(2008/07) July 2008

need a favor, i got tickets to USS on 15th April at discount but now i can't go cos hb not taking leave. 2 A + 1C tickets at $168. anyone who may be interested? kids under 4 go free. If u r interested or know anyone who may be interested let me know. The tickets are $50 discounted. cos it's company famiyl day so got some subsidy but my stupid hb cannot make it.

steph
u get car sick when u take passenger seat? then i understand why u wd need to drive. last time when i preggy i get car sick easily and prefer to be in driver seat. the feeling is really yucky when u get car sick..

if your hb can afford and offer, why not....maybe when your plans are more firm then u decide.

who's going for the cold storage kids run? those who went last year, is it fun and worth a sunday activity?

steph - i get pretty bad motion sickness sitting in cabs. without fail, sure will get headache. so i agree with SY on her comments

jace
free international shipping means that order is below USD 80 and weight below 3 pounds. unless your items are very light it is not very worth it cos u can't squeeze many items in.

now DHL also got discounted shipping so i feel quite worth it. So if can get bulk orders (above USD 200) i think it's more worth it. I usually buy at least 4 of one item at one shot cos vitamins can be quite heavy.

mil woes
so the house opposite ils' house is being torn down today. lots of dust. there's a fine layer coating the floor now despite it having been mopped by the helper this morning. so just now, as pomfret wanted to ride her bicycle, i was standing there with my mil, i thought why not 'chitchat' and said 'it's really very dusty now that the house is under construction'. mil kept quiet. and then a moment later, went and got a rag and started wiping down pomfret's bicycle.

does anyone else understand my '........' feeling? precisely coz she always likes to camouflage her criticisms in seemingly innocuous comments, she takes it that i'm doing so too.

so what became of the 'idle chitchat' i was trying to make with her? she thinks i'm being unreasonably critical. and lazy. (coz i'm just commenting on the dust, and not making an effort to clean up my child's bicycle. which wasn't really dusty, but that's besides the point i guess)

sigh sigh sigh.

Adoi dustee
Your mil, cannot win one! You know, you're already saint dustee in our eyes, so you can't really try any harder. Just a few more months then you'll be out of her daily reach. Don't give her a set of keys! Or if mr dustee insists, then buy an extra padlock that only you have the key to!!!

dor,
your theory on the happy hormones is tempting me on trying for another bb coz i seriously can't remember the last time i'm actually happy... other than when my son does some silly things to make me laugh... but you know... happy from deeper inside my heart... plus retail therapy is no no for me now... hahah...

Re:motion sickness
so, i'm not abnormal abt this la.. thought i'm just being too pampered... even from school days, taking the bus daily to school caused much discomfort... even recently i took a less than 4km bus ride and came home with splitting headache for the rest of the day... glad that my hb offered to pay for the car...

dustee,
goodness... i really take my hat off your mil... gone with the wind ok... ignore ignore ignore...
totally agree with PB with both hands up... never never give mil keys to your new place... even if she cry father cry mother or cry till the cows come home... must harden your heart... if you haven't read the book Thick Face, Black Heart... go read it ASAP...

jace
for cereals u won't be able to get the free shipping cos u need orders above USD 40 to get free shipping but by the time u hit USD 40 u will exceed the weight of 3 pounds. So unless u intend to get something light like Childlife colostrum plus cereal then u can get the free shipping but u won't be able to order many boxes of cereal.

Steph
But it will run out someday too ma.....I dun want to risk it not being true leh...haha
Or kanna the hormones run dry when the kids hit the rebellious stage. Double the blow man.....haha

Motion sickness
Ehh I hate taking cabs cos D has bad motion sickness and I heard it was mostly inherited. And that was when I realised my hubby also has bad motion sickness(that's where the genes came from). He's also the sit in others car will have very bad motion sickness so he must close eyes n sleep.
But cos he's the driver all along so its fine. But its D I have to deal with. Only trains r fine(I jus have to deal with the itchy backside), bus trips longer then 15 mins.........

Dustee
Your mil really the "......................"

insomniac
first, i am kept up by pomfret's fitful sleep. then , suddenly, at 5am, i get an sms that says that i have a credit card activity of $1700.

