(2008/06) June 2008

Eve,
Char has finished her penumoccal jabs, i also heard that can use medisave to pay for it lor..These jabs are so ex leh... =)..

Roxy,
Tks ger, ya lor, dats wat we doing lor, giving her yogurt now lor...to replenish her calcium intake lor...hiaz..so worrying..I tink gana the virus frm cc lor...haiz..

How are u coping? ;)

Roxy,
Ive called polyclinic and they mentioned pneumococcal jab not available there. so silly rite...can pay thru medisave but not available?!

so exp the jab. ive been delaying the jab till hes 2yo then just go for 1 will do.

Feifei,
let her rest more then. haiz. u also take care.
my boy also dont want to call me yet. still calling me dada which is how he calls his daddy.

Eve,
polyclinic do not have pneumococcal jab,
they have prevenar23,
it's much cheaper, our elder 2 & brother's 3 kids took this instead.

hi eve.... e pneumoccocal jabs r called prevenar n costs abt 175 each at pd....my boy calls mama super clear now,whenever he wants me to play wif him or see tings related to me, eg ydae he saw high heel shoes in magazine, he kept pointg n say mama coz i wear high heel :p sometimes then he call papa... i guess speech therapy wks, before dat he totally cun speak, not even mama or papa, now he can say mama, papa, fan, clock, eyes,car, nai nai.... but he is still considered v slow...

feifei, dun worry im sure char will be fine... let her build up her immune system.. maybe u can cook mee sua for her nw? isaiah sick only want eat mee sua... v tiring look after 2.. duno how leng can cope wif 3!!

Lengleng, roxy,
oic so i can go to polyc ro ask for prevenar.
Thanks! Now then i know leh. =)

Roxy,
u brought your boy to speech therapy? umm..should i bring my boy there? he can say very few words. only dada, dog, papa,pooh, baba, eyes, car, yiyi...consider slow hoh.

Eve,
tks ger...i hope she recovers soon =)..

roxy,
tks ger...i will try lor.. =)..
Does e speech therapy helps?cos my ger also can't talk much wor...

Eve,
also ask about pneumo23,
can't rem what it's called...
Took it when our #2 is 2 yr old...

Next time bringing Cornelius to job too.

Lengleng,
wow. all of your kids in cc now rite? at least easier hoh. but really alot of time and $ spend on them. cant imagine. hehe

Eve,
I spoke to a daddy of 5 kids 2 weeks ago,
I asked him, how do they cope, 1 breadwinner, 5 kids,
this is what he told me...

<font color="0000ff">We live day by day with love &amp; whatever little we have,
we go to restaurant only once a blue moon,
we don't have the luxury to travel yearly,
but we're very contented &amp; happy,
don't worry, God will provide.</font>

I'm not a christian, but I'm touched.

Connie,
It's called Reutefene, but now the name changed to Bio Gaia. 1 day 5 drops to be taken in e morning. Are u seeing any doc frm SBCC, u can ask e PD for it. Nt sure if Guardian sells it.

Ellysia,
Happy 2nd birthday to YuZhe! May he hav a blessed birthday and grow up to be a strong n honorable man.

Feifei,
How is Char now? Babies after 1 can drink fresh milk, but it must be FULL CREAM, nt low fat. Think its natural for their appetite to drop when they're ill.

Lengleng,
That's really touching. But I really believe tt God will provide.

Check wif u, ur nick in FB is Tan LengLeng also issit? Can I add u to my list?

leng, very touching!! yes, its true, God will provide... i tink they must be a very happy contented family

kelcqi n connie, i let no2 take biogaia before.. costs abt 39 from pd... when she took her appetitie increase alot... i did some research on it over internet, by right its meant to be good bacteria, but u never know, so i kia see and stop it after she finished 1 bottle...

eve n feifei, tink no need ah? at least ur kids can talk.... isaiah is totally cannot talk at all then we bring him, speech therapy dun really teach much also.. they only teach u strategies to make ur child speak which parents n caregivers must practise so its more tiring for us....

feifei u can also feed char manuka honey to build up her immune system and maybe give her +5 when they have fever

lengleng,
I always think that supplement cannot be taken very constantly for years else our body will slow/stop creating the immune system to fight the disease since we kept taking the supplements.

Some people took organic powder which have good effect on their body but after a few years, when they stop, it will affect their body system too.

My BIL took supplements for years end up now having cancer. Not sure is it due to supplements. He is non smokers, always go gym n take supplements constantly and quite young.

For me, supplement is only temporary and no intention to intake for years.

Kids will need more vit if their fruits intake is not that much. I will start giving my boy vit C after he turn 2 since he always play with fruits and feed my dogs.

