(2008/07) July 2008

ya ya...when have bad MS, we feel terrible. when everything ok, we worry.
but i always have this churning stomach even if no nausea. so i always munch on biscuit. it kind of help.

Sally Cinnamon (sugarspun) ,
so u have natural birth w/o epi. I hvae natural w/o epi cos by the time I press the bell for nurse already 10cm and baby's hair can see liao and kena scold by the nurse y call her so long but the pain is still bearable just the pushing very pain but only 2 push.

Shay

The way I curb my MS is also like you.. I eat in order to stop the nausea feeling. I always feel hungry close to meal times.. and I have gained abt 2.5kg already.. The 1st preg, I gained 8kg haha, I hope I wont gain so much this time round..If not, quite dificult to shed after that..

Malacca trip - Actually plan to go Malacca on the 13th with hubby and friends but ended Hubby went alone with them.. sobs sobs cos I am afraid of my MS..

Karenp

I have spotting in my 7th week too but not sure if it is due to carrying my 14mth old gal but luckily it lasted for 1 day. I always tell remind myself to try not to carry my first one so much but cannot lei.. Anyway, u take care of urself and rest well ya..

dor dor, sally cinnamon,
just curious, how come u cld mistake ur waterbag bursting as urine??? hehehe... mine hor, it burst 4am in e morn n when i sat on e toilet bowl, water just gushed out non stop...
went hosp, n had 2 b put on bedrest w only one pad kiapped b/w my legs n e hosp gown. water kept gushing out. it was lidat 4 more than 24hrs. n i had to lie on sticky squishy water 4 soooooooooo long....... such a torture. i cldn't move too cos i was on drip...
hope tis time rd wld b better...

dor dor,
ya man, i hate e not eating part. sigh.... my last preg hor, even after my MS over, i oso cldn't eat v well. i dunno if tt's e reason my bb was so small n has such a small appetite. i only gained 7kg then.

shay,
hahahahaha.. aiyo, some ppl has MS but eating helps curb it. some ppl like me cannot eat well at all. i can nv finish one serving at a go. 4 e.g. i take 20mins 2 finish 1 piece o saralee cake n it was already such a torture. lidat how 2 gain wt? but dun worry lah, i tink gaining wt is better than losing wt.

wah, u cld wear underwire? i cld not lah. my ss was way too much. n i always wake up in e mid o e nite w v bad engorgement pain.

qing,
wow! great to hear tt u're firm bt ur decision. tt matters a lot!
e other mummies haf said enof so i'll just wish u strength n gd luck!

lbt,
aiyo. e OIO bra so ex ar? v hard 2 buy bra leh cos dunno who big they'll grow. sigh... MIM has q gd non wired nursing bras tt stay in shape. q cheap oso. i tink $20/30+ nia. as 4 bra to wear when i'm at home (cos i leaked milk 24/7 lah), i buy e cheap cheap 1 for $10 ones fr seiyu.

oh, who's updating e table? i haf details liao.

edd: 4th august (30-40% o premature birth so cfm give birth in july lah)
kids: 1
gynae: dr lawrence ang
zone: north

thanks!!!

hi shay,

sour plum is afterall a preserved fruit and its not good to eat too much of food with preservatives...this includes bah kwa during chinese new year...

take things in moderation yah and hope u regain yr normal appetite soon!

Kimi
Wah ur waterbag powerful ah burst so much aah. Mine was leak bit by bit only n jus nice it broke when I cough lor so I tot my incontinence was SOOO BAD.....hahaha
Only when I rush to toilet then realise the leaking cannot control 1 but still not alot its bit by bit so I can still wear a pad n go hospital.
U more or less confirm give birth in July but I dunno if mine will be in June....hahaha

My MS not that bad but I keep eating lor cos dunno if I am hungry or not....hehe
I gained 20kg for my 1st preg my son only 2.68kg when born....hehe

tinyfeet,

thanks for ur advise, but i can't help leh.... of cos i will eat just a small piece at a time but can't do without it. will try to cut down cost it's finishing.

jazz,

wah i have kaki liao cos i hardly see ppl gain weight in the 1st tri a lot of mummies with ms will normally loose weight but mine is the opposite huh...i hope i can put on less weight this round - target 16kg but dun think i can achieve it haha...

