(2008/07) July 2008

Hosp bag
Even if we forget something, it's okay lah. Can get hb to go home and take it. Well that's what I did! ;p

qing - no worries!

youpi - your son is so funny la! i've seen before, kids in the mrt trains climbing up and down their papas like climbing tree haha

re - strep b test. huh?? what's that?

re pads - friend giving me some leftover maternity ones that she bought so i guess i will just get some night ones la. don't need to bring to hosp right? or must?

re pot - wah it sounds like a magic pot sia!!! functions like a slow cooker, kinda? i rememebr seeing endo at isetan last time.

re marriage cert - har? photocopy cannot ah?

Offer seat:
Act. I don't mind standing for the journey. So when I enter the MRT or Bus, I will first look if there is empty seat. If not, then find a "safe" place to stand. Then normally, got people asking me to sit. So I'm very lucky to be surrounded by kind soul, esp MRT. Bus a bit difficult cos I'm always stuck at the front door :p

In the past, when I am schooling, I will always offer my seat to the elderly. So maybe now it's my turn for some kindness ba.

So for those not offered a seat, dun let it spoil your day. We may be pregnant, but we are strong MTB rite

Qing,
Crumpler bag i like is becos fashionable and heavy duty. Lesportsac i saw before but becos the material is quite thin, I think if you carry heavy stuffs everytime it might not last very long.

youpi,
yuppies...what i heard is if the pelvic bone is bigger then chances are better to deliver bigger sized babies...but not too sure if its true...

Serene,
I got mine at $98 i red color cos i like that color...hehe. The product name is Western Lawn, URL : "http://www.crumpler.com.sg/Cart/index.php?catId=6".

Re : Baby size
Actually I think baby's weight does not affect the pushing part. What I heard is the head size, cos the head is the more difficult one to push out first. If head circumference bigger then more difficult *lol*
My ger was 3.36kg but her head was 36cm (when i saw her at nursery she is one of those with biggest head..haha). After one push i told gynae to use vacumn liowz...then 2nd push her head came out and 3rd push body came out...hehe

celeste, garfield, youpi,
my gal was born 3.68kg, i agree that it is easier to handle, i always carry her with one arm and put her in the sling since newborn...hehe

PB,
you can bring your own supply of pads to the hosp instead and tell them not to charge you, rem to check your bill during discharge.

re: pads
i had a few pcs of leftover maternity pads and i'm gonna let them put on for me after delivery but when i'm back in the ward i'll change to my nightsafe pads which will last longer.

What i did was pull up my PJ so that my bum is in direct contact with the absorbant sheet on my bed so i won't dirty my PJ, maternity pad sure leak one.

re: strep b test
it's a high vaginal swab (HVS) which the doc insert a cotton tip to take the discharge to test. if positive have to be on antibiotic bcos it will pass on to baby during delivery through the birth canal. it will also test for any yeast (candida will give baby thrush or fungal infection), if positive will give pessary to insert.

rain
sigh ya, strong MTB but sometimes strong but with back pains haha. i'll usually look for seat but if no seat then just stand somewhere with people who are awake! if really no luck then just stare into space lor.

fiona
OMG serious? wah ok i will bring my own pads!!

celeste
wow your girl came out in 3 pushes? wow!!!

re newborns
i very scared when they are small and fragile :S people say this fear will go away and be replaced by a mother's confidence over time. gulp. i sure hope so man

re strep b test
hmm. sounds like a beach boys song somehow. sloop john b? hehe. anyway, must do ah? or do i have to bring up to gynae? will it be a very geh kiang/kiam pah situation or not??

re booking hospital
i remember the nurse at gynae's clinic said we have to book in our 8th month. i guess that means now? how to do it? through the clinic or what?

PB,
yup must do the strep b test, if your gynae forgot pls remind him, usually done from 35 wks onwards. it may post life threatening consequences to your baby during birth if passed over.

TANGS SALE: I was there last nite..there are some discounts on baby stuffs... like the red/black/white cloth book I got from kids tools had a 20% + 10% off..

BB POSITION: my BB has been lying sideways when I went for my wk25 and wk28 checkups..hope he will kwai kwai turn the right position and stay there when it's time too...

THERMAL FLASK & FOODJAR: we'll need the flask for sure when we start bringing baby out and baby is on formula milk right? what about the foodjar? trying to decide whether I need to get this or not...

PADS: yeah..heard dat those normal nite ones are good enough..someone mentioned laurier..

i feel like suddenly i'm in a big rush to make full use of my weekends for couple time. cos after baby comes then no more couple time liao. any first time mummies feel the same?

do1nk - don't worry, still got time to turn around, bright eyes

SY. Celeste, PB

no gynae never est birth wt yet .. probably he thinks still early.