Roxy
My boy also v slow in speech. He don repeat what I said. now he can say 1 to 5, a bit of aphabate, xiao su, jie jie, mama, mummy, daddy, papa, ah ma etc but not accurate. kuku become gugu, kaka become gaga.

tinklebelle,
thanks. I think my gal took it when she is 2 months old. every morning 5 drops.

Me and My boy recovered but my maid kanna. yesterday took another half day back to take care while my maid rest.

My gal have loose stool but not sure is it due to BM, teething or virus. keeping my finger cross, hope is just BM n teething.

roxy,
do you let your maid stay at home alone with your gal in the day time? My MIL gg tour next week and my leave not approved, can only take half day morning. thinking of letting her stay at home with my ger, not sure ok or not,.

So far, only done that a 2-3 hrs only. If she go SIL place, I will be v tired walking up n down since I need to fetch my boy back from CC.

Connie,
there's lots of articles on popping pills or eating fresh,
it's another chicken &amp; egg issue,
no one has a definite reply.

Many reasons cause cancer,
my own dad is a cancer survivor, twice some more.

When I when National Cancer Center with him,
(as usual, KPO me will talk to people lah)
most patients there are struck when they least expect the tumor.

Doctor says genes, air, food, water, habits, lack of sleep, stress lifestyle, etc, etc, etc...
How to explain?

Just my 2 cents.

Lengleng,
Thanks for the sharing of the story...so touching. sometimes in life we get too worried for the slightest things.

I agree taking too much organic food will cause the body system to get used to it. just like what old folks always say... "eat dirty grow up faster" hee

Just to share..i came across a clinic. the doc is specialize in "treating" autistic kids..
i just realised one of his way of "treating" is by improving their immune system by vitamins supplements etc. =) since there is no exact cause of autism. sigh...i see how the parents helping with their kids at all cost really makes me feel parents are the most weida people in this world. =) some even travel from neighbouring countries to cure their kids.

Eve,
well... ... ...
talk about organic food,
there's this lady who's down with liver cancer,
she's a home maker, seldom eat out,
cook, eat, drink all organic,
she exercise regularly, don't smoke, don't drink alcohol...
When I talk to her, she's all yellow already,
after few weeks, I don't see her anymore,
I guess, she's gone to somewhere painless already...

I ask my dad's doctor why, he tells me lots of blah blah blah, still never answer my question...

Yest brought Yu Zhe to zoo to celebrate his bday. Halfway while playing in the water park, rain start pouring so we have to go back. But got carry umbrella so just need to walk slower &amp; he can't run around. Now he know how to see the animal exhibits and he will remember his favourite otters, but yest unable to see otters bec' they r preforming, then on the way back they hide in their nest cos of rain. Overall he enjoyed, he like the running and greenery.

Speech - my boy will sometimes repeat after us.. like parrot. Got 1 time we say he is like parrot, then he said 'parrot'.. we nearly laugh until collapse. Recently he blurt out short phrases like "I want water" but still not clear, trying to teach him.

I believe speech is related to the ability to munch chunky food cos apparently it help to exercise the mouth muscles. Also, the story telling at home helps a lot too.

<font color="aa00aa">HI Ladies, i'm back. Clearing ton of emails yest, so din came in here.

My YuJie still dont talk much oso, but i realised she is choosy in what words to talk. She'll only talk if she likes to, or else she'll ignore us.

Btw, i'm thinking to send YuJie to 2 hrs playgroup next year and i'm asking her if she wanna to follow her sis to school, but she reply me 'NO'. Everytime we asked she will say No. Then we try to tempted her with new bag, new shoes, snacks, she still dont want to go. Not sure what will happen when i send her there. *headache*</font>

Ellysia,
Agreed with you. My frien gal have to see speech therapy and she suspect due to jaws. Last time she has a mind set, if bb don eat, nevermind, give milk. End up her gal jaws not strong.

My boy also don like to eat lor n v choosy on food.

Lengleng,
Cancer can come all the sudden. Everyone was surprise as he is the healtiest compared to the rest. Yet one brain tumor, now collapse. His is the final stage, after all the operation and pain, another one detected at the other side. Life is so unpredictable.

CC vs playgroup
Still flickerminded. My friend advise me to stay cc for another 3 months to see how it goes. If still fall sick so easily then stop. He send his gal to 3 diff cc and he conclude that all cc virus are diff. min 6 months for each to get immuned.

Roxy
There is modern mottisorri at JW swimming pool. Notsure good or not. No HFMD there but got 9cases of chicken box detected.

Connie

I read in baby magazine earlier on tat speech is related to eating and munching. But before tat, i have been training my boy to eat 'tough'/chunky food etc since he has teeth. Maybe also good he develop his teeth v early. Sometimes he can't manage the food and he will spit it out or try to swallow it (end up whole piece in the poo poo).

