(2008/06) June 2008

ellysia
wow, u so hardworkin ah? i also bought lots of flashcards... but all r v new... cos i lazi to show her. initially got show.. but she nv able to sit throughout while i finishin showin one stack... need to grab her... so in the end, i also lazi to chase her liao.. hahah

Eve,
Yup, mine is a princess and she born in May too =)...Of cos u can join us for kopi..hee =)..
Err, i feel hor, no need to go for speech therapy yet lor...Each child develop differently de..i rem someone told me,

Ya lor, she say in hokkien, faintz... Need a cane cos partly to scare hot cos at times, she really a terror at home. I feel hv to discipline lor, if not hor, this ger really climb up our heads...When her grandparents at home, how I scold her also no use, she clings onto her Ah ma lor..make me so mad..haiz..

Ur mil dun wan to take care liao? y? health reason? My ger will be starting her CC in march next year...Where do u stay?

eve,
i still lookin for a cc... but need to find one that is convenient for my mil to pick up... so choices limited...

poky,
u also uses cane ah?! umm..peer pressure..maybe i should get a cane to scare my boy. =P
your gal so lucky. so many people around to love her. nowadays kids are so fortunate hoh. all baobei.hee

ok i will wait for my boy to call me then i will proudly tell you k. =P

u also looking for a cc, where do u stay?

feifei,
my mil says shes too tired to takecare loh. but actually ive got a maid to help out at home.
or maybe she wants more freedom loh. cannot blame her lah. anyway happy that she look after for the very 1st year or best till 2. so now looking for a cc near my place loh. im staying at Eunos.

feifei,
but hor, u sure u want to get?? i dun want to buy cane, cos i was beaten with belt n cane since young. n was bcome more rebellious with the beating. furthermore, i hot tempered, i scare i regret my actions later.. so better to not have the "temptation" at home....

wow,, ur daughter know where to hide when in trouble.. can understand ur feeling.. when we discipline xuan infront of inlaws, my inlaws will scold us why let her cry. they will even try to carry her off to sayang.. but we will strictly forbidden them to sayang her. will juz let her cry n let her know that cryin dosent help n no body will sayang her if she naughty.....

poky

It started when my boy had probs sleeping when he came back from KKH due to a severe diarroea and vomitting, around 2 months back. It disrupt his sleep cycle and i sought help from a book which suggest to read bedtime stories and create a sleep routine. Initially my boy cannot sit still for reading time but we switch off the TV and sit on the sofa with my hb and myself at his side and the book on his legs, and happen he like the book also. We point the pix and say the word, gradually he learn to point them and ask us to read the word, and then progress to he point himself and read the word. when outside we bring him to supermarket and read the fruits words when showing the fruits, things we do and repeat the words to him.. when he say correctly show encouragement. Maybe bec both me and my hb like to read so he copy from us.

eve,
no la. hubby juz show her the cane at the shop, but we nv buy... so my gal always ignore hubby when he "threaten" her lor.... she daddy's little girl, he where will cane her??

ur boi also the first?? then b doted by all also lor? keke.. i thinkin once my sis n bro also get a child, then my gal banished to the cold palace liao... hahah

sure!!! mayb nxt wk, u will b annoucing that u hear ur boi callin u le!!!

i at bedok. eunos? near the seng siong at reservoir mah??

yep.. takin care of kid v tiring.. my mil take care of my gal with fil, n my two sil (take turns when they home)... so technically, it 4 persons taking care of my gal (not countin the aunt on the upper flr still).. furthermore, our kid reach the exploring stage liao... even more chasin... ur mil gettin scared liao?? how old is she??

Re: cane

I feel that this is still a young age to use cane. But can use other discipline methods. Anyway my boy is quite rebellious and naughty, he will scream back if we scold him and throw tantrum by sitting on the floor and refuse to move, even outside if we dun let him walk around freely or touch certain things, he will throw tantrum one.

