(2008/07) July 2008

qing,
sometimes it gets tough when you stay with in laws, i can understand bcos i'm in same situation. but i very naughty de...everything she said to do this or that, i'll tell her i won't lor bcos i'm the mummy so i'll decide what's best for my child.

and make sure your baby sleeps with you no matter what funny ideas they try to suggest. although it's more "xin ku" as baby will wake at nite but i can tell you it's all worth it. my gal is very close to me and hubby eventhough she's looked after by mil during the day before she went childcare, but she refuses to be touched by her the moment we are home, very funny right?

star,
wow your baby also very big, did your gynae as you to do glucose test? i'm doing mine today, had the glucose drink so sweet until i'm so nauseous now but still have to wait till 10.30 to have my 2nd blood taken...sian

PB,
like what SY said, it's better to boil a bit 1st before transferring to the jar. i have one too but end up never use, i tried putting the rice in to cook, it's successful but tasted weird weird leh...(but dun cook too long beefore transfer or porridgr becomes very watery),but the thermos flask for hot water is extremely useful, till now i'm still using.

by the way, my belly button protruded since very early in the pregnancy...dun pop then good mah or else will become bigger and out of shape after delivery...

PB,
ya la...when you cook your porridge, put in together the hard veggies like carrot, potato at the same time into the pot. if it's pumpkin, can put in later.
then fish cooks very fast and dun want to lose it's nutrient, put in only when the porridge is cooked.

oh... i see. thanks!
i'm just thinking, cos in dec we will bring poppy to go see her grandma, and thought can cook porridge for her (cos about 5-6 months old liao, can be on semi solids liao mah) on the plane with the wonderful porridge jar.

guess on the plane can just take hot water from them la hor? cos how to boil water on the plane? hehe

PB

at 5-6 mths, they can still take cereal so u dont worry abt cooking porridge outside. Just bring lotsa cereals along. can start porridge at abt 7 mths.

but I seriously dont like to cook porridge in the thermal flask. dont sounds yummy to me ahah .. I still prefer over stove or slow cooker.

anyway if u wanna give porridge at 5-6 mths, u need to start slow too. cant give too much ingredients at one go. U need to qualify each new food u give to ur gal. Means today if u give carrot, u need to give it to her for the next 4-5 days .. and if no rashes appear during this period, then she is clear of this food. Then intro another new food 5 days later etc .... err get what I mean ?

labbit
ya it doesn't sound too yummy to me either
i got the jar more as a 'keep warm' thingie but would be nice to have the cook function, just in case. like aeroplane times

yup yup i understand. must do like 'test period', yes? like when you want to dye your hair, the instructions always say test behind your ear first? hehe. and try not to give other new foods during that time so that it will be easy to pinpoint which one her body doesn't like, ya?

slow cooker - you got a small one specifically for you girl's food? i have the normal size one that cooks soup. like very waste electricity if use to cook small amounts of porridge

PB

ya I got a mini one for my gal's porridge only. Then wont waste too much electricity and cooks faster. else u will be waiting like forever if u use the big one. I highly recommend the IONA one, it is brown in color, i think it is call the ZI SHA GUO (purple clay pot). It is available in BEST, COURTS etc .. cost only $20+. It cooks real fast and not as SLOW as the other slow cooker.

cos when bb is younger, we need to cook the porridge real "nua" so this cooker really does it well.

rainbaby

this test is to test for any presence of infection in ur V. if not treated, the bb will be in danger during natural birth as she passes through an infected canal leh.

bunny mummies... maybe the red/white/black book got snapped up liao..there were only 3 when I got mine..but ya .. saw the red/white/black ball and other stuffs there too..but dun worry..I'm sure u can find it at robinsons or isetan (kids tools) coz it's quite common right (seen it a few times liao previously before I decided to get it)

FEET SIZE: LBT, I think you are right..my younger sis said everything went back to original size for her except her feet which stayed one size bigger! yikes! what's gonna happen to all my pretty stilletos waiting for me in their boxes

