(2008/07) July 2008

jmon,

Good to know your let-down effect good =).... last time I pump bm for #1, only using manual avent single pump. will hold empty bottle on other side that's dripping.

Nvr try dual pump before too. This time I invested in Medela dual pump..... don't know whether can manage or not.

Qing, Jmon,

Think only TMC provide bb clothes on day of discharge. My #1 delivered at Mt E, also must bring bb's own clothes......

re phuket
i stayed in burasari before! very nice and not too ex. but dunno how much it costs now...

re tea tree oil
any other mummies interested to pool orders togeter?

my boy down with tonsilitis..sigh. this is the 2nd time he got it. does it make u more prone to it once u have it before?

Jmon
glad to hear that adeline is doing well...
hope she goes home soon!

hee, last time i worse. i bath everyday after one week. then at KK when no one ard, i went to wash my hair..haha...

your ss not too bad. must keep up with the pumping. the pump at night is impt. cos night ss usually better. that's what one LC told me.

Packed Bag
is it necessay to prepare clothes with front button during the stay in hospital?
i be deliverng in east shore but still dun noe wat to pack when my hubby ask me when i start packing my bag.

contraction
how is the pain like huh can i ask? coz for the past few days i have been feeling pain below seem like somthing coming out n it seem to contracting but bb has been very active for these few days kicking here n there

jas,
can bathe but once in a blue moon for me... my mum n mil will nag n i dun wan them to say me later on if i really have problem u see.
but bath also must herbal water so troublesome!

envy JMON n SY... they never nag? hehe
u know i use the water spray in hospital also let my MIL nag ah... she quickly go n get a paper cup n fill up with hot water n ask me nxt time wanna use toilet, make sure use HOT BOILED water and wait for it to be WARM then use! so my timing must be v accurate cos once cold cannot use liao... v strange rgt?

this time, if i really hot, i will take quick shower rather than wait for the HOT herbal water to cool down... tat time, I didn't know the water was so HOT, n I already removed my clothes... then i complain to my mama tat i actually also get "WIND" in this way by waiting for the water to cool down. y not quickly shower n wipe dry rgt?

piyoz, i also use avent manual pump last time n sometimes hold a bottle at the other B*... v funny n diff to control. this time, i also buy a dual pump... hope i can make full use of it.

serene,

yr below is somewhere at pelvic? last time I had it b4 for my first one (when i over 30 wks), i call gynae n he say it ok.

contraction is something like u have regular pain/ contraction. u can ask yr gynae. it comes every few min and then goes... n the timing is always regular. if irregular it is braxton hicks.
actually i also dunno abt normal contractions... cos mine induced last time... hehehehe

Serene
I guess with front button ones easier for breast feeding...

garfield
oic..
ya lor.. when problems come they will say see we dun listen to them..
ya must use herbal water..
my MIL went to buy the herbs liao..
and say 1 week twice only..
more than enough liao..
but I dun think I will listen..
cos will be hot leh...

Jas, this mth is so hot... i really hope July is not so hot...

btw,

Toys"R"Us Branded Toys SALE
@ United Square

Date: April 29 - May 1, 2008

Time: April 29 (10:30am - 8:00pm; for Star Card & UOB Card members)

Apr 30 - May 1(10:30am - 8:00pm; Open to public)

Priority Sale Day for Star Card & UOB Card Members:
April 29 (10:30am - 8:00pm)

any1 goin?

garfield
ya lor.. very hot..
I on the aircon and fan also will sweat..
really hope the next few mths will be cooler..
or else will on the aircon during my confinement..

ask u all ah..
will u all let ur bb sleep in aircon room?
my mum ask me I say of course cos its so hot..