Sometimes i will ignore him while he throw tantrum so as not to encourage the bad behavior. Other times if i cannot tahan i will beat him if he is out of control. Usually i will start to tok to him first then see if he will follow instruction, if not then progress to serious tone warning then will pull him off or distract with other things.

Eve,
i see...TInk if like that, u hv to start looking for cc liao..cos hor, u might need to visit afew before u can settle down with one that is up to your expectations de...Some popular ones hv long waiting list..

Poky,
yes lor, even though I also grown up under cane, but instead of belt, I gana from hangers, I still feel that have to use cane to discipline for the one and only time. When they know pain liao, then they dun do it leh...But hor, of cos cannot anyhow pain lor, wait they tot its the correct thing to beat others etc lor...Just wan to get e cane to scare her, only when things really gets out of hand, then i use it lor..

My Ils and ur ILs can high-five le..my mil also leh..then got one time i so angry, clsoe the bedroom door and scold charlotte ...my hb supported me lor...

ellysia
hearing positive results from ur bedtime reading,, i also tempted... but hor, how to get him drowsy to slp after the reading??

so far, my gal take an hr to slp (unless she tired, then b faster). we need to sit by her bed, command her to lay down, then she be blabberin to herself till she sian liao, then fall aslp, if read to her... while it make her even more unwillingly to slp??

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Ladies,

Long time time din come in here liao. Was rather busy with new job. But still manageable, on the dot off. hehe....

feifei,
yup, each child develop differently. Dont worry. Till now my YuJie oso still refused to speak more. Everyday keep 'mum mum' only. Still in her one word stage.
Me oredy started using cane on her as she had been more and more naughty. Keep snatching her sister's thing and refused to let go. Sometimes even grab her sis's hair and laughing somemore. But when i cane her hand, she still can laugh at me. Really *faint*!

Felicia,
hihi..was tinking abt u just now when we talking abt the zoo..hehe...

Ahyo, she not scare of cane?can laugh some more?omg...Nowadays, kids really diff to teach leh..

<font color="aa00aa">feifei,
Zoo? u mean the rainforest?
Think of it i feel heartpain leh. Coz the last round, i forgot to bring back my new california shower gel back! I left it in the shower room. I only used few drops nia.
But,for sure rainforest is a fun place. Sure next round if got chance, will go again. Maybe next yr, gonna ask hubby to get a zoo membership card.hehe....

She's a bit diff from her sis. I remember when my #1 at this age, she'll be scare when we take the cane out. But YuJie will still laugh when i cane her. Normally i'll cane her then explain to her why i cane her. Though she might not understand, but i think i shld 'cultivate' this when they r still young. But of course the cane was not purposely brought to cane her, just that it was from my #1 times. haha... </font>

ellysia,
xuan also throw tantrum when we dun allow her touch or walk freely at times... we either let distract her with other things, or carry her to a quieter place n let her cry til she done....

feifei
hmm.. from my cannin, i made a resolution at young that i will not beat my child to bruise n blood like wat i hv to go thru from before kindergarten til secondary. i scare that with my temper, i may go against that resolution, thus i wont keep the cane at home... hopefully, i wont use other stuffs to substitute. else, i leave it to hubby to discipline. i told him b4,, since xuan scare of him then me.. so he b disciplinary master in the house..

but different situation as urs. cos ur gal gets the opportunity to run to ah ma for cover.... n u cant possibly go snatch ur gal away from ur mil when ur mil want to sayang her.... sigh...

but good lor.. at least ur hubby is supportive to u!! u live with ur inlaws?? ur hubby got discuss with her b4 on disciplinary issue??

poky,
same as your girl loh. my boy also the 1st. spoilt by all. somemore he is not scared of my hubby and myself. haiz. next time we get bully by him. how?

