(2008/07) July 2008

PB
hee the tears are normal....even for jx i shed a tear or 2 when she went to school!

peanut butter chicken sounds yummy...now i know what to do with the peanut butter that jh always makes me buy and never eat.

got any nutella recipe? he made me buy a big bottle and now dun wan already

smiggle
wow.....nice nice stay at MBS

so now u get to work from home...that's nice...

cellow
jx got caned by daddy too....hmmm i used to be agst it but then i can see the need for it sometimes. if not she won't stop her nonsense. but she very smart. once daddy stopped, i told her to go say sorry and she quickly went over to hug daddy so all is forgiven.....

whereas jh is very stubborn and won't go and pacify daddy sometimes. so jx is the smart one.....

pb,
hug! sometimes i think of C1 having to fend for himself... (well, not really la, they do have teachers in school) and i also tear. speaking of which... i best call the school now and ask them for strategies to deal w whines.

i only spank C1's bum bum la... and both times i can vividly remember why.

sy,
C1 wont pacify daddy too. stubborn also like jh.
however, the old adage of when you point at some1, 3 fingers are pointing back at you applies. so. nothing to say.

Hello hot mamas, we are back!
Will catch up later tonight, if not asleep...

Sy
Can still order? If so, please help me to get the following, thank you!
1. http://www.iherb.com/Ah-Choo-Chest-Rub-Eucalyptus-2-fl-oz-60-ml/16000?at=0
2. http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Omega-3-6-9-Junior-Lemon-Flavor-500-mg-180-Chewable-Soft-Gels/12772?at=0
3. http://www.iherb.com/Nordic-Naturals-Children-s-DHA-Strawberry-Flavor-4-fl-oz-119-ml/4193?at=0

spoke to the principal

she has a very good grasp of C1's character. she noted that he likes attention (which is consistent w him being the first child of his generation on my side of the family), so ignoring him would most prob halt him in his tracks... works more effectively than beating him.

what happened this morning
i was in the shower when C1 woke up. apparently he refused to be dressed, refused to change his diaper and just refused to do anything that Mr C asked. Kena piaked on his thigh lor. then the whining started. i dashed out of the bathroom only half dressed, shirt unbuttoned, towel over my front.
what brought me to my senses... sometime in the car journey, i caught C1 smiling out of the corner of my eye. that kind of smile that said 'aha, finally i got your attn' which got me thinking .... that the whole parent-child dynamic is wrong. and i have to stop in my own tracks too and reflect (and also seek advice bcz i m too emotionally affected to see clearly).

parenting correspondent cellow signing off from the trenches.
need to buckle down NOW and get some work stuff done.

Waiwai,
Is there a category for dresses on Mayuki? The traditional Chinese too cheem for me to navigate leh.

PB,
Umm, I only wear dresses when:
1) I run out of capris and shorts to wear
2) I'm too lazy to match clothes

Cellow,
I'm sorry to say I've already smacked and even caned Dec once or twice... usually happens around eating time... esp when he spits out food.
As for whining, I either ignore or if it gets out of hand, I make him sit on the naughty step until he decides to stop.

Sy and sy,
I am not a recipe book! Hehe. The peanut butter one is really shiok

Welcome back youpi! You survived the trip! Was flight back also you + the boys only? I feel the sweat forming on my forehead liao haha

bbp,
hmm. i m not agst smacking. in fact, i have smacked C1 twice. i m agst regular smacking, like these 2 weekends, WITHOUT pre empting C1 what is gonna happen. that is tantamount to setting him up to fail. why would any sane reasonable parent do that? i need to create the environment for him to succeed mah.

now. i need to get the ILs onside too re ignoring whining. MIL is more amenable than FIL, so i shall start w her first. then work on Mr C. looks like a plan? YESH!

(oh, but now i understand why my colleague once said 'no one at work can drive me nuts like my children do at home'. sanity and reasonableness just troop out of the door hand in hand)

SY,
My hubby say, just pass the nutella over. He and his brothers will help you finish it.