Now he can eat small pieces of meat provided it is cook soft enuff. On weekends dinner we go out and let him eat outside food.

A good way to start is to progressively increase the texture/size of the food, can start on his favourite food. Or u can give baby bites/gerber puffs. Pasta is oso good bec' it is soft and yet train them to munch.

Doctor told me milk only give calcium but other nutrients v little. So if give a lot of milk but v little solid food, is not good lor.

do u know where to buy crayons that can be used for face painting? those that can be wash off easily =)

Cayola - tink tat is the brand tat has washable type.

Several kiddies stores n departmental stores all got sell.

connie, leng n eve... i also dun believe in taking supplements for myself, my hubby since young always take exp supplements, chinese herbs since young etc... me nothing as family nt rich.. end up now he fall sick much easier as compared to me.... my maid best, she dun fall sick despite hard labour... look at those poor country pple like indonesians, they dun take supplements, yet they r super healthy n seldom hear abt cancer happening to them... prob supplements n organic is no good?

That aside im still letting isaiah take colostrum powder, cod liver oil n sometimes manuka honey....he fall sick v easily...

connie, i went to e montessori at jw before... super exp 1k plus after subsidy n im nt impressed by them, students running here n there while teacher using hp n waiting list 100 plus.... siao ah singaporeans
i nvr leave my children alone wif maid at hm b4 except few hrs only...also duno can trust or nt

roxy,
my kids &amp; hubby gets ill less after taking supplement,
can see from the less MCs &amp; less staying at home with me lor...

Myself I don't take on regular bases, cause I seldom get sick... :p
I'll take 1000mg of Vit C daily if I'm unwell.

roxy,
couldn't help to post and agree about the poor country ppl being stronger in health. when my boy had stomach flu, both hubby and i were infected but my maid was still going strong. also when hubby and i gets the flu, she doesn't get it at all. :p

i tried giving lucas the liquid multi-vits and he didn't like. so now going to try the tablets form. i tried the gummy bears but found them too sweet. my boy falls sick very easily too. and i think its cos of his cc cos there's a girl in his class who is always sick. i just flipped through the medicine book today and saw that she is constantly on medication. and it seems that her mother will not bring her home unless she's very sick. but that's so unfair to other kids! Grrr!

leng,

Onz. U order for me 1 bottle and let me know total to tsf.

By the way, Hero Nutritional Products, Yummi Bears Multi-Vitamin &amp; Mineral, Natural Fruit Flavor, 200 Gummy Bears
is meant for how old?

Tera,
How come got medicine book? Most parents will let children go cc for minor case. running nose and slight cough etc all can go. The teacher told me unless cough till vomit etc then cannot go.

My brother son constantly having running nose eversince attend CC. till now, I still see the running nose after so many months.

Roxy,Tera
My maid v unlucky. When my son have stomach virus she also kanna. So far, my son have it twice eversince attend cc and spread to me,my ger n maid. Only my MIL does not get the virus.

Leng,
Thinking of letting hb take when he has stomach upset. If no problem, then don take the supplement.

Roxy,
there are a few cc opp the swimming complex in the semi-detach places. Have u go there to take a look?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="02bddf">hello mummies... time flies.. all the boys and gers here are 2 or turning 2 liao...</font></font>

connie, i called treehouse kindercare at westwood... they use montesori style, or so she claims and when i spoke to her, she seems very confident and able to speak well ... so far there's 7 pple in their PG1 class, i might go down take a look there and best of all, there's no HFMD at all over there... its 2 storey bungalow fully aircon... but its $600 after subsidy, more exp... now im still contemplating whether to let isaiah try it or let him stick to PG... my sis frd had gone to the treehouse cc and she said her child learnt alot there....

leng, yeah loh! my maid very strong.. my whole family sick only she dun gena.. maybe its the hard labour? i dun take supplements also.. only when preggy, duno shld start taking or not.. prob glucosamine when i stop bf... that is very impt , i see my mum knees now so painful when she walks

Roxy,
My SIL last time ask me to put there cos near her place but then MIL shift in so less going to her place. End up never go there to see. Only passby. But $600 rather expensive leh.Thought u planning to put ur boy at pg near your parent place next year?

Now I still feeling the CH charging me $400 after subsidy consider expensive. If I switch to pg, I can enrol him into sat enrichment class. If not, will stop all enrichment class first.

My boy start fighting in cc already. Furthermore, he fight with a gal smaller size. Now they have more gals than boy. If I switch to pg, interaction time is lesser, maybe will reduce voilent. hahah

Yest went to do eye checkup at specialist and found that got cataract at one of the eye..

Feel like i have aged faster. sigh.