(2008/06) June 2008

zuen,
hehe...tink i know who liao, the lady who wore a lime green top wore specs hor? cos hor, there are afew ladies i din know who lor =)..

All,
Anyone is giving their bb yogurt apart frm MAg?

I'm looking for a new stroller for my boy. The combi one i have can only secure the buttock. Thinking of getting one that can secure his body (like a seat belt), any recommendation? Saw alot of mummies using Maclaren on the road, is it good?

I have bought the si sheng br from YRS, but forget to ask how to cook it. Can i just ster it with water or do i still need to boil it? any ideas?

Veniz,
Just saw your posting. Do you want to buy something from Timberland? I have the membership card, so can loan it to you. Since we live so near each other, can easily pass it to you too.

If I'm not mistaken, it's 5% discount for anything below $200, then 10% from 201 - 500, and 15% from $501 and above. Let me know latest by tomorrow k.

All mummies whose bb is taking Friso 2,
GOOD NEWS! NTUC having promo for htis wk, Friso 2, 1.8kg cost $45.75...Its the cheapest I can find even cheaper than in medical hall lor..so u might wan to go stock up =).. By e way, when do our bbs switch to Friso 3?

Good Day ladies,
Haven logged in forum for more than 2 wks le. Happened to see this thread.

Feifei,
Juz to share, my hubby bot Friso 2(1.8kg) + Free 900G at 51bucks from Sheng Siong. So is 2.7kg of Friso Gold 2 for the price of 51 bucks. U might wanna go n check it out.

cactus,

I start fish in 8mths. Although most guide recommend 9 mths, there is a recent research tat shows tat eczema improve due to consumption of fish before 9mths. Of course i do test for 3-4 days whenever i give different type of fish.

As for chicken and pork, u can give from 7mths as it is considered low allergic food. Chicken is easier to give as it is more tender though.

I am aware tat cannot give fish with high mercury content. But i dun tink cang yu belongs to the high mercury group. Tuna, sharkfish, stingray belong to high mercury group. Cod fish and salmon is most recommended to give due to high omega and DHA, which is why i told MIL to intro also. she intro cang yu without asking me.. but in the end i allow her since i didn't see tat it belong to the high mercury grp.

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
5. Vivi (Veniz) & #1 used before
6. Jared (fennie77) & #1 used before(started to walk at 11 months)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
10. Gianna (JP) {short periods coz need to be a cook or need to go to the loo...ha!ha!)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
12. Qyan
13. Zhi yu (bizz)
14. Reanne (janiviy)

Haven't decided or not to use
1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

For me, putting her in walker is not for her to learn to walk...rather for her to entertain herself with the attached toys...hehe..

<font color="aa00aa">Re: Fish
I gave threadfin last week, tats when YuJie is about 7.5mths old. Actually i din know recommended is start at 9mth. In fact i tot i have given YuJie too late as my #1 was given fish at around 6mths when she started her porridge. Tat time was given by the babysitter.
As for YuJie only let her try one time only she she totally dislike it. I think maybe due to the fishy smell. So gonna try again this weekend. So far she's ok (she had mild ezcema), or maybe she just had one feed nia.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">
I found that my girl dont like to sit on the walker even i try to release the cover at below for her to walk. Just few walks, she want to get out liao and i have to keep changing the toys on the 'plate' of the walker so that she can sit longer.
I really dont know how to entertain her now. Last time saw that Mag mentioned about Athan in jumperoo, i really had the urge to buy one oso but afraid YuJie get bored with it very soon, then waste $$.
Mummies, can share how u keep ur baby 'entertain'? </font>

felicia,
hmm..entertain huh? hmm...i will put my ger in her walker, then she go exploring the hse, pulling things, sometimes i switch on vcd for her to watch, sometimes give her toys to play..sometimes i will put her in her high chair and let her watch tv there..Realised she dun like bb can read lor..

Sometimes i let her crawl on the mattress and mat..she seems happy to crawl, then try to standup, then land on her backside but she happy, then when i say "yeah,clever charlotte", she smile =)...Guess now our bbs like to explore things and move ard liao..

<font color="ff6000">
Re : Walker

I think whoever invented the item should be awarded the Nobel Prize. :-g

Placing my girl in it gives her the initiative to explore and play "catching" with my Mum.

