(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="blue">eh..i tot if conceive liao then dat mth will know liao mah..y must wait 1 or 2mths then noe??i blur leh..</font>

D&amp;C is short form for dilation and something - a procedure where the doctor removes the embryo and tissues from the uterus. mc is just the normal passing out of the tissues. like menses. What I meant is some pple opt for D&amp;C to clean out the womb. I didn't do it cos couldn't bear to go through it... the risk of not doing D&amp;C is infection to the womb and possible subsequent infertiliy if there is infection which is untreated. so doctors recommend D&amp;C. D&amp;C also have higher chance of being fertile up to 1 year. if natural miscarriage, then the mother won't know when the "menses" will come. so it can be emotionally hard to deal with. but I feel that emotional healing is easier with a natural miscarriage.

erm, if we allow 1 cycle to pass through, we will know exactly when the cycle starts. The only thing we don't know if the length of the cycle, but we can prob guess 28 to 32 days, give and take. so it's easier to expect when my next menses will come. but cos we are trying without letting 1 cycle pass through, we don't have a clue as to timing. that's why I don't plan to test until 1 or 2 months later if menses has not returned.

<font color="blue">ooh..ok..ok..so if nvr go through D &amp; C the menses will be delayed kind lah..but if go through D &amp; C then @ most delay 1 mth huh?? </font>

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, so fast u n hubby try again? Not good for health leh.
Btw, what do you mean not letting 1 cycle pass thru?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Cactus, just saw ur explanation on the 1 cycle. But hor, i tot are not supposed to hv sex so soon after mc or delivery? And u r trying blindly somemore.</font>

Felicia, meaning not wait for a menses to come before trying.

Cactus, I really hope you succeed seeing as how badly you want a 2nd one.

cactus,
I was BFing #1 when we got #2,
I BF further for 2 months &amp; stopped,
cause BM was dropping &amp; dropping.

Our body will take the Q,
if we're able to BF it'll continue to produce,
if our body is not strong enough,
our BM will drop.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, sound very profound to me leh. First time i heard of natural miscarriage. Coz so far i heard even those bleeding miscarriage will go thru D&amp;C oso lor.
U r putting urself in risk by not going D&amp;C. Your hubby agreed on this arrangement?</font>

Felicia - I also had a MC before I got my G1. My OBGYN told me the best is to rest for 6 months before I start again.

Tan Leng Leng - Wow...

ioio -

KKreme - No worries lah...once the teething period is over, she will be your angel again. I also learn something from my G1. Make sure you feed FM/BM before you get your baby to sleep. Somehow, a full stomach will ensure that the baby sleep through the nite.

Cactus - I have heard of such cases. You PG again har?

What is a D&amp;C Procedure?
(from APA website)

D&amp;C, also known as dilation and curettage, is a surgical procedure often performed after a first trimester miscarriage. Dilation means to open up the cervix; curettage means to remove the contents of the uterus. Curettage may be performed by scraping the uterine wall with a curette instrument or by a suction curettage (also called vacuum aspiration), using a vacuum-type instrument.

Is a D&amp;C necessary after a miscarriage?

About 50% of women who miscarry do not undergo a D&amp;C procedure. Women can safely miscarry on their own, with few problems in pregnancies that end before 10 weeks. After 10 weeks, the miscarriage is more likely to be incomplete, requiring a D&amp;C procedure to be performed. Choosing whether to miscarry naturally (called expectant management) or to have a D&amp;C procedure is often a personal choice, best decided after talking with your health care provider.

Some women feel comfort in going through a miscarriage in their own home, trusting their own body to do what it needs to. Some see this as a vital part of the healing process, eliminating the question of “what if?” about the health of the pregnancy. There are also many women who miscarry who have a history of gynecological problems and don’t want to risk the possibility of any more complications occurring from having a D&amp;C procedure done. For most first trimester miscarriages, expectant management should be a viable option.

