(2008/07) July 2008

lbt - Thanks
My 1st one is gal, 2nd one boy. We were hoping for gal for this 3rd one. Know the gender for yours already?

Yeah, I used medela mini electric for 1st one and absolutely hated it..

oh it's ur 3rd one !

i dont know yet.. going to see gynae tonite.

ya i hated the medela electric also.

maybe want to borrow PIS for my 2nd one ..

Yep, after this one, factory will close permanently..kekeke..

Your 1st one is boy or gal? How old already? My 1st one is 3.5 years old and 2nd one turning 1 next month

do1nk,

i think it is the hormones.
i too feel very frasturated at times. i even quarrelled with people while queuing for the toilet.

have been very troubled these days due to the wedding banquet venue.

pretty concern now.
by march 2008, my tummy would be very obvious.
don know if i can handle the foul mouth from my relatives.
oh my.

AMM

mine is a gal, now 16 months

wah ur 2nd one is so young !! so brave of u !

Qing

DOnt bother abt the comments.

Oh ya the hormones causes mood swings so it's not you, dont worry.

I am consider hot tempered (very male type not normal girls/sissy throw temper)but my friends find it unbelievable when i tell them what i did when i throw temper.

I am polite and very nice to my friends (Today even help friend make reservations) but strangers better dont step on my toes (cutting queues, pushing etc) and make me go crazy hehehe. So far I'm very nice.

These few days have been vomiting because i feel hungry (the acid just came up to throat). and yesterday i was vomiting and scolding SO (at the same time!) for not keeping to my schedule and make me hungry. Humpf. There is nothing to eat at my office area! Too ULU.

and yesterday after I threw a temper, i suddenly remember OH I must control. Then i talk very nicely to my baby hahaha

Qing

Lucky already. I saw from news, there's a FOCUS bridal shop at IMM closed shop. Some customers already paid 100% and now face this big problem. They are approached by other BS to pay 1k for the services. I think should be those neighouring BS offering their services.

Aiya, relatives normally only treat it as passing remarks. Many of us will have relatives/friends/parents' friends around my age doing this.

Anyway, the most important thing is responsibility. At least has the courage to get marry with a baby than to opt for another option. People are passing remarks but they are quite 'harmless'. When baby 1mth, they will come and celebrate with her/him too.

Dont go and do yr nails with those acrylic gels etc. very posionous to inhale those chemicals. if possible, dont even put nailpolishes. i dont know why so many mummies like to put but its very bad to inhale those things.

I think Mar yr stomach still okay ba? Maybe if u have MS, u might even lose weight.

Other Mummies

Medela i think they rent their items out for people to try? Maybe can try first. I'm going to slowly take my time to digest the information here on those pumps. Think I get them from US but no warranty. Aiya..... cannot be greedy

I want to check with fellow mummies, how much are the gynae package going to be at private? My gynae only offers package from 5mth i think for $800. Cant remember must check with counter again.

Oh ya, I was told to eat Almond nuts. Where to buy in Singapore? They said its good for baby's brain! Smart babies!!!

AMM,
3rd mth can see gender already? now can start thinking of names.

Re breastpump : Strongly recommend Ameda dual pump. STrongly against Medela mini electric cos super noisy -- I totally agree

Jmon,
aiyah, my appt on 22 leh. heh, maybe we'll meet at delivery ward, like one of my forum friend from other thread. she visited me after giving birth the next day :p
are you ok now?

Sparks,do1nk,
if you want Clarins, get from
www.strawberrynet.com
it's cheaper
I like the oil smell, v nice but your colleagues will smell it too and they will ask who apply sthg!
If you like lavender, I recommend Stretch to The Limits from Babies n Cream (buy from Robinson, Great World City or Mums Essential)

Ling,
antenatal class best go with HB, if he cannot make it, it's no pt going cos most of the materials can learn from internet. check with your hospital for classes
Heard the best is from Mdm Wong Boi Boi at thomson

hey Jang

my gyane package starts from 5th mth too and will cost me $600.