Qing, what PB said is true...everyone can comment and say what they want about your baby, but she's ultimately yours so dun worry...listen and smile and forget about it lor.. that's what I do.. no point getting too angry coz you'll stil have to stay wiv them right? so make the best of it lor instead of straining the relationship by getting into conflicts.. I have issues I do not agree with my in-laws too so I juz keep quiet and do what I think is right...

bottles and diapers: people are telling me not to buy too many coz the ones you buy may not suit your baby well..so I'm gonna start with only 2 bottles (hope he will not reject them) and take the gamble and order 4 packs of nepia soon!

blurmummy

if u going natural, better do it. Some gynae may slipped their mind so u shld bring this topic up during ur next visit. I will do it next visit when I am 35 weeks.

do1nk

yeah.. however I can still squeeze into my old shoes after my #1. then my shoes are slightly expanded lor ... hehehe

as for bottles, that time for #1, I bought a mixture of NUK and AVENT cos I also dunno which one suits my gal. In the end, she choses NUK .. but when she was older, i changed to Avent till now, cos their mouth is bigger by then ehhehe

Just back from my gynae check up.
5kg weight gain since preganacy.
2kg weight gain from last month checkup.

To my surprise ... my baby is now 1.8kg with head down position.

I was told to go back to the clinic every 2 weeks from now.

wah bluey

u gain so little too ? oh ya forgot .. u r the one who slim down during preg !!! so envy !!!!!!!!!!!!!

PB,
hot water can get from the air crew but better to bring the hot water flask along for those in between waiting time. and like lbt mentioned, it's still early for baby to venture into porridge, stick with cereals first which can save you lots of hassle too

re: feet size
i used to be ard size 38-39, but after 1st one i can only wear 40-41, and the cutting of the shoes will also affect whether i can squeeze into the size 40 leh...but 2nd time won't expand further lah

re: strep b test
i mentioned to my gynae yday and he told me they dun do on a regular basis, but i insisted on testing, will remind him on my 36th wk appt.

i've started on 2 weekly appt...what abt you gals?

oh yes ... Is robinson sale on?

I wanna get the maternity pads from robinson. I hv used it after I deliver my #1, the brand is good.
I forgot the name but I think it is from germany.

bluey, SY,
so good that both of you gain so little on yourselves...i'm sure my leftover tummy after delivery will be like 5mths preggie, but binding will help...hehe

porridge ...

When I go out, I will usually bring those instant porridge (should be pigeon, I think) which I get from isetan.
Just soak in hot water and heat ... and you will have piping hot meal for the baby.
They have different types for different ages (in months). I have tasted it, quite good.
I dun really like the idea of cooked porridge stored the the thermal pot for too long under our hot climate.

But of course, at home, will be home cooked porridge.

Bluey
my sil actually recom me the maternity pads that sells at robinson went to check they no longer bring in the pads anymore .....my sil told me it quite long n gd

oh no ...

I like the maternity pad.
So disappointed.

Anyone remember the brand? I would hope to see if I could get it online.

bluey

ahahah u r funny ! ok lah now that u have lost wt, so u shld try to stick to it.

the rest of us are still wondering how to lose the fats ! sian .. think I will face another round of depression before getting back to work. no clothes to wear !!

fiona
my next appt is 3 weeks away. prob will be 2 weeks later after next appt.

re toilet visit
Sometimes even when bladder not really full I need to run to the loo when baby kicks my bladder. And he does it very often now!

re tired
Ya, I also feel tired easily nowadays and it's a drag to go to work. Somemore now everyday I feel breathless so need to hide in the toilet to sit with legs open wide, unhook my bra, and breath in - breath out - breath in.

re belly button
Mine doesn't pop out too! But that area is very sensitive since the beginning. Even touching it can make me really nauseous and it's painful when my baby kicks it.

Anyone feel sore in the groin area?

3D mummy .. can help to add my details? Thanks!
EDD: July 12
Gynae: Dr Paul Tseng
Hospital: TMC
What else arh?

Bluey, I just realized our EDD is the same and we see the same gynae!!