Me staying near Eunos Mrt. You at Sheng siong there huh? i visited cc montessori @ bedok reservoir 700plus there. i quite like it but abit far. so kiv loh

my mil 60 plus loh. think she wants freedom loh. not all grandparents want to tkc of grandc.
very tiring and stressful bah.some even prefer to work. hee
u the fortunate one loh! hee

feifei,
im searching around for cc already. still cant find the "perfect" one. either tooo exp or too far or too this and that. maybe im too choosy.

hi Ellysia,
think i have to learn from your teaching style.
My boy a terror too.
Both me and hubby too soft towards our boy.
Somemore boy, have to be more firm right?
My friend was telling me to be firm, next time go NS how?! cannot pamper him!
But then im not the fierce kind leh. How?

<font color="aa00aa">poky,

Talk about the caning method, i remember when i was young my mother caning method is, kneel on the washing board (but now i think very hard to find tat washing board) till the jossticks finish burning. And we have to kneel in front of the statue.
But i dont think this will works for my gers.
Yup, sometimes it'll be very hard to control our temper when things get out of hands. Me oso a hot temper person, so i remind my hubby must come in when a situation is too heat up. But so far i still manage to keep my cool, coz i'll just walk away in order to avoid further 'damage'!</font>

felicia,
the toilet has warm water for kids to bath?Hehe, i tink slowly she will know wats a cane le....yal or, agreed with u that need to cultivate this "weapon" from young de... hee

Poky,
nope, my mil stays with us cos we are studying now so need to go for class twice a week lor so she came over to my hse to stay until we hv holidays, then she goes bk on the wkends like now lor...yes, we did discuss the discipline issue with my MIL but then can't blame her cos she sees her baobei get scolding or she lao gei..hiaz...Well, sometimes, no choice lor, got to close both eyes, then after that I brign char to the room and told her wat fault she has made...Duno whether it works anot but I tink its good to try this out..hee

All,
Anyone knows any docs or chinese doc that is good in curing backaches? Cos hor, my FIL has this quite bad backache for mths liao...so much so that i realise now he is like becoming hunchback lor..Ask him go see doc, he dun wan, stubbon..But i tink he is afraid lor..hiaz...

There's no warm water for bathing. I did a very quick bath for my gers coz afraid they catch cold. This is also the reason i forgot to take the shower gel! Next door have a baby room for changing diaper and oso hv hot water for milk making.</font>

eve,
wow... ur mil 60 liao, stil can take care, i think is good le.. my mom 63. she need to take "power naps"... so i will worry if she take care of my gal... who will fall aslp first??? hahaha

one thing i still believe is that one parent need to b the disciplinary master.. if both kena bully,. jiatlat liao.... the kid will run the family le..... ur hubby also cant bring himself to discipline ur boi??

i live near to that area. mine is further up the reservoir. =) so far, i only saw the one at my estate.. but i dun like it... stil hv to recee the rest... kekek... been procastinatin... mayb nxt yr, will feel the pressure to find one faster ba... mayb cos my inlaws able to take care of my gal,, so i dun feel the pressure... kekeke but jux want to enrol her to let her hv "social life outside"...

Felicia,
hmmm. i scared leh... got one time when my gal only a few mths old. i got so hot tempered that i hit her hand hard tat it leave a red markin. was so guilty afterwards that it took some time to get over the guilt... so i got phobia of my own temper.... sigh...

hey, ur parents disciplinary methods the first time i hear of leh.. normally it beatin (juz different items)... urs is "innovative" leh!! =p

but true lor.. wat work for us last time, dosent mean it work for our kiddos... think the kids now even more terrier!!! OMG

feifei,
ya lor... cos we can understand our parent/ inlaws for their dotin on the grandchild, thus it made it harder for us to carry out the "discipline" with them ard...

wow.. u both studyin while workin, then with a kid.. even more tirin wor... peifu peifu....

my fren gave a add for a chinese sinseh, but she seein him for buildin up her body.. duno can or not wor...

think elders got phobia.. as the sayin... "the moer u c doctor, the more illness u discover" mah... .

the babyroom in the kidz rainforest is aircon somemore!!! got two curtain cubicles for breastfeedin... v baby friendly!!! =) but juz only that sometimes kids will barge in n b rowdy.... then sian liao...

feifei

My mum also recently become hunchback, and she also refuse to go see doc.