PB,
The first person to drool at your peanut butter chicken recipe was..... *drum roll*...... my hubby.

Cellow,
Maybe you can get Mr C to give C1 the 1-2-3 timeout method? Has he tried that? It does work to a certain extend after some time.

Hugs to PB... going to school in 1 monht?! whoa, that is like, on the spot decision? cos only heard you say like when she turns 3, not next month!?!?! is BB going to work thats why the hurry?

anyway, poppy is sooo independent and confident for her age. I think she will not only be ok, I think she will do very well! so no worries .. she'll be the leader in class in no time.
its good for her you know..

cellow, yes i agree consistent smacking is probably not the way.. I also know in the mornings when we are rushing to go to work (for what?) and the little ones do not understand why we need to rush.. so it became very trying when we need to change them and they refuse.... sometimes its really hard to control..

I guess what i was trying to say is that, once a while, there is a need to smack, and make sure they know it. then i guess it is effective. if we smack for every little thing he does wrong, then it does not send the message.. *do i make sense?*

To my surprise, eboy has been eating toast with peanut butter, nutella, strawberry jam... so eboy has been exposed to so many of these food without me knowing.. and i kept giving him plain bread with milk on weekends not knowing why he keeps pointing his fingers on the bread.. i guess he wanted me to spread something!

last weekend, eboy said *** drum roll***... OOoooooo-pah! he wants me to open a toy for him, and he did an elaborate O - followed by Pah! counted? YES! hee hee....

no one keen to go Zoo or somewhere on a weekday?? no one???? or swim date???

PB
did u go for the CPR - first aid course?

i was browsing thru simply her and i saw this

'FIRST AID WORKSHOP'
date: 18 sept 2010 saturday
time: 9 to 1 pm
venue: Singapore first aid training centre 142 neil road
registration fee: $18 per couple

what you will learn
how to help a person who's choking
correct CPR techniques for adult and children
how to treat bleeding, fractures and burns
how to combat asthma attacks.

* all participants will receive a certificate of participation and a CPR poster with a face shield
lunch will also be provided.

i am interested but barbie has saturday classs at 1130am.

Bbp:
Thanks. A friend also recommend Gurney drive.
Like you I also distract with iphone. It made our trips to restaurants so much easier. We can eat in peace hehehe..

Michelle,
Your Penang escapade - which year and month is it? hehehe.

SY,
Nutella recipe: hmmm I like to use Crescent dough and put nutella in it. see: http://www.pillsbury.com/products/rolls/Refrigerated/Crescents.htm - can buy at cold storage and before you roll, put the nutella in it.
Oh another favorite is the hazelnutella milkshake from TCC. I saw the girl made it. seems easy. put inside a blender; 2 scoops of vanila ice cream, about 100 ml of fresh milk, 2 tbsp of nutella, and 1 spoon of sugar coated peanuts.Blend together.Yummm.

Dordor
Emma sometimes got toilet phobia if she has constipation. Refused to sit at all. So what I did is I let her sit and I squat in front of her and hold her. She felt more assured and although painful, she will let it out. Maybe you want to try that?

PB
Thanks for the chicken recipe. Sounds yummy! I rarely use the oven. I must use it once in a while.
*BIG HUG* Don't worry. She'll adjust well and you can ask her to describe her day!

Cellow
Mr SD is a total softie when it comes to his kids. He has never lay a hand on any of them and when he gets angry he would just pass everything to me.. A good thing for the kids but not for me. He is the angel and I am the devil. I smacked Emma on the palm of her hands a few times and now she's doing that to her sister when she's irritated. Hmmmms

Youpi
You're back! How's your trip?

MINISTER of spree announces:
If anyone keen on Crocs promotion, pls PM me your order by this thursday 26 Aug because the promotion ends on 31 Aug.

SD, uhm, i think it was Aug 2009?

