(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">veniz.. ur half day start from wat time? or u r home already?</font></font>

KK, haha, dun say her till her butt so big ok.

ioio, i only have half day off tomorow afternoon. still working on Friday and next week from 3rd day of CNy. No extra offdays given this year.

Shinely, it could be night terrors. My boy has had 2 or 3 episodes so far. You can google night terrors to find out more. From what I understand, it happens to young children, happens within 4 hours of bed time, when they cry, they are still asleep.

But when they calm down, they are awake or may continue sleeping. Often, they cannot remember the episode. There is a medical term to it. something about the brain function. but it is not an illness per se. Erm, they cry so loudly it is as if they are in pain, but what is important is to hold them, and let the episode pass. It is not necessary to wake them up from the crying. They are unable to control the episode.

night mares happen often after more than 4 hours has passed since bedtime. It is hard to wake a child up from night terrors, but it is easier to wake them up from a night mare. that's the difference between night terrors and night mares.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">veniz.. sotong me.. thought tis afternoon.. ooh forgot to buy tea again.. ;p

shinely some time can be due to other reason.. like tummy got wind..etc.. try ways and methods and find the cause if one doesnt work lor.. jux share lah.. i am not expert anyway.. ;p</font></font>

oh cactus,

Me yesterday bb cry till like that, i go try wake her and play with her...
So tonight i must be prepare le... hope the teething gel is effective.

ioio, aiyo, why you always forget to buy tea? Hehee. I bought my coffee in 'blood bag' just now when I went down to get my lunch. Eating lunchie now.

Shinely, I read somewhere that night terrors might be due to too much activities during the day cos the bb cannot decipher what he/she is seeing. So at night, these come back to them and causes them to be scared.

shinely, yah, like other mummies have shared, there are several reasons for a bb crying at night - teething (can you feel the teeth/hardness along the gums? usually if your bb cry so much at night, she will also be slightly fussy during the day and the gel should help), wind (does she pass out gas often), separation anxiety at night (if she wakes up, and cries when she doesn't see anyone at night), nightmare, or night terror. From what you shared, it may be night terror. I've experienced it, and it was very scary for me... Matthew cried till his lungs were going to burst.. like a very very bad nightmare, but his eyes were closed throughtout the entire episode. No matter what I did, carry him, talk to him, shout at him, he couldn't wake up.. his eyes continued to be closed. After a couple of minutes (perhaps 5 minutes.. the longest 5 minutes of my life!), he opened his eyes, and everything was normal again. He was calm and no longer continued crying and settled back to sleep very quickly, as if nothing happened. The next day, I spoke to my colleague who told me it's prob a night terror. I did some research and discovered it was prob it.

KK, my colleague told me that too. I also think there's some truth to it - those occassions Matthew has a night terror, he was very active during the late afternoon (very playful!), but an article I read said no connection.. so dun know who to believe...

Cactus, I agree. My girl has never had a night terror although there were some times she moaned in her sleep or woke up screaming. I realised that she had those when my in laws brought her out the whole day and ignored the tired signs she displayed for her nap. They were more interested in showing her off to the various aunties and uncles and bringing her shopping than staying at home.

But when we kept a close eye on her and put her to sleep in the afternoons when she's tired. Then try to keep things more quiet around her in the late afternoons, she'll usually sleep very well the whole night.

For Matthew, he was fussy (day time) for about 1 week. during the nights, during that 1 week, he woke up crying on 2 occassions (about 1 day apart). Then he was okay. When he was fussy, his teeth was just about to come out. Can feel on the gum, hard hard. But once the tooth breaks, okay already. not fussy, also won't wake up at night. Erm, usually, the bb will be most uncomfortable when the first teeth come out (not used to it), if more than 1 tooth comes out (say, bottom 2 appear at the same time), or when the back tooth appears (these are larger, and the gums are the most sensitive there).

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">veniz.. cos i walk here.. walk there.. see tis see tt so forgot.. jux bought teething biscuit.. wat is blood bag?

cactus.. that's sound scary oso...

shinely.. bb got wind.. did u put ruyi oil for him.. me/caretaker every day after bath will apply on his tummy and foot no matter got wind or not.. at nite when u abt to change diaper.. maybe u can rub some on his tummy again.. </font></font>

oh, Matthew's bottom 2 teeth appeared at the same time when he was 5.5 months. We applied teething gel once in the day and once at night when it was the worst. There were days and nights, we never apply at all. in total, we prob applied about 10 times or less.

What I read on babycenter.

How are night terrors different from nightmares?

Nightmares happen during rapid eye movement (REM) or dream sleep. A child who's had a nightmare is likely to have a fairly clear idea of what scared him, though he probably won't be able to articulate his fright until he's about 2. He may also be afraid to fall back asleep, and in the morning, he'll probably remember that he had a bad dream.

What should I do when my toddler has a night terror?

Of course, your first instinct will be to comfort him, but your efforts will most likely be futile (remember, he's not really awake and he's not aware of your presence). You just have to wait it out and make sure he doesn't hurt himself. Don't speak to him or try to soothe him, and don't try to shake or startle him awake or physically restrain him — all of which could lead to more frantic behavior. In 15 to 20 minutes, your child should calm down, curl up, and fall into a deep sleep again.

Is there anything I can do to prevent night terrors?

There are several steps you can take to reduce the chances that your toddler will have night terrors. First, make sure that he's getting enough sleep, since children who go to bed overtired are more likely to experience these sleep disturbances. To avoid fatigue, extend your toddler's nap time, let him sleep a little later in the morning, or put him to bed earlier at night. And be sure to schedule plenty of time for calming bedtime rituals, such as a bath, a song, a book, and lots of cuddling.