There are a few clinics which treat backache, i saw one at Novena Square, United square (ground flr), Paragon medical centre (a few). My MIL went to the one at Paragon, i dunno the name but u can check, there are only a few clinic there. Each treatment is around $100, she went to treat her knee.

poky

reading to them can make them sleepy.

its the ritual tat u create, u do it everyday step by step. then as u do the same everyday, by the time u do the step before going to bed, they ored 'program' to sleep by then liao.

Eve

If u dun like to cane or beat him, then can learn from 'positive discipline' approach. Just google positive discipline.

U dun have to be fierce but u have to be firm, and lay down rules (and dun let go!) so he will learn to obey the rules. Of course can subject to exceptions under unexpected circumstances.

Morning ladies..

Ellysia,
Tks for the infor...I kept nagging at my FIl to ask him go see doc, but he too stubbon lor...haiz..

Poky,
Haiz, its bery tiring and at times, esp during the exams, always quarel with hb cos we too stressed up le...Its not easy to stduy part time now but no choice, hv to upgrade, if not, can't get good pay and provide better for charlotte next time. Now things are expensive, wait til our kids grown up, their time will be worst lor...

Felicia,
tks for the infor...sounds not bad wor =)...TInk i will prepare some sandwhich and tibits for my ger lor..

ellysia
last nite, i tried readin to my gal... but she more interested in keep pointin at the flower n animals.... now then i realise i dun hv much choice for reading... either juz picture books or too much words liao... need to find some more le!! =p

feifei
true lor... the livin stds now so high..... hope for 3 kids, but hubby dun want cos too ex liao.... =(

<font color="aa00aa">Morning ladies!
Me in holiday moods liao! hehe.....

poky,
there's time i keep blowing at the jossticks so it burnt faster, but was caught by my mom, then kena kneel for another whole new joss stick!

Ellysia,
I believe in 'positive discipline' when all the family members is 'co-operative'. But if one of the family members is siding the kid, then it'll make the situation worst.

Last time i used to heard from my ex-collegue on how she tame her 3 boys, and i was so impressed. She'll make the boy eat chilli sauce (her boys cannot stand even a slight chilli)if they telling lies. If they misbehaved, she'll punish them standing at a corner.
But when is my time on discipline, i find it so hard when my ger will actually seek 'help' from my MIL or even her daddy. My #1 got worst when we back to msia coz got another 'backup', tats my FIL.
They know the grandparent will give in when they cry, so crying is their powerful weapon.

Btw, not sure if i mentioned here before, tats once i feel so guilty coz i shouted at my MIL as i was too too angry over the 'interruption' from my MIL when i'm punishing my ger. But tats oso when my MIL stop intercede when i'm punishing my ger. Sometimes she even use my 'name' to threaten my #1 when she's not co-operative.</font>

poky,
I tink hor, u might wan to get board books with those very few words type...hmm, like e lady bird's peter and Jane series wor..I once saw BP got sell leh...but I hv not bot it yet..

U like kids?

Felicia,
actually, i feel that wat u did will allow ur mil to know that u wan to discipline ur ger well so she shd stop interferring...hee, ILs shd stay away when we discipline our kids lor..but i know they bu ren xin one lor..Kept saying they so young, won't know etc...haiz..

Any ladies tinking to go watch Avatar movie?

I strongly recommend this movie cos its really WORTH to go..Bery nice show, i watched with my hb yest lor..The graphics and storyline is good...