*waves to Qing*....

ok SMS you for any hot dates coming up, k?

Just checked with Chiltern house that eboy is the number 12 in the queue to start in Jan 2011. is that good or not also dunno. they say check again in end Oct... blah!

Hi qing
Wow nice to see u again! But why so random leh, ur posting? Hehe. Yes I've been for first aid course but so long ago liao. Where is it ah? I'm keen! Why u ask me only? Want me to be part of "couple" wit chu ah? *shy*

Fractured... Bums??

Mich
I wld love to go zoo!!! But can't
alrd applied for 8 days of leave today so better lay low for a while

Poppy in sch - bluebunny finds it hard to multitask at home (I am glad I made him do this! So he understands it wasn't easy for me hehe). So he intends to work full time part time (get it? As it fully concentrate but it is a part time job) until he goes back to office work on a full time basis. Now he does a part of his job based fr home.

I wanted to say "I could do it last time u know... Work fr home and take care of her". But what do I expect from him in response to that? An admission that he cannot multitask? Haha, it will never come. So I just bit my tongue

He also said with her at school, it would be easier if he had to go for interviews. But I made him promise that it wasn't just so it would be an easy way out solution and that he wouldn't just be playing computer games at home.

*thinking about installing home camera to watch hubby* muahaha

Lol on mr bbp on smacking his lips at the sound of nutella and peanit butter

SD,
Oh yes! Now that you remind me, Dec also likes me to hug him when he's having very hard stools. Very bad for me cos it's damn smelly. Luckily it hasn't happened in a long time.

Waiwai,
Thanks! Browsing now....

Mic
congrats..

think they are definitely more vocal now..
im not so worried as i realised these two weeks kayden has started mimic alots of things..
here's the best one, when i told him to stop carryin my LV. He say ...."L.... Veee!"
thank god!

DD
haha gordon is soooo cute....talking to the characters.
Ember is 1 scardy cat, so far she always refuse to go near the characters n D has to go take the photos ALONE.....LOL

Cellow
I do warning 1st. 1st ask them to stop. 2nd time tell them what I will do to them (ignore or smack) So if still continue then u ask for it lor.
I believe they will know that you really mean it lah.
But ofcos everybody must do the same and be consistant so he knows u all mean what you say.
D used to be okie once I warn him he stops.
Cos like now my hubby doesn't.....he takes the lazy way out so I must suffer the consequences. N really lor can see it coming 1 D is really ignoring more n more instructions even from me cos he can ignore his dad without suffering any consequences.

SD
U mean u let Emma stand on those squat toilets to poo?? hehe so cute.
Ember doesn't wanna even go near any toilets outside.....so totally no use. Even asking her if she needs to go near a toilet makes her eyes well up with the super pitiful NOoooooooooo.

I rather be the bad guy at home.....I dun mind i really dun. Jus that my hubby doesn't know hw to be the good guy......he's VERY naggy. After I scold or punish D, he will be like gloating at the side keep saying. See lor naughty lor see lah so naughty.....sighhhh
Until even I feel irritated n ask him to stop.......really like a big kid lor.

Dordor
No lar. the sitting toilet type. I have never tried the squat toilets for Emma. Too difficult to maneuver my body while holding her Lols. Oh mebbe near public toilet you can ask her whether she wants to accompany mommy to pee if she wants then ask her after you're done whether she also wants to go as well. Ask Ember to accompany you instead.

ooh I LURVE nutella too! never thought of making my own nutella milkshake!

and peanut butter/dark sauce/ketchup chicken sounds exotic!

mich u got free passes to zoo? hehe we just went last week leh.. or was it week before last? could barely get bbG away fgrom the water area and I wasn't dressed for it!

mummies.. babies prom is earlier this year, if you are keen :D

alamak... dunno how to attach here... let me know if u want me to email you the pamphlet!

youpi
order added.

PB
ohh nutella milkshake. that is a good way to use it up fast.

michelle
when u planning the zoo trip? let me know.