Today just had my 12 weeks checkup. Bb is 6.55 cm now and growing well ! yeah I passed my 1st tri !! yeah yeah yeah !

and my placenta is formed and in good position i.e not low.

so now that placenta is there, I will need to take iron, calcium and fish oil. oh gals , remember, dont take iron and calcium together, else will cancel the absorption of iron into the body. So dont take iron with milk lah !

btw Jang, having warranty for ur pump is required I think. see ,.. my pump broke down after 6 mths only... heng I got a replacement !

jeanyard, i ask my gynae for bb gender today but he say too early lah
my bb is very active today .. jumping up and down in my womb hehehe

had a phone fight with BF yesterday,
wedding can really kills a relationship.
it is making me really tired.

Jang
fortunately, Bf and i don't like IMM. it is too out of the way for us. Come Mar, it is about 5mths le. sure obvious one loh.

almond nuts can be bought in major supermarket ba.

counting down 5 more days to gown fitting and to see my baby again. Finally after a month of wait. somehow, feeling very worried. fear that the baby is not doing so well inside. mixed feeling.

Jean,

ya i m much better, keep thinking of shoppin :p

I have changed my appt from 2 Jan to 29 Dec liao. hb is gan jiong due to the bleeding last weekends, so asked me to bring my appt forward.

ya, hopefully we can meet at the delivery ward hahaha :p

Jmon

eh better dont shop lah since u have bleeding lastweek.

Ren for a while more, until gynae declare bb stable then shop ?

take care ...

Qing
You seeing Dr Han on wed? Will you be going for the FTS scan? I just went for mine yesterday and is very low risk for down sydrom. Think is 1:9000. Can see the bb moving and DR say my bb very active.

Dun worry I am sure you can see your bb moving too. As we still cant feel the bb movement we will tend to worry if the bb is doing well. Maybe at 16wks gestation when we are able to feel their movement, we will not be that worry.

Hiya all

I dont know but is the strawberrynet products new? or still within expiry date?

How come some of u like go to gynae for many times? I am still within 1 trimster and I only been to see gynae for 2x. He said by right every wk or 2 but mine was like 1 more week because i am scared of the pain when he poked the stick with camera into my vagina.

I dont know some time when i threw temper i feel pain below. Like below stomach area. And I have to vomit because the gastric juice are coming up to my throat!!! if i dont vomit, the juice will be there for hours n hours n i feel very uncomfortable with a spicy throat. ahhhhhhhhhhhhh
I already omit garlic, onions in my diet. I cannot stand garlic!

Ibt

Wa say what is the brand, model of yr pump? 6mths and break down? How much did u pay for that? Replacement=new set?

Qing
U are young so dont really have to worry abt the baby. Just make sure u are not too stressed up over yr wedding preparation. Watch yr diet. and of course, throw less temper!!! I am learning too!

oh 5mths shld be obvious. I think u have to let BS designer give u ample space for yr stomach to grow and if u are slim type, can always have ball type of gowns or A line but with light organsa (i dont know how to spell!) material to give a light feathery feeling so stomach not so obvious. U have to choose a proper gown design to do that.

Wedding issues always have quarrels here n there if both are not accomodating etc. Or earlier never discuss properly. I discuss everything with then bf very early. Even washing machine cannot put panties, underwear to wash also discussed already.

Jang,
I always get from strawberrynet. should be ok cos most products contains preservatives (unlike FANCL products)

Qing,
don't argue with BF lah, try to compromise. if unhappy, eat chocolates (dark), will make you and bb happier. It's scientically true.

Jmon, I just realised my detail scan is in Feb.

Re: Yoga
anyone interested? I'll be joining next month.

Jang

i think u r suffering from heartburns.

I was using Medela Double Electric. Dont buy if u intend to BF for long. Not meant for heavy duty usage.

Yes I got a new set for FOC cos product still under warranty.

iBT
oIC. I have to read through yr post again to see which pump is good. Then decide where to buy. Just buy something that is suitable and wont break down due to heavy duty usage. What does it mean if dont intend to BF for too long? How 'long' is long? My friend's sister has been BF for 3yrs!!! *faint*

I think Clarins has essential oil for their products? I read from those essential oil association (US, Australia etc) where they have a longer history of using it. THey actually dont recommend pregnant mothers to use essential oil for their pregnancy. This is even though some feel that its too harsh and neroli essential oil etc is good at later stage. However, they said not much research has been carried out so they dont advise. I am now looking at Great Mother Goods products. They have 1 with no essential oil but only from US.