Jas,

I might not... my first 1 got few times we on air-con for him n he got sensitive nose.... then pd ask us not to... so since then, he no need air-con 1. but this mth, we on cos everyone is so hot! hahaha

but u make sure u give them more clothing or blanklet if u switch on air-con. u feel their body not hands or legs to see if they feelin cold.

morning ladies

Jaslyn,
31 weeks liowz...so fast...me i think around 29 weeks or so only...hehe...but feeling so sleepyz and tired easily nowdays

youpi,
sounds so fun!! That one is a new hotel? But bring ur No. 1 along tired anot? Mine that time keep sticking to me until i dont really have time to relax also

JMON,
that time i only be gd ger for like first 6 days. I think i only do wiping of my body. At hospital still okies...cos air-con dont sweat much. Then after 6 days i bathe everyday using lemon grass + rice wine with hot/warm water. I also wash my hair every 3-4 days...hehe...otherwise will go crazy...the hair so itchy! *lol*

And also, at nite I sleep with aircon on but with long pants and cardigan lah...hehe

garfield
oh ya hor..
sensitive nose...
forgotten about that..
maybe try 1st then see how..

ya lor..
cos I bought almost all long sleeve ones for them..

Celeste
ya lor..
fast hor..cos my EDD is 5th July..
ya lor..
tried easily..
and realise one thing..
when I lie down my water retention not so serious..
imagine I in office from 8am till now..
my legs cant bend liao..
no wonder my gynea say must lie down..

garfield
i'm seeing my gynae this friday. e contraction being with me for the whole day but when i lie down it not so painful.

jas
i told my hubby last nite the wether so hot recently if it still the same in july how ? his reply was "ON THE AIR CON" i was so happy but he say bb better dun sleep air con whole day.

BM Storage
any mummies buying milk storage bag to store? coz nw presently i only got 3 bottles for storing BM dun noe is it enough or not?

another question is anyone buying "fenugreek" to boost the BM supply? when should we start taking it?

celeste,
u very good ger leh.. i m not tat good lor. since day one i have warm tap water shower right after the herbal water. at night, i only wear 3/4 pants and tshirt to sleep. nv wear cardi and long pants. anyway, i m being condemned. my mil dont even bother to nag at me. even if she does, i also dont care.

my mum also call me almost everyday to nag at me. but being her dotter for so long, she knows my pattern liao.. lol.. keep scolding me when i m getting old, then all the probs come out then i know how jia lat it is. but who cares.... :p

i m counting down to the last day of confinement which is 12 more days to go... yippie... then i can go out liao.. but then if go out, how to pump cos i m using mini electric.. any one got experience pumping outside?

garfield,

ya lor, I will 'kiap' one bottle with elbow at the leaking breast, then will use both hands to pump at other. Think posture must be super ugly.

Don't worry, we'll all do well with our dual pump!!!!

RE: AIR CON ROOM
My #1 has sensitive nose, can't take air-con room too. Will have blocked nose in middle of night when we try to on air con for him. Then he will cry very loudly.... think he's very afraid that he can't breathe.

Jaslyn,
Me also 31 weeks now =) bb last measured 1.5kg. gynae said average size, kept telling me this #2 will come earlier than #1.... so probably end June...... But I want bb to stay inside longer leh.... come out July better...

Serene,
contraction pain is exactly like the mensus cramp, if you do experience it every month. Of course, the pain is greater than the usual mensus cramp, and it's coming in very consistent interval. Initially it lasts shorter and comes in few hours apart, gradually it comes faster and lasts longer...

garfield,
toys sale again? ... hehe... going to broke liao.

SY,
tonsilitis is caused by heatiness, hence virus attacks right? Poor thing, it must have affected his appetite quite badly right. My boy also suffers very bad appetite recently, guess his molar cuts out soon.

Re shower/washing hair during confinement

july will be even hotter than now I guess, if not same. must shower and wash hair lah, otherwise I don't know how to survive especially when we are not allowed to on the fan and been eating/drinking all hot stuffs. As long as we dry up ourself quickly after bath, don't on fan/air-con right after that, think it's fine.