$1700!!!! how can my credit card be shopping while i'm in bed!!! so now i'm wide awake calling up the bank and asking what's up.

i hope this resolves soon. i definitely haven't spent $1700 on anything. i get very antsy at this coz i've been credit-card frauded twice before. (first time, someone in norway used my card number to buy macdonalds vouchers. can you believe it? halfway round the globe)

steph
maybe you should do a 'car-less' week. like, just for one week, cannot use car. (except in cases such you driving e to hospital, but here's hoping that never needs to happen again!) only can use bus 11 (your legs), bus and mrt. then you'd know if you can really do away with the car haha. (like me doing away with bubble tea and pb doing away with her coffee! testing the limits of our urban survival skills)

Morning ... Drama drama my helper tried to run away last night!! Caught her ... After talking to her for half hr suddenly she broke down n asked for forgiveness... Say she dunno wat she is doing n where she can go!! Then she became very emo unstable. We called the police. Police came n talked to her until 12 plus. Gg to send her back to the agency at 8 am. Sigh ... Maids are scary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Shivers!!

Wow, jacelyn, drama indeed. U goin to get another helper?

Dustee- did u manage to solve the credit card issue?

TGIF, looks like another sunny day today. Yesterday's weather was awesome.

Jace,

Last time my myanmaese helper actually threatened to kill herself if we dun send her back. aiyoh..that is why i get so bad impression of myanmese. she took knife and tried to poke into her abdomen... aiyoh... *shivers*

All the best in your quest for a new helper!

Dustee,

Woah!! hopefully you manage to stop that $1700 debt!

smiggle,
I think so. Cos the school's giving Dec Milo leh.

Re Milo:
Talking about Milo, I was casually asking Dec if he likes Milo since they always take it during breaktime. He says yes! Then I find out from the PTM that he doesn't like it and he always just drinks water. -.-

dustee,
Oh my! Good luck on that scary $1700 credit card debt. Any idea how they got your details? Did you accidentally leave it behind at a restaurant before or is it some online shopping site?

Jace,
Guess your initial instincts were right after all. Good luck!

Now sending her to airport. Agent dun want to keep her scared she run away. Batgirl yah I was damn scared last night that she will do something like this too.
Cin yah lo have to find another maid.
Bbp 6th sense is always the most accurate!! ESP women instinct!!

Dustee,
i've not been driving since son took school bus to childcare except that day to nex and brought son to hospital... that's why i had a taste of that 4km bus ride and realised time didn't cure my motion sickness hahaa... but gonna try again later this afternoon... bus & train to town coz the boy is looking for his granny and hb took car to work.

scary abt credit card fraud... maybe it's time for you to cancel this card and get a new one. good luck with stopping that $1700 fraud!

Jacelyn
omg... sorry to hear about your maid... guess their junta really messed up their brains!!

smiggle,
my boy was given milo after he turned 1 yr old. but whenever he drinks it, he'll get heaty and start to cough... it's a chocolate drink afterall...

dor,
hormones are really powerful aren't they? they can cause so many changes in our body and mind and emotions... a friend of mine commented some time ago abt women who never got pregnant actually have higher risk of breast/ovarian cancers... he actually had a couple of single female friends who had breast cancers... and our conclusion was the Hormones... esp the pregnancy hormones...

then there's the growth hormones affecting the rebellious teenagers hehe...

Wow dor I never really thought about happy hormones like that! And lol on steph kena sia-ed to want to have another child for happy hormones

Dustee
Wow $1700!! Hope you managed to resolve it. That's alotta macdonald's vouchers!

Steph
That sounds like an interesting book!

Oh just to share, when you're on the train with your kiddos, watch out for the sections that connect the carriage. Poppy got her finger kiapped there! And I got my back skin kiapped there before too. :S

And haiyoh... Today on the bus a nice lady gave me her seat (what to do, just sit and rub my belly lor, don't want her to feel paisay right?), and at poppy's school, her teacher asked me "we were all wondering.. Are you pregnant?". Ok, I shall stopp wearing this top!

Have a lovely afternoon and weekend!

hehe bbp. maybe i'll just keep it to wear on days when i WANT to get seats on public transport!!

jace
wow your helper really very drama!

hey girls, just wanna ask... are all your kids familiar with colours?