kimi,

u eat so slow ar? y leh? just can't swallow? do u vomit after eating? may be that's the reason y u lost weight. i think u sud be small size in person too.........s

qing...so happy to hear about your decision... now you juz have to stay strong and tell yourself you can do it... things will work out right, dun worry!

hi everyone..how's your holiday so far?? I'm going through the headache stage now... and my clothes are getting tight... yet too early to wear maternity clothes right? Feel so fat...

dor dor,
v powerful wor my waterbag! n i was only at my 33rd wk nia. scary man. so waterbag can act leak bit by bit one har? guess mine was e extreme case.

i oso dunno i hungry or nt. v confusing hor? cos hungry n pukey but tink o food feel so disgusted. hehe..

shay,
ya lor, can't swallow well. they keep getting stuck mid way in my throat. n i need to only tink o food n i'll get sick. 1 hr b4 every meal time i've to rack my brains bt wat to eat. not wat i crave for but wat wld not make me sick. hehehe...

last preg worse lor. i cried during almost all e mealtimes. totally torturous 2 eat. fyi, i used 2 eat v fast.

i dun vomit. i try 2 keep it all in cos if i vomit n get hungry, i hafta eat again... n i hate eating now......

do1nk,
aiyo, headache v cham one. luckily i haven't had much o it.. yet. *cross fingers*

hey gals

my waterbag burst before my contractions came too !
and it leaked whole nite .. gotta keep changing pads ! but I still sleep in the delivery room leh ehehe

kimi

ya OIO is not cheap. even zoe tay buys from there leh ... but i really can feel the difference in their bra. The underwire is not restricting and does not cause any blocked ducts when I was BF.

i was hungry yesterday evening and wanted to munch on something. i had a packet of potato chips on the table (don't really feel like eating it) but still did hoping that the MS might subside a bit. had less than 10 pieces and i stopped. few minutes later, i vomit all the potato chips out.
i was wonder is it my baby? don want mean don want. even if i eat it also will vomit out. i feel so sick after that.

do anyone of you face that? eating things that you don' feel like eating then vomit everything out?

As for the bra issue, i will still stick to wired bra. i scare breat will sag lehz.

i need help.

now that i have decide to keep the baby for good.
i am pretty lost with the wedding.

had just gotten a date (March 2, 8 or 16).
worry about getting a place for dinner.
as what i know, people start booking for hotel and restaurant as early as 1 year or 2 ago.

expensive hotel is a no-no. we only have a budget of $25,000 for everything. bridal services, wedding dinner.
Oh my.

Qing

congrats on your decision.

actually u can have a simple wedding and $25K is consider a lot u know ?

for photo shoot, u can consider doing a small scale one in SG or go to Johor where I heard it's almost half price as compare to SG rates.

for wedding dinner, u can just settle for a chinese restaurant and probably invite relatives and close friends only. This way u minimise the number of tables and cos for restaurant is usually must lesser as compare to hotel.

I would like to join this thread. I am expecting #2 now. My #1 is 4 years old.

Rachel, my EDD is same with yours 1 July 2008.

I didn't have any MS for #1. But for #2 I have morning sickness from morning till nite. Yesterday I vomited out all my dinner.
I always munch biscuit too.

Rayna, yeah we should not think too much. Just commit our worries to God, who will bless our babies.

Mummies, anyone using any cream to moisturize the expanding tummy? I used cocoa butter oil, can't remember the brand name, the result is not very satisfactory leh. Any good recommendation?

So jealous of those mummies who got MS, yet got good appetite to eat. I'm now fear of eating and drinking cos they are more like a torturing process for me now.

