(2008/06) June 2008

just to share i found a website that sells the ergo organic denim at A$159 including postage..

e carrier is a$130... registered international mail is A$29, maybe if we order together, can save on postage... im gg to order today, if anyone keen pls let me know

morning mummies!!

Mag, Re: big blueberries, I mean, I give Matthew the bigger ones. Every pack will have smaller and then bigger ones right? I eat the smaller ones.. give him the bigger ones..

Re: Giving Athan blueberry skin water, I'm not sure if it's a good idea.. cos if the blueberries are not organic, having boiled the skin in water, then give to Athan, not sure if there may be small remaining pesticides on the skin... (sorry, don't mean to worry you, but just a thought that I have - I know you mentioned you wash them very very throughly already)

As for apples, it is perfectly okay to give bbs our age raw apples. I think if young bbs, must cook.

Ellysia, I've not frozen blueberries before. I give to him fresh. I think blueberries are a bit goo-ey.. so it's normal to be like that after frozen.

Hey Soyabean! have our banners reached you?

Dear mummies
I have been undecided for quite some time whether to use walker or not thus would like to do a survey here.Pd told me not to use it at all but i'm thinking how to train bb to walk if not using walker?

Any mummies here has let baby used baby walker?or anyone like me hasn't decided yet?
Please help to fill the list

Bb has used baby walker

Haven't decided or not to use
1.Fen

<font color="aa00aa">felicia,
if it is of assurance to u, dun worry, gwen hasnt got any flu virus from yu jie. she is still her active, up to mischef self till today since mon evening...LOL....

ritzy,
kekekeke...cos i jus brought gwen for a zoo outing a mth to 2mths back mah. memory still fresh...

ellysia,
LOL, tat's the partial reason y i gave up direct latching shortly after delivery &amp; use the pump instead.

soya,
hey, let me know if u opening a spree for the party stuff, i wanna order too, waiting for yurs to take off.</font>

Fen, I'm not going to use a walker. Actually, it is a misconception that walkers will help bbs learn how to walk. The best way to teach a baby to walk is to place low furniture around the room (like sofa) for the bb to learn to stand up with support, then cruise from point to point. walkers are very much liked because all an adult needs to do is to place teh bb into the walkter and leave the bb alone. compare that with constant monitoring the baby in the room.. when the bb is learning to walk. tough job. 2 disadvantages with walker is if bb is not ready to walk, bb may end up learning how to walk on tip toe and I'm not sure if it has long term effect - bb's entire weight on tiptoes?! Also, adults have a misconception that there's no need to monitor a bb in a walker. that's very wrong. Alot of PDs these days, advice against using a walker for safety reasons.

Fen,

I bot a walker ored but haven't decide to let bb use or not. due to so many debates. hopefully wont waste the walker.

cactus,thanks for reply.this is what i'm understand from the pd also,but we grow up with using walker and everything is still fine with us hehe.

btw anyone know where to buy vegetable plants like spinach etc?

For blueberries, it is better to give organic if can find, as i understand the pesticides tend to stay on blueberries and not easily remove. Certain fruits like apples and pears also better give organic as the pesticides can be readily absorb in.

I was just about to add, Fen, that so many of us grew up with walker (I also used a walker, but only at 11mths.. my parents held off a walker UNTIL I was able to stand up by myself and able to take one or two steps holding on to something). All of us ended up okay. Maybe us parents think too much! It's a personal choice loh, whether to use or not. Some pple have more than 1 child to look after, no help at all, or elderly grandparents look after with no maid, so put into jumperoo, playpen, walker, etc. it's the circumstances that the child is in. I was placed in a walker, cos the flooring was marble.. very very hard. if I fell, sure hurt very badly. and there was another bb at home too. so hard for 2 adults to look after 2 free roaming children.

Erm, spinach can buy from supermarket? NTUC sells even the organic variety ($2.50 per pack).

feifei,

me busy with work yest. only post a little bit.

sugar prunes is now in season i tink. i saw at ntuc for 2 weeks ored. the box says sugar prunes. I went to AMK NTUC as it has more stuff.

Pnuemonical jab, my boy ored finish it. I tink is 3 jabs.

christina,ellysia thanks for reply
yes,there's a lot of debates.i also already bought the walker but haven't decided to use it or not. I updated the list

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

Ellysia, Fen, yes, I believe it's safer and better if the bb already can stand up with support, and is starting to take first steps.
It's not so good if bb is too young. I know of someone who put bb into walker at 4 months.. she seemed pleased with it. I felt sorry for her child.