Since night terrors usually occur during the first part of the night, you could also try gently rousing your toddler after he's been asleep for an hour or two — about 15 minutes before the typical episode would start. This should alter his sleep pattern enough to head off the night terror at the pass

I dunno how many of us can bear not to soothe or comfort our child when he/she is crying their heart out. I guess, just be more gentle and aware that they are still asleep and may wake up more scared than anything else.

ioio, I was very scared when Matthew had his first night terror. cry until lungs burst that type loh.. constant wailing at high pitch! then I decided to read up on night terrors to arm myself with info to cope if it happenes again. I think it happened 1 or 2 more times.

shinely,

once tooth come out, pain will stop and so less fussy. it is the time when the teeth abt to come out (feel edgy) and gum swollen then they fussy.

if u apply the gel 1-2 times and stop crying, it means its teething.

sometimes we also trial and error. apply and see if crying got stop. if stop means teething. if no stop means other reason.

My boy has 5 teeth ored.. tink the 6th teeth coming up soon cos recently also fussy.

The upper 2 teeth is the worst so far.. keep crying and need to apply gel 3 times then will stop awhile. Bite me until got mark on my arm and shoulder. even bite my hb's fren when she carry him.

now, when Matthew cries when it is night time,the first thing I do is to look at the clock. If it's within 4 hours from his bedtime, I just pat him, and watch over him to make sure he doesn't hurt himself, and pat him back to deep sleep. If it is over 4 hours, I will carry him and comfort him from his night mare.

me was waiting for her first tooth, now tooth appearing liao, and i encounter her crying like mad, i start to feel so stress and scare liao.keke..
Im sure a lousy mummy.

cactus,

first is lower 2 teeth (right first then follow by left).

upper right come out first then follow by upper left, both closely together. lower 3rd teeth is also v close, around 1 week apart.

ioio, heehee, you are so cute. Blood bag is actually what my british sales director called when we first bought him coffee in plastic bag from the coffee shops. He said it looks like packet of blood bag, esp with the plastic straw sticking out.

On sudden cry in middle of night, its either discomfort (teething, warm room, etc) and also nightmare. I had my fair chances on this type of crying when my son was younger, occassionally, he still does have nightmare, dream talking, flapping his hands and legs over and around surface of bed, etc. All these are normal, but for very young kiddos, if these continues for a few nights, mainly maybe teething problem, not well, had a very active day, or got scared during the time he/she was awake, etc.

Ellysia, Yuzhe's teeth came out really quickly! Matthew's bottom 2 appeared at the same time. He was rather cranky for that 1 week.. :p Still waiting for his other teeth to appear. Seems quite slow considering his bottom 2 appeared at 5.5months.

I'm still waiting for Isabel's teeth to come out. I can sort of see some whitish bumps on her lower jaw. Hoping it won't be as bad as you ladies describe.

Which reminds me, I'd better go stock up on Dentinox.

Tat time my boy teething for first 2 teeth, he woke up 4 times in a night. I keep latching tot he is hungry. The following day then we suspect is teething. apply gel the next day and smooth smooth. tats around 5.5mths

Then come upper 2 teeth, around 7mths. Keep biting and waking in the night time. apply gel twice and still cry. apply another time then ok, but after 1 hr cry again. whole tube also finish. super fussy! then appear 2 teeth, we tot settle liao but how come still mild fussy, then come 5th teeth. now still fussy, i tink 6th teeth coming soon.

Shinely, I can't recall exactly cos the tooth just grows and grows.. bit by bit. It won't strike you until it is completely out until you one day notice the increased size of the tooth! Matthew's bottom 2 teeth probably took about 2 or 3 weeks to completely grow out.. from the time a bit of white was noticed to the 2 full tooth.

When teething my boy will bite when latching, bite my arm, bite my shoulders... bite anything. a lot of saliva. keep screaming for no reason.

Ellysia, so funny! The way you describe it!
I wonder if Matthew's teeth will appear soon not. he is coming to 7 months now.
His bottom 2 appeared when he was 5.5months too

Jan,
tat me and veniz also thought of doing the mass bday at there and yet to go their website to c lor but think better for kids like 2yr old above lor.

Dentinox gel run out v fast in pharmacy, better stock up!..

Teething pains usually took 2 weeks to subside.

U will feel the edge and see white thing on gum.. then take around few weeks to fully see a complete tooth.

har har har....need to long to grow out a whole tooth... siao liao. Mine now can't even see it can only feel a small sharp thing already cry like mad liao..Ooh no.....i hate baby teething process...

Shinely, don't mind me saying this... I learnt from personal experience... sometimes, when bb cry, it is the adults who find it hardest to cope... our bbs won't remember a thing about a previous crying episode loh. what's important is to learn more about our bbs (cos every child is so different) so that we can be better mummies because we understand them better through our sensitivity towards them. that's how I see it. we can't stop our bbs from crying, but we can try to pre-empt crying episodes by learningup more in advance, and where we can't control or prevent (despite regular naps and quiet afternoons/evenings, night terrors still occur), we must not be upset or give up yeah?!

Shinely, does your gal cry consistently? regularly? like a few times during day also? Or was it a one off crying episode during the night? If it is consistent (need not be often), it may be teething!

hi ladies !!! i'm soooo swamped at work . and i've got an awful coll who made some terrible comments abt mothers and erm... well, nevermind, am here to vent a little :p