(2008/06) June 2008

Bonjovi,
Eehhh I felt if don use walker better. My #1 seldom use walker as i didnt buy. I will use my hand to hold her keep walking and by 12mths she can walk 3steps.

But for my #2 now, she been siting walker and this few weeks I have been spending less time cos too tied up with new house & #2 SO was at MIL house at least 2-3times a week and MIl always put her in walker and I realise is for a very long long time.... I don like the idea. Sometime really rather I just act blurr and don buy walker put there

But nevertheless, I think when they are ready to walk they will bah.

Today very quiet here oh....

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">feifei.. hotel equatorial.. okie noted.. quite like malacca.. a lots of nonya's stuff there...

cynthia.. ya.. so quiet..

any mummies bought mask.. etc? i jux feel AH1N1 not as scary as SARS leh.. maybe because it hasnt hit singapore and malaysia...</font></font>

<font color="blue">ioio,
even if it's not as scary as SARS ah..u'll be surprised a lot of places no more masks liao leh..dat's wat i heard from radio.. </font>

Masks are out of stock everywhere.. One of my girlfriend supplies mask to companies.. It's a world wide shortage now and the China suppliers are all concentrating doing masks..

Just talked to her over the wkend.. no stock for all raw mat'l too and prices have gone up 3x for just raw mat'l alone. So, the finished gds will be much much more ex.. and even if you've $$, you might not be able to have any as there's no confirmation on when suppliers can supply..

My GP mentioned that the flu virus had YET to touch base in SIN.. and this virus is more powerful than SARS as it starts to spread before any symptons are detected..

NOT to scare you all.. but to be more health-conscious.. so better be safe than sorry.. try avoiding crowded places if possible..

My company is already having trials of getting people to work from home..

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">bizznow and warrior... wow.. tt's scary.. i think i still hv a few 2 ply masks leftover from 2003 and some thermometer sleeve.. now using ear thermometer so dunno wat to do with them..
</font></font>

fennie... good to hear he's better now, ydae my sis fed isaiah a slice of kiwi also, luckily nothing happened to him... me abt 9 wks now, hopefully everything is fine cause next visit is at 12 wks for oscar, having bad MS... almost forgotten how terrible it is... :p edd is early dec

hi kris
Quite exp hor.. its for the same reason i din book them though its available this sat.. find it not worth $ for 1 small room.. did u try chevrons chalet at jurong east?

hi warrior.. wow, really sounds scary... we still have some cheap guardian masks available, tink must start to use them

Hi Roxy,
I did consider that, But I and all my relatives stay in the East so it might be quite inconvience for us.

Hi Warrior,
Sounds scary. Lucky my SIL is nurse, so i got her to get some mask back for me. Cause i always use mask to bath my dog, so mask is something i always hv a hm.

bizznow,
ya lor, lots of masks oos liao le..

ioio,
yup, jonker street is a nice plc to go for chicken rice, laksa, chendol etc but its bery hot in e day..really hot..

warrior,
ya lor...hope it won't come to singapore..

hi Fennie,

my wife wants me to inform you that she read from a book that for babies below 1 yr, kiwis are not recommended as they belong to the high allergy category...

sorry mummies if I make it sound scary.. again, not trying to scare all or cause any panic attack.. just word of precaution.. sorry for that..

i have a box of cheap guardian mask. but i heard its no use. only those special mask got use.

I find hard to avoid crowded areas.. when we take train to work everyday is like sandwich packed leh. can only avoid to go out during weekends lor.

ioio,

I heard tat its more dangerous than SARS.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. i heard AH1N1 can be treated by tamiflu but not SARS... think precaution is still better than cure.. do wash hands regularly and avoid crowded places..</font></font>

<font color="blue">hi igoh, i received ur pm.. u mentioned dat u r unable to attend the bday bash due to a last min invitation to another bday party..i'll take note of that..

due to this..i will hv to recalculate the $$ to tsf to me again...for those of u who are confirmed going..i would appreciate that there are no more last min changes cos it's realy inconvenient for me to recalculate the charges again.. and to be fair to the rest, i think those who are gonna pull out after tdy, u will still hv to pay...thanks for ur understanding..

ioio

yah.. but not sure if the vaccine is ok.. cos yest news say a lot of people went for normal flu jabs and got a few oso order/bot the latest vaccine against this virus.

bizz, u going to calculate again? that means i hv to top up the diff to you huh? let me know how much hor... thanks ah!!!!