Fen, I've not seen spinach seeds, but florists (ie. Katong Florist, Goodwood, Far East)wlil sell seeds in packets. Some supermarkets also. The really big Shop &amp; Save outlets (like the one at Bedok Market place, if you are an easterner) will sell.

Oh, Giant at Tampines, also sell seeds. near the DIY section. I believe I also Carrefour at Suntec. I can't say for the other one. Maybe you can call the florists, Shop &amp; Save, Giant and Carrefour to enquire about Spinach seeds?

But hor, spinach have lots of variety loh. make sure you get the correct one. If you are talking about Chinese spinach (puay leng), I don't think have the seeds. you have better luck with red spinach, etc.

cactus,thanks for your detail explanation.yes,i agree human interaction is the best way to stimulate baby brain and it makes baby happy also

Dear mummies
Do you notice that our baby seems will listen carefully and pay notice when we talk to them?

cactus,

to each of its own..

my colleague said her boy use it at 4 mths.. and is walking on tip toe (now 1.5yrs).

Apparently another colleague give at 6mths and her boy is walking OK.

If want to let bb watch TV, have to talk with them on the TV programs.

Anyway i understand tat young kids can only watch TV not more than 1 hr per day.

Recently i bot the "bb can read" VCD, seems quite good.

For the jumperoo, i find it quite good. seems to exercise leg muscles.
But anyway now tat my boy learning crawling, he start to lose interest in jumperoo.

Ellysia, I think if really need to use walker, should give it later than earlier loh. in the market, most walkers are recommended for 9 months or after.
I was in a walker at 11 months. had no walking problems. my nephew in a walker at 5 months, walk on tiptoe still whenever he doesn't wear shoes. he is 3+ years now. no harm done but not sure about stress on his little feet.

Ellysia, I'm not sure about TV leh... some American PD dun know what Society say no TV at all for kids under 2 years old. After that, limited TV but not more than xhrs per day. ST ran a supplement about 3 weeks ago, about children. It quoted that American PD dun know what article, and also said that TV may not teach language as well as human interaction. I think the Baby Can Read series is good if at home, no one can stimulate the bb.. My dad bought Matthew the series before he was born.. but we didn't use it. we thought no value add cos at home have Grandpa to talk chinese and english. in the end, we gave it to my SIL. Bad I know..but my MIL can't speak good chinese or english mah. and the maid's english not local intonation also.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,</font>

<font color="000000">"...I know of someone who put bb into walker at 4 months.. she seemed pleased with it. I felt sorry for her child."</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Pls dun feel sorry for That child cos not Everyone are lucky enf to ve a maid + grandparent(s) not working at home to look after the bb like your Matt is fortunate enf to have, nor a ratio of 3Adults to 1 child attn. also there are lots of instances whereby the bb turn out ok after using walkers. majority of us I believe used to sit in walkers too but we are now not walking on tiptoes!</font>

soyabean,
JB shopping ah??!! Envy....

feifei,
Car got stolen? Then how? Make police report in JB ah? I was still thinking of driving to Genting &amp; KL some time back. Then my mum kept showing my newspaper article of Sgpeans kena robbed in Mys to discourage us.

Roxy,
The way you describe Isaiah is so funny.
Lil ZuEn will now wake up and start sitting up, then try to crawl &amp; stand. No longer quietly lying down &amp; playing by herself.

Crystal, I know what you mean. It's not that I blame the mother, I have no right to loh. cos she has to work and her mom and maid can't cope at home. she has another kid. but I just feel sorry for the child loh. Cos of the potential danger and impact on her. I'm also a baby walker kid, but not at 4 months. I think it's okay to use baby walker if absolutely necessary to preserve the sanity of the adults at home, but shoudl balance against the child's well being at 4 months loh.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus,
i m sure ALL parents would ve weigh the pros &amp; cons of having their bb in walkers + if limit the time bb sit in walker per day, there shdn't be any lasting harm. i m not for dumping bb in walker for the entire day but note tat sometime it is due to situational circumstances. pls dun judge / feel bad for the bb cos all parents Love their bbs &amp; will not harm them in any way at all.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">
Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2.Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus</font>

actually, I don't know if it's a horrible thing to do.. hehe. I get my maid/my dad to put Matthew into his highchair or stroller with toys if they have to be away for a moment. hehe. no choice if my dad needs to use the toilet and the maid is out running errands. but some pple also say it's not a gd idea cos highchair should only b e assicoated with meal times and stroller only associated with going out.