I brought tat peter and jane series for my #1. She loves it. But YuJie dont seems to be interested at all. She'll only stop when she heard i said 'ball'. Her favourite word is ball, everytime she saw anything that is round, she'll said 'ball'. haha....</font>

Felicia
yea... juz one of the family members siding the kid, hard to enforce the positive discipline. SO the first thing to do is to "educate" the family members..... but hard to materialise.... sigh

feifei,
ya lor... need to make a trip to bras basar to look for new books liao.. hmmm...

i love kids. i dun mind havin more if can afford it financially. but too bad la.. livin std too high le...

i believe that childrens need to have enuf sibling to have companionship... so that wont b lonely.. if two... when one start school, socialising.. the other one will be lonely le... especially when one is boy n one is gal...

we book the tickets to watch avatar 3d tmr!!! first time watchin 3d... wonder wat the difference....

felicia,
My boi favourite word also 'ball' and that is his first word...not mummy or daddy, but BALL! Your ger and my boi can play ball together =)

re: books
did you all go to the bookfest recently? plenty of books...i bought SGD100 worth of books for my boi.... but i think its over liao last sunday.

re:Avatar,
u know, i heard from many many pple that this movie is very nice already...wah! i really should go watch...but very hard to find time leh...if really go, still must 'beg' pple to take care of my baby for me...dun really like lor...
3D is it must wear those kind of specs like device one har? i very suaku.....

Buttercup,
Was there a bookfest? Didnt know abt it...

me also first time watchin the 3D version. shld b wearin the specs ba.....

My colleague this morn also tell me it nice.

ur inlaws or parents can take care of randell? when u work, who take care of him??

duno y.. the ibankin page like hang liao.. i ck again later. thx.

Poky,
Yest we wanted to watch 3D one also but fully booked, so watch e nromal one..bery nice =)....worth the price..hehe..

Felicia,
tink ur yujie likes ball ball lor =)..So u got buy e ballhouse for her?

Buttercup,
hehe, its really bery bery nice lor..

poky,
I trf to you by this wkend hor ...Tks ya =)...so looking forward..hee

poky,
my mum takes care of him when i work...so during weekend, its like her off day mah...den if i wanna go watch movie, i have to like 'beg' her do OT lor....

Tis morn told my MIL tat me and hb going to watch movies tmr cos half day, then she say she got plan and ored book dinner cos its my hb's sis bday.. me and hb forget liao cos we ored celebrate her bday last weekend so forget tat tmr is the actual day.. aiyah end up gotta change our plans tmr.

Buttercup,

me is oso like u lor.. i can't get my MIL to take care on weekend bec its her off day.. so if we need off we have to take leave one. at least yr mum is willing to do OT.

<font color="aa00aa">
Finally i finished my filing. Year end liao, must quick quick clear all the paper works.

buttercup,
Then we shld find one day to meet up and let them play 'BALL'. haha....

feifei,
i got the thomas the train house with tunnel for my gers, but till now hvnt buy the ball yet. Sometimes YuJie likes to hide inside the house. There's few times my MIL complain to me that she was looking high and low for YuJie. Only after few calling of her name, only then she crawl out from the house. She's playing hide and seek w my MIL. haha...

Btw, now she likes to play lego set, at least this can let her play a bit longer than oth toys.</font>

poky

My boy is oso not interested when we read those 'story' type of books. He is interested in picture books with lots of pixs of things tat he see everyday.

U can find books tat show these, i tink yr kid will be more interested. u dun need to lead him by flipping the pages and saying. wat u can do is when he point to the pixs, u say the word or explain in simple sentence. then he will be more interested. let him flip the book and show u which part he is interested then u elaborate more. also, when he is not in the mood to read u can stop ored. the key is not to force but to guide and encourage.

Felicia

My MIl also wont' listen to us when we say must discipline, But if i say is my hb said and he confirm on the spot, my MIL is more willing to listen.

At least we stay separate from mil, so at our own house we can enforce the discipline we prefer.

Tis morn my boy want to touch the fridge ice cos my MIL always let him play with ice water. But cos its early in the morn, MIL tink not appropriate to play in case he catch cold. so we told him cannot. He cry like anyting then sit on the floor throw tantrum. My hb said let him be, then later distract him with other things. My MIL just let my hb do wat he want lor.

sometimes to make mil listen, u have to get hb to co-operate first.