I've collected my Baby Journal from Library. Not bad! There are some additional information thats very good to 1st time mummy! Those who havent collect it, hurry go collect :p

Jeanyard,

I am a yoga member before got preggy now have to temporary suspense my membership and resume after my confinement. meantime, during the suspension, still can go for their pre-natal yoga on weekend.

Jang

my initial target to BF was 1 yr ... but stopped after 9+mths.

It depends on u lor .. but some says it is not very beneficial to BF > 1 yr. Emotionally not good for mum and kid also. anyway kids need solid food more than milk when they are older.

Miracle - Err... My gynae ask me to consider ligation but hb not for it.. now they have those 3 or 5 year contraceptive patch thingy.. maybe will consider this

Lbt, at 12 weeks can feel/see your baby jumping up and down in your womb already? At such early stage, your baby is really active leh.

Chloegal, glad to hear that your FTS screening showing good result. FTS is clearer than the usual ultrasound scan, it's excited seeing your baby with clearer image right... My FTS scan will be next fri, hopefully the doctor who does the scan for me will be a patience one.

Mummies, are your tummies growing firmer instead of bloating big? I'm at 11 weeks now, but somehow I feel that my tummy is not as big as I think it should be. I find that my tummy seems to be bigger when I was about to have my period, before I'm preggie time. Looking at my not totally flat but yet not very big tummy, I'm kind of forgetting that I'm preggie at times. Coming to 3rd month, my colleagues are still unaware that I'm preggie. Thought 2nd time preggie, tummy pop out faster and more prominent.

lbt, can take calcium tablets with milk or not? i find that it's so argh when taking multivit or calcium supplements with plain water.. it makes me feel like vomitting... it's a torture. so i would rather take them with milk instead. aim to have one stone kills two birds.

try to take lukewarm water? i also cannot stand plain water.

12weeks can feel baby?!?!?!? WAAAAAAAAAAAA by right is how many weeks?

my tummy seem bigger and firmer but i think always this firm because of fats? hehee. initially quite flat because i vomit everyday. i have since lost like 3kg++. So happy that means i can gain a bit more. Overweight so lose a bit at 1st trimster might be better for me.

I was reading some posts that talked about maternity pads. someone mentioned menstruation will run for 1mth???? REALLY???? *faint* How NOT to bath like this?

But seriously, i heard from a chinese doctor he said woman do 1mth confinment very important. If u do good, rest of yr life is good. if u screw up this 1mth, yr body going to be screwed up UNTIL next pregnancy for u to 'recoup'. If close business, then good luck. HTHS!

everyone, it's really a great sale at robinson. today i got the ameda breast pump with the fridge at only 299 (up400+) and the avert sterliser at 139 (up 189).

think they still have quite a lot of avert sterliser. but do note that the price only for card member.

n their bed sheets also very cheap...

heard metro also sale...any good buy there?

today went for my FTS scan. so far so good. but bb was like resting during the scan. not much movement.

chloegal
Dr kenneth kwek did my scan. very nice and detailed doc.

did u do blood test? based on scan alone, my risk is 1:3000

your risk is realyl low.

glitter
i prefer Medela. For me the Avent Isis manual pump din work for me. I got Medela PIS. actually depends on a lot of factors. some pple suit the Avent Manual Pump which is good for them cos it is cheap. but in my case, my boy refuse to latch and I had to pump all the time, so better that i get a dual electric pump to save time and save my energy as well.

qing
yeah dun tire yourself out. it's really just one night. do the best u can and try to get family or frens to help out if possible

Jang
i din realyl do baby journal but i started a blog for my second one.

i started wearing non wired bras cos it feels more comfy also

i never go for any antenatal classes. hee, my fren says u will forget one. are u planning to get a confinement lady? can just learn from them how to take care of bb or just post your questions in forum.

i bathed during my one month of confinement. cos i wan to bf so i find it so dirty not to bathe. some pple's discharge are quite short. not all the same one. think mine was really abt a month

I'm from Nov07 MTB thread.
I have Gina Ford's Contented Little Baby Book for sale. It's recommended by many mummies who want to establish a daily routine for baby.