Pb
Ummmmm i like to think tooo much ma haha
Omg!!! U dun look like u are preg at all what n the teachersbsee u everyday still can ask u that??
Yup E is familiar with her colors. I remember I almost vomited blood teaching D his colors when he was 3+. Haha

Jacelyn
Lucky you caught her. Imagine she already run off then u will have headache. Sigh.
Good luck on looking for a new maid.

Dustee
Kaoz!!! Lucky u were awake! But I doubt u can sleep back after. Hope it got solved easily.

PB,

Wuffy's only colour is RED. everything is RED. so I dun really know if he knows the colours.. :p

SmiggleP,

Yep, wuffy has been finishing the kiddy sized Milo by himself and is always asking for more! :p

PB
Aiyoh! I get the "are you pregnant?" question A LOT 'cos I still look 6 months preggie. But you are so slim! Time to bury that top until you really *are* preggers.

Dustee
Wow, good thing you were awake and could call the bank immediately. Hope you get it all back. Can buy furniture with that amount. Or a very big padlock.

Dor
Agree on hormones

Jace
Wow, so much drama. All the best on helper search. One of my neighbours is also tearing her hair out over her Myanmar helper, who hangs clothes outside even when it is raining.

Smiggle
L has been drinking Milo since 1.5 yrs or so. He loves it but doesn't get it often.

Colours
Yes, L knows them.

Car
Where is a good, reliable place to get a 2nd hand car?

have not come in for some time...

XP was sick last week and was absent from childcare centre for almost 1 week, this week when she goes back this week, it is back to square one as if she just enrolled childcare... the teachers told us that she would cry a few times for us... is it normal?

PB,
yes, the boy knows his colors in English... now trying to teach him in Mandarin...

Youpi,
you can try to get an idea of the current market price at www.sgcarmart.com.. then head down to 2nd hand car marts like those at Ubi to look at the cars... heard from my usual car-dealer who sold my previous cars, that demand is dwindling for 2nd hand car so you can really bargain for better price if you see anything you like.

waiwai,
hi hi... it's normal for XP to cry after being absent from school for so long... next week will be my boy's turn coz he's on 1 week mc too, so missed whole week of school... is she on half day or full day? i initially wanted to start my son on full day, but after this near asthma episode, he's back to half day till further notice.

steph
eh, so odd. i thought demand for 2nd hand car will be on the rise coz new cars are more expensive now due to limited COE. mb singaporeans just don't generally like 2nd hand car is it.

security at condo, or anywhere else for that matter
my new place, is a rather small estate, like 70 units. so i suppose the security guards do start to get to know some of the other owners quite well. but i realized the guards gossip a lot!!! one day i was there opening the letter box, and the security guard, an old auntie, started whispering to pple passing through the guard post
"psssst, that new unit one lor. pssst pssst, one child only"
her "psssst"s were quite loud so i heard. -_-

then today, mr dustee went there to check on the reno, and another security guard, an uncle this time, told him that
'another unit is on sale. want to buy or not'
so mr dustee politely said 'er, no, not that rich'
then the uncle insisted 'i heard you're very rich one. this car, carplate number XXXX is your car right? how many other cars do you have?'

am i being too, i don't know, prudish, or are they really too kaypoh? i mean, a bit of friendly chit chat about the weather, etc i don't mind. but to come right out and say such things like 'i heard you're very rich one' is just.... well, even ruder than those pple who say such things at cny right?

1) i think it's very creepy for him to remember our car plate number. unless he can prove to me he remembers all 70 cars belonging to the whole estate.

2) it's always offensive when pple say to your face "you're very rich right" and then start suggesting things you can do with your money, like buying another unit, or in another case, he asked me 'the new shaw theatre at nex, you can go book the whole cinema for event y'know' and which i politely declined, saying 'no, i don't spend that kinda money' and he said to me 'but you already buy condo, must be very rich'

of coz mr dustee is the polite one, who will just say 'no lah, hahahaha' nod politely and smile.

