(2008/07) July 2008

morning all...

how's everyone? hope you're fine. those who still having spotting/brown discharge, take good care.

did not log in for few days and there're so many posts. phew, hard to catch up....

jean,
this mth a bit tight for me. i try to make it on 28th Dec. will cfm with u again. anyone interested?

SY, Qing and Spark
How did you all get to know Dr Han and choose him to be your gynae? I was introduce to him by my sis's manager.

Qing
I think it is slightly more expensive to see him in TPS. You can actually call up the appt hotline to ask them.

chloegal
i picked up the phone and called KKH hotline and ask for senior consultant. they booked him for me and i stayed with him then.
so it is fate lah.

sally
oh dear, did u have any symptoms after eating the cake? quite terrible right..such a reputable brand

Good morning mummies

Stumbled_by
Yeah, i stayed at Street 81. How about you?

Stumbled_by, Shay, SY
You do not have to make appt. for consultation. But i do hv 2 warn u, the clinic is always packed / long queue - Mondays - Sundays. Usually it is less crowded in the afternoons (Mon-Fri). Previously, this Dr Lam told me he is qualified to even deliver babies but not interested since being full-time gynae, he has to pay 3x of his insurance fee (compulsory for doctors). So, for those who worry abt baby's progress (i mean b4 ur appt to see gynae), i recommend 2 c him.
Spotting during early pregnancy period is usually normal - balance menstruatn blood. However, if the sac punctured, you may also have spotting. So for those mummies wth spottings, do take care of yourselves.

chloegal
My BF found him in the web. we were desperately looking for a gynae that open after 6pm and he found the AMK and decide to go for Dr Han becoz he is senior.

Sheila,

Thanks for the reccomendation. I will go see him one of these days and cxl my app with gynae - the saving is a lot since there's no diff. all we want to see if our bb & the heart beat! U said the charges is only $35 including the ultrasound? Does he have the equipment to listen to bb's heartbeat?

I live at St 21...hehe a few of us r quite near

So, where do u deliver all your kids? East Shore?

Sheila,

Thanks for the reccomendation. I will go see him one of these days and cxl my app with gynae - the saving is a lot since there's no diff. all we want to see if our bb & the heart beat! U said the charges is only $35 including the ultrasound? Does he have the equipment to listen to bb's heartbeat? Btw, is he friendly?

I live at St 21...hehe a few of us r quite near
So, where do u deliver all your kids? East Shore?

shelia
sounds good if u just wan to check how is bb doing.

shay
i stay at pasir ris St 72. very near to tampines ave 10. i am at KKH.

Shay
My first child in NUH under Dr Fang. 2nd & 3rd at KKH under A/Prof Ho. Since Dr Ho is fully concentrating on women gynaecology and no longer accept pregnant cases, i will be seeing Dr Benjamin Tham of KKH this 21st for my 1st appt. At least, thru my visit to Dr Lam, i know exactly how many weeks my pregnancy is.

Dr Lam's machine is quite sophiscated, i believe similar / comparable to the one they used in KK for scanning. Yes, it could detect baby's heartbeat as the image is also with the wave chart on heartbeat rate.

Never log in for 2 days so many post liao read till i very sleepy...

Shay,
i stay at tampines ave 9... so i very near to u...

Qing,
u inform yr parent already about yr preggy?

im mc for the pass two days due to my cough ... my cough still havent recover and i took many cough medicine dun kn will affect the baby anot.. if i dun take the cough medicine then my cough will come back again ... everytime cough till i vomit... now my MS also getting better liao not so bad compare to last mth.

SY,

u live in pasir ris and u travel all the way to kkh for check-up? quite far rite?