Now I scared is bb too big inside to do the somersault ??

nonetheless I will keep talking to her

ya was v shocked she put on 900g last mth.

my next chkup is 3 weeks away liao .. eheh can see her more often !!

oh PB, no no I was doing anyting when seated but just pant a lot.
So doc says to rem to take my iron pills and take more red meat.

In fact, I dont have giddy spells like my #1 so I tot I am stronger this time round ??

sept03bride

do ur Strep B test at week 36 onwards, which is nearer

to delivery. if u do it too early, the infection may or may not come back.

PB, ur clinic will ask for your pref of hospital then they will do the booking for u.

labbit
i remember you were my stomach-touching-thigh kaki... now very gao eh hor? i keep standing up cos if not, will be very liam liam! haha

hot babes gathering
hey mamas, i can't make it on 19, and i think most of you can, so can someone take over the organisation please? :D or want to postpone to 24/25 may?

this is the latest i have. so far, bo seng li leh!

hot mamas hot date #2!
18 may 2008 (sunday) OR 19 may 2008
2-5pm

1. pinkbunny! - 18 may 08
2. Delphine - 19 May 08
3. Dor dor - 19 May
4. Youpi - both days ok
5. doggiebb - 19 May
6. dusty - both days ok

Pinkbunny
Mine is Damien brand.....hahaha
Bb will be sleeping with us cos I will be bfing at night as well so dun need bb monitor. Day time jus get my son to keep running in to check on bb lor. Anyway he's so kpo 1....hehehe
Must make full use ma....hahaha
But I heard there's this brand start with S with video 1 quite good I heard.

Celeste
Me too not aiming for such a big bb.....hehe
So long as around the same as my #1 at 2.6kg I happy liao. Imagine I took so long to give birth to him bigger will take even longer aah.

Qing
I like the LSS diaper bag also nice n light. But I already bought alot liao.....hahaha
My hubby probably will kill me if I even think about buying....keke

SY
Same here small bb hard to push liao. Somemore after my delievery the midwife told me 2nd bb will be faster......provided about the same size as my son so no bigger bb for me lah.....haha

SY
the magic cooker i have, not bad lah. i used it quite often when i need to boil soup myself. but ever since my mum come to take care of my son, she also takes care of cooking, so she hardly use the cooker anymore. but during confinement month, she did use it everyday to boil red dates soup for me.. i have to finish one whole pot a day... err...

oh, so the tiger jar having sales this round might not able to cook porridge arh?.. hmn.. then i think i will not go down tomorrow lor, it'll be too crowded for me with my pair of tired legs..

fiona
can bring own supply of pad and ask hospital not to charge huh? i must bring mine then, cos i don't like the brand that hospital provides.

re strep B test
hmn.. i think need to do it earlier cos if *touch wood* got infection, still got time to give oral antibiotic or pessary. then after the course of treatment, need to re-examine again whether still positive or not. it may be still present cos it's very stubborn. so my kiasu gynae just tell me that, he'll give me antibiotics regardless it's positive or not. he said, it's harmless, the only thing is i need to pay more $$ lor..

nevertheless, the best person to check is your own gynae.. dun forget to ask ya..

haha dor dor really cute la your little boy

hey sonic, really ah confinement time cannot drink water at all, must be red dates tea all the time? walau...

JMON - how is little adeline doing?

PB,
haha..i agree on the fast and yet so slow

do1nk,
me lor the one who stock up alot of laurier pads keke...will bring one pack if need more then ask hubby bring

sonic,
pads also counted as consumables, like baby's diapers which they'll charge (so rem to bring home th eleftover diapers). but for baby i won't interfere since they using pampers NB, but pads i prefer to use my own lor

PB

eheh i am still ur buddy lor !! now worst .. think the breast, tummy and thigh all resolve into one big ball liao ahahhaha can imagine ? and the perspiration at this joining areas !!

do1nk,
I bought the foodjar already. I knows it's early but it was on sale at taka. $49 usual price $60. Tiger. Made in Japan. Inside got 2 inner containers and a carry bag. comes in 2 colors.

isetan having a promo for tiger foodjar+thermos flask for only $50 leh! that's why I'm wondering if I should wait for the next sale (provided still on sale then) or should I juz grab this round...

LBT & PB: haha dunno why but the breast-touch-belly bothers me more than the belly-touch-thighs..maybe my belly very high up (people been telling me dat...sharp n high) what I do when I'm alone in my room sometimes is to kiap my teeshirt between them so the skin does not come into direct contact wiv each other hahahahaha!

do1nk

buy NOW !!
I got the same deal at $41 2 yrs back. The Tiger products are fabulous !!

hehe u know I did the same thing too ! just kiap my tee shirt in between else really very KAO EH !

do1nk
I do that at home too sometimes......hahahhaa
To take away the perspiration so siok......hahaha
N I told my hubby maybe not my tummy small lah its my boobs that are big so my tummy appears smaller....keke

Hi Sally,
I used the MIM sling for my firstborn. I have three of them in different materials and colours. I also have an Ergo and a Bjorn... okay, just realised that I sound like a mad mother!