I will most likely say 'yes. very rich. but prefer to sleep on bed of gold instead of buy another condo. have a good day. bye'

and

'yes, i buy sports car for fun. but what to do ? this condo allow only one parking per unit. so i park at other pple's house lor. can you do something about the parking situation pls?'

another time i checked the letterbox (remember i walk over a few times a week to open the new letterbox, coz the previous owners still have a lot of their mail coming here, and i need to route them over), the lady guard asked me 'so how? when are you having another child?' and started rattling off unit numbers and how many kids they have. with the occasional 'yeah that one, pregnant with second when first kid is so young. tsk tsk'

sigh. my fuse must be so short nowadays. i am getting bothered by weird things such as the security guards.

there's gotta be more to my life than just complaining about security guards. and mils.

hi momzies.. it's been a crazy week for me..mad deadlines at work.. and bbG was ill.. complained of a painful ear on mon nite.. pd couldn't see anything wrong.. high fever til thurs.. diarrhea kicked in on tues.. and his fevers are like 39.8 kinds and it didn't help that he totally refused all meds (and I had so many to feed him) like war zone.. vomit, scream, cry.. ended up with voren suppositories for him which he started to fight off too.. then it's my turn now.. but better me than him.. coz i'm flying off next week, and would hate for him to be sick when I'm not around.. coz guess who does every single thing usually... so keeping fingers crossed that his upset tummy gets well soon and he stays healthy while i'm gone!

jace: oh.. just read about what happened with your maid.. so has the new maid arrived? and r u getting another new one too? really not easy getting a good one.. we are determined to be maidless again for now..

cellow: it's almost sunday so hooray for u!!!

dor: never knew we'd get happy hormones when preggie and bf-ing!

haha dustee! abstaining from bubble tea over abstaining from evil MIL thoughts

but why is PB more than a month away from her next cuppa coffee?

steph: u know quite a lot abt cars hor.. ya.. hb also always beo sgcarmart.com.. u get a good disc from 2nd hand cars.. but must pray u get an accident free or problem free car...

has E always had a sensitive respiratory tract? bbG used the nebuliser a lot previously.. and recently too.. when I thought we were done with it..

iherb free intl shipping: can do multiple batches?? that's what I just did!

yikes! dustee! did bank make u pay for the credit card fraud? coz it happened to me and they made me pay though i had proof i was in sg!!! so mad i severed all ties with bank (but not even a pinch to them hor since i'm such a small fry) but was so so pissed.. and still is, up til today!

speaking of milo.. someone really doesn't like anything chocolatey,.. even the sesame street crunchy grahams i bought! took one bite out of one small piece and said no!

okie dokz..i better hit the sack and rest while I can.. have a good sunday ahead momzies!

Sheesh dustee! I would feel so privacyly-violated! The security guards must really be free to gossip so much. Maybe I should put on my catwoman suit and scale a few walls to give them a scare.

(Oh wait, catwoman suit cannot zip)

Haha youpi and dor, thanks but really, some clothes are less flattering than others

Thailand fair is on at thai embassy if anyone is interested. They have shoulder, neck, head massage at $10 for 20 mins. But I felt bad telling BB to go walk around for 20 mins with poppy. And if I had to spend $10 feeling guilty, I might as well not, right? Hehe. There's also authentic thai food... At half the price of thai express...

(Thai embassy is along orchard road, kind of next to isetan scotts)

dustee... it's boring being a security guard.. we have some who chit chat wiv my FIL and kiddo and know them like good friends now...

pb.. 20 mins will pass very fast.. go for it! I recall them having the edible pretty miniature fruits made out of green bean too..

DD
why did you have to pay for that credit card fraud? the first time it happened, it was a uob card i hardly used. suddenly $4k was charged on it, bank called me, i said i haven't used it. so they terminated it immediately. and then about 3 months of to-ing and fro-ing ensued, as i kept signing and faxing over papers to say 'i didn't make this purchase'. the custcare even called me and said 'but they filled up your name too' and i gave her the 'why the heck would i buy macdonald vouchers from norway when i'm in sg and can you prove your bank system wasn't hacked and my info leaked or can you prove your ex-staff didn't sell my info to some syndicates and why don't you have some safety nets to raise the alarm on dubious overseas websites....' and on and on and on.

but after 3 months they said i'm not responsible to pay for it.

maybe coz they are online transactions? so it's different than if the physical card was used? pat pat dd.

my $1700 credit card alarm
so they said they cannot tell why i received an sms alert on it, but there was no $1700 purchase made on the credit card. so they are going to watch my credit card like a hawk for 2-3 days and update me again next week.

