(2008/07) July 2008

Dor

I dunno if you are referring to the cervix. Before my delivery, I was told by my gynae that my cervix is soft hence he predicted that my labour wont be long cos the cervix will dilate faster. My labour took me 5 hrs for my first child.

do1nk

yes cleanse ur face properly and avoid makeup on the affected area. However sun block is a must in such a weather.

I do still go facial monthly now and during my 1st pregnancy also. Gynae gave me the green light

lbt
hee, my boy's books take up 4 of my shelves already. hb telling me to stop buying but i can't resist. always go for those warehouse sales..haha

rain
if your hb blood is ok then i guess the chances of your child inheriting it is lower? guess u need to have a talk with your gynae on that

sonic
i never wear long sleeves and long pants. in fact just wear T-shirt and shorts only....hee

i dun look fat yet. only the tummy a bit protruding. i m still very skinny overall. my weight is still abt 40kg

kimi
did u go for post natal massage? supposed to push your womb up..hee, tell the older folks now got massage to make sure our womb dun sag..haha

Jang
those wine is the chinese kind of wine. think last time i use rice wine or something like tat. i din use it to wash hands. i only use it to do a wipe down at night with water cos i bathe in the day.

no matter what, if u intend to bf, u need to make sure u keep clean

dun really need to buy those expensive diaper bags. in fact i got one allerhand one which i find too heavy to carry. so now i just use a normal hand carry bag to dump all my boy's stuff. u will find that a lot of things look nice but not neccessary

dor1nk
i had very bad pimple outbreak for my first pregnancy. i did use some pimple cream but use very little only.

rain
it is quite normal to wkae up at night due to hunger. maybe u have a glass of milk before sleeping?

do1nk,
me too! but they'll go away after a while. den ur face will b nice nice radiant radiant!

jang,
my hubby collect food fr my mil everyday. poor ting. somemore cos bb was in special care (premature), we had to travel to and fro hosp everyday too. v tiring lor. after 1st mth, i eat anything liao. rem i ate roti prata thrice during my ML.

rain,
i noe. but wat to do? i really need to bathe. if they wld let me bathe, o cos i'll try 2 bathe earlier.

sparks,
no leh. mine is ok. my whole body ached terribly in e 1st few mths cos o all e work n not enof rest. but after tt ok liao. BFing wld sap our calcium, is ur fren consuming enof calcium. when i was BFing, i had difficulty moving my fingers. i tink it's calcium deficiency. now stop liao ok liao.

i tink it's more o how u take care o urself lah. even tho i did confinement myself, b4 e 1st mth was over, as soon as i wasn't feeling too weak n giddy, i started simple exercises to get my health back liao.

SY,
WAT??? 40kg???? how tall r u??? how much wt did u gain 4 e last pregy? aiyooooo, u must b v small sized.

Jang,
at KKH, need to queue, but now I know how the system works so will just get q number first (even not supposed to go yet!), so didn't wait for long. then i'll shop around, read my book and time pass quite quickly. max 2 hrs can settle, even with scan. Found the Staff extremely friendly and patient.
I started massage cos must prepare those milk ducts (kiasu)

SY,
I take leave from work to go yoga cos accumulated a lot of leaves. sometimes take MC. hehe.
if you're busy, can go for thur evening class or sat morning. the days not fix, you can go anyday as and when you like.

Sally,
got the same tummy problem as you but I like my maternity clothes. It's just that i'm not ready to tell my colleagues that i'm preggie until I get the detail scan. so afraid something will go wrong. so far, think the whole company gossiping abt me already.

Jmon,
be careful because gastric flu is contagious by saliva. Try to stay away from your small one.

For sunblock, i am avoiding those with whitening because its said to be more toxic. Dont learn learnt from those taiwan show.

I didnt use sunblock now. In fact anything just put me off. I am even using bar soap. I am those that believe in sunblock protection but the sunblock scent, although minimum is freaking me out.