Just popping in again before zzz.

Mag, i just peel the skin and squash with spoon. I onli feed on weekends or when free, nanny will help feed during day.

Bb Jaret also uses walker since 6 months. His korkor hated it cos Jaret can grab his stuff :p

<font color="aa00aa">feifei, i think my ger was lesser one choice compare to charlotte, coz my ger dont know how to crawl! So, most of the time, she only can sit either on her playpen or walker. But just within few mins she start to get bored. Unless i'm able to get a totally new 'toy' for her to xplore. The only times she's able to sit and play for more than 10mins is my pump! But the following day, she got bored w it liao!
Btw, she likes to play peek-a-boo and hide and seek, but i cant be asking my MIL keep playing w her kua.
But hor, when i let her sit on her strolley and bring her walk walk, she can sit still and be 'guai-guai' lor. Next time sure a shopping queen.</font>

Zuen,
Dun feel guilty cos u r working mah &amp; I'm at home most of the time except when I go for classes so that's y got time to do. Lil Zuen is also growing healthily so dun feel bad hor cos wait it's my turn to feel guilty.

Feifei,
the yogurt I bot is not for babies but cos it's kosong wif no sugar so I buy. Din buy Baby Yoplait cos got 14.2g of sugar &amp; no plain ones, all flavoured &amp; ingredients too complicated unlike Horizon. I prefer to buy kosong &amp; add my own fruit/veg puree. Cost me almost $14 bucks tho for that 32oz tub.

Prunes I buy those go by weight type. NTUC have them too, can't remember the name but prepacked in $2.10/100g transparent plastic bags unless u go to Xtra then can buy according to the weight u want. I normally buy only 100g/8-10pcs cos I dun give often, each prune is 2 servings for me, the rest I just keep in fridge until next use.

Parkway basement sells <$2/100g so if u pass by any dried fruit counters then u can ask price too &amp; share wif me hor.(Pai say I sound like very ngeow cos single income nia :p)

Bb has used baby walker
1. Chloe (christina)
2. Rizty
3. YuJie (Felicia)
4. Jade (shycloud)
5. Vivi (Veniz) &amp; #1 used before
6. Jared (fennie77) &amp; #1 used before(started to walk at 11 months)
7. Ivory (sharon)
8. Lucas (tera)
9. Charlotte (feifei)
10. Gianna (JP) {short periods coz need to be a cook or need to go to the loo...ha!ha!)
11. Lil ZuEn (ZuEn)
12. Qyan
13. Zhi yu (bizz)
14. Reanne (janiviy)
15. Eunicia (HuiHui'sMum)

Haven't decided or not to use
1.Fen
2.Ellysia
3.Cactus

Feifei,
2198254.jpg

This is the yogurt I am feeding, I like this coz the tub serving is not as big as baby yoplait...fed my girl baby yoplait when she was about 5mths+...but my ger dun like...she prefer this one..but I must share with my SIL coz the expiry is really fast..1 week only, then got 12 tubs...can't possibly eat 2 tubs a day...so far can only find it in Carrefour.Cost is $16+ for 12 tubs.

Just like to share something...
today I was out shopping around Central when I was caught in the rain. The rain wasn't too heavy and I was standing around waiting for the rain to stop when a lady approach me, and offered to share her umbrella. She asked me where I was going but our direction is not the same..I declined her kind offer as I was not in a rush but she offered to shelter me anyway even when she was not going my direction,...to me its like..OMG! I am so touched. I assured her I was ok..and she went aong her way when a 2nd another young lady offered to shelter me...this time she was going to where I was going..so I said thank you..as her umbrella was small,..I try not to stand so close to her..she noticed i was getting wet and put her arm on my shoulder and pulled me closer...we evern chatted along the way...
Anyway...to summarize what I am trying to say is..there is HOPE for Singaporeans.. why I say that? coz in a day...I met not 1 but 2 kind souls...1 offered to shelter me even though it was out of her way...the other was so kind and I am just a total stranger to her!! I have read MANY post about inconsiderate people on MRT/buses..not giving way to old folks, pregnant woman and even experience it myself...but today I saw HOPE, really hope that there are more kind people out there..in this country. I am also greatly touched by their kind gesture..its just a small thing...but to me..they are angels..