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">igoh/Ellysia,
Thank you both for telling me that kiwi is a high allergic fruit, i will not give it to him until he is 1 yr old</font></font>

Morning ladies...

My ger's teething again, been tossing ard, can't get to sleep at nite..Applied teething gel for her also not much of use...poor ger... Can't finish her milk also, I tink its due to her swollen gums.When I spoon feed her the remaining milk, she can finish it... Haiz..

Anyone bathed their bbs using shower head in the bathroom liao? how to prevent water frm going into their eyes and ears? Use a wet towel to cover their eyes?

Morning Ladies,

FeiFei, My boy is teething too. He kept grinding his teeth. Think is very uncomfortable for him. I did not apply anything for him.
I shower head in the bathroom but is only after i wash his head and removed the shampoo when he is laying on my lap. At times a little water will get to their face, then i quickly wipe away. He loves it when i use the shower head.

Kris,

I see..cos hor, now she doesn't like to be carried when washing hair, or rather, dun like to wash hair..hiaz..u mean you let ur boy sit on ur lap in the bathroom?

I got this little stool inside there i sit and have him lay slanted on my lap to shampoo his head and pour water to wash away the shampoo. He stragle at times, but i give his toy to hold on to divert his attention. Got to be fast cause he's very impatient too.

<font color="blue">morn all,
i forgot to include shern in the bday bash..must hv missed her posting..

shern, thousands apologies..

so now after replacing igoh wif shern, the amt to pay me is still the ame as b4..hehe..pls look at the list below for the amt to tsf to me..thks ah..

June Babies 1st Bday Bash
Suggested date: 16 May (Sat)
Time: 4.30 - 6.30pm
Venue : JWT @ Eastgate

1. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn &amp; HB) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
2. Reanne (Janiviy) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21) </font>
3. YuJie (Felicia, hubby, #1) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$64.42) </font>
4. Chloe (Christina) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21)</font>
5. Jayden (Carol) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21)</font>
6. Gwendolyn (Crystal &amp; HB) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16)</font> <font color="black">-PAID</font>
7. Jade (shycloud) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21)</font>
8. Athanasius (Mag, hubby &amp; mum) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$40.11) </font>
9. Travis (bleh &amp; hb) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font> <font color="black">-PAID</font>
10. Eunicia (Prisc &amp; maid) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
11. Zhiyu (Bizz &amp; hb) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
12. Lucas (Tera + HB) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
13. Floyce (Jessica + HB) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
14. Sheryl (Angel_z + HB) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
15. Tasha(mrswrx) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21) </font>
16. Rui Yue(adeline + hb) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
17. YueHan (starmambo) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21) </font>
18. Kyler (Bonjovi + HB) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
19. Lucius (shern + hb) – Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
20. Gwen (esther + hb) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16) </font>
21. Maia (xris) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$32.21) </font>
22. Lucas (kris + mum) - Confirm <font color="red">(Amt:$36.16)</font>

feifei,
Like Kris, I'll sit on a stool &amp; wash Floyce's face &amp; teeth &amp; hair.. then use the scoop to rinse off before putting her into the tub &amp; shampoo her little body..

I'll sing "Old MacDonald has a farm" &amp; give her the rubber ducky.. she'll put it in her mouth..

So far, she's ok..

Sometimes, I'll use the shower head, but find it troublesome.. cos u got to wait a while for the hot water to stablize &amp; the shower head will spray ard..

I've started "spraying" her from head down some time back le.. and also bath her in normal temp water (w/o hot water).. she'll be shocked but no choice.. this will happen when u go to the public swimming pool toilets.. so I just prepare her..

U can buy a plastic shower ring that you can put across their head to prevent water/shampoo from flowing down to their face/eyes.. Get it from Daiso at $2..

Hope this helps..

warrior,
Tks for the infor...

Now that my ger grown up liao, i wan to let her bath "normally" too lor..hehe..so tinking of using either shower head or scope...hmm...Tink I better get the plastic ring 1st.hehe =) ..hmm..

FeiFei,
My son also throw them, and now he throw most of his toys while playing, mayb cause we taught him to throw ball so he throw watever he dislike. I rotate his bath toys regularly so he don't get bored of it.

The shower ring might be a gd idea, but don think it works for my son. He hate its when i put something on his head.

Feifei,
totally agree. As Lucas get tired of his toys easily, I rent toys for him now a days, else its so heart pain when i buy back and he just play for a while and leave it aside.