Dustee
I had a transaction on my card which I didn't make as well few mths ago but it was not a big amt n I saw it online pending before it was deducted. So I called the bank n they cancel my card n send me a new 1 immediately since I confirm i didn't make that transaction.
It was a transaction from Germany if I remember correct.

DD,
Yes... Son has sensitive respiratory tract... So tough on the bOys right? The medicine and neubeliser... It's easier for me coz son takes his medicine with pleasure :S. Are you sick too? Take care and speedy recovery to bbG.

I was trying to sell my car so was checking market price on Sgcarmart. You're right abt the risks involved in buying 2nd hand cars. That's why I'd rather buy brand new smaller/cheaper models than bigger/more prestigious 2nd hand ones.

Dustee,
Better not offend the security guards since they gossip so much. Just smile smile and walk away. Maybe they heard abt you from the property agents.

Waiwai,
oh full day ... Maybe hours too long for her and she gets homesick. My boy was the same when he was in full day cc. It's easier for him to adapt now coz it's only 3.5 hrs. In fact he's been asking "are we going to school today?" on thurs & fri.... Think he's getting bored at home. Haha

Dustee
The aunties and security guards and cleaners all do that everywhere. Even here in my HDB estate, they sit around at the void deck and gossip. Can even talk about how this neighbour is handsome, that neighbour's maid is no good etc. But it might be useful to maintain a good relationship with the security guard, just in case lor.

Steph
Thanks for the link, I will check it out. Really better to get a new one ah? 'cos even if we got a 2nd hand car, it would not be a big or prestigious model.

PB
20 min massage is quickly over. Go for it! There's lots there to entertain Poppy right? I remember my boys and some other kids playing on a tuk tuk.

DD
What happened? Take care and get well soon!

youpi
i got a second hand car. it's been fine so far. better get recommedations. i got mine through a contact who knows the owner of the 2nd hand place. if u want, i can pass u the contact.

DD
oh hope u r feeling better.....must be so sian to be flying off when bbG just got well.

for the free international shipping, it's only worth it (i feel) if u get light items and high value. if not, better to consolidate your orders, pay a bit more for shipping and get overall higher discount. DHL got shipping discount now so quite worth to get the heavy items. i got 4 bottles of vitamins for the kids and 4 for myself!

re sensitive tract
almost every kid has it! i wonder why.....my sil was also saying her son had to take the puff and he's liky 27 months. is it our envt?

waiwai, steph
i count my lucky stars that my kids have no problem with sch. i used to worry last time that after hols etc (esp when my boy was in kindy and had those 6 weeks break) that he will have a hard time going back to sch but he's fine. then maybe cos jx has the bro in sch now so she's also fine. in fact, they are like almost last to go home everyday and still so happy! wonder whether they miss me or not at all!

smiggle
yes ok for them to drink milo. in fact last time a PD said if their tummy not well and cannot drink milk, can give milo. my kids drink milo for breakfast and milo before sleeping. nto a lot each time but better than nothing cos they dun take milk! and now i will bring milo packet out for them when we go out. they can finish 2 packs at one go.

dustee
$1.7K fraud?? terrible...i wonder whether the bank really secure our cards or not....

re colors
yes jx can recog her colors and i m trying to get her to say it in chinese. btu i realise that she's weaker than jh in this area. jh used to be much faster and more accurate.

recently i started to do more sticker books with jx (really neglecting her cos of jh) and i realise she's less confident when she answers me. hope can build up her confidence.

dustee
your condo guards really bo liao. must be too free. last time mine not like that one. but maybe cos change very frequently so no chance to be like that also...just igore them.....

Youpi
Yes there's a tuk tuk. I'm sure poppy would have been happy driving it all day but BB would be bored la. Funny thing is that we went back yesterday evening too! Just to catch the performances and have $4 pad thai. And I totally forgot about checking out the massage booth hehe. Not fated. Oh how I miss those BKK foot massages!!!

Re colours
I asked because I wanted to check that by this age, our kids should know a few colours right? (Batgirl, i think wuffy is just being cheeky as saying everything is red :p). Poppy's class has been focusing on the primary colours for a very long time and the weekly updates from her teacher are like "this week we will teacher the children 'bear' and 'dog' and 'cat". I don't want to sound too snooty but I find that to be quite basic for an almost 3 year old...