Doubledee
when is the bb prom? let me know the date.

DD
Babies Proms - I want, I want! Do you have lobang to get the tickets? They're always sold out so fast.

MSG attacks: oh I get them too! The worst was some soup dish at a seafood rest that left my face red like a lobster and completely numb. They say that Coke helps to alleviate it so now I just order Coke whenever we go to a Chinese restaurant.

LOL on G trying to talk to the Sesame St characters. He's so cute!

Dor Dor
*Pat pat* Hope E is overcoming her toilet fear so that her psychologist mummy can retire and get some rest!

Mich & ESq
THANK YOU THANK YOU for the clothes loan! They definitely came in useful. They are in the wash and will be returned to you as soon as possible

Mich
Congrats on Eboy's vocal development. It's so wonderful to hear the little ones speak with their cute baby voices, isn't it? L is not talkative so I'm not jumping up and down yet. He does like to imitate his brother though, and he has certain phrases that he likes to repeat. We have no idea what they mean but we say the to him too 'cos he likes that!

PB
The recipes sound yummy, I will try, thanks for sharing them. What amounts of each to use? I am very stupid at agar-ration and will dollop a whole lot and end up wasting it or having too strong-tasting food.

Yup, flights back also me + boys only. It's possible, especially when they have their own inflight entertainment units, haha. And L is still breastfeeding so that helps too.

Agree with Mich that Poppy is very independent so should have no problem at all. *HUG*

Batgirl
Heard that you can try going on all fours and rocking back and fourth gently too, to encourage turning. But as long as Batangel is healthy and fine, any kind of birth won't matter, right?

Cellow
Supermama, Conscious Choice also makes cakes without eggs. http://www.consciouscake.com/options-3.htm
But is it just chicken eggs? Can you eat quail's eggs? Goat's cheese?

S had to go through the allergy test when he was a baby too. I think it was because the soup that he drank had peanuts. But the test was negative so we don't know. I just keep him off anything nutty. L on the other hand snatched the roasted peanuts from me and happily chomped on them while on the flight back.

On C1 wanting attention, perhaps he's simply feeling a bit of neglect with the arrival of C2? It will take time for him to adjust to not being the centre of your universe. And if it's changed to C1 = Mr Cellow's responsibilty and C1 = Cellow's respty, this may be even more so.

Cin_bunny
Hugs to Sophie bunny. Get well soon! There's an outbreak going on nationwide, I just found out when bringing #1 to school this morning and realised that we all had to be checked at the entrance.

SD
Trip was tiring but good. It's great to be away for a while, gives perspective on life here
Will be loading pix into FB after this!

Toddlers and food
L seems to have developed a little more over the trip. He ate salad happily, and now he likes cucumbers and rock melon (or honeydew, I can't remember but it's the green one) as well.

Expensive trips
Oh wanted to add that Norway is VERY costly! Must pay to use public toilets in shopping centres, and it costs 5-10 NOK (SGD2.10) each time! Two kid meals at Macs come up to SGD20. One bus/tram/metro ticket is SGD5.60. Everything is two to four times the price here. I don't dare to check my bank balance or credit card bills yet, and truly appreciate kopitiam meals now.

SD,
Oh, I forgot! I also wanted to add that the nutella milkshake sounds OH-SO-GOOD! But no chance of that happening cos nutella doesn't lasts in this household.

HFMD:
It scares me so much that I feel kinda scared when I bring Declan to go gai gai. Am I paranoid?

youpi,
I know what you mean... those Scandinavian countries are crazily expensive! Best way to keep costs down is to cook, but how to cook during holiday...

thanks mummies for all the get well wishes. bean only "suffered" 1 day - ie, mouth pain and lack of appetite but after that 1 day , she was back to her usual active self. now just waiting for all the spots to subside b4 she can go to school again.

mich - no 12 on waitlist sounds promising! i checked the one at halifax and the lady basically told me wait list is sooo long, dont expect any hope :p.

youpi - welcome bk and really admire how you can travel with 2 by yrself. super mummy

pinkB - agree with mich..poppy will lurve school..so the hugs and pat pat are for you

cellow - jin bunny has never laid a finger on sophie which means i am the one who smacks her bum bum..but very seldom cos usually i just ask her to stand in the corner and she will go :p

2 more days b4 we board our flight home..yay!