I always tell my mum that, see those angmohs, they dun have these rules and restriction to follow, yet they are still ok and strong. I managed to bathe and wash hair everyday... hehe..

water retention
I also got a bit of water retention, my shoe is becoming abit too tight for me liao.. it comes too fast this time. I remembered I don't have any till 37th/38th week last time.
mummies, will that go away if cut off my salt intake totally from now onwards?

serene,

I bought milk bags to store EBM. 3 bottles probably not enough. Or you can ask your hb to buy for you after you deliver..... milk bags can buy from Kiddy Palace.

I like the Pigeon ones coz it's zip lock style.

Or you can consider joining the Lanisoh (don't know spell correct or not) BP, much cheaper, but must wait longer time for bags to arrive.

One other way is to use glass bottles to store. I kept the small juice bottles my #1 has from his juice drinks. Intend to use them to store EBM too..... nb drink very small portions at beginning. So bb food glass bottles are good size. Some more glass, so can sterilise and use.

Serene,
i bot Pigeon & Lansinoh BM storage bags to standby in case KKH does not hv enuff glass bottles..

i eat Fernugreek every morning since the day i start pumping.

jmon,

counting down to the end of confinement!!!! YEAH!!! I went out shopping right away after my confinement ended.

Never pump outside before. Will restrict myself to 3 hour outings at beginning. If not will leak then get two round patches!!!

You need to go out for long periods?

sorry missed the point about tea tree oil. what's that about?

garfield
======

Hey after bathing with the herbal water, will your whole body be sticky or not ah? Or have to bathe one more round with water? My CL says she will boil a lot of water for me to even wash face with. Wah, like very kua zhang like that.

jaslyn
======

cos got an event this morning at work so came in early. but it's ok cos i get to leave early :D

I asked CL when we met the last time. I said ‘please let me bathe…’ she said can. Once a day also can but must be with the herbal water lor. She said buy the herbs from HOCK HWA medical hall. Haven’t buy yet.

celeste
======
Ya hor I also heard that aircon is better than fan. Dunno why. Anyway, as long as I can keep cool. Already warned hubby about the increase in electricity bill haha

serene
======
You can get more bottles from the hospital or look through forum, some mummies are giving away. I very kiasu. Got a lot of bottles plus some plastic packs. Hehe. Got the plastic ‘bags’ from Robinsons during the sale the last time. Wait for GSS I guess? Think I got pigeon brand, and i think it is $16 per box before discount

piyoz
======
Hehe me too, keep talking to baby saying ‘you stay inside mummy for 10 more weeks ok? Mummy and papa are very excited to see you too but we want you to grow well okie?’. I’m 30 weeks now

piyoz
oic..
1.5kg sounds gd..
mon going NUH for another growth scan..
dun know how heavy will they be..
did ur gynea tell u y will come out early?
cos I thought only #1 will come out eary..
ya lor..
stay inside longer better..
can grow more hor..

Celeste,
With #1 still can have fun and relax. I actually enjoy being with ds so I will never go anywhere without him. Hb and I took turns to go for massage at the hotel spa. While he was there, I took ds to the kids club. There were so many toys he could entertain himself while I sat in the air-conditioned comfort lor

Bathing during confinement
I must be the worst, I think. I started bathing and washing hair the next day after delivery, and continued throughout. No confinement lady or MIL to nag at me and even if there was, I don't think I would bother to listen. I think it is important to be clean, especially if you are going to be breastfeeding baby.