Sheila,

Thanks for your info. Plan to see him tonight and if I find him good then, i may want to further delay my visit to my gynae

ling,

did u check with the doc if the cough medicine that u r taking is safe for pregnant mother? dun anyhow take medicine w/o consulting gynae or GP cos we may not know the side effect. Hope u get better soon....take care.

manuka,

cereine,

how's ur check up today? hope all is well for u and bb.......cheer up!

dor dor,

u only get GD on 8th month. i think that is not so bad liao. My first one think i diagnose around 28-30 week so have to go on strict diet control. 2nd one also the same. sigh....cut down on durians. well in the first place i cant even eat any durains leh. I went to see a dietician during my 1st pregnancy and get advice on what kind of food to eat.

I also monitor my own sugar level so very stress everytime when it exceed the normal limit and i will get very nervous and depressed.

This 3rd pregnancy will sure kena again since preivous two pregnancies also have. But i dont know when it will start. I have not started to control my diet yet as of now and thus always feel guility when i eat too much carbo. But i alreadey stop the sweet things like chocolate, ice-cream etc.

Does anyone in your family have diabetes?

ling,

u are not alone. my cough is also with me. but the strange thing it only activates when its night time and usually when im going to sleep. that is what is most irritating.

as a result of the cough i always sleep in 45degree angle, cannot lie flat on my back else will be coughing non stop.

i think may be too much acid in my stomach thats y its like gastric reflux. think i will get some medication from gynae next week.

Sally,

Thanks for helping to update the table. Amendment for no. of kids - sud be 1 not 2. apologise for the trouble

Jmon,
Ya we can go out together... but wait for our 1st term over first if not we go out now later other ppl will see alot merlion stand together vomit ...hahaha (joking)

Shay,
my doctor said when i got cough then drink the medicine..he said i got asthmas that y my got still not recover so he also give me the inhealer..and hor my mother also dare not any how give me any thing to drink for my cough.. so she is asking me to go try visit the "zhong yi" the chinese doctor see can cure anot..

Miracle Tan,
My dad got diabetes. ya lor my cough also got time de and also depen on the weather.. that y my doctor ask me dun go out if im at home my cough ok de not cough.. if i at office i will cough and cough..

ling,

whatever medicine u take, pls get confirmation from Gp/gynae that it is safe for the baby. rmb not to self medicate...... get well soon!

Shay
How many wks are you now? Think dun delay too long to see your gynae as there is alot of test to be done at the inital stage. Example are the FTs scan to test for down sydrom that is needed to be done at 11-13 wks and some blood test to test for HIV and etc.

Hey chloegal, we r seeing the same gynae! There's Qing and Sy too! How long did u wait to see him? Did u visit him at KKH or AMK? I am seeing him at KKH. His waiting hours is not long...

update from my visit to gynae
i'm in my 6 wks now..saw bb sac and bb heartbeat..so happy and relieved...

my next visit will be 3 weeks later..

hi sally,can update for mi..my EDD 30 July, gynae: WK Tan , Hospital: TMC and I 'm living in the north, tx a lot!

also saw your post that u hv eaten 1 slice of prima deli cake, i hope u r well...dun worry...

Spark
I see him at KKH TPS. Usually have to wait for about 1/2 to 1 hours but if he happen to go for delivery then can be up to 2hrs like what SY say.

wow seems like a lot of us seeing at kkh. my doc is Chen Suet Ching Jeanette. she is quite friendly. btw, i am 27, this is my first pregnancy and i am staying at hougang. i just did a scan for the ds test on monday. was quite interesting. already able to see my bb head, legs, tummy and hand. today is starting of my 12wks...but i am still experiencing ms...sob sob...hope it goes off soon.

hi Ling,
have not told my parents yet. last week was no a good time. my brother was down with dengue.
actually plan to tell them today. but i quarrelled with my Bf eariler in the morning. and have not talk to him since.

don worry about your cough, i was also attack by it. cough until my tummy hurt too. now i am slowly recovering. no more cough le. what medicine your doc give must eat loh. thats how my cough goes away.
at first i was also super worried, but just visit the gynae on wed and the baby is doing well.

Hi sparks, chloegal and SY
seem like the three of you is seeing him at the same venue. hope that i don't need to wait for 2 hrs or more. keeping my finger cross.

