cut or dont need to cut much...

Btw, luffing gas is actually quite effective lehz
u can try luffing gas this time round. I still remember I breathe till I like very high, gynae ask me qns i still donno wat i answering him...*lol*

hey jang...is the famous Ms Wong from TMC, a wong boi boi? wonder why she's so popular...someone juz mentioned her to me..

haha all this public transport woes..I previously told someone to give up her seat before to this heavily pregnant lady who was standing right in front of her.. and she was so embarassed she kept apologising, saying she didn't look up, so didn't see.. duh!

hahaha! maybe we should try the "pretend-to-vomit" technique and see if we get seats.. so funny...

i wonder y all these ppl are so blind. i mean for us now, a bit understandable cos our tummy not very obvious yet. but for those who are already heavily pregnant and standing in front of them, how can don't notice right?

but nowadays very difficult to see if a lady was pregnant. with all the loose baby doll tops being so popular and being able to wear jeans, it become more difficult to spot a pregnant lady. sometimes have to think so long before offering the sit. cos hor, scare the lady got offended if she's not preggy. hahaha..

reg mrt seats, for my first child, also hardly.
then got 1 time i bit fed up cos really tired n i know my tummy still not big enough, so i keep rubbing my tummy! hahahaha then the gal infront saw and give seat to me!

ya hehhe bring one plastic bag, take out and pretend want to vomit into the plastic bag, see any got heart pple will give seats anot. haha.
i tried asking one pregnant lady to sit down before but she rejected me leh. so paisei hahah i think because i dont sit near the door. then i saw ahpei want to give him seat, signal him to come but he dont want. make me so sad because i dont want to give my seat to someone not so worthy after i get off later on lor.

and yes, stimes scare offend pple if they are really fat and not pregnant. maybe those that just given birth? maybe it BREAKS their fragile heart...... piii-piang...

i think mummies that really not feeling well shld open their mouth and ask those pple to gave up seat. some of them are just aunties, they dont look unwell, they are just trying to get a seat and they RUSH to get the seat which is irritating lor. then the moment they sit down, they close their eyes. really meh? so energentic to snatch seat then so tired ah? one just snatch a seat from me (last time) and then close eyes straight away. some pple v cheapskate one. dont make me vomit on u lor if i really not feeling well :p

and there's one type of pple i will not give seat lor. dont shoot. its mummy with mischevious kid. why? i see 100% MOST time end up mummy the one who sit down while the kid is running ard, making a scene on the train. Then? Why must i give up the seat to the mummy? this happened to my mum before and the mummy also buay paisei. somemore the trip is like 30mins++. So NO WAY i will give up seat to this kind of people.

do1nk
i also dont know. i was reading some other threads n pple are recommending her. every fri 1.30pm ch8 will have this bb/kid show n i think tt time the lady giving demo is surname Huang. Is Huang=Wong?

Qing
yup. Try it out and let me know if it helps. Hope it does. rem Tapioca flour.

Ibt
HAR? Yr bb is small n still need to cut? Do u know how much cm yr cervix dilated before u get cut up?

I kind of freak out when i read frm Jan post, the gynae will put fingers + fist to check cervix size *gosh*

Jang, actually i feel the 1st trimester is most cham. when u feel so much MS but cannot get any seat cos no1 knows u preg

yup I also scare tat time after I gave birth n went back to work. v scare ple give up their seats for me... but luckily no1 did la.

wow.

Jang, now i feel like i am like those kind of aunty. i will snatch for a seat once i get up the bus. but didnt shut my eyes la.

i came across this line:
"never stand when you can sit,
never sit when you can lay down."
because of this, i always try to get myself a seat on the bus.
i never like MRT as i know for sure i can't get a seat and worse ppl push you around when it is crowded. i hate that.

then i am very Contradicting loh. somehow i wish that my tummy is bigger so that everyone knows i am pregnant, but on the other hand, i don't want it to be too obvious bcoz of my wedding in march.

Qing
ya mah i wrote one hahahahha (sit down/lie down). so u snatch seat is okay. u have the right to 'snatch' seat, just make sure dont hurt yrself or anyone in the process hehehe.

ya MRT really...... maybe go home later lor, avoid the crowd. but have to loiter ard to avoid the human traffic

Good Afternoon to all,

wow i notice i got some pimples on my chest leh..

Qing,
i also thinking to go for the antenatal programme by KKH maybe we can go together...

garfield,
ya ya...i agree 1st trim worst...especially when u have bad MS u juz feel like sitting down and resting but then ur tummy cant even see yet where on earth will ppl believe and give u seats *sigh*

celeste

laughing gas really good ah ?
ok i will consider hehe

i think same lah, took me a few weeks to recover from wound, but i know some mothers took months leh !! scary.