I've been vomitting till i vomit blood!!! *faint* because my throat tissue has been hurt. Sobsob.

Ibt
Think u should ask them to avoid using essential oil for the 1st 3mths if u are really going for facial. I cancelled mine. In fact before I knew I was pregnant, I went for facial the day before. Then told beautician and she said dont do neck/shoulder massage on that day. Lugi but PHEW. Better to be safe.

SY
Oh. rice wine cheaper. Phew. Wapiang 40kg. No wonder doesnt look pregnant. "Heng ah", used to be 5kg overweight now only 2 kg because of all the MS. I am drinking small sips of Coca Cola now because I read someone mentioned good for MS but i'm controlling consumption. Just 10% or 5% of whole can.

Jeanyard
Cute baby. thats a boy?

kimmi
i also ache in the first few months. think more due to lack of rest and breastfeeding...

i m abt 1.54m tall. for my last pregnancy i gained abt 14kg. actually i was lighter than before pregnancy cos i lost weight due to breastfeeding. one of the main reasons i stopped was cos i couldn't gain weight

jeanyard
oic..dun think i can take leave so often. going to take leave cos going to start my boy in sch tmr onwards

jang
i also remmeber last time i vomit until my throat and the food pipe hurts. dun worry it will pass.

i still use sunblock though. throughout my last pregnancy i also use.

u planning to get a confinement lady? they will know what to use also.

Other mummies
Is it normal to have diarrhoea now? I've been having them on and off for days. Maybe because I drank milk? Hmnnnn I've been passing motion daily and i dont used to do this daily.

SY
Confinement lady ... how much to engage? i dont know go where to engage good ones. Heard some very dirty/lazy. Plus my auntie volunteer ask me go her house to stay. BUT i think most probably ask husband go there to pick up foods. But she stayed very far from me. Like Central and Tampines. Headache. My mother dont really know how to cook. Very jialat leh. My friend's mum very experienced. 3 daughters. Think all she took care. Maybe asked her for recipes or if she can cook for me lagi best. Pay her $$$

Hi, my edd is 12th jul
I have 2 boys, age 3 & 6. So now super siong with all the morning sickness. I literally have headache & nausea the whole day. My elder in P1 now so i gotta wake up at 530am each day since he's in the morning session.

Haiz, already sleep-deprived liao now still must wake up early...

I did my Oscar last thur & the results turn out fine. I'll be seeing my gynae this sat

SY

wah lau u r so skinny !! hai u r the lucky one who lost wt due to BF. I gained wt ok .. always felt hungry after I pump milk in ofc so I keep eating to curb my hunger ....so now v fat lor

Jang

My beautician dont use essential oil one. SHe is those who do biz at home so her facial is very traditional. no aromatherapy lah, or machine to suck out pimple etc ... so v safe for me lah.

Hannah

welcome ! wah sounds v siong for u leh ... sleep early if u can ...and congrats on ur OSCAR results !

Jang
I think hor its all leh cos bb is now above ur pelvic ma so will need to pass through ur pelvic area then can reach the birth canal. But dun worry so much lah our bodies very powerful 1 can expand n contract back. I gain 20kg for my 1st pregnancy n tot I would never be able to wear back my jeans. Who knows my jeans even became loose when my son was about 9mths. So dun think so much now.
Normally doc will only know when u nearing delievery if ur pelvic too small to allow bb to pass through ma cos dunno how big bb will be.

lbt
Urrr actually I dunno much where the cervix fits in this area haha. Cos my son born too early my gynea haven check anything for me yet.
But have heard before gynea say bb head too big to pass through or rather mum pelvic too small for bb head to pass through so need to do c-sec.

Dor dor

u r right. sometimes the gynae reckon that the bb's head or shoulder is too big to pass thru the canal. Or judging by the mummy's size, the pelvi may be too small.

u mean u have not had ur cervix checked b4 ??? then how ur gynae or midwife know how much u have dilated ??

mothers,

i have got a question.
during confinement, as you are not allowed to touch water right. who helps does the washing of the under garment?