Qing, I agree with lbt. i think for 25k, you can have a pretty decent wedding.

i had my banquet dinner at a chinse restaurant. and it cost me abt 17k for 34 tables. i didn't choose the really fancy menu. was about 500+ per table onli. so if you have less then 34 tables, then it will definitely be less than 17k and for bridal studio + PS, i think if you don't mind, can get those cheap ones.gowns use off the rack instead of made to measure. i think i spent about 4500 on it. plus all the GDL gifts, lunch buffet on wedding day (both sides) i think total is still less than or equal to 25k. so those you can don't spend, just don't spend lor. and from relatives, you can just say you want cash/ang bao instead of jewellery. this way, it can help lighten ur $$ burden also. =) that's what i did. so don't worry too much. since u know your max budget, just work within it. sure can.

sonic, i lucky. now can still eat abit. but must eat small meals lor. if not also cannot take it.

actually hor, haven't use the moisturizing cream. now i cannot stand fragrance.

Qing,
glad to hear you wanna keep the baby...

$25k is more than enough for wedding dinner and banquet.

my package v cheap & cost me abt $2k (spore bridal shop) plus i didnt buy extra photos. just take watever in the package. but i dont tink the service is good

u can go JB to take. very very cheap.

as for dinner, with the helps from hb's fren, we booked 24 tables from a chinese restaurant inside a hotel & invited our close frens and relatives only. each table is abt $400 (at very special discount).

jmon,
me too dun buy any extra photo...then they attitude to me i dun care lor..cos the wedding photo after the wedding dinner i keep inside the drawer never take out again and no body see liao..

ling,
lucky me, tat time they did not give me any attitude.. the bridal shop i went to is One Man Show. the guy sub-contract the photo taking, do up the bridal car and makeup services to outsiders. then i choose my gown off the rack. then i asked a lot of rebate from them lor, for eg like my hb + his bro and father didnt want the suits, we dont want their bridal car, etc. overall was quite ok but always need to check with the guy when my album was ready for collection.

Oh Qing,
i rented my own bridal car + another car. think hb paid $700 for both cars.

Oh, and talking about bridal car, if you can borrow from friends or relatives, then borrow. just give them some ang bao money and maybe top up the petrol before returning. will be cheaper then renting.

and do note that our time might be a little different from next yr. everything has increase in price. =)

qing n other ladies,
aiyo, i din even haf studio photo shoot! hehehehe.. we din fancy e idea lah. yeah, 25k is a lot o money liao. sure can.

sonic,
welcome to e not eating club.

hi kimi... same here.. hubby & I felt awkward posing for photos.. so we ditched dat and had actual day photography instead, which we felt meant more..

hi other mummies... eating small meals is the way to go I think.. coz I feel sick from gorging too.. makes you wanna throw up even more! lately my weight kinda constant now.. (it initially ballooned 2 kg in 10 days!)

Qing
During my 1st pregnancy I couldn't take any instant noodles at all. I also didn't feel like eating it but then hungry at home lazy to go buy so jus cook lor. I only ate twice during my 1st pregnancy n both times vomit out after so I dun dare to take anymore.
This pregnancy I dun take prawns.....sigh
Sometimes eat abit I also dun feel good so now I jus skip it totally. But sian lor so many nice food got prawns leh n I eat it totally tasteless 1.

dor dor,

think i'm like u, can't take instant noodles. I rmb for my 1st one, i took kimchi instant noodles and i vomitted all out after that. As for this pregnancy, i also dun like to take....funny feeling after taking but didn't vomit. so far i only vomitted once, last night and i'm ard 7~8wks now.

sonic,

i also dunno if it's good or bad for being able to eat a lot to curb ms.i put on 3kg in 3 wks! i will have to control my diet in 2nd tri when ms gets better else i'll be chuncky mama again!

Jean,

I could not make it on 26 Dec as i had some bleeding this afternoon. it's flesh blood, not sure what happened.

felt some liquid coming down from vagina. at first tot it was discharge and went to toilet to check. saw the blood (like menses) and shocked me.

rushed to KKH 24hr clinic, did a scan and some check, bb was ok but dont know wat caused the bleeding cos i did not feel discomfort at all.

the doc asked me to admit but i dont want to. so i m given 5day hospitalisation leave to be rested at home.

Qing,

I can recomend you to a gd bridal shop at IMM which shop name is Double Up u can look for mdm gan she can give u a package which abt 2k include everything a few of my friends took the package from her quite gd.