Jang

yeah my bb was not the big type but in any case, becos it's my first child, i guess our V are not very stretch so need to cut. u rather cut there or cut at tummy (C-sect) ? i rather no c-sect.

oh btw, i reaad before that bb who are born naturally are stronger in immunity.

There is this layer of dont-know-what when they pass through the V canal which protects the bb. So go NATURAL !!

oh rgd checking of cervix, not to scare u but it is really painful.

But !! i dont know why when my gyne check on me, I dont feel anything.
When I was check by the midwife, i scream !!

serious .. so that's why I think my gynae is very skillful.

now reading a book and talks abt heartburn- happen when stomach acid leaking from the top opening of the stomach. feel burning sensation in oesophagus. combating

-avoid eating.drinking at same time
-eat small meals, 6meals rather than 2-3 large meals
-avoid eating late at night
-avoid fatty foods
-dairy pdt (plain yoghurt, semi skimmed milk might help)
-try sleeping propped up in yr bed on several firm pillos
-ask GP prescribe or recommend an antacid drug (think check with gynae better).

i also find drinking milk will help BUT most cases, vomit it out seem best option for me but tough process.

another bk talked abt exercising (on 4 legs) and bb is more likely to turn to the right position during labour. but still early for us to discuss hahhah

Qing
i saw that from a book. not so 'wise' :p hheheh

Ibt
ya lo, cut vagina/cervix better than stomach. i cannot imagine pulling bb up from stomach. its v damaging to mummy's body from research found. not going to share so as not to freak mothers out. get the infor from news. the thing abt bb thru natural birth to have more better immune sys or what, ya, scientist? believed that it might be due to the hormones released by mother during the natural birth process when bb passes the canal.

who knoes if our body will emit some anti-pain hormones too during the process and it somehow help bb too. just that the hormones still not so power as epidural. *own imagination*

lbt
i agree that i rather have the cut down there then my stomach.
hope that can go ntaurally.

erm, i have got a quite disgusting issue.
recently, my poop poop is not normal. it is more of a blackish green. wonder if there is anything wrong with me.

Did u eat lots of vegetables? As long as its not dark black which might mean internal bleeding, the poop is ok. other issue abt darker also means can foods with red color like tomatoes or the poop stayed in intestine for too long.

Ibt hehehhe i'm very imaginative person

Qing, i think shld be fine. i was like eating salads only for 1 whole week when i was in US last Nov (i haven't realise i was pregnant then) and my poo does comes out abit blackish green/greenish. Then when i came back hm, after i found out pregnant also the same. but after a few days no more liao. so i think it's the greens that's y.

Qing

if your poo turns darker, it could be the iron that is not absorbed by the body and being passed out.

No worries.

lbt,
I heard of some mothers telling me within 1-2 weeks oledi no feel anything....thats y i tot i was very slow in recovering....*lol*

Haha....u mentioned checking of cervix during the labour process...aiyo...scary! I can still remember at first they put 3 fingers in to check, then almost when i dilate quite fully they put in the hand to check liowz!!! Like trying to "dig" for something or wat...me not trying to sound gross here but its true! I still can vividly remember the feeling...*faint*

Celeste

we are scaring the gals !! hahaha

ok lah I dont recall the whole hand went in but i know the pain is NOT bearable for me ! eh my pain tolerance is very high. So I prefer my gynae to chk.

i still got another 2 weeks before i visit the gynae. as i told my meals as per normal. the only different is the calcium tablets and obimin. oh my. hope it is ok loh.

Pinkbunny,
Me too, feeling pain around the hips and waists area. Hope it's just the strecthing of muscles.
At night also can't sleep well.. Can only lie at the sides, but whichever side I lean on will result lower back ache the next day... Feeling so bad...

SY,
I do have the feeling of not being fair to my #2. last night my boy nearly fell down when he's running around, I quickly ran to carry him. I ran so fast until I forget I got #2 inside me!!! Only after that then I realised and I felt so guilty, what happen if I fall?? Sigh, it's hard to juggle.

Lbt,
Me coming to 15 wk liao, already into 2nd trimester but still having bad MS. Could it be infections that you mentioned? How to look out for that... **touch wood** I don't wish to have it of course.

Celeste,
I'm also thinking of getting a maid now. My hubby opposed to my idea as he's worried about maid bullying our babies too. Installing camera helps?

Heard Myanmar maid is more innocent and less cunning than Indo/Phil, anyone got Myanmar maids now?