Qing

use disposable panties to avoid contact with water.

anyway ur mensus flow will be very heavy after delivery so u need to change them very regularly.

ibt,

but but.
i don really fancy disposable ones.
and with the mensus, i can imagine how dirty it will get.
oh my

welcome new mummies and happy new year to all once again....

arghhh... dont feel like coming back to work. holidays are over... sianz!!

this morning having gastric flu again but still come back to work cos bo bian, need to run reports today.

dor dor,
i also did housework during confinement lor. washed mine and my boy's clothes. mil dont even helped except cooking. lucky hb was 'helpful' lolzzz

jean,
ya will try not to kiss my boy so much :p
your cookies has big eyes.

here's my bbA
1175136.jpg

Qing

no choice lah. I thought it is cleaner to use disposable one cos the flow is very heavy and tends to stain our panties leh.

JMON

ur SUPER BABY so cute !!

Qing,
i used disposable panties during confinement. no need to wash, just wear and throw. i bought alot.. altogether 15 packs of 5pieces in each pack :p i m very kiasu and 'kia' dirty type

hmmm, Kimi.. good advise. I will tell my frd of yr experience. B'cos she was having ache all over even after her kid was already 2yrs old. Now she's preggie and thought of hiring a CL. She wanted to regain her health back. So I just tell her, hired if you need lor but get good ones...

Happy 2008. Today first day to work, but cannot get into the working mood.

Still feeling sleepy and tired.

And I'm disappointed that the government focus for 2008 doesn't include motherhood.

ibt,

I saw news. They are gonna focusing on 3 main topics:
1. Transport
2. Education
3. Forgotten - something abt the economy

lbt,
ya, PM Lee said ERP will be raised and taxes for having car will be reduced. however, the increase in ERP will be higher than the reduction of taxes one... and the COE for 2008 will be reduced too.

Ibt, Jmon,

Yar. They wanted to encourage public transport, so likely public transport will increase too.

Education: To encourage each individual to develop their talents

no matter we like it or not, all these cant be avoid lor...

oh no, my gastric flu making my stomach quite pain. might be going home but i have not finished my work and i will be on leave for the next 2 days...sigh~!

do1nk,
i hv pimples on my forehead ... now dun kn what can use to clear them?

Sy,
u so thin ar... i now 54.6kg look so fat cos i short ...siao liao i i scare i will be more fat... mind i give u some weight? hahaha

Jeanyard,
yr cookie very cute eye so big... i kpo ar his name is cookie?

JMON,
yr boy also very cute.. eye also big somemore with his superman outfit very very cute..

anyone here start drinking red date and wolf berry ? my mother cook that for me everyday then ytd i dun feel like drinking it then i dun dare to tell her then u kn what i do hahaha pour some way (make me feel so bad as she put in effort to make it for me) not like my MIL i cough from oct till now havent recover never ask or said anything.. some more go over to her house on sat she only keep telling me she here not feel well there not feelin well ...faint ar got this kind of MIL think after give birth she will not do any thing for me de lah not even cooking so not going to put any hope on her for helping me out...

Jang,
I'm experiencing diarrhoea like situation too. As I don't eat much everyday, so only passed out a bit every morning. I don't have this for my first pregnancy.

Drink coke.. The gas might have made you feel worse when you have MS, isn't it?

Jeanyard,
You start massaging your breasts already? I heard that massaging breasts is not encouraged until week 37 or later because that will trigger contraction of womb. Correct?

SY,
You are so skinny! Normally skinny mummies can save a lot on maternity clothes, just get the size L or XL clothes if you are wearing S - they can last you till last stage.

Mummies, talking about confinement lady, if anyone of you know of some really good CL, pls do share/recommend. I don't have CL for my first one, so didn't take good care of myself, body aches attacks me on and off... Quite terrible. I think we have to pre-book a CL as early as few months before delivery right?