For some women, the emotional toll of waiting to miscarry naturally is just too unpredictable and too much to handle in an already challenging time. Healing for them may only start once the D&amp;C procedure is done. A D&amp;C may be recommended for women who miscarry later than 10-12 weeks, have had any type of complications, or have any medical conditions in which emergency care could be needed.
How is a D&amp;C procedure done?

A D&amp;C procedure may be done as an outpatient or inpatient procedure in a hospital or other type of surgical center. A sedative is usually given first to help you relax. Most often, general anesthesia is used, but IV anesthesia or paracervical anesthesia may also be used. You should be prepared to have someone drive you home after the procedure if general or IV anesthesia is used.

1) You may receive antibiotics intravenously or orally to help prevent infection.

2) The cervix is examined to evaluate if it is open or not. If the cervix is closed, dilators
(narrow instruments in varying sizes) will be inserted to open the cervix to allow the surgical instruments to pass through. A speculum will be placed to keep the cervix open.

3) The vacuum aspiration (also called suction curettage) procedure uses a plastic cannula (a flexible tube) attached to a suction device to remove the contents of the uterus. The cannula is approximately the diameter in millimeters as the number of weeks gestation the pregnancy is. For example, a 7mm cannula would be used for a pregnancy that is 7 weeks gestation. The use of a curette (sharp edged loop) to scrape the lining of the uterus may also be used, but is often not necessary.

4) The tissue removed during the procedure may be sent off to the pathology lab for testing.

5) Once the health care provider has seen that the uterus has firmed up and that the bleeding has stopped or is minimal, the speculum will be removed and you will be sent to recovery.

Leng Leng,

Usually we will makan dinner at my MIL house then my hb like to linger awhile before going off, we reach there 7pm then will leave at 8pm.

Cactus and JP,

For me i give cereal as breakfast, together with 1 fruit.

Breakfast: half bowl of cereal + 20ml fruit
Lunch: half bowl of porridge with veg and meat, + 20ml fruit
Dinner: same as lunch, but no fruit.

If he didn't poo, i will give prune/peach/pear.

Otherwise i may give avocado/apple/pumpkin.

I seldom give banana bec' its constipative.

Got an email... Not sure how true...

FW: BIRTH CONTROL PILLS...DEADLY!!!!‏

Subject: BIRTH CONTROL PILLS...DEADLY!!!!

PASS THIS ON EVEN IF YOU DO NOT USE IT

Recently this past week, my cousin Nicole Dishuk (age 31...newly graduated student with a doctoral degree about to start her new career as a Doctor...) was flown into a nearby hospital, because she passed out.

They found a blood clot in her neck, and immediately took her by helicopter to the ER to operate. by the time they removed the right half of her skull to relieve the pressure on her brain, the clot had spread to her brain causing severe damage.

Since last Wednesday night, she was battling.. they induced her into a coma to stop the blood flow, They operated 3 times.. Finally, they said there was nothing left that they could do.. they found multiple clots in the left side of her brain.. the swelling wouldn't stop, and she was on life support..

She died at 4:30 yesterday. She leaves behind a husband, and a 2yr old Brandon and a 4yr old Justin.. The CAUSE of DEATH - they found was a birth control she was taking that allows you to only have your period 3 times a year... They said it interrupts life's menstrual cycle, and although it is FDA approved... shouldn't be - So to the women in my address book - I ask you to boycott this product &amp; deal with your period once a month - so you can live the rest of the months that your life has in store for you.

*Please send this to every woman you know - you may save someone's life... Remember, you have a CYCLE for a reason!

Fyi.

The name of this new birth control pill is Lybrel. If you go to Lybrel.com http://lybrel. com/ , you will find at least 26 pages of information regarding this drug.

The second birth control pill is, Seasonique. If you go to the website of, Seasonique.com http://seasonique ..com/ , you will find 43 pages of information regarding this drug.
The warnings and side effects regarding both pills are horrible. Please, please forward this information to as many daughters AND sons, co-workers, friends and relatives. Several lives have already been changed.

ellysia,
we used to have dinner at my MIL's place too,
after a year, we decide to eat out daily,
then can have "WE" time... hehe...