Hi all MTB....
i am new MTB in this thread, 2nd pragnancy (1st one miscarriage around 6/7 weeks)and me not young, now 34 liao...
now coming to 8weeks preggy, just did a scan last nite at KK 24HR clinic, as found bleeding,i got lots of question to ask....
1. Any additional vitamins needed besides taking folic acid(5mg) per day and Gydrogesterone(10mg) twice a day?
2. Is it alright to take flight in the 1st trimester (about an hour flight)? Will the pressure affect the baby?
3. When to start apply stretch mark cream? Any brand to recommend? Will it help?
4. I am always hungy....is it alright?

Sonic
Ha...Ha... dun think i will delivered the same date as SY and the others althought how i wish i could. I will most properly delivered in June due to my condition.

jmon,
i hope you are alright. can you take some simple tonic soup (just lean meat with wolfberry ONLY)? was told by doc bleeding sometimes due to uterus not strong. so must drink this stuff every day. I used to for my first preg, now no backache.
26dec, I stay at home and chat with you on forum lor.
still trying to catch up with the threads, thanks to the slow modem. hope to upgrade soon.

Qing,
I never had a wedding dinner, until now never regretted. just didn't like the fuss and stress. we just ROM, and had lunch with both family - 1 table at a chinese restaurant.
now, no time to miss / regret wedding photos cos too busy looking at bb's photo.
heh, my colleagues didn't even know i was married until 1+ yr later!!

Qing

i din have wedding dinner too...only rom... b4 i could take my photo shoot, i was pregnant liao..

my rom gown also from double up wor

Hi Jmon,
Take care and have lots of rest. no prob for 26 dec, we shall meet up some other day.

Hi Jeanyard,
We will catch up some other day.

Hi Kimi,
I can update the chart but dun know what happen to the archived thread with the updated table, i dun save copy at home. I will try to update when i am back in office on wed.

haven log in for a few days and so many posts to catch up!

my elder boy got tonsillitis so these few days quite tired with him.

qing
good to hear that u have decided to keep the bb. your parents will come to accept this.

actually 25K is a lot. u can have a nice dinner. maybe u can choose restaurants? they are not as expensive as hotels.

for me, i din have photo shoot cos i feel that it is waste of money...haha. i tailored my gown with my tailor (very cheap compared to studios) . if you wan her contact, PM me. a simple gown shd be abt 200-300 i think (including material).

i did everything myself. no studio. got my own flowers and photographer. not so much of money but more cos i wanted to choose my own pple. i got a make up artist also. she's very good.

To all new mummies,

haven log in for a few days and so many posts to catch up!

my elder boy got tonsillitis so these few days quite tired with him.

qing
good to hear that u have decided to keep the bb. your parents will come to accept this.

actually 25K is a lot. u can have a nice dinner. maybe u can choose restaurants? they are not as expensive as hotels.

for me, i din have photo shoot cos i feel that it is waste of money...haha. i tailored my gown with my tailor (very cheap compared to studios) . if you wan her contact, PM me. a simple gown shd be abt 200-300 i think (including material).

i did everything myself. no studio. got my own flowers and photographer. not so much of money but more cos i wanted to choose my own pple. i got a make up artist also. she's very good.

To all new mummies,

Qing,

I didnt have wedding dinner as well, just throw a buffet for both families than after shift in to new house that was last year 2006. than in year 2007 oct i just take my photo shoot it so happen in the same i have my little one.

it depend on how you look at it, if you prefer something simple just have a buffet at a ball room for both families than will save quite a lot of $$$.

you must rember your baby will be coming up next year and of course you got to save a lot of your little one.

for me i didnt throw any wedding dinner but this time round my baby first month most likely will throw a grand one for the baby.

Qing,

I didnt have wedding dinner as well, just throw a buffet for both families than after shift in to new house that was last year 2006. than in year 2007 oct i just take my photo shoot it so happen in the same i have my little one.

it depend on how you look at it, if you prefer something simple just have a buffet at a ball room for both families than will save quite a lot of $$$.

you must rember your baby will be coming up next year and of course you got to save a lot of your little one.

for me i didnt throw any wedding dinner but this time round my baby first month most likely will throw a grand one for the baby.

just went thru all the postings.

re MS
i dun think i gained any weight so far. appetite still not as good as before. but slowly putting on the weight that i lost.