BUT BUT BUT... I DO NOT have a stroller!

youpi,
your msg so funny ... I intend to get the bjorn too cos my cousin says it's very good. but then .. I intend to get a stroller.. hahaha.

tell your banker, the therma pot suppose to save electricity/gas cos you cut cooking time on the stove.. hahaha.

t-shirt kiapping is HILARIOUS!!!!!!!!! i'm carrying quite low so it is the thigh part that is bothering me. today when i was having dinner, i had to bend forward to put my spoon in my mouth, and then bend backwards to chew, to give my thighs some precious breathing time. sigh.

do1nk
boobs on belly bothers you more? neh neh big is it? *wink*

catherine
i have bought some bumwear inserts and covers, but not prefolds. haven't tried yet. they told me that baby has to be 5kg so at least 3 months old

sally
i bought one sling one from moms in mind. cos we're going to bring poppy to visit her grandma in december and i think that it'll be easier to 'transport' her in a sling on the plane than with baby bjorn baby carrier. but so funny that you call it 'babywearing'! hehe

youpi
haha i also have a baby bjorn and a sling. but you win in terms of quantity la!!! hehe.

catherine
i guess you got to see how you will use the carriers? for me, i will use the baby bjorn to transport poppy back and forth everyday from babysitter's house. and maybe stroller on big excursions. cos i stay on 4th floor with no lift, i cannot imagine carrying stroller up every day. pengsan.

speaking of 4th floor, climbing up is getting rather tiring. i've been asking hubby to carry me and he said cannot la, staircase is too small to carry me in his arms so he gave me 2 options: piggyback or fireman's lift. ya right. fat and heavy just say fat and heavy. don't need to make excuses

nursing gowns
oh just to share. bought one from chinatown today. people's park complex (the one with the hawker centre below) has a few pj shops. got mine at $16. it's like those old fashion ang moh show (when they wore matching sleep caps and lived on farms?), long long kind, white colour kind.

and i geh kiang also bought 2 post birth tops... like my 'welcome back to work' present to myself haha. see if can wear or not ah.

baby movements
mummies, how do your movements feel like? mine vary. now she's doing like macdonald's window wiper. sometimes it's a strong kungfu kick and hold there for a while then stop (i think that's the heel i feel). sometimes it's like she's like a kid in the backseat of a car and stretching her legs against the back of the front seat. aiyoh, this girl ah

SLINGS & CARRIERS: Wah Youpi..since u have all 3..must ask you for opinion on which is the best..MIM sling vs ergo vs bjorn..

NEH NEH ON BELLY: PB, you've met me lor..so you know I have little bee stings for neh-nehs and not big bazookas lor.. yet I feel them resting on my belly more than I feel my belly on thigh..

LBT, think I'll take your advice and buy now lah..they may not be selling at such a good price come year end when we need it hor...

PB..I saw a work top from G2000 which I liked and juz had to buy it too! And I bought my pre-preggie size..now I gotto pray that I'll be able to fit into it as well...

SHOES: are your feet expanding a lot? I'm thinking of getting another one or two pairs of flats but not sure if my feet will expand more in the next 2 months...maybe I shouln't bother since I only have 2 more months to go? so soon! *GULP*

hi mummies & MTBs

I am from April mummies thread.. I have a Brand new Dry Confinement Powder from Little Dreamers... didnt use at all.... willing to let it go at $10..kindly PM me if interested . Thx

do1nk, PB

hehe damn shiok right ?

PB actually i got prob bending forward too cos tummy is getting in the way lah ...

i think it is safe to buy clothes of pre preggie size but for shoes I am quite skeptical. Cos my feet is slightly bigger than before.

last nite I use to be able to wear the shoes display on the rack ! now I cant ! hubby teased me lor .. say i DUA KA POH now ... chey ...

re:bb movements

mine vary too ! sometimes she does tickle me .. no joke ! I will like jerk and feels like giggling. Sometimes she stretch so hard that makes me uncomfy .. then sometimes kick me below lah !! scare she v notti hehe

do1nk
food jar is useful but this round the isetan one is not the one that i have. so cannot cook porridge. but u will need one.

re maternity pads
hmm i shall bring my own also. i prefer those night time pads instead of maternity pads.

re thermal cooker
tiger products not made in japan anymore? then where to buy the made in japan one?
think i shall find some time to go check out the prices. really interested to get one...

re bb movements
mine moves really hard until i cannot tahan sometimes....