Your baby is so nice, already turned upside down. Last check up mine was still upright. Hopefully he turns already now coz he moves a LOT lately.

do1nk
can take a pic of the red/white/black n post it here coz when i visit the website quite confused probably get it tomolo at robinson with my hubby ...

swollen legs
is it true that in the later stage of preg our legs tend to swell ?? coz i dun feel that but my last visit to gynae he mention that my leg have swell...

Fiona,
No, my gynae didn't ask me to do GD test. My first baby was also very big, born at 3.88 kg.
I did the GD test for twice (different gynae). I really hate it. We have to fast and then wait for few hours and drink the juice. Imagine, previous gynae asked me to do for twice, each trimester. The test was clear.

I think my baby is genetically BIG.

Re. Belly Button
I am wondering, how come some of you the belly button is not protuding? Is it because of baby position?

lbt,
ya think it's abt time our frequency to the gynae increase, very tired nowadays hope to deliver sooner.

star,
OMG, he made you do it twice?! I also hate it. i was cleared the previous pregnancy so hopefully this round will be the same. My first born was also big at 3.68kg, went to induce a few days earlier than edd. the doc also said i may just be producing genetically big babies...hahaha.

serene,
not necessary legs will swell, but i did notice some swelling on mine too bcos my veins are very obvious but recently not so...i just raise my legs when i'm home while lying on bed.

re: maternity leave
anyone taking ML earlier? think i'll start ML on 1st July(edd 10th july) or even earlier if i can't tahan, then i'll take annual leave to cover till my baby turned 3 mths old then return to work.

Fiona

ya lor .. i sleep very easily nowadays.

wah ur bb is big !!
eh my gf also produce big babies ... 5.1kg, 4.65kg, and 3rd one abt 4kg!!

oh my feet and hands have swell a little bit. so i have stopped wearing my rings liao.

I wont be taking any leave .. want to save it for my #2. but will clear more leaves after ML ehehhe

RHS, Rayna,
We see same gynae. I have been seeing him every 2 weeks now. My EDD is 1 July 08.

Fiona,
My previous gynae asked me to do GD test twice.

blurmummy
haha can even use the wig for my baby? keke

labbit
thanks! will go check out the ZI SHA GUO (sounds like a character from tian long ba bu). first time i hear anybody recommend iona product leh! my steamboat is iona. cannot make it. hehe.

do1nk
thanks for the url! i see until so 'song' and thought wah quite affordable, want to buy the scarly... it's in US haha. oh ya just to update, saw some cloth/plastic/board books in kids section in borders. near CD area.

RHS
haha i also went through that bra phase! but in early 2nd trimester. had a few bra adventures too, as the mummies here will recall hehe. get bra extensions! and personally i find that maternity/nursing bras help cos even though i bought bigger bras, it is my sides that expand, and maternity/nursing bras accomodate for that. normal bra but bigger size just accomodate for bigger cup only. personal preference i guess.

re groin area: me too. sng sng sometimes. it's the weight of the little fella

re propping feet: hey mummies i find propping feet up very comfy when i sleep but hor since my baby head already down, wondering if that will cause baby to move around again, ie not stay down? how ah

re big babies: OMG labbit!!!! 5.1kg??!!!!

re belly button: star, i think not everyone's belly button will pop out one

re maternity leave: fiona, my company policy is must take 1 week from EDD. mine is 9 july so i guess my last day of work will be 27 june. cos 2 july is tuesday, like not here not there like that hehe.

i'm thinking of taking 10-11 weeks together then maybe the last 5 or 10 days i will spread out and work 4 day weeks for 5 or 10 weeks. of course take mondays off hehe. monday blues mah

re swelling: me occasionally fingers and toes will feel like sausage. never noticed when but think it's due to salt intake. cos salt trap water mah. do twinkle star action for fingers, and flex feet up and down. also long time never wear wedding ring liao. put on chain and wear lor.

lbt,
wow...your gf's babies all so big leh..5.1kg, how she delivered?!

me also want to save up leave but what to do, whole body like very achy leh and eyes keep wanting to close... but i still have 17 AL left will use it for after ML bah..