School excursions... Upcoming one is science centre. For N1, I really question the reason behind bringing them there. We're just going along so she can be with her friends.

More and more I am catching glimpses of the kids at "free play" time. And I'm wondering if the only thing keeping me from changing sch is the distance. I wonder if poppy is learning anything from school but bad habits.

Know of any kindys I could take a look at near my area? Aiyer why liddat, PB?

Dustee
Playschool teachers also gossip. I volunteer at poppy's sch right? Once I was early and they were just chatting about boy X who's a really tiny sweet boy, and they said "wonder why he's so timid. His father is a policeman leh". I pretended not to hear. Not very professional la.

Thks mummies,
Guess I'm too strict with kayden and his diet.. Cos he always sick.. He just had his first taste of Milo..

Jacelyn,
Hope u got a better maid... Now they increase e salary rite.. I also dunno how I'm gonna keep up w e maid issues..

Youpi
Car dealers, no.. Garage,yes if u need reliable and cheap..

Pb
Colors.. Ya, I teach kayden e basic only, in English.. My Chinese not very good..
U can try arts kidz or chineses kindergarten? Now kayden comes back with a new Chinese song everyday but I have no idea what comes out of his mouth.. I must be e only parent who writes to e teacher almost everyday in his notebook.. And his teacher calls me often...
You have have e timetable rite.. So if u would know when is free play...

credit card fraud
well basically if they used your physical card, you're liable for the charges (if not reported as lost) but online transactions are disputable. my friend who works in back office in banks, she says she sees a lot of fraud cases. coz overseas syndicates just hit a random batch of numbers, and see if those numbers belong to active credit cards or not.

and a lot of times, the banks just really process requests from merchants to bill you and they earn commission too.

eg 1) a restaurant charged mr dustee twice for the same meal. suspect waiter keyed wrong amount at first, and didn't cancel. but only let him sign the slip for the second amount. when i saw the bill, i called the bank, they said they cannot do anything. so i had to go down to the restaurant and make noise about it, and had to wait for them to refund.

2) mr dustee's bill again, suddenly had a transaction from 6 months prior. called the bank, asked why is such an old transaction being charged, they said they don't know, it just comes from the merchant, and again, they cannot do anything about it. that time, we didn't do anything, coz mr dustee didn't think he wanted to go to the cd shop to make noise about a cd he might really have bought 6 months ago.

3) and of coz, my own previously frauded credit card. both times the bank only realized it was frauded because my credit limit was quite low , and the fraud exceeded that amount. so i think they really called to ask me if i wanted to increase my limit -_-

creepy security guard
i know they have a lonely job. i mean, hey, i'm talking to a toddler most of the day myself, i would love some adult conversation. but ... i haven't even moved in yet y'know!!! it's just too intrusive. well at least i hope they are 'offending' all the other residents and not just me. i just don't want to be singled out for such negative attention.

i guess it's like i consider that the guards are working for the estate. so you gotta be professional and not say such unprofessional stuff! like the 'i heard you very rich'. should i just reply "wah. uncle you want to rob me is it?"

hmm. actually i quite like this reply. i'll keep in mind to use it next time.

creepy uncle "wah, you buy condo, sure can buy new furniture, why move in such old ones?"
me "wah uncle you don't like that say. you want to rob me is it?"

steph
it's coz when the neighbours tried to be polite and asked mr dustee where's he staying now, before moving in, he says 'in my parents' house in the next door estate' no one hears the 'my parents' they only hear 'house'

but if the neighbours say 'i heard you very rich' i'll probably just say 'you and i are neighbours. sama-sama majulah singapura'

again i'm not complaining about the 'wah i heard you very rich' comment. i mean, compared to the guard we must be better off (unless he's those closet millionaire just being a guard for fun) but i just don't like the supposed level of familiarity.

i mean with relatives who say 'wah so rich can stay at home' then of coz i'll just say 'yeah carry gold bar in my backpack' but i really can't say that to the uncle. or can i?

youpi
yes true about getting a second hand car that's problem free. my friend's first second hand car ( i think about 20k) used to just break down when she turns on the aircon. i remember when she gave us lifts, we'd break down on the expressway, along orchard road, etc. and we'd sigh, get out, wave other cars along until she can restart it again.