Now that I'm not working, I'll cook &amp; wait for hubby to return for dinner,
then we'll fetch our kids home.

<font color="aa00aa">JP, thanks for the article. Really an eye opening for me. Coz during my 1st pregnancy, i was been asked to do D&amp;C even before 10weeks.
The gynae told me even i dont do it, i'll auto miscarriage and in the end still hv to go back and do some cleaning (which i assume is D&amp;C lah). And he told me is a must process. Thats why i'm surprised that mc can w/o D&amp;C. </font>

Ellysia - Some say that only the Del Monte banana causes constipation. and the Malaysian ones do not.

Tan Leng Leng - Pick up your kids? Are they in school/CC? Me also, will cook and wait for DH to come back and all of us will eat together.

Felicia - You are most welcome! I also went for the D&amp;C after my MC.

Krispy,

same as u.. mine also suddenly wake up few times in the night recently, i suspect oso due to teething.

Leng Leng,

oic.. its much easier than eating there.. i sianz everyday eat with in laws. i really pei fu those who stay with in laws. Not tat i dun like them, just i dun feel comfortable. My hb cannot understand why.

If i want, i may be able to dine out only after 1 years old. My hb feel its difficult to dine out with bb bec bb fussy, and also he want to save money bec dinner is on my MIL.

cactus - You are most welcome! For myself, we opted for a D&amp;C coz whenever I wipe (apologies, TMI)I can see some bits and piece of "you know what"....I get paranoid.

Valentine day - we are not celebrating. too commercialise i tink.. and with many occasions such as anniversary and birthday, we tink we will forgo valentine day.

Ellysia, I thought bananas cause constipation, but apprently not for Matthew. The day before I gave him bananas, he poo-ed 5 times! He normally poos 2 times a day (average). He eats quarter a banana for supper after his bedtime milk... hehe!

anyway.. thanks mummies for talking about m/c and d&amp;c. I feel better emotionally. I can't wait to get my life back.

Ellysia, I don't feel comfy with my ILs too.

Recently i do my sums.. realise i overspend a lot over past few months. Beyond my limits i tink. Mostly on bb stuff. tink i have to stop buying clothes through spree. so addictive.

<font color="aa00aa">JP, just to clear ur mind in case u tot i have mc before. If you were following our thread during our early pregnancy, i did posted that i almost went for tat D&amp;C for my 1st pregnancy, but luckily no, coz wrong diagosed from the gynae.</font>

cactus,

at least yr hb dun like his parents.. so he will side with u.

my hb is a 24hrs dutiful son. up to the point tat he can sometimes argue with me over his parents. But if the reason is with me (and they are unreasonable), he will help bec he always see he "Bang li bu bang qing". Its only when some things disputive on reasonableness and if i am view as unreasonable, it will be against me.

cactus,

Ya! cos tmr is saturday.. if deliver today means showing off lor.

I am past that stage ored. Last time with my ex i always complain abt no flowers. My hb is v nice, last time par tor he always give me a lot of flowers and different type. But now i tink i am not practical liao, dun want to spend any more on such wasteful thing.

It may be your uterus getting back into its original size. just guessing. cos our uteruses normally return to original size by 6 months. at least 4 months is needed.

Sian. All my colleagues on leave this afternoon! I don't feel like working too!!! My boss just came by to tell me she's on half day leave.

Felicia - Apologies...misunderstood. Har, gyn also can give wrong diagoses? *headache* Heng, you never go. For me, I MC at home and the sag came out when I wipe it. I nearly fainted. We took the sag to our obgyn....

cactus - My DH always say, V-Day is every day for him coz he is with me and the kids....ha!ha!

cactus,

OIC! i didn't know it takes so long.

Now bb is 8mths and i am still flabby! My tummy won't go back.. and some colleagues keep tinking i am preggy again.. sianz.