Jmon,
The package starts from 16 wk onwards rite? Hmn.. I think we might not need to visit our gynae for 10x from 16 wk till delivery leh. Afraid might rugi, so I dare not take up package.

Jang,
Yeah, gynae will use their fingers to check the opening of our cervix. I always wonder how come they are so sure that it's 2.5cm or 9.5cm ... So accurate meh?

sonic

may not be infection.u wait for a few weeks more, probably the MS will taper off lah...

eh sometimes I also run after my gal, and carry her high high to play with her leh .. haha

maybe my little one is enjoying our laughter !

if u have backache when u sleep on side, you shld stretch the leg that is touching the bed STRAIGHT. This will ensure that your back is straight. U get what i mean ?

sonic,
i think can add up to 10x lah. anyway, my bill comes out to be $80+ for each visit. so still worth it to sign up lor

all maids are the same lor, no matter where they come from.. getting one is depends very much on luck.

I agree with JMON regarding maids. it's not only depending on luck. it depends on how u treat the maid also. but some maid don't care how well u treat them, they still misbehave lor.

Lbt,
Ya lor, I do feel that despite I'm expecting now, I should not neglect the bonding time with my #1. Just that I've to be extra careful lor. Especially my boy is still young, doesn’t know how to control his kicking and punching.

Yes, I know what u mean by stretching my leg straight. I did that too, with a pillow in between my legs so that my the other leg doesn't feel tired 'hanging' there. But still... In fact I prefer to lie flat at my back but tummy start growing and getting heavier.

I didn't see other mummies complaining on back ache, think I'm the only one at this early stage.. :p

Yeah, hopefully MS will go away soon. My #1 didn't have such long MS, but this time... :-(

Jmon,
Package doesn't include obimin/calcium supplements rite?

Hi Qing:

Regarding Antenatal Classes:

For kkh u can sign up for the class from 16 weeks onwards .. once the dates are released have to confirm fast cos it seats will be grab up very fast ...

Hi Waterman: i also used CSC card during my gynae visit in the early stage .. actual amount deducted i am not too sure as i am a dependent .. my hubby working in army .. As for TPS, i signed up the antenatal package in my 16 weeks which consist of 10 visits + urine test + scans ... From wat i do understand is tat as medicine is not included in antenatal package only multi-vits can be paid using CSC card but Fish oil have to pay in cash ..

Sonic
gynae dont use ruler to measure right? or measuring tape. then how come sound so confident?

I have backache from zzzzz too much hehhee. i like to lie on my right side to zzz now because can support belly. then left side is no good because press on heart.

Ibt
i think so too. maybe those bless with bigger canal will not be that painful for them so really, is it individual threshold of pain or that the body structure and last min changes (cervix dilation etc) that helps mummy give birth with/without epi, natural or cesearan.

those who have given birth, have yr husb said that he will freak out or faint if he sees blood etc, and dont want to accompany inside the giving birth room? my husb said he cannot stand but i am forcing him to go in with me. he is quite weak because when he went for body checkup due to new employment, he dont dare to look at the needle etc while i'm looking at the nurse drawing his blood and kind of making faces at him. I dont think he will faint but i actually first hand account of someone who faint upon seeing blood. she just 'piang' and fell onto the floor while her friend was drawing blood. gosh

can eat the konnyaku jelly powder? it has malic acid. i know soya bean curd cannot eat. this one not sure

jang

checking of cervix dont use ruler lah ! ahha how to insert ruler inside ?

probably they gauge how much it's open by using the finger then agar agar lah ..

i rem they put in, check then tell me 8 cm liao ..

my hubby went into the delivery room with me. I need his encouragement leh ... very impt for the wifey. But i do have a male coll who will almost faint when he see blood. I dont think he can witness the delivery process cos it's a lot of blood. But who knows, when comes to witness his own child, he may survive ! hehe ...

so encourage your hubby lah !

i think it's the mother's determination to give birth drug free. u know what's MIND OVER BODY ?
hehe I think some can really do it by psycho themselves lor.

Jenny Hoo and JMON-Lynn,

thanks for your info.. When I asked the staff at TPS they cant confirm whether it is structured or private. Anyway private hospitals dun even accept csc cards from my understanding. For now, they are deducting 15% from my pay. Heard there's a cap of $350. let's see...