Gd morning everyone!! My hubby working late so came in while waiting for him to b back.

So I c dat today's topic is on this har? Cactus, sorry &amp; hope u dun mind, need to borrow your postings :p.

1. "Some pple have more than 1 child to look after, no help at all, or elderly grandparents look after with no maid, so put into jumperoo, playpen, walker, etc"

I SUPPOSE I'M FAMOUS HERE FOR PUTTING ATHAN IN JUMPEROO MIN. 3 TIMES A DAY(NO TIME LIMIT BUT I'LL TELL HIM B4 I CARRY HIM OUT) SINCE HE WAS 6MTHS. I GUESS U MIGHT B SHOCKED AT THE SCHEDULE I'VE POSTED BELOW FOR THESE "FREEDOM-RESTRICTED" EQUIPMENTS.

Reason for putting Athan in Jumperoo was so that he has some form of exercise cos hubby was afraid of him being overweight. Athan loves his jumperoo &amp; will stare at it whenever he's back fr any outing, then "eh eh" &amp; bending his body over indicating he wants to jump in it. I have both the traditional walker &amp; modern one but dun intend to give yet cos PIL's place not very convenient for him to zoom/pushwalk around. At the moment, it's just bumbo seat &amp; jumperoo. Let me share wif u my schedule for these 2 items in a day.

9.00am Jumperoo(his morning exercise while I prepare his breakfast)

9.10am High Chair for his breakfast &amp; continues to sit there until I finish my bf &amp; have cleaned up the table &amp; dishes.

9.30am Bumbo Seat wif toys in front or Sit on sofa wif my FIL while I handwash Athan's laundry.

12.30pm Jumperoo after he wakes up fr nap (while I prepare his lunch)

1.00pm Sits in high chair for lunch &amp; until I'm done in the kitchen.

1.30pm Sits on mattress wif me for "Reading time" &amp; tummy time

4.30pm Jumperoo/Bumbo wif toys while I do hsework/watch tv/surf net.

5.00pm Sits/tummy time on mattress ALONE wif toys while I sit by the side &amp; observe.

7.00pm Jumperoo while I prepare his dinner

7.15pm High Chair for dinner

7.40pm Bumbo Seat wif toys while hubby &amp; me have dinner

8.00pm Sit/tummy time on mattress wif hubby/me

From the above schedule, I seriously feel that Athan is not as fortunate as your precious Matthew to have caregivers 24/7 around him.

MAY I ASK IF MATTHEW MAY BE LEFT ALONE IN A SAFE ENVIRONMENT TO EVEN PLAY FOR 1MIN WHILE THE CAREGIVER/S VISIT THE LOO?

DOES ANY1 HAVE TO STAY BESIDE MATTHEW WHILE HE NAPS?

2. "For me, I don't believe in a playpen, or anything that limits my boy's freedom. He doesn't sleep in a cot. he's been sleeping on the floor since birth. He has the freedom to roam everywhere."

SAME HERE, ATHAN HAS NEVER SLEPT IN A COT/PLAYPEN, ONLY BOUNCER(stopped @ 6mths) &amp; MATTRESSES BUT THAT'S COS OUR MATTRESS IS ON THE FLOOR TOO SO EASIER FOR ME TO ATTEND TO HIM WHEN I WAKE UP AT NITE (maybe I'm a parent who doesn't want to think too much or kill my brain cells over unnecessary stuff!).

3. "I don't know if it's a horrible thing to do.. hehe. I get my maid/my dad to put Matthew into his highchair or stroller with toys if they have to be away for a moment."

With regards to the above posting, it's not a horrible thing that u/Matthew's caregivers do but IT'S A SAD THING FOR YOUR PRECIOUS MATT. I really feel sorry for him that the adults r already confusing him at such a young age. (Maybe u 1 2 consider wat'll happen if this continues till Matthew gets older.) Fr a child psychological point of view, things have to b very straightforward for a baby, they DUN LIKE SURPRISES/CONFUSIONS as this WILL DISRUPT THEIR SCHEDULES/EXPECTATIONS (I'm sure u've read abt this fr your abundance of parenting knowledge).