Cactus - Hope this will help you. Its from BabyCtr website

Yes, you can still breastfeed when you are pregnant with your 2nd child. Your body will carry on producing milk throughout your pregnancy. It's even possible to continue feeding your son after your new baby is born - this is called tandem feeding.

Breastfeeding during pregnancy is fine for most women, although it's important to eat well. Hormonal changes in the early days may give you sensitive nipples making breastfeeding difficult. Nipple stimulation through breastfeeding or making love will cause mild uterine contractions, but, for most women, these are not strong enough to create a problem. However, if you have a history of premature delivery or miscarriage, or if you are bleeding, then you might need to think about weaning your older child.

During the fourth or fifth months of your pregnancy, your milk reverts to colostrum (the nourishing pre-milk produced by your breasts in the first few days after birth), so the taste changes and volume decreases. Some children decide to wean themselves at this point, although others persevere. If your son wants to continue, don't worry about using your colostrum up; your body will continue to produce this special milk until your new baby needs it. If your son is under a year old, and therefore nutritionally dependent on your milk, you might need to keep track of his weight gain at this point.

It is also worth thinking about whether you want to continue feeding your son once your new baby arrives. If tandem feeding is not for you, it will probably be less traumatic to wean him while you are pregnant rather then waiting until the new baby arrives and he is in danger of feeling usurped anyway. If you are not yet pregnant, but trying, bear in mind that it can be harder to conceive while still breastfeeding, as some women find they don't ovulate until they wean.

JP sound scary leh thinks i will cry as tt wat i most worried when preg.. my preg is full of worries but its over n we r all blessed w a healthy little one "p

leng leng he throw e co. phone leh, pick oso cannot pocket.. hehe..

JP, mwahhahaha... the hair on my arms stood. Whenever I tell my hubby he's not romantic, he'll also say something corny like that. And I always end up laughing non stop as well.

I dunno how those actors / actresses can say things like that on screen and keep a straight face lor. Lines like, "You complete me" told to me with a straight face will always have me laughing my head off.

ellysia
mine tested w fade positive when i suspect i am preg..
spotting when confirm preg
doc cant c sac when 1st scan so afraid of etopic
then hor low.. aiyo forgot e term liao
after tt luckily foetus climb up but hor cannot hear heart beat
then think i got xx placenta
uti
high blood and detect protein in urine..etc
return all e medical terms to doc liao..

Ellysia, don't fret. I'm in it with you. my tummy is flabby still. actually the tummy fats is tummy fats. the uterus is the uterus. our uteruses should be back to original size liao. :p but fats are hard to lose. the excess skin also.

JP, thanks so much for the article!

ioio, JP, we are very blessed to have our little ones with us now. that's all that matters right? I read something before.. think it makes alot of sense - when a baby is born, so is a mother. Now that I'm a mother, I find myself stretched in ways I've never imagined able.. and I keep on discovering and rediscovering myself day after day. I'm also seeing things from a baby's POV. I thank Matthew for this.

Seems like quite a few of us with complicated pregnancies. I'm thankful our babies are all well and healthy now.

I was also spotting with low progesterone levels. Bled quite badly once and was afraid I had lost the baby. Was on progesterone pills for the whole of 1st tri will 2nd tri. Am glad everything is over now. And when I see Isabel, I feel that it's all worth it. All the puking, water retention, pain everywhere... so so worth it.

ioio, is it placenta previa? Where the placenta is low lying or blocking the cervical opening?

ioio, so old already still throwing tantrum. Hopefully he breaks the office phone, then cannot get replacement till 1 month later. We'll see if he still continues throwing phones around then.

ioio, Ellysia, KKreme &amp; cactus - Thanks!
Ya, its water under the bridge liao...now, I am so thankful to have my #1 and #2.

ioio - Aiyoh, so old still throws tantrum? *fanited*

KKreme - Talking about the movies, one of my friends married a Korean guy. She kept telling us, all lies, all lies, real life Korean men are NOT like in the KDramas...ha!ha!