The heat! The heat!
It sometimes makes me wish that I was working, so that I would be able to spend the day in an air-con office, out of the heat! We have to switch on the air con to sleep at night now, else no one can sleep 'cos it's to hot!

pinkbunny
oic..
I havent get to talk properly to my CL yet..
ask her then hack care my mil.. haha
my mil already go buy the herbs liao..
if cant use then I just get hb to go buy..

jaslyn
======

with CL, we met her once to give deposit and also for her to look see at our house. listed a whole bunch of questions to ask her like will she do marketing for us (yes, but we pay for marketing - think i will ask hubby to go with her for the first few times to show her my usual stalls) etc. thought it would be better to be clear in case wait start liao then both sides not happy then must lun

youpi
======

walau the heat in BKK!!! and the rain :S i think it's maybe also our bodies changing cos i feel so much hotter these days! last night the aircon was on but i kept complaining to hubby that i don't feel it. he was shivering under the quilt liao hehe

baby movements
======

wow she's really moving alot these days!!!! you guys also feeling?

fat fingers
======

sigh my wedding ring cannot fit liao. VERY painful when i try to take off, then got one very deep indentation
so i wear it on my neck now. my mother also had the same prob, she said. but strangely, my feet are ok now.

I not prepared yet... I also haven't get the herbs... but guess my mama will help me out.

pinkbunny, i dun think the herbal water shld be sticky. I dun mind tat as long as it not burning hot! n the sachet dun break... got one time my whole body full of black stuff when it break!!!!
this time, my CL say she got special bag to store in order not to break...

I didn't really talk much to her yet as I not sure what shld she do .... first time hiring. last time, it is DIY myself... hehe so abit wochap. then my mama just ask me do, I do...

pinkbunny
oic..
ya lor.. true also..
maybe must call her to ask liao..

re baby movements
my gers also moving alot..
and like to stick out their hands or legs I dun know..for quite long then got one bump..
then I got to touch and tell them to be guai cos its pain and ask them to put down..hehe..

pinkbunny

it hurts when i removed the ring too. but hubby insist that i wear them until one day i really can't.

baby movement - i felt that too... she is becoming super active all day long. no matter day or night. she kick, move and dance all the time. it is boz she is growing bigger? then got very limited space liao. so small movement we also can feel.

JULY weather

some people tell me that july might not be that hot as now is the hottest period.
my mil also say can on aircon during confinement.
as the fan will blow the wind directly to you ma and the aircon disperse everything liao. so better.

baby Hiccups
do anyone of you feel the hiccups?
initially, i thought she beating drum loh.
becoz very rhythmic loh. heehee.
only got to know yesterday from my colleague that that's the hicupps.

pinkbunny
besides the hot weather.. any HOT buys from BKK? Did u manage to get very very cheap baby clothes from chatuchat? My sis is going next month, since I can't fly by then, got to make her buy back tonnes for me... Hehe

jaslyn,

i also want that. can touch baby little hand/legs.
i guess i have to wait till i am also in week 31? i am now in week 29.

HERBAL BATH

you all still can use herbal to bath loh.
his ah ma don even allow that. it is completely no bathing loh. i don know how to survive thru it.
but very contradicting loh.
they say poopoo can use wet tissue and water to wash there only but cannot bath. imagine when the mense is back. i will be smelly snd dirty.

qing
======

aiyoh. better to take off ring now ah! tell your hubby scarly wear until the skin grow around it then must cut the ring, even worse ah!!

oh i've been feeling rhythmic beats but it didn't occur to me they were hiccups! hehe. yup i've been feeling them
i also feel bumps but cannot make out if they are elbows or heels or knees or maybe headbutts? hehe

sonic
======

oh yes quite plenty of hot buys! but my shopping was very controlled. hubby disallowed me to buy anything for a baby < 12 months. so bought dresses instead
only went to the usual suspects - MBK, platinium plaza, chatuchak, pratunam market, suan lom. didn't get anything from pratunam market and suan lom. seriously empty handed. so shi bai!!!

heard that chit lom central, and the siam shopping centres are on sale at every month end. but i only found out just before leaving bkk. alamak.

piyoz,
for me it's 2hr lor...

if i pump from 12-12.30pm then i go out at 1pm. have to rush home by 3pm leh.. so rush, how to enjoy??

SY
======

how was your virgin taste of tim tams?
i bought 2 packs from BKK. hehe they got quite a few different tastes. so cute, it was hubby that was looking out for them!