PB,
you co. got alot of policy hor? but it's a good idea to let your body rest before the big day. me now planning to take a week before too.

re: swelling
i took off my ring and place it on my necklace since i felt tightness a few weeks ago.

and i've been going for pedicures to pamper myself a little, anyway i can't reach those toes of mine kekeke...

wah,
like tat i die liao.
hubby wants baby to sleep with her loh.
how?
as our room is too small, no space for a cot or what.
haiz.
very depress

qing,
dun be depress.
if you reposition the furniture in the room, can squeeze in the cot? anyway baby will look for your smell so must put cot very close next to you. that's what i did for my gal's playpen, i placed it next to me then can she sleep.

ours is the old type 3room flat.
haiz.
put the queen size beb no space liao.
then moreover, she is sleeping in mattress (ti Lam) only so can keep when not in use. haiz.
i did wanted so much for baby to sleep in the same room.
i am so afraid that i am get post natal blues after that loh.

Swollen legs
Yep, it's true. Mine doesn't swell much but looks a bit puffier than usual. I think it's water retention. What I read also is our joints tend to loosen during pregnancy so that can make our feet bigger and it's permanent change! Touch wood mine won't get any bigger ... I'm already size 39/40 now.

Belly button
Probably it depends on how 'deep' it is pre-pregnancy? If I'm wearing tight tops, can see the belly button bump but it's still an innie.

Rayna, Star
I'm seeing him tomorrow morning too! I'm seeing him once every 4 weeks but probably will be every 2 weeks starting tomorrow.

Pinkbunny
I bought extender but still feel more comfy to unhook it completely, kekeke. Maybe I should start shopping for nursing bras. I didn't know they have different cuttings than normal bra!

Hi Phyllis!!

qing,
tell your hubby you want to breastfeed baby so it's more convenient to sleep with you. or if you both dun mind then put baby on your bed dun use cot.

fiona
haha alot of policy meh? i think i only talk about the 1 week before EDD thing leh! keke. i think the logic is that in retail we walk alot then they scared got drama on the shop floor mah hehe

re pedicures - ya man. been intending to go but no time ler.

qing
i think it's best baby sleep with you leh. then will be closer to you.

RHS
haha ya last time my innie very deep one. ya when i bought the nursing bra the salesgirl told me about that (that nursing bras the side is made to accomodate our expanding sides), i thought aiyah maybe she try to make me spend more or what but it's true lor. so much more comfy. and the wire is also better. softer than normal underwire. apparently we need more support now cos our neh so big right? makes sense la. i got mine from perfect mum so i don't know if it applies to ALL nursing bras or only perfect mum ones. got mine from the raffles place branch. at 'the arcade' building

the girls at the arcade outlet are very good at selling their products..explains why most of my clothes r from there kekeke..

i bought my very first nursing bra too... from triumph..quite affordable I thought..one thing bad is dat they do not have strapless versions huh..so if we are wearing those strapless kinda tops have to get tube bras? got one of the "organic" ones from triumph too during the tangs sale

must ask you ladies...have you been drinking coffee? so hard to resist and now that I've resumed, it's getting into a habit again... but I make myself drink only one per day... juz now walked past a coffee joint and my feet juz didn't wanna move anymore..

for those of you who has young no.1's around...how do you make your baby take medication? my little 1-yr-old niece has been running a bad fever & cough and now even refuse to take any food or water or medication...so poor thing...might have to bring her to hospital if this still persist...

Hi Mummies...

Another question to ask... Hee...

Is there any exe or things to do as to prepare for easy delivery?

Sorry to ask so many questions....

yesterday went for my 32week gynae checkup. she said my baby pomfret is a bit big at 2.2kg. so in a fortnight i have to do the glucose blood test in case i have mild diabetes
boohoo.

my own weight gain is just 1.6 from 28wks to 32 wks but baby pomfret grew from 1.3 kg to 2.2kg. and coz i have family history of diabetes so must check.

but it's so depressing, the nurse told me, i cannot eat NOR drink (she said plain water also cannot!) from midnight till 9am. then 9am take a blood test. then drink glucose water, and take another blood test at 11am.

i can't imagine starving from midnight till 11am. sigh.

but i hope baby's fine.