SD
Oh she does go in with me.....well I can't leave the kids outside alone right LOL
She's okie with me going but I jus can't ask her if she wants to go.....she'll start crying.....sigh
N so funny cos I told her I'll buy bubble tea for her if she sits on the toilet bowl outside but she refuse. So jus now she was playing with her baby and she was making her baby poo in the potty. She told me to buy bubble tea for her baby. Becos her baby pooed in the potty. LOL

youpi
U are so daring to even be willing to go through the long flights alone. My idol..... ;) I already dread 4 hr flights with the kids haha. And your boys are so guai.

Cin
Better still keep a distance from Sophie cos u are preg. But I know its hard.......sigh

bbp
U are not alone. Me too abit paraniod.
Esp when there are cases in D's sch and I'm always very afraid they will find something on D's hand. Which means the little E also sure kana.
N I try to make sure they sanitise their hands before they touch food.

Dor
E is so funny with the bubble tea for dolly episode!

Youpi
Welcome baCk welcome back! L seems to like green foods! Will u abuse that and start giving him more green stuff?

The chicken recipe: 2 drumsticks, 1 tbsp Peanut butter, 1 tsp dark soy sauce, 1 tsp olive oil, 1 tbsp ketchup

Cin bunny
Aiyah you. Enjoy ur last 2 days of hol cos u will be back before u know it!

Hugs and pats
Thanks girls. Yes, I should have specified the hugs and pats are meant for ME. Cos poppy will enjoy, I'm sure. And like what mich says, she'll prob be the ringleader :S

cellow can pop her head out of the trenches already. there is now a ceasefire w Mr C re C1. hehe.

*waves to qing* HELLO!

Hugs and Pats are for PB
Of course! I felt more traumatised than C1 did when he went to school. You want another hug? *HUG!!*

youpi,
welcome back! where is Mr Y in this amazing odyssesy w 2 kids alone? you were flying out to meet him? oh europe is so super exp that we think we ll only go again when we retire.
the egg allergen test is just for chicken eggs. so yes in theory, i can eat quail's egg. goat's cheese... ya shouldnt be a problem too. i already had cheese this morning.

LOL on Ember's bubble tea for dolly!
*pat pat* on having to enertain the big kid at home too.

Man of the hse being disciplinarian
Reading abt Mr SD, jinbunny and Mr Dor ... haiz.... i suppose i shd be thankful that Mr C takes up this respty. he makes a great bad guy to my good guy

yesterday C1 started to whine again when i tried to leave him for a bit to shower before my evening telecon. i sat him in my lap and firmly told him if he continues to whine, mummy wont talk to him until he stops. he can sit in the corner and whine until he is ready to come talk properly to mummy. and watdyaknow, it worked!
after a few moments of silence (and him thinking v hard), i asked him 'so are you finished?' he said 'yes!' so we are frens again, and i took out SD's PDF alphabet/numbers/lines for him to draw (thanks, SD!!)
mission of distracting him is accomplished while i went to shower.

Nutella and Peanut Butter
*wails* both are full of NUTS! AAAAARGH!
quickly thinking of other things i can eat.... maybe i shd go drown my eating woes in a begedil... idea ah ... keke.

*burp* just had a slice of cedele maple cake!

i am going staycation at changi village hotel with Talia's friends during the hari raya weekend. 3D2N and no need take leave! lalala! can't wait!

we will be going to ubin to check out chek jawa, going to the changi boardwalk, going over to penggerang for seafood on a bumboat...and loads of swimming for the kids. its things like this to look forward to that keeps me going! muahaha!