Hi ceraine,glitter,SY,Peppermint

Thanks for all ur wish!! but i got a bad news to share with u all...i got some light brown spotting yesterday morning. so i faster went to my gynae yesterday afternoon and gynae in jab for me again...he asked me try to rest at home see him again on 19Dec...I so worrried...hope everything will be find for me n my baby...because my gynae says now only 50% - 50%...ready hope my baby will be stong!!!! pray hard pray hard.....

sorry to update so late, it has been a lousy, discouraging day for me.

NUH HCG result is not encouraging, dipped to 500+. gynae is adopting a wait and see approach, while putting me on duphaston and h/l leave.
to be back on 19th for scan.
my world crashed when i learned of the result. cant digest whatever the gyane say. i requested for jabs but not given.
my thought - how could they just leave it as it is!!

i knew i cant juz sit by and do nothing...19th is a long wait. what wil happen in between??
called tmc and rushed all the way down, sobbing and praying hard that bb be fine.

Dr Cheng was hopeful today's result would doubled wednesday,unfortunately its otherwise. he was quite encouraging thou, accounted the dip to possible human testing errors etc which he do not ruled out.in additon, a single dip is not representative.
he will monitor me over a course of few bloodtest before drawing conclusions.
was put on duphaston, proxynova and proluton(he was quite reluctant though due to my blood disorder, but to ease my mind, accedded my request)
By Monday, HCG has to double for pregnancy to carry on!!1 am keeping my fingers crossed that we will see a postive result on Monday and thereafter.

the nurses had been most encouraging. Asking me to stay strong and focussed, to encourage bb etc.
really grateful to them

Nonetheless, gynae does advise of possible miscarriage hence i have to closely monitor myself.

Went to temple to pray for bb well being and i will stay positive for bb sake. BB is loved by everyone here and bb should sense it and end her/his naugtiness!!

Karen,
hope you are feeling better now.
yes, lets both pray for bb safety, that everything's fine.
i am spotting stil, but main concern is my HCG level dipped.

crossing fingers and toes for a better news!!!

Dear Karen and Ceraine,

i hope everything turns out well for u gals.
In the meantime pls take good care of yourself and be brave and strong for ur baby! Miracle does happen! Will be thinking of u gals

{{{HUGS}}}

ceraine, karen,

i wish u gals the best. You have been brave and positive.

Just keep and open-mind. Remember, if its meant to be, it will be.

SY
Dunno why he finds the floor outside interesting lor n if he he is not allowed to touch the things that catch his attention on the floor he has to at least step on them. Imagine my horror when he eyed a dead cockroach......wahahahha
I use pouch sling so dun have to adjust. I sew my own slings if interested let me know okie.

Sally
Its cos the bb dun have the antibiotics to prevent salmonella n will affect them directly lor. But u didn't get food poisoning at all right should be fine ba. Maybe jus inform ur gynea when U go for checkup.
I stay in the north too.

Miracle
I also diagnose around week 30. Then gotta control diet n prink finger for blood test nearly everyday. I stop durain after disgnose lor. U already stop those food aah.....I'm guilty lor still eating chocolates n ice cream. Okie lah think I better control too....sigh
Else if disgnose earlier this time than very jialat already. Think my late grandma has diabeties n her side of the family has them.

Karen, ceraine
Sad to read ur post but hope ur bbs will be fine soon. Hang on okie....

thanks gers,
for your selfless encouragement and support.
i will stay positive and strong...thats the least i can do for our bb now.
i am sure bb can sense our love and strength, and will pull through.
if its destined to be ours, it will be...

chloegal,

i'm only in wk 5, so i think it's still ok to skip gynae till wk 12 (cos gynae's pkg starts from 3rd mth). i only intend to do the FA scan at 20~24wk (if i rmb correctly). I dun rmb gynae asking about FT scan. She only asked me if i want to take the triple test but i didn't want it cos it doesn't seem convincing. Any idea wuts the diff bet FT scan and FA scan? FT is for down syndrom and FA is a thorough scan for the organs?

sheila,

Went to see dr lam last night and managed to see the sac! I can't endure my full bladder b4 my turn and went to clear bladder end up can't see the sac due to empty bladder haha.... so went to have some drink and went back to 2nd scan and luckily managed to see. Gotta wait another 2~3 wks to listen to the heartbeat...can't wait liao!