Jmom
oh dear, better rest. did u do any walking etc? for my first pregnancy, i also had fresh bleeding one night and quickly went to KKH emergency but no reason was found for it. just gave me MC to rest the next few days

sonic
so u haven decide on the gynae? just go with who u feel more comfrtable with...

when i had my first kid, Dr Han actually had a sprained ankle and he had to come back in the middle of the night in wheelchair for me. the nurse told us his wife wheeled him to the hospital. and he was quite good cos even though he had a sprained ankle he used a lot of strength to help me push my bb out. if not, i got to use vacuum already

i have been playing a lot of Wii lately. gets me so excited. dunno whether can play or not. think i need to cut down. everytime play, i will be sweating like mad. like exercise like that.

just went thru all the postings.

re MS
i dun think i gained any weight so far. appetite still not as good as before. but slowly putting on the weight that i lost.

Jmom
oh dear, better rest. did u do any walking etc? for my first pregnancy, i also had fresh bleeding one night and quickly went to KKH emergency but no reason was found for it. just gave me MC to rest the next few days

sonic
so u haven decide on the gynae? just go with who u feel more comfrtable with...

when i had my first kid, Dr Han actually had a sprained ankle and he had to come back in the middle of the night in wheelchair for me. the nurse told us his wife wheeled him to the hospital. and he was quite good cos even though he had a sprained ankle he used a lot of strength to help me push my bb out. if not, i got to use vacuum already

i have been playing a lot of Wii lately. gets me so excited. dunno whether can play or not. think i need to cut down. everytime play, i will be sweating like mad. like exercise like that.

Just checking, does anyone knows when should we start buying those steam steriliser? Now is Year End sale so should we buy now? Otherwise, the next sale should be Mid July or Aug. With some on going at certain months? hmnnnn

I saw Robinson sells Philips Avent at $139 but its the express package with thermal bag, 200ml magic cup with handle and baby neck support pillow. Not the latest model, iQ xxx (cannot remember)

SY (sychua79)
Better dont get over excited. Yr heartbeat and temperature will increase and not sure ok for baby anot. Maybe u check with yr gynae?

Wishing everyone Happy New Year. :p

thank for your wonderful advice.

we actually planned for just ROM only but my dad want the full package. today i am on leave so later BF and me going to hunt for bridal shop and look for more restaurant. not likely to go JB, as we have no car so transport a bit difficult.

hopely everything good off smoothly.

merry christmas and a happy new years girls.

Viene,

1) it depends on ur gynae - for me i only take folic for the 1st mth, follow by calcium in the 2nd mth and multivite in the 3rd mth. fish oil is optional (bought from gynae)but i did take for my 1st one.

2)gynae will advise try not to take flight due to radiation but i took an hr flight at ard 8 wks. gynae said short flight sud be ok (cos they won't fly high thus, radiation is lower) if it's unavoidable. to be sure, pls check with ur gynae.

3)i started to apply fr ard 8 wks for my 1st pregnancy but still have a little bit a stretch marks. For this one (i'm into wk 8) i haven't started. thought of getting the cream from gynae (forgotten the brand liao) but will only see gynae on jan 23 - by the time ard 12 wks. for my 1st one, i used to apply xtra virgin olive oil but not too sure if it works cos still can see some stretch marks.

4)think it's pretty normal to feel hungry for this stage. i have quite bad ms and eat all the time to curb it! btw, do u hv ms?

Jang

actually dont need to get these bb stuff so early. I got mine when I was in abt 7th mth pregnant. at least i still got the energy to walk eheh

do some comparisons before u buy them.

As for steam steriliser I bought mine from Kiddy Palace, Avent IQ one. I bgt it when kiddy palace offers 20% discount storewide.

But at Robinsons sale, usually they bundle a lot of products and sell it such as steriliser with bottles, breast bad, pump (??) etc ... but price is quite good lah I must agree.

I believe sales will be quite often so dont worry.

Vivien

have u see a gynae ? because of your history it is best to seek advice from your gynae on how to strengthen your body. He may suggest progestrone jabs I guess. This is to ensure that the level of progestrone is high in your bb in order to keep the bb in the womb.