Michelle
No 12 in the queue sounds ok. Oh you can call them and tell them which centre is your priority but in case Ethan didn't get in you can tell them second choice. They offered me that when I waitlist at Chiltren Hs Halifax. My second choice at that time was Forum.

They should be calling back in october cuz they told me they'd like to interview the child in november. By the time they're in N1, they should be toilet trained.

Dor
Awwww Ember so sweet, not forgetting her baby and asking you to buy bubble tea. Ember so feminine playing with dolls. Emma is only interested in her cat, dog and dinosaur toys.

Cellow
yar Begedil got egg!!!! I don't think it's nice without it and how to fry it without the egg white.

HA! doggiebb,
cedele maple cake!!!!! got eggs anot?

i m thinking wat to eat for my mid morning snack now. bao? siew mai? all not to taste.

i cannot even walk past the patissier now w/o feeling sad.

SD,
"By the time they're in N1, they should be toilet trained." Wow.
C1 is not anywhere near to it. Now before pooing also dun tell me, only tell me when he has finished. And will run away from the toilet bowl when we put him there. Is Emma ok with the toilet?

Cellow
Yar must be toilet trained - that's what they told me. *GULPs* I remembered when Ashley was in N1 at Chiltren Hs, they actually TOILET TRAINED her. Tskkkkkk

Emma is fine with the toilet. We bought her a potty but she didn't want to use it at all and would rather use the adult toilet cuz she saw her sister and mommy use it hehehe.. She's pretty toilet trained now, but sometimes she confused Pee and Poo. I still put on diapers for her when we go out/when she sleeps.

PB
So funny!!! Ring leader!!!
Wahahhaa I'm trying to imagine n so funny...LOL

Cellow
Yay yay. C1 is such a good boy. Since he accepts this kind then u can start to reason with him already. N he will start to talk more more more.....
But beware more shocks to come when he talks more. Like when playing halfway E told me in mandarin :" Wo bu yao geng ni wan le" I was so shocked......hahaha

SD
Ember now also dun really say correctly if she wana pee or poo. But since she does both the same way. I also dun bother......hahaha
Jus that she still thinks she has a penis.....LOL

How bbs are born
------------------
Oh yes and over the weekend.......I realise something disturbing.....sigh
Good n bad in a sense cos.....*drum roll*
D knows hw bbs are born........sigh
As in where they came out from.....he said his dad told him. But ofcos as usual.....the dad denys and have totally no recollection of telling him anything at all.
But no matter what he knows n he has been asking qns. Now jus the making sure he doesn't go around asking n telling his friends and teachers in sch.
Oh yah n he asked for another Ember....OMG!!

dor,
hope i dun jinx myself by telling you gals all abt it. sshhhhhh....
ya but very funny when they talk more.
like your how bbs are born for D. i read already i also dunno whether to
or
... in between bah, so :S
... ask D what if it turns out to be a didi, not meimei, then how.
*cellow waits w bated breath for D's response*

approved eggless snacks
small piece of organic dark chocolate
dried soursop (dun take, dried mango tastes much better)
dried cranberries

yo michelle,
wat happened wat happened. feel better after lunch??

oh today is 24th Aug.
C1 is two years and one month old!

i do feel that i hv neglected C1 after C2. dun even rem wat the top of C1's head smells like now.

Youpi,

Yes..these few days more at peace (with the reassurances from your gals *hugz*). You are rite, as long my baby comes out healthy and normal, any method of birth for me is fine.

BBP,

You are not alone, I am also paranoid. I dun bring him to crowded places and i bring a small bottle of sanitiser wherever I go now. And will wash his hands wherever possible.

cellow,

How about some healthy fruits as snacks?

Mich,

BREATHE!!! I am also suffering some "QI" in my work. So have to cool down first... after seeing Ethan tonite, you will feel better liao. It works for me all the time.