Karen / Ceraine,

Stay strong.....i know it's always easier said than done but that's the least u could do for your bb now. together we'll keep the fingers and toes crossed....hugz hugz

dor dor,

think if 1st pregnancy diagnose to have GD, then subsequent ones chance of getting again is also high. thats my case lor. actually i went to do another GTT test again during my 2nd pregnancy to confirm whether i had GD or not. Gynae actually advise me no need as my weight gain is quite minimal and bb size looks alright. but i still "bu fang xin" and want to be sure lor.

in the end, the undesirable result also came true.

my immediate family dont have diabetes history. only my 2nd aunt have leh. i also dont know how come i got it so feel very demoralised.

i have started to avoid sweet stuff like carbonated drinks, sweets, chocholate, ice-cream,etc but im still eating normal meals like. E.g if i eat fishball noodles outside will eat one whole bowl lor. other forbidden food like hor fun, fried rice, roti prata, etc i also taking. I'm sure these foods sure failed my blood sugar test one cos last time i ever measure sugar level after eating those food and its quite terrible lor.

now im thinking of char kway teow cos last time saw one uncle eating at coffee shop and looks super good.

do u intend to go for another GTT again this time round? or u just auto restrict your meals? did you self monitor your sugar last time at home? how is the reading?

am able to see baby heart beat. Baby is now exactly 6 weeks. Edd is pushed forward by 2 days now 2 Aug 08. Despite my daily spotting baby is still sitting comfortably in my womb :p

Was given jab again today and will have another one next week. Pain is tolerable, not tat bad, ha... maybe i will get immune by then.

My gynae told me to rest and not do OT. Was given 3 days mc but will still go back to work but will minimise walking.

Karen
Ceraine,

stay positive! Maybe because of me being positive my baby is too
HUGS!

hi mummies..

went for my 1st checkup yesterday and we saw our baby's sac and little heartbeat too! I'm about 6 weeks now but lil' baby's the size of a 7 weeker hehehe

experiencing lots of gas and wind at the moment so decided to make some ginger/longan/red dates drink.. hope it eases the gas

ceraine & karen... hang in there..be strong and think happi thoughts!

arranged the mummy list by EDD for easier reference.. some of the mummies' info are missing though...how do I shrink an excel file? it's too big to be posted here

have a great weekend everyone!

Hey gals, can I join this thread for the momnet as the aug thread onli ve me & peppermintt. I also went to see my gynae todae & i was confirm to be 6weeks 1day edd 1st aug. Heard the amazing heart beat. was told ave min heart bear is 110 but mine is 109 but gynae say should b ok. Though so far so good no spotting for me but i was given 2 jab last week & is advice to continue 2 more this week & see himm in 2 weeks time. Wondering y i got to take jab coz I had a CP in aug this yr
so is to play safe. reali hope this time will work.

It will work for all of us here too ya

ceraine, karen, good to remain positive. everything will b fine k

Miracle
Yah I know risk higher even our n bb chance of diabeties later is higher liao. I only agar agar monitor my intake after diagnose but my sugar level were all okie. So I even took forbidden food cos test liao still okie so I jus take in moderation lor. Actually I wondered if the test was wrong cos even after taking biscuit with sweet cream filling still dun over lor. Sometimes too low also.
Sigh think I better watch my intake now n hopefully dun get it this time.
I will only go for the test if my gynea thinks I should lor else I won't volunteer for it...hehe
I still remember I nearly fainted after they took my blood for the test lor hubby suppose to go to work after my test but endup I went to work with him stayed in the lorry cos I was very weak n faint n rush back for the 2nd blood test.

I jus crave for sushi but jus now 1 was so let down so told hubby I wanna have Jap food again tml....wahaha