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

btw i'm a little puzzled...why buy a walker if no intention to use in the first place? scratch head*

shycloud, maybe the walker was given as gift? Or was a prize from something? Or was bought before learning about potential disadvantages?

actually these days, walkers are quite cheap loh. the traditional type lah. Even Giant hypermart also sell. $30+ have 1 very nice one already. I believe there are parents who just buy on impulse when expecting the baby, then only after finding out more after bb is born, then think twice? even those push walkers now getting cheaper. Toys R Us selling many brands at only $39.90 onwards!

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia) &amp; #1 used before
4. Jade (shycloud)
5. Vivi (Veniz) &amp; #1 used before

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

actually like wat crystal mentioned, im very tempted to buy a walker cause my parents sometimes really have no time to look after him... its good let him sit inside, zip here and there and entertain himself, but since already 9.5mths so old le, no point waste the $ to buy since wun use for so long... maybe can buy push walker to let them walk

cactus, you are most welcome
regarding baby you can read, when isaiah was 4mths, i started showing it to him, super interested.. now i show him, he's not keen at all.. so i give up totally.. but i tink its a good series..

hi zuen
Im sure lil zuen is super active child too.. by the way she laughs in the class can tell le... hee so cute.. and her shots are great! esp the fairy wings one, very nice!

no one keen to buy ergo carrier? now isaiah dun want to sit still in carrier, just trying to strap him in is WAR.. am giving up and going to carry him with ergo, hopefully it works

<font color="808080"><font face="tahoma">Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia) &amp; #1 used before
4. Jade (shycloud)
5. Vivi (Veniz) &amp; #1 used before
6. Jared (fennie77) &amp; #1 used before(started to walk at 11 months)

1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus</font></font>

Hihi, good afternoon.

Can't resist to add my name to the list. Vivi uses walker from 5mth, we only let her sit in till recently, we folded the side of the walker down for her to learn walking. My #1 used it when he was younger, 4mth old, as I was a SAHM and so far, he is absolutely fine, no tip toes or anything.

Its really up to individuals, why do debation?

Roxy, do you think your boy may not be interested in Baby can read cos he knows the stuff already? I find that when Matthew knows something very well, he doesn't pay that much attention to it. He prefers new story books, and new music to old music and old stories...

If you are interested in push walker, Toys R Us have good sales from time to time. now they have this cute FP hippo walker.. the "hippo" eats food cubes as the baby pushes the hippo around. There are lots of other brands also.. the 2-in-1 type of push walker (can ride and push/ can push and play when seated). most push walkers are recommended from 9 months to 36 months. so think there is more mileage although most costly than the traidtional type.

<font color="aa00aa">HI ladies, i'm here again! Was given by doc 2 days MC, so resting at home, but not really coz 2 monsters still sick leh!

Re: walker
My #1 started with walker around 5 or 6 mths(I cant remember the actual date despite only 2 yrs plus ago. Cactus, i really salute ur parent can remember they actually only let you use the walker by 11mths. Look like my memory is totally a failure compare w your parent. *cham* must eat more gingko supplemnt to build memory liao)
I only remember when my #1 is steady in sitting, then we let her sit on the walker.
And yes, when she start learn to walk, she did tip toe (i think i ever posted on this previously), but was corrected when she's around 2 yrs. If my memory din failed me, i remember some oth mummies here oso mentioned their #1 oso tip toe but was corrected after that.
I have to mentioned here, when i let my #1 sit on walker, i nvr realised the cons of walker, just follow traditional way my parent brought me up.
When hvin my #2, from this forum only i realised my #1 tip toe might due to walker, so this round i'm more careful. Still let YuJie sit on walker but i din remove the cover below, preventing her from walking. Only recently i started let her 'walk' for fun, the most 15mins per day.
I agreed with Crystal tat we as parent have to judge according to circumstances. My Mil is handling Yujie alone during daytime, i can expect her to carry her all day kua?So,must find some oth alternative to 'entertain' my girl, else how my MIL will collapse soon.
Just to share my points to view.

Cactus, btw i was surprised that your parent only let u sit on walker at 11mths?? Well, maybe i'm not well knowledge lah, btw frm my experience, when the kid started to learn to stand up and walk, they wont want walker lor. My #1 reject walker when she learn to stand up with support around 10mths or 11mths.</font>

I wasn't trying to debate, sorry if I caused that misconception. I was trying to point out the potential disadvanges of a walker esp from my nephew's experience, although I did also highlight why people need a walker (tired caregivers). I also said very early on I was a "walker" baby and turned out fine! I think what we all agreed on is there are possible disadvantages, but it's better to put bb in walker later than earlier if have to put bb in at all!