Qing
better dun wear ur ring liao..
that day I wear then cant take out..
use soap and hb use all his strength then can come out..
pain lor...

I can feel that at ard 29 weeks+
maybe soon for u..
cos maybe I got 2 inside then no place.. hehe..

I dun know how does hiccups feel like leh..

qing, yes i experiencing bb hiccups recently liao.

I still thot this bb dun have hiccups ;p

cos my boy used to everyday hiccups... now come out also hiccups sometimes ;p

sometimes i cover my tummy hoping to stop the hiccups! hahaha

btw, in case u all not aware (for first timer), yr new born will normally hiccups after milk feed. they dun need to drink water like us ok? it will just subside.

hehe i still wearing my ring...

first one i wear till i reach hospital then i take out n keep...

p.s: my ring was abit loose b4 preg... hehe

I am from Feb 2008 thread.
I've the following item for sell:

(1) BN Medela PureLan 100, 37 g - $15
(2) BN Yu Yee Oil, 48 ml - $7
(3) BN Pigeon Breastmilk Storage bag, 20 pc - $13
(4) BN Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage bag, 50 pc - $23

Pls PM me to deal. Thanks.

qing
really july will not be as hot as now? When I told people I'm due in July, most of them will go "err… very hot…" kind of response lor.
Oh no, if we hide in the room with aircon on for whole day, can imagine numbers in the electricity bill goes high.

wonder any mummy here did their confinement in july before? How do you survive the hot weather?

pinkbunny
your hubby banned you from buying things for baby <12months cos you already bought quite a lot before you go BKK right? hehe.. your hubby is right, cos baby grows really fast, you don't really buy too much for <12 months. But you can buy bigger size ones to keep lor.

Qing,
July not so hot? Really? I hope so. I can see my electricity bills shooting sky high 'cos I will probably have the air con on the whole day!

Pinkbunny,
Tim Tams very cheap in Thailand hor? I bought and ate in Phuket, only 55 baht!

Wedding ring
I took out when pregnant with ds1, till now, have not put it back on! Both hb and I don't wear our rings 'cos they are bulky and we did not want to hurt baby with them. And I guess we got used to not having them on ;p

Okay, going down town to do some birthday pressie shopping. Have a good day!

Jaslyn,
tat day when i do a lot of housework...my finger joints also a bit painful...*sigh* then u keep opening and closing my fingers to exercise bit *lol*

JMON,
I not considered so gd ger liowz...i noe of frens even using those boiled water to wash hands or wat hor...and first 2 weeks dont even wash the hair!
As for pumping outside, I usually pump till empty before i go out...then come back then pump again, unless u r going to leave the hse for like more than 6 hrs then prob need to bring pump along

pinkbunny,
me daytime use fan but put it on those rotating mode lah...at nite then use aircon :p

youpi,
woah...i tink u r gd
I attend to my no. 1 until i dont feel like i got time to relax...like we try to sit by the pool hor..my ger cannot sit still must walk here n there end up we must take turns to attend to her...haha

Re : Hot weather
recently weather really hot hor? I on the aircon to sleep everynite!!!
cannot imagine my utility bills! *sigh*

jaslyn,

my gynae first day already tell me #2 will usually come out early. When I had #1, the mid-wife also commented that usually #2 shorter labour. But my #1 was induced. Hopefully #2 can wait for her to come out on her own.

you must be very happy to be able to see your bbs soon =) Always enjoy seeing them at the scans.....

JMON,

start with short shopping trips first lor... no choice. I can only do with shopping at my neighbourhood central. Took me long time before I dare bring my #1 out to Orchard Road for longer periods.

When bb adeline is discharged, then you can bring her out to gai gai whole day =) By then can latch on, then no problem already.....

Youpi,

me too me too. Wedding ring is off since #1. Thought fingers will go back after delivery, but never leh..... how to slim down fingers????