I want to get 1 thermal cooker @ istean.

Can anyone advise me which brand to get?

Tiger, thermos or endo?

Endo one very cheap, leh.

Sorry to intrude..
I've got an extra brand new belly band - great product for extending the life of your prepregnancy clothes, helping pregnant women wear clothes comfortably, particularly in between stages of midpregnancy and postpartum.
Read reviews here:-
http://pregnancy.about.com/od/maternityclothes/gr/babybemineband.htm

Color: Black w/Prints
Width: ~45cm measured flat across
Picture:-
http://p1nk1ebooth.blogspot.com/2008/05/black-baby-be-mine-belly-band-30-taka.html

Interested, pls PM me! Tks!

morning mummies

pads
i bought night pads last evening too. $2.30 for 20 pads, laurier brand at chinatown, those shops that only sell facial products and soaps. like medical hall without the medicine.

baby movements
ya ya sometimes the kick is so hard that it is actually quite uncomfortable! have to stop working and talk to her and sayang her

i am at home today with a very bad back
have to minimise movements but still can do a bit of work on the comp. sigh. feel guilty cos don't want boss to have bad impression but no choice, really painful

SY - maybe you can organise BP for the flask since like alot of mummies here are keen? hehe. i wouldn't mind too but not really thinking about a 6 month old baby now hehe

thanks to catherine for the link! so just to check - when you leave the food to cook in the pot with no fire, all your ingredients are fully cooked liao? hmmm

labbit - bending forward to pick up things i will either open my knees to the side and pick up from front, or squat normally and pick up from the side haha. either way very kao eh and if at home i just point to the thing and ask hubby to pick up for me hahahaha

PB
since at home today can go go the isetan sales??

Baby movement
my bb is quite naughty recently everytime u ask to move for daddy to feel she wouldnt move when daddy not at home she will kick hard n pop out for u to c her movement... but strange when my sil daughter touch my tummy n call her gal gal she will kick n pop her hand ....

serene - haha funny you. i don't think so. but depends on what time i can get an appointment for physio session. and since it is as liat tower, that is just opposite isetan..... keke

hehe your baby chooses who to perform for!!!

PB
i also got a very bad back this morning. think sat too long udring meeting yesterday.

u referring to BP for the food jar or thermal pot? food jar i have liao...hmm, maybe i shall go ask abt the thermal pot. shall we target tiger brand first?

bluey
i also thinking abt the endo one..cheaper but i think if really wan good one, tiger and thermos wd be better. endo also made in japan right?

re bb movements
my gal really fierce. yesterday my boy kicked me on the stomach accidentally and she had a super big reaction. i think next time she sure beat the brother if bro ever bully her...

Hi ladies, I am a July 2008 mother to be and expecting a baby boy.

Read the other day that one of you has bought the medela pump in style from US and am interested to find out more. Sorry I am unable to name the username as I cant find the message among all the archives.

So appreciate it if any of you can advise me on that. =)

welcome LWY

SY i don't know... the one that can cook porridge haha. wah your girl is fierce!!! i think mine will be sam seng rather than pricess gu niang kind. hmmm.

LWY
i think it is bluey who bought from US if i m not wrong....

PB
yeah i think she is fierce. definitely not as tame as my boy....

i shall try to find the contact for tiger and ask abt both.

Morning ladies

This is off-topic but maybe someone can help: does anyone know where I can donate/give books? I have four boxes of fiction and non-fiction that I want to clear. Let me know? Thanks!

Do1nk
Depends on the person carrying the baby, actually. Sling is great for portability and convenience, since it can be folded up and put into a tote or diaper bag. It can also be used as a bfg cover, a blanket, and a shelter.

Bjorn is good if you need to carry baby + a lot of other things and you want to make sure that baby will not fall even if she gets active. I would use the Bjorn if I was going to buy groceries from the supermarket. I have taken the bus with baby in sling, carrying four bags of supermarket shopping. Also, men seem to prefer using the Bjorn than the sling - they think it's more 'manly'?!

Ergo works well when baby is older and heavier, when the Bjorn cannot be used anymore, and if the sling gives you a shoulder ache. It's also great if you are travelling with kiddo and will not be bringing a stroller. You can carry up to 18kg in the Ergo.

All three can be hot to use - to me - so be prepared for that! I have more than one sling as I would get it washed quite often. The Bjorn and Ergo can be washed too but they take a longer time to dry, compared to the sling.

HTHs!

LWY
i think it is bluey who bought from US if i m not wrong....

PB
yeah i think she is fierce. definitely not as tame as my boy....

i shall try to find the contact for tiger and ask abt both.

PB
probably might happen bump into u later i'm going down to get the playmate for my bb gal usual price $59 nw $23 if i'm not wrong hehehe