Wow... the babies are so cute!

Sonic,
Yes. You need to somehow book her. But what's the market rate now? My mum will be looking after me during my confinement so I haven't explore this option yet.

SY,
As long as you eat balance meal, then should be ok. Oh... I bought some maternity pants and bra.

Jang,
Don't eat too much papaya. But I have constipation, something very hard to pass motion.

Ling,
I hear that red date and wolf berry is very good. Can take. Yar, my mum cooked chicken of essence for me yesterday but then I do not feel like eating it. Yesterday dunno why, my appetiate not so good, dun feel like eating anything. After dinner, my MS throw up my dinner, then my hubby scold me for wasting food.

sonic,
huh? if wear S how 2 get L size??? will b too big! look like a sack! hehehehe... i wore S all e way till i gave birth. hopefully my bb will b bigger this time BUT w me still only gaining tt little wt.

qing,
frankly, how is it possible not to touch water??? even if u dun bathe urself or bb, aren't u gonna wash ur face? carry bb? BF? prepare milk etc etc... aiyo, e 1st few mths i touched water until my skin on my fingers all become wrinkled. n they cracked cos i came into contact w lotsa detergent. when it comes to bb, must b hygienic mah.

btw, i oso wore disposable underwear. oso cos it's loose. u won't wan e pad to rub aganst ur vagina. v painful after giving birth.

sparks,
w no. 2, ur fren oso dun wanna hire a CL? will she haf her mum or mil 2 help out? i'll b asking my mil this time rd. she will help look after my no. 1. i'll handle e newborn myself.

ya, gd CL v impt. some r so bossy n naggy they stress e mum out more than anything. my fren v gd. e 1st ting she said to her CL was "u're here to help me, not to make me listen to you. if i say no to sthg, you dun do it."

cos a lot o CLs tink they noe everything, will even scold u if u wanna bathe lah, or handle e bb in a way tt she doesn't agree w. so i tink 4 us parents, we still must noe wat to do, how to take care o e bb or e CL or mil/mum etc wld just b able to boss us ard n treat us like idiots.

not exaggerating. in my dec thread. almost all e mummies who haf helpers quarrelled w them, CL, mums or ILs. many broke down. so i'm v happy i had no helper. i act enjoyed my confinement. so we shld b prepared.

Sonic
not really. I feel like vomitting i drink coke, small sips and seem okay.

disposable underwear is very rough right? what brands are beter and more comfy?

i am reading a book now and say dont use soap to wash breasts while BF. Only rinse with water. Really?

I hate it when I vomit and my husb say 'why u vomit until gastric juice also come out?' stop vomiting. Wapiang as if I enjoy. If i dont vomit, i will be feeling terrible. Now I go to bed before 12pm. Even if I do partial bathing (lower body only) and face. Then I go to bed. Then i wont have Midnight sickness. hehhehee.

Ibt
HMn but i am not small size. I am medium size. Not those XS, S size. So pelvis small? My hip big. Maybe hip big is not equal to vaginal canal big.

Rain
I didnt eat papaya at all. Papaya very cooling. Somemore I've weak stomach so cant eat.

My mother didnt cook red date and wolf berry. This is to be drank after 1st trimster? I only drink red dates and dried longan the other day because of Dong Zhi.

I asked my mum to check around see can bath during confinment. If need herbs then buy herbs. At least I want to bath. I told her July very hot. hahaha. But if really cannot, then I dont bath. But I wonder how to endure. Imagine menstratution and cannot bath......... WAsay thats horrible.

Ling

is it too early to start drinking now ? I think not necessary leh. My MIL says we shld not eat heaty stuff during pregnancy that includes ur red date tea right ? I only drink during confinement. But drinking it once a in while should pose no problems.

Jang

dont take too much coke also . cos it contains caffeine.

Happy New Year everyone!