Bought it at $28, will let go at $18. Good condition. Anyone interested?
Please email me at [email protected]

Qing
Very curious aah why u choose to get married in March next yr?? Cos by then tummy sure obvious ma n we supposed to look our best during our wedding right??
Cos normally for ur kind of situation they would choose an earliest available date so can settle the wedding fast before tummy grows so can still take nice photo. My sis had her wedding in 3 weeks n other 2 relatives bout 1mth+(same situation as u). Cos anyway u only need to inform relatives of wedding date at most 1 mth before ma.
So I'm very curious why U willing to wait so long jus to go through with the ceremony. Ur parents chose the date?? Won't it be better for u to settle the wedding thing soon so u can concentrate fully on ur pregnancy n ur new life with hubby?

As for wedding preps dun stress so much lah can't please everyone ma. Agree with the rest its only 1 day thing lor. I also bochap with my wedding dinner cos my FIL had alot of "ideas" n since he's paying for it I jus bochap n wait to be pretty on my wedding day lor. The 1st time I step into the dinner venue was the night of my wedding.....hehe

Jang
How u collect the Baby Journal from library??
2nd time mum can feel bb movements earlier about 3 mths 1st time mum gotta wait longer lor my #1 only felt at abt 5mths.

btw even sinsehs have clarified that actually they do not restrict bathing during confinement. The practice is for those long long time old china where sometimes weather is very cold n they use well water which might be dirty.
I bath n wash my hair as usual jus make sure u dry ur hair throughly. I need my sanity n dun bath feel so dirty how to BF bb. Later bb also dun want me to carry aah....hahahha

Jenny
I think robinson sales was over on 27Dec? I wanted to go (preview sales) but too tired after isetan. and i have to go to work. plus friend said cannot stand/walk too long

Dor
I just bring appt card down (with my medicine) and show them IC, Gynae appt booklet and just filled in form and able to get the journal. Comes with VCD too! hehehe and a height chart. The libriarian didnt really check because still early to see protruding stomach. haha. Otherwise I will show her my medicines as proof :p

I was reading about bath restriction earlier and it said thats because last time water not clean, somemore woman will have wound at vagina area so might get infected. now dont have to worry.just make sure bath with warm water. another thing is, no aircon/fan. actually this is quite true because like those guan jie yan etc, too much wind get inside body thats why joints also pain. Plus sweating and so fast water evaporate is no good for body.

Jang,
is there any discount in the bb journal? think i'll collect it again....
As for Clarins oil, the Tonic oil is esp for preggies, so should be ok. Some essential oil should be avoided, eg Juniper. can read up for specific ones in internet.

3D,
where's your pre-natal yoga? is it the Whatever yoga at chinatown? mine's at Tanglin Mall. I like it very much cos they sort of help in my muscle strengthening last time. and the place is carpeted with lots of cushions. very comfortable.

<font color="0000ff">Prenatal Yoga</font>
@ Tanglin
8 sessions for $195 (don't know if there's price increase)
(no need to pre-reg, just go when you feel like it and they'll deduct your credit of 8 lessons)

http://www.motherandchild.com.sg/yoga/yoga_main.htm

SY, I will sign up with them next month and start late Jan. I will on sometimes on Tue or Fri morning (take leave or MC- arrange gynae appt) to go cos I don't like peak days like thur evening or sat morning.
if you register already, can PM me when you'll be going, i'll meet you!

hi, sorry to interrupt, have got the following for sale:

hi i've this MIM sling for sale. used only once with DVD. $35. color:
lime green. collection by postage or shenton, serangoon, AMK o TPY.
interested, pls pm o e-mail me @ [email protected]

1170078.jpg

Hi Jeanyard,
I am a true yoga memeber, they have pre-natal class but haven go yet, maybe after 1st tri ba.

