(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">k ong.. time flies!!! few month later will be 1 year celebration liao ;p</font></font>

oh quick question, have u started your babies on semi solids yet ?
i'm probably going to do so at 8 mths - or at least when he can sit up unassisted. he's still a bit wobbly when i put him tripod seating.
*timber****** and he topples over - quite cute. heehee

ioio : indeed !!!
haahaa, how are you ?

i think those netting can be bought at chinatown ? there are some small shops along hong kong street near boat quay that sells handicraft items

JP,

nice article on the stay at home mum.

In fact, i do agree esp on the part of no proper lunch hour and no proper time to go toilet. when i am at home alone taking care of bb, usu my lunch is a very fast one and i dun have time to go loo resulting in constipation.

And i do agree tat kids doesn't behave just bec mum is at home taking care 24hrs. My mum is a housewife n i can see tat it resulted in few friends and life being surrounded by kids only.. and doesn't mean we are v filial also.

cactus,

my boy also sleep around 11hrs like yrs.. but usually weekday we have to wake him up at 6am and we come back late (so he also sleep late), he doesn't have the 11hrs sleep. He only have it during weekends n hols.

feifei,

Yest i let my boy try the mag mag cup with straw top and he can actually drink water from the straw. he is amazed on how it works, he at first swallow a lot and it spill out on his top.. then later he learn to sip it slowly.. haa. so i manage to coax him to drink water bec' he doesn't want to take water from feeding bottle.

cactus - When I first started, I gave a small soup bowl (you know the ones where the chinese restaurant will use for soup) and then its up to BB on how much he/she will eat. As for fish, I will flake it and add in 1 tbsp.

Warrior_angel - Glad to share!

Felicia - I love rompers. Me very chin-chay one. For DD, wear rompers and if go gai-gai, just put on a skirt with her rompers still on...ha!ha! My mandarin also sucks big time. Most of the time, at home we speak English and a mix of Cantonese and Peranakan. For my #1, he goes to N1 now. Never gone for any classes coz I homeschool him. Am thinking of sending him for Chinese Lang classes as an add-on.

shycloud - No worries lah! For girls, petite is A-OK. Can you imagine ppl mistook my DS for a 1 year old plus when he is already 2 plus. He is average height (coz DH only shoot up like bamboo when he was in Sec1) of 86cm.

Tera - Calm down! ((hugs)).... I kena few times like that...haiz! Cannot say much also...((( music on ....have a break, have a kit-kat))). Is your boy teething again? They tend to be more sticky when teething.

Fennie - Same here...kiasu to the max. Me tend to buy bigger clothes coz can last longer. For my #2, lagi charm, she wears hand-me-downs except for skirts.

Sharon - You are welcome!

MLP - I guess it is coz you have been without it since you were PG, right? Ikea Alexandra far a bit for me compare to the one in Tampines. The malay food shoik hor!!! Aiyoh, want to go liao.

KOng - Welcome back!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">k ong.. tks tks!!

i started at 4+ .. a soft start.. actual start should be 6 month... most mummies here giving puree and cereal liao...

it can really be a mess when feeding them... ha ha.. mine alway suck his thumb and even toes in between the feeds..

hi hi.. old folk tales.. have anyone heard about
1. using table clothe at other pp house without them knowing to wipe bb mouth to stop the drooling?

2. gg pp toilet without them knowing and using the "shui gon" to knock their chin 12 times to stop bb drools??

anyone tries? does it works?</font></font>

Ellysia - Thanks!
I actually e-mailed it to my DH and he agrees too coz he had to become a SAHD for 1 day (when I was sick)...ha!ha!

oh my ! am catching up on the back pages ! heehee, congratz Cactus !!! are u due like this yr ??? Aug ?? well done !!!

babycupid : hahaaa, thanks thanks, i'm prob starting at 8 mths la ... too lazy to bring food out when i go out with baby - still total breastfeeding, and he only takes 600ml when i'm away at work, so my supply still can keep up with his demand

ioio - Don't know about old folk tales. However, talking about drooling, it really depends on a baby. My #1 drooled alot compare to my #2. It will stop once they master the art of eating solid food.

K Ong - I know a Mom who feeds her kids with Heinz Bottle Food and Baby Bites and they grew up well also. I guess it depends on the individual.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">JP.. really? once they master eating solid food will stop drool.. mine drool a lot... started ard 3 months+... jux upgrade from bogeh club.. ;p </font></font>

shycloud,

people sometimes mistaken tat my boy is 9mths old liao....

K Ong,

we have ored started liao.

me start for 1 mth liao.

ioio...
ask me! ask me! my MIL sure will tell me diff types of old sayings...she very "good" in it! (pun intended)

but i heck care lah! but i haven heard of 2. before...

i strongly believe drooling is part of teething process...

ioio - Yup, my #1 drooled alot last time. Then when he mastered the art of eating solid food, his drooling stopped too. Also, babies tend to drool more when teething.

ioio,

drooling is due to teething lah..my boy drools more when he is teething and reduce when not.

JP,

my MIL feed my hb with baby jar..
whilst my mum use homemade food throughout bec' no money to buy baby jar tat time.

so my mil is so used to baby jar.. she tink nothing wrong with it.

today i just realise she actually has a blender at home but she keep it away cos seldom use. so actually if she want to make puree she can make too.. but she rather use baby jar.. zzzz.. so i make my own and take over.. but i dun have time to make so many.. so still using baby jar + homemade food.

hoping to intro porridge soon then can cut down on the baby jars.

ioio - To ease your mind, please check out this article from labouroflove:

Why Do Babies Drool?

Babies drool, we all know it. Some babies drool more than others, but in general all babies drool and they drool a lot. Thanks to