So sian to come back to work after more than a week of rest... miss my boy after spending so much time with him!

JMON & Jeanyard - your bbs are so cute! how old are they?

Rain
You asked about thalessemia, right? I'm a thalessemia minor and that means I'm a carrier of the gene. So if your husband is a carrier too, there is a chance that your child will develop thalessemia major which is a blood disorder and will need regular blood transfusion. Since your hubby is ok, then there is no risk of it. But there is still a risk of passing the gene to the bb, meaning, he/she will be a carrier too... the hospital will advise you to get the bb tested for it when they are older as it can't be detected when they are too young.

Qing
Glad to know that you're now in the midst of preparing for your wedding and waiting for the arrival of the little one... just enjoy the process and dun worry too much!

BTW, it will be better to get disposable panties during your confinement... trust me, it will be much easier! the flow can be pretty heavy for the 1st two weeks or so... dun think you want to spend too much time washing the stains off your panties!
Anyway, there are the cotton type of disposable panties that they sell nowadays which is almost like our regular cotton panties. Rather comfy. I remember I stocked up mine during John Little's sale...

hi mummies... look like all of us are back to work, but our hearts and minds are still on holiday..

any idea if tea tree oil (as pimple cream) is safe to be used?

and for those mummies having diarhea possibly due to the milk you are taking, there's lactose free milk in case you are lactose intolerant.. harvey fresh is one brand you can look out for..

bought a couple of my first maternity clothes from SPRING.. but I guess once I start wearing them, people will know I'm preggie liao...

my baby's 10wks old today! another 2 more days before I go for my 2nd visit!

Sonic/ Rain
I got a CL for my first one and I must say that having her around certainly helps a lot! As first time parents, mu hubby and I a lot of things also dun know, so with someone experienced around helps to ease us into parenthood. Think market rate is about $1,700 - $1,800. I'll be getting her help again. Else, you can try confinement lady agencies?

Aiyoh, your hbs so bad to scold you for vomitting! Not like you can help it, right... must remind them that it is their child you're carrying!

3D family.... I noticed I'm on top of your list! Kindly update my data, age: 35 babyboy EDD: Remains still on 29th May. Still no signs of earlier yet!

re: confinement agencies
I've engaged one from agency myself as I've personally saw how my sis's confinement lady helped her. Besides, my sis got conned of her deposit when the CL did not show up! For 28days at $1.9k, she need not go to custom and chop. If any1 is interested, I can let u know their contact...& their website it's www.blissconfinement.page.tl you can check out for more.

Jmon
We pai mia lah. U hand washed ur boy's clothes?? If me bochap 1 jus throw in machine lor....hehe
Anyway using bb detergant ma. But my mil wanna wash during confinement so let her wash lor. At least ur hubby got help mine working hrs very long so he can't help much jus wash the dishes nia.
I got so fedup with my inlaws coming over to see bb n walk till my whole floor black prints n never help to clean my floor I tell my hubby if I get too mad hor I will jus scream at them n chase them away then he can go n tell them I got postnatal blues dun come n disturb me.....hahahhaa
Ur boy is Sooooo chubby....keke

lbt
I mean before my waterbag broke n I was admited to TMC gynea never check my cervix before. But after I was admited the midwife only check once leh. Then it was 10hrs till I gave birth. Really hate the nurses telling me 'very soon' 'very soon' cos their 'very soon' is by hrs.....hahahha

Sally
I love Dorothy Perkins maternity. Surprising quite cheap compared to others. U reminded me must go n dig out my DP denim capris liao.....hehehe

Okie so many bb pics so here's my son "helping" me with dinner
1176135.jpg

dor dor,
aiyo no la. i also like u, throw everything inside washing machine. i dont even bother to handwash my own clothes lor, let alone my son's one...

haha, ur boy so cute helping u. if i pass the kang kong to my boy, no need to eat liao...