Cos I din want Athan to b even confused as a baby, I make it a point to let him know Jumperoo is strictly for b4 meals or when we get home fr outings, Bumbo is strictly for after meals, High Chair strictly for meals &amp; strollers/carriers r strictly for outings, mattress in living room is strictly for sitting/tummy time &amp; mattress in bedroom is strictly for sleep/nap. So wherever I place him, he knows &amp; will react accordingly. As u saw Athan during RP lunch that day, he could sit in the stroller until it's time for lunch then he'll "shout" for me to carry him out.

I feel that wif this arrangement that I've had wif all the equipment "that limits my boy's freedom", Athan is able to b independent as well as having sufficient human interaction wif us. I'll continue wif this arrangement as long as he's happy.

I'm not a perfect/wonderful mummy so I've read a few books/surfed websites for parenting advices but I take all these wif a pinch of salt as I'm not really a sucker for rules, I will normally "modify" these advices according to Athan's needs &amp; as long as he is happy, I'll stick to my arrangements.

MUMMIES HERE, REMEMBER!! DO WAT YOUR BABY LIKES AS LONG AS IT'S SAFE, NOT IMPOSE UNTO THEM WAT U OR YOUR FAMILY LIKE. (Sad to say, I'm still learning this too but still have to keep trying.

Pai say for long post.

Cactus, no offence but just my humble opinion.

JTS, I gave my boi 2x blueberry cereal &amp; 1x prune yogurt on Wed &amp; he pooed like siao Thur morning (poo so much that it kenna his back even tho it was a fresh diaper). This combination is very effective for constipation cos all 3 helps digestion. Athan was so happy after he pooed, kept talking &amp; laughing when he finished. That amt of poo is record-breaking for him liao. My PIL &amp; mum was shocked too. I think it can get quite stressful whenever I c Athan having constipation that's y I thot of feeding him yogurt once everyday to aid his digestive system.

felicia,
hehe..hmm, at our bb's age now, they gets bored of toys easiy wor..everytime hv to tink of nnew toy for them, be it th eplastic bag, yakult container with a coin to create sound etc..Now we parents are getting tougher cos hv to "entertain" ou l itl ones..

Mag,
tks you for e infor..hehe, no worries cos its good to be alert on e price at times..hee

janivi,y
wow, tks for sharing...Mayb will ask ard see if anyone wants to share with me =)..

Mag,
Just not zz at 11+pm cos was feeling giddy, just wokeup to continue with my report =(..1.5% more to go..hiaz..

how abt u?not going zZ?

mag,
I see...wow, u bery good wife wor =)..tks ger...hope i can complete it in time..when i see charlotte, always hv e tendency want to play with her..hiaz..

ya lor, will do that, tks tks..but hope can find the yogurt =)..

Quick go sleep liao lor, if now later boy wakesup then u not enuff sleep liao...nitez =)

morning gals....

had a good shopping trip in JB...
bgt all the nec groceries we needed... the MP over at giant is abt $21 for the jumbo pack.

oso managed to go to City Square for "me" shopping... bgt a few pieces of clothes for myself....

anyway, i'm going to see doc today... i still hvnt recover from my cough since 1 week ago... and last nite seemed to get worse... i woke up in the mid of nite... coughed so much until i vomitted. then cldnt zz after that. so later going to see doc... was trying not to see doc and take med cos still bfg... but seems like it cant be helped anymore...

oh... anyway, i know its closed topic liao.... i oso let my ger use walker... we took it out 2 weeks ago... she likes it but so far she oni seems to know how to go in reverse gear... :p

we used it for my #1 oso... but not for long cos that fella didnt like it... always cry the moment we put him in... so now finally i can recover "losses" for this investment.

hi feifei...
good morning... hehe... so giant is sellin 10cent cheaper than ntuc...

the supermart i went to in jb yest was giant... my hb and i love shopping there once in a while actuali...

so hv u finished ur report?

soyabean,
i see..got eat seafood?

Finshed liao, at last aft 5 long days, already sent to my leader for consolidation and then read through. Now going to start another reoprt which is due on mon too =( =( ...Its going to be the last one for this term..

feifei...
nope... my hb is allergic to seafood... we love eating at Kim Gary at City Square... the $$ there is much much cheaper than the one here at Vivo...