Jang/Jeanyard/dor dor,
Haha... I dun even produce any identification at the library. i just ask the counter staff, heard library have bb journal to give out, he just packed and gave it to me. hehe.

sonic

i think calcium and milk is ok .. since they both contains calcium. Just rem when you take iron, no calcium at the same time, means no milk.

So now I take fish oil in the am, iron in the noon, and calcium at nite. My calcium need to chew one, cos it will be absorb to the body easily.

oh ya lah, my this 2nd bb more active than first one leh.

this morning I went to Paragon to do the OSCAR NT scan. Aiyo bb keep moving again, the sonographer also commented ! hehehe .. anyway today I saw the bb 10 fingers, bladder (means kidney is functioning), brain, scull, heartbeat, stomach and legs. Oh and the bb Nasal bone aka nose bridge.

They took the fluid level or the neck thickness as well. The sonographer says 60-70% of down syndrome bb does have not nose bridge or nasal bone. So quite relief to see my baby's.

oh i am not joking abt feeling bb movements. It is not very freq but I am quite sure they are bb movement cos it is not at the tummy area where it could be our intestines. I felt my 1st bb movements at 18 weeks which is consider early for 1st time mum also. But i dont expect the 2nd one to be that early !!!

my tummy is firmer and quite big this time round. Probably it pound onto the fats that I did not lose from the 1st pregnancy eheheh

hi i read that my expecting date is similar to most of us here , mid july 08... so we shld be in week11-12 now (today is 29Dec 07).. just wonder if any of u have been to OSCAR, or any other tests for down syndrome and other birth problems ... may i know how much is your test and which week are u when u do these tests ? btw , how much have u spent on gynae fee for 1st trimester so far? pls email to me at [email protected] , i am now in my 11th-12th week , have been to gynae 3 times and each time is $100+ even though i am normal (no bleeding, etc... touchwood!)... just got some simple prescription for folic acid, and do the sonic scan... that's all... wonder is these charges expensive? btw i am visiting Dr Loke and Dr YY Tan of Eastshore Hospital...

hi mummies... how's everyone doing?

Jang.. can we collect the baby journal from any national library?

anyone here using any clarins product for stretchmarks? heard it's good but not sure which one is it...

now in my 9th week and still waiting for the MS to go away... it's my first pregnancy but my tummy n butt's already growing real fast..yet it's weird to start wearing maternity clothes now..

can't wait for my 2nd visit to the gynae's next friday.. hope the little baby's doing alright...

Jeanyard
yes yes there's discount but only till 31 Dec 07 only!!!

3DsFamily
Do u need to fill up any form? Mine was a lady. Lady more fussing one la. hahaha.

do1nk
All except esplanade/Orchard (closed). Wear loose pants. My clothes didnt dry fast enough and I have to wear one ugly weird color trackpant to work.

Ivy
So far I went only 2x. First time 200++ because of Folic Acid and the hormone medicine. 2nd time I think is 100+. My gynae located at Mt E and my family doc recommend. He said this gynae will be examiner at times when required. He said 1st one better find a good gynae. I didnt go for woman/female because heard some suing cases going around. Not 'zai' enough if sudden cesarean etc happened.

Ibt
How does chewing calcium tasted? yucky?

Oh ya i want to enquire about something. there's this thing about Tai Qiao right? Teach baby or talk to baby when still in mummy's stomach. I saw those leapfrog system. If buy those and put books inside and read while pregnant, considered as tai qiao too? Thanks

thanks, Jang

hmm... have not heard of that...only heard of letting our baby listen to classical music while still in womb...

drinking this ginger honey latte drink I got from NTUC...not bad

Any mummies interested in the below items. Collection at Bedok.
1.Daifonai (Herbal Bath), 17 pack.
2.Friso Gold Step 1 (900g), 1 can
3.Frisomum (400g), 1 can
Interested mummies can contact me at 92789982.

Do1nk
I dont know. I thought should be Goaty but dont know why everyone use Jang so I also follow/stick to it. haha

I havent set my date yet. I forget already. Going to update after 1 trimster.

I have also found my old account but not sure if i should use it for sprees/posts etc. Hmnnn