Sonic,

I did my confinement for #1 in July also. Some how we can make it one. I nver knew I can stand not showering for few days also. Some more must take super hot food for all meals!!! But then come to think of it. It's usually not so warm in May. Don't know this July how???!!!???

Celeste
then u better dun do too much house work ah..
try to get someone to help..

piyoz
oic..
hehe.. ya lor can see their growth..
but my gynea say too much scan not gd..
I never ask him y..
he said that when I ask him can do 4D scan anot..
he say no cos I already need so many scans liao..

gals i v v piss off just now....

lunch time i walk to my nasi lemak stall to queue. normally sell v fast one so must faster queue...

the queue was abit messy at the end but i m very sure who came fast. then this auntie intercept me n keep cutting into the queue until she infront of me... I regret not tellin her off... but let her win.

then a working lady came by n start queuing at another end which is wrong liao cos got another person already queuing behind me...

she also squeeze in n keep talkin on the phone... then at the same time she talk to the lady so I thot they know each other. then the lady merge w her so I again behind.

I wanted to tell her but she keep talkin on phone. then the uncle ask order... they 2 of them sepately order!

the auntie order 2, while the young lady order 7!!!!! bloody hell! the uncle say behind no need queue no more liao!!!! imagine my anger.

then i told the lady that actually i queuing n both of them cut my queue... she say sorry she didn't see me queuing!!!!! I so obvious! I fat n have tummy still cannot see meh?

anyway, i shake head n go off.

this morn also see a rude person. i reach lift lobby waiting for lift, then a lady came by n as usual stand in front of me v scare i beat her.
then lift door open, she hurry in with the rest of the ple. but there was a kind guy who press lift for me to go in though he arrive b4 me.

after lunch tat incident, I directly stand b4 the lift! heck care liao!!!

garfield
hee, no lah they din really nag. cos wan to bf must keep clean also mah....so sticky...how to be clean without bathing...sometimes i think cl may nag instead...

serene
if u have enough milk, then no need fenugreek. u can then take it only if not enough. anyway fenugreek doesn't work for everyone. it din work for me.

u can buy more bottles for storing BM only if need.

PB
tim tams is so sinful..haha, i asked hb whether he wants to try the much talk abt tim tams....but he din wan to eat chocolate in the morning.

sonic
======

haha ya, practical man, my hubby! bought a few dresses.

garfield
======

cool down, cool down... drink some coconut juice and chill
me also quite fed up today cos i left some instructions when i left for my trip but i come back and none of the things were done. basket. when these colleagues are away, i cover for them leh!

Sy,

my mama is against BF... n my mil also dun understand y i wan to BF (though she indirect)... that is why they nag. tat time abit paiseh, i was feedin my ds, n mil keep lookin at my there!!! so uncomfortable... so later on, i told hb abt it. n then hb told me to close door nxt time.

they believe in not bathing cos of "hong seep" they just wan me to follow their steps. feed FM n dun bath.

garfield,
actually i have a bad experience in MRT yesterday too.When they see a preggie go on board the mrt, they will close their eyes and go to sleep. one lagi better skill, close her eyes to sleep nvm... when her phone rings, she pick up her phone and talk with her eyes CLOSED!! BEST AR!!

piyoz,
really #2 will be earlier than #1 ah? My #1 induced at 40wks, i keep polosoh my #2 to come out himself anytime after 37 wks *lol*
Hopefully it works...cos induced painful lehz....cos my SIL 1 is induced the other is natural, she say induce more painful one

garfield,
cool down...there are a lot of ppl like that one...like even i take mrt ppl see me pregnant still squeeze in front of me to board *sigh*

delphine,
yesterday i was very lucky..both EW line mrt and NEL mrt got ppl give up seats for me!

I also got encounter guy somemore hor...i tink prob mid to late 20s, see me stand in front of him still yakking on his handphone...to me he dont seem like tired....but never bother to give up seat to me when i look so tired *lol* :p