Krispykreme, thanks for your offer. In fact for me, I am looking forward to warehouse sale to see whats on offer for the cheap cheap boots, not really in need of anything. I will contact you if I really need to get anything, and if time permits, maybe we can do a little shopping together?

Janiviy, you remind me of the time when I was working in McDonalds, my store manager will always get me to observe outside of the store during rainy days and help to shelter customers. If I see any customers or passerbys without umbrella waiting to cross over the road, I will walk out with our McDonalds' big umbrella and shelter each of them across the road to their main shelter. Its a way of short marketing scheme during rainy seasons and showed that we at McDonalds care for them, whether they are customers or not. Nowadays, where to find McDonalds' staff doing this?

Soyabean and Mag, the case was closing, not really closed with firm chop and seal, heehee.

Oh, one thing to add. After observant of babies who frequently been carried by human touch/ hands compared to those sitting in walkers, high chairs or sitting and playing alone sometimes (independant), those who always been carried around by pple will always want to be carried around by them even when they grow older and walk independantly. IMO, a human touch always refrain babies' freedom to explore more things, but leaving them in aids equipments such as walker and with adult supervision, kids will learn more by going around, feel and touch, even carry stuff. Also like Carol said, can train their muscles.

Mag, you staying in east side, I suppose you can check out the prices of prunes tomorrow if you can make a trip down to parkway rite?

hi veniz... chris...

veniz...
tell me abt it... my maid carries my ger quite a fair bit... to the extent now she knows how to manja to get pple to carry her when she has been in the walker/highchair for too long...

and oh... speaking abt my ger... hehe... she now knows how to do hi-5 and wave bye...
at times, we can even hear her babble "baa-baa" when we say bye bye...

OH VENIZ....
i saw something at city square yest and i must tell u tis... haha... the Secret Recipe there does Ben10 cakes... haha... it has the CN license... not sure abt the SR here though...

when i saw it, i was telling myself "must tell veniz".... keke....

soyabean, haaha. your Eve is so cute! In fact, I do think that now is the time they find sitting alone is very boring, they will seek for attention. Maybe you want to try leave some toys for her to play (but then, they will want to throw the toys on floor wanting us to pick them up rite?).

She can speak baabaa already? Vivi can only hold up her hand niah, when saying bye bye. sometimes do the 'no more' hand movements for byebye gestures. Haiz, waiting for her to learn properly. Nanny, MIL and me, we are teaching her pat kiss now, she still refuse to learn this yet.

Soyabean, thanks so much on the Ben10 in Secret Recipe thingy! I was asking son what will his bday cake theme this year. Now I know, will be Ben10! I forgo this theme last yr, now can use it. Boy, I am also glad that secret recipe is near me, Anchorpoint. Can collect from there. I will call them to check it out first. Thanks, muack muack!

Feifei, good morning, wave!!!

veniz...
yeah... she loves throwing things on the floor and wan us to pick up... last nite, hb and i were eating dinner and she was in HC. she threw her hanky down and my hb went to pick it up for her. within few seconds she threw it down again... and guess wat she did after that? she STARED at my hb for a good 10 secs... haha... i nudged hb "eh... she waiting for u to pick for her"....

at tis age, they are starting to learn little tricks already... i rembr my boy used to be able to do the vroom vroom motorcycle ard 10mths... hehe... they learn pretty fast... hv patience... Vivi is a v smart ger, she will pick it up soon...

veniz...
aiyah... no need to kiss and wet my face... haha... i see ben10 stuff i oso got excited myself... but i do hope they will carry the cakes here in SG...

actuali... Ben10 isnt exactly a good cartoon to watch... as far as poss, i try to avoid his "contact" wif the cartoon... but hor... very contradicting... everytime i see ben10 stuff i myself get excited... :p v ironic hor?

Heehe, soyabean, I also dun like Ben10 cartoon, but seeing son liking its characters, I will go for the outside merchandise too. I think we parents are very ironic pple in the world, no choice lar, if we want our kids to be happy.

Some young mummies will say they will not allow this and tat, once they reach our stage, they will understand...