The antenatal package at TPS dun seem very good to me. At the end of the day, if you use medisave it eats up into your $1800 limit of your delivery also. I remember the lady at the TPS telling me that package not really worth it some more!

jang
depot road has a baby centre? wow! cool! must check it out!! i also planning to give birth at mt A. i think got some hospital tour. hubby should go see soon i think. eh but pre natal class no need to take at the hospital that you're going to give birth at one meh?

ling
i also got pimple on my chest! and neck! but one only (touch wood). maybe too zhuah. must be because of black chicken soup haha. drink plenty of water

qing!
cannot just eat salad la! your baby needs more nutrition!!

ABOUT SEATS ON THE TRAIN
good idea about pretending to vomit haha. can also choose a target. the most healthy and fit looking one who you think should most give the seat to you! haha

ABOUT CUTTING
you girls are scaring me leh. but i heard that amidst all the pain you are feeling, when the gynae actually cut your V, you feel more relief than pain.

ABOUT BELTS
got a funny question. any of you ladies still wearing belts? wear above, on or below stomach? hehe

ABOUT HUSBANDS IN DELIVERY ROOM
i told my ah lao he must be in there with me. even if he don't want to see, at least stay by my side to support me. he said ok but if labour too long, he will play his computer game. basket.

BALLOONS
my papa's birthday last weekend i was blowing alot of balloons and people said don't because will get high if blow too many balloons. just to share with you gers la. and i felt like very siong on my stomach also when i was doing it

BRAS
my old bras all too tight liao. for those of you who don't know, there is something that departmental stores sell, like an extra 2 inches you can hook to your bra hook, to give you extra space so not so tight. instead of buying new bras. can save some money la

Belts
I dont wear belts heh. I think just let it hang loose on hip if its outside for accessory purpose

Ibt
hmn i thought the dilation of the cervix will stay on. so use measuring tape can measure? or use hand to 'pull open' and measure? heh. i guess one because i havent pop one yet! hehe

Balloons
Thats my nightmare ever since i blow those balloons with the helium gas? tank. bursting balloons really freak me out so no way am i going to blow balloon. somemore the plastic smell. eeeee yucks. normal people also feel siong when blowing balloon leh. hehehe

BRas extension
I already wearing one and i still feel like vomiting whenever i wear my bra. its not v tight but i dont like anything tight on me now. i think i need to buy 2 to wear together. is it reliable? will drop off since its like inter-lock among 2 extensions... err maybe i press it harder to lock it. i dont want bra to drop off lo.

Pinkbunny
yup. at Depot Road. Err the Depot Heights Shopping Center? Building where NTUC is located. The place is aircondition. LIke spoilt kids and good for bacteria/virus to transmit easily. Level2. They have 2 areas. One area, next to billard rm for Kids. Another one next to fish shop is for Babies.

I think not necessary to take up the course at the hospital one wants to admit in? otherwise, if last min change of hospital?

I think he is kidding. He will be either too ganchiong or freak out to play games with trembling hands hahahahaa

me too! bra too tight then got headache and feel like vomitting! haha. i thought only me so nonsense. the one i bought was 2 in a pack for about $5 from isetan. i guess can use 2 together ba. safe ah, why not? double hook leh (as in got 2, as opposed to some bras only got 1 hook)

depot heights shopping centre? wah where is that? next to billiard room and next to fish shop. alamak! haha.

aiyah he always say this kind of senseless things when i'm talking serious one. peng san.

bra extension

can get from ERO at $2.90 each also.

Jang ah .. the cervix is deep within us .. so must insert the finger all the way in to feel it.

the childcare is beside the hawker at depot height shopping centre.

as for belts, I dont wear it. but if you wear abv tummy, your breast will stand out. If u want under it, then your tummy will stand out and ppl will let you have the seats in bus or mrt lor ! hahahaha

pink bunny

that time my water bag leak whole nite w/o contractions too. hubby was with me the whole nite in the delivery room watching SCV ehehe at least got discovery and ESPN channels.

Oh the delivery room in Mt A is cold, hubby need to wear a jacket. and gals, wear a socks during delivery cos will have cold feet lor .. as in really cold feet due to aircon !

Jang
I was not cut when I gave birth I had a slight tear. N when I ask my gynea how many stitches it was she said it doesn't count cos its too small a tear.
My gynea's stitching skill also quite good cos I dun feel any pain at all afterwards can get on n off the bed n recovery was fast.
My pap smear also I didn't feel anything leh.

Ur hubby can dun look when the gynea is delivering ur bb lor. Jus ask him to stay by ur side n give u support. My hubby wanna see cos he excited told me can see bb head already but gynea ask him to support my other leg so he missed bb coming out.....hahaha

pinkbunny
Actually I find the laughing gas useless for me leh. Cos can still feel the pain 1 lor. But if u really breath in alot after a long time u will hallucinate. Cos I did after hrs on it I realise for awhile I tot I was not 'there' in the delievery suite.
But some ppl swear by it lah so depends on individual I guess.