My hb still bathe bb inside bathtub. for hair, we usually have a small basin for washing of hair, cos he use hair shampoo (not top to toe so got separate shampoo and bath lotion). He intend to let my boy bathe inside shower area when he learn how to stand properly. as i have a separate shower area with shower screen, the space quite constraint so dun tink i can put stool n bathe inside with bathtub nearby.. the bathtub will take up the whole shower area space.

FeiFei,
Maybe you can rent toys too as it saves space and you're able to rotate his toys. If you worry of hygene then clean the toys before letting him play. Or when you wan to buy toys visit the website to do a read up before making decision. www.rent-a-toy.com or www.rent-that-toy.com
i prefer rent a toy website better

Sometimes if keep some toys away and then give later (rotate the toys), they dun get bored so easily. But usually i just throw all the toys on the play area and didn't keep away them also. I dun wash his toys often too, maybe only once a month. But if it roll to a dirty area i will wash it before giving to him.

My boy prefer stacking toys at the moment so those simple $10 or $20 fisher price stacking toys is good. Those complicated toys he get tired easily.

recently toy-rus have sale at united square but most toys are worn out, though there are some good offers.

We bot a walker cum tricycle $50 last weekend but found tat there are missing screws. hb intend to buy from normal shops but yet to get them. so at the moment he can only ride but can't use it as walker yet.

Ellysia,
My boy prefer toys that uses his finger like rotating, pressing buttons, or turning the steering wheels. As he is learning to walk now, I got him some toys that he can stand and cruise.

Kris,

wat toys can learn to cruise? my boy also like to cruise.

He like simple toys tat have small features.

You can try using the following toys:
Fisher Price Crawl Cruise Musical Jungle
Fisher Price Baby Playzone
LeapFrog Learn-Around Playground

I bought the Musical Jungle from ebay can't get it in S'pore, else u got to rent from the website. The other 2 i rent and now a put them tog to form a circle and put my son inside so he cruise around his toys.
I just bought this Vtech Grow &amp; Go Walker and assist him to walk with it.
These toys are can simiulate him while standing or sitting.

I've bought this activity table for Floyce and she loves it..

Review: There is 5 activities on this table the first one is in the centre of the table you have got four animals which are cow, sheep, pig and a hen you can take these off they then can be put on to a electronic sounder and when you do so the lights start to flash and it will make the sound of which animal is currently on there. The second is a clock the arms can be moved around so your child can start to recognise the time when you are turning the arms they make ticking noise. The third is a steering wheel with ignition key and gear lever to enhance a Childs imagination, when you turn the steering wheel the little teddy at the top will move. The forth is a butterfly this helps a child learn how to turn pages in a book and to recognise shapes and colours, when you turn the wings over it plays a tune. The fifth is a piano with different colour keys and instruments that change the sound to which ever one is pressed. The table is very colourful.

2427876.jpg

Kris

thks! cos my house dun have much things to let him cruise around. he only cruise around the sofa.

i won't be renting toys bec his skin v sensitive, so we only buy. tats why usu will consider/review etc before buying.

Kids are fortunate now.. there are so many toys for them to choose from.
Its the mama that are confuse to make decision on what is good for them.

All,

Any bbs top front tooth there has a big gap in btw? Becos my mil always say charlotte's teeth bery ugly, say the gap so big,sure bery ugly next time..blablabla..I heard like so angry..told her many times won't de.. where got like that..I told her when all her other teeth comes out, then the gap no more le cos of all e pushing lor...hiaz...

warrior,
how much u bot this table?

feifei,

no.. didn't notice gap. But these are baby teeth, will drop and adult teeth will grow. so dun be too overly concern bah.

FeiFei,
My son 2 front tooth also got a gap. its not fully grown out yet so i Think they'll get closer when the rest comes out. Too young to determine. No worries.

ellysia, ive been letting isaiah play with FP activity table, grand piano and stride and ride walker... he's been holding onto them standing playing since few mths bk and i guess in a way helps him to stand.. ydae finally saw him take a few steady steps without assistance in his playpen.. actually best place to let them cruise is in playpen.. he can walk and fall all he wants and wun hurt himself...

feifei, isaiah also has gap, gap is good, so when all their teeth are out, there's space to grow... if not, if too cramped now, when all their teeth grow, there will be no space and some teeth might jut out...

hi kris
now downgrade to yellow alert... aloha might be available by then n u wun be affected le

btw regarding birthday cake, initially i ordered PG, charge me $150... so i asked neighbourhood cake shop can do similiar design for me, complete with all figurines and they said ok and only charge me $97... but prob cake favour is not so nice... maybe u all might want to check with neighbourhood cake shop