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies,

I'm looking for lunch buffet and remember lot of ladies here recommended water rise.
Can i know wat food is recommended? What is their price range, coz i coulnt find much details on their website.

Ellysia,
In aspect of discipline, i think my MIL will be more strict than my hubby. Just that my MIL dont like or rather think is not good for kids to cry. One thing is they feel heartpain when see them cry.
In fact my gers is more naughty when hubby is around. Coz my hubby dont beat them, will just raise a bit of his voice only. Then after few attempt, he'll give up. So i'm the black face in the house. He does agreed with me on the way i'm disciplining my kids, so he nvr interfere when i'm disciplining them, just that he's not so strict to the kids. And the most important factor is my gers know how to make my hubby's heart melt. U shld know what i mean.</font>

Sorrie for not turning up on Sun for the trial. I down with chicken pox. Doc gave me 1 week MC, asked me to go back for follow-up one week later. Then got fever for the 1st 2 days. Blur, blur, so no energy to come here and inform. Only managed to sms feifei.

These few days, baby with me. So busy looking after her. Haiz. Got to go..

Felicia,
yes, waterrise is good wor..U can call them, look for JOhn...he nice de..Their curry chicken is nice, tink the fish finger or something also nice wor...actually i forgot liao cos that time ordered for our xmas party and charlotte's 1st birthday =)...

ZuEn,
no prob lor..how u feeling?

Buttercup,
wat abt ur inlaws? can she look after randell for half the day?

we either take leave if it a wkday (then mil take care of my gal), or in wkend, will pass to my parents place for a few hrs. Chop chop finish the show, then come back to collect kiddo liao.

feifei,
no prb. no hurry. juz update me when transfered. =)

ellysia
in the end, jux now didnt go bras basar to grab books... but i plannin to go library later to borrow some variety... then c which ones she more interested. then i go buy those type... or if eveything she get bored in a while.. then i juz continue to borrow from library liao.. till she older to appreciate her other current story books??

i actually tot that reading bedtime storybks is reading the words n story leh!! so it more of a interactive reading n pointing of the pic ah!! haha.. oki.. will take ur advice n try again tonight... hopefully will have better results... kekek

felicia,
so cute ur gal.. know how to play hide n seek liao!! my gal stil in the peek a boo stage.. aahha

ZuEn,
how r u le?? got anyone to help u in taking care of ur baby? take care. =)

Re: Xmas present
need to buy mah?? hahah tot daily life always buyin stuffs for them liao?? or mayb i shld get one juz for xmas season?? keke

Re: Toilet training.
can i ask if any babies trained liao?? can share how to start??

poky,
hehe, duno leh...so far since last yr we got buy lor...but this yr duno buy wat...wait buy liao white elephant..hee..

My ger not yet toilet train. She doesn't like to sit in potty lor..hiaz...I also abit clueless how to start when she kept on standing up even we force her to sit on the potty..mayb I shd try getting those kids toilet seat, then they can't stand or get up since its higher...hmm....

poky

Sometimes i bring my boy to book store to see wat type he like.

anyway u can take a look at this usborne series. Its available at MPH.

Felicia

hb tend to dote more on gals i tink.

Gals sometimes can also 'sa jiao' lor.

My boy v active n naughty, if dun discipline sure jiat lat.

<font color="aa00aa">hi gers,
Want to let go 2 bottles of my overstock Childlife colostrum at $45 each. Bought too many bottles &amp; Gwen cant finish them. Would be quite a waste to throw them out. Exp date in Year 2011. GNC retails at $78+. Let me know if u gers or know of anyone who is/are keen. thanks!</font>

crystal~07,
$45 EACH!!!
I have lorbang to purchase each bottle at less than SG$30

Keep in the fridge, sure to finish by 2011.