Public transport wise I will normally get seats offered to me cos I have my 15mth old with me ma. N my tummy will be obvious esp when I'm carrying him. But think most ppl still think I'm plain fat....hahaha

SY
I think I know wat u mean u feel unfair cos for #2 we tend to forget eating our vits right??....hehehe
I also very lazy to eat my calcium pills cos see the pills so big already feel like vomiting but my gynea ask me to take cos she says I BF my son for 1 yr need to replenish the calcium for my bb.
I only feel bad to #2 when I scold my dog. Cos for #1 I never get angry during my pregnancy n he's quite a happy bb all smiles. Then now keep getting angry with my dog cos he keeps peeing out of his pee area. So dunno this bb will have bad temper anot.

Sonic
No lah ur not alone. I will have backache after I carry my #1 for awhile. Its been like that once I know I was preggy n my gynea says its normal cos its not our first pregnancy but she says some will disappear by 2nd tri. I'm hoping I belong to the 'some'....hehehe

HI All,

I would like to sell my Almost Brand New Avent Single Electric Breast pump (Used Only Once) together with a box of Brand New (Sealed) 10 Breastmilk Containers.
Retail Price :- abt $300/-

Here's the link:-
http://www.avent.philips.com/en_GB/products/SCF292_01.asp#features

I am willing to let go @ $220/-

I am Selling because my friend gave me her Dual Breast pump which I am using comfortably.

Interested parties, Please contact me at [email protected]. We will link up from there.

Waterman: yap .. after i sign up than i realise hahah .. but okie lar .. cos it cos more if not taking up package as they will charge for scanning, urine test etc also ...

pinkbunny,

i didnt eat salad only la...
in fact i haven tried salad after i got pregnant. it was rayna in her last pregnancy.
heehee.

oh my, delivering is so scarly.
imagine your V tearing. ouch!!!

lbt
thanks for the reminder, will sure wear socks in. i am someone who can't take cold.

Bra
i still have no issue with my bra but my pants.
mom just wash my jeans and it become so tight. now i cant buckle.

have anyone of you heard that city plaza sell cheap maternity wear?

waterman,
the cap of $350 is my medical benefits. of cos once it's hits the limit, everything has to be paid by cash liao.

last time i signed up the package leh. ok lah, dont know worth it or not. just feel relief that i dont have to pay $80+ every visits lor.

my total hosp bill came out to be about $5k cos i stayed there 3day 2 nites. plus i had 2 dosages of epi drugs, thats y my bill so high.

BELT
i still wear belt leh. my tummy not very obvious yet so still can wear.

cut at V area:
i also got cut. when the gynae cut me, i just saw she quickly throw the scissor on the delivery bed and the scissor just fly off... scary man, hahaha.... but i dont feel a thing lor.

i can walk around immediately i was sent back to my ward and it wasnt very pain leh.

qing
when u see Dr Han next time, ask him abt the itch. see whether he can prescribe u something for it.

re bus/mrt
that day got this lady signal to me to sit down when she saw an empty seat. first time for me since i preggy this round. other than that, no one will bother to give up seats. my tummy quite obvious already. even my ex colleagues whom i met also noticed it.

yesterday took leave to celebrate my #1 bday but he was so naughty.....dunno whether it is cos i was ard at home.

Qing, this is my first pregnancy. i meant i ate alot of salad during my 1st mth of pregnancy cos i was in US and i didn't really like their meat stuff cos too big portion. so end up eating lots of salad.

JMON, i think shld be ok as long as eat in moderation. my gynae also tell me everything can eat. cos if not, i'll end up eating nothing with the MS + this cannot eat that cannot eat. so i also don't really care. just eat what i feel like lor but in moderation lor. but i avoid raw food and also those ppl say too cooling food, like watermelon, pineapple, sea coconut and herbal tea lor.

lbt,
Actually when labour starts everything will juz go rite? No need to scare or what....cos u will blurblur juz get thru it. Thats wat happened to me *lol*...mabbe cos i was high on luffing gas at the later stage thats y i blurblur get thru it...heheh...somemore my ger was 3.36kg woh and I am only 1.58m in height! haha

Sonic,
if you have other choice, try to see if parents/in-laws or any relatives can help u take care anot? For me, maid is last resort. As for myanmar maids, mine is coming in Feb. I will let u noe if they are good. But again, I feel that getting gd maids is dependent on luck. And installing camera might help cos you will noe if they are lying to u.