"tea tree oil (as pimple cream) is safe to be used"

Tea Tree Oil is natural antiseptic. U've to check with gynae. Its rather strong. Also, its best u bring whole box with ingredients for him to take a look. Pimple cream/acne products with those BHA/AHA whatever all must be very careful. In fact, one is advised to stop before TTC for some products

I think I better start to stock up on comfy panties during sales.

Can I go to Dentist? I've an empty pocket between my last molar and gum after i removed my hidden wisdom tooth. Vomit until foods stuck inside and has been swollen for days. Headache. No matter how i brush also cant get them out.

Sally
Does Marina Sq Dorothy Perkins stock up on nice Maternity top? Where else has Maternity Dorothy Perkins store? Thanks. $59 is quite reasonable. I bought mine from Maternity House, $63 or $61. Tsktsk. But not bad it has a string to tie up the elastic band. Can adjust when at different months etc.

dO1NK
dOES Harvy Fresh stink of milk scent? I'm taking PRIME or what. From Australia. Milk scent not as strong as HL/Marigold.

AFter I vomit, I rinse my mouth/throat with milk! hehehe. Less spicy or sour in this case.

OOH yes, am i sleeping too much? I've been sleeping > 10hrs daily!!! I will wake up at 5am or 8am go toilet then continue zzzzz for another 2-4hrs++

Next time ERP will be whole day at night too when Circle Line , Bk Timah Line etc all up. Dont be surprised. Already mentioned years ago liaozzz. Now policy= U want cars? I give u cars to drive. But U pay as u drive. So u want to go town/squeeze with people, Pay ERP. Now cars so cheap already. Last time 1.6CC 90K++ for Japanese time Now only 60K/70K++, cheap already.

The govt might as well remove COE but no, they want $$$ for road building etc. Zzzz

Jang,
U only woke up once, but me woke up many many times. Sometime because hungry, cannot fall asleep.

Maybe not enough sleep, feeling moody and sometimes grumpy. Also tired.

But hor, I found myself liking to take sour curry ler.

Jumon,
Could we used our normal detergent for baby clothes or must use those delicate detergent for baby clothes. Course if need special detergent, I don't think can accumlate baby clothes so much for washing.

rain,

i m not sure if normal detergent can be used. sometimes i forgot to put softener when i wash my clothes, the clothe will turn out to be quite 'rough' to the skin leh.

anyway, my habit is to use the baby laundry detergent from Kodomo. it's quite common.

Rain
Sour curry? hmn I like to eat Indian fish curry but my mum said cannot after checking it out for me. Maybe because of the herbs they used? Or not good for my stomach. I cannot eat chilli now because my throat will feel pain. Main reason because of my gastric juice. Otherwise, I can eat much spicy foods than normal people.

I go back to sleep because i'm hungry hahaha. Wkend I will wake up at 8am, scream at my husb to buy Macdonald breakfast then i go back zzzz while waiting for my breakfast. Normal days, I wake up till I cannot stand. Wholebody aching from zzzzzz

Sally
oic. I will check out Great World City. I cannot wear skinny jeans because i dont have skinny legs to begin with. haha. I'm wearing straight/boot cut. Nowadays polytechnic teens are much better and daring in their dress codes than my time of polo tee and jeans :p

Jang,
Sour curry like the vegetable curry where it is more sour than spicy and tom yam soup. Cannot is it? I don't normally take chilli, so a normal order will be auntie fishball noodles no chilli please

Sally,
Can wear those tights, really follow your sexy leg shape. Then wear those long blouse.

Jmon,
So you wash baby clothes separately?
I tried to use less softener cos trying to save $$. If never use, the clothes will be hard but after you leave it there, it will become soft again. Unless you want to wear soon after wash then it will be hard. I know Downy is very good, keep the clothes soft but smell too strong ler. Which softener did you use?

Sally

wah skinny jeans !! envy !

i wear bootcut one leh hehe

aiyah we need to buy maternity dresses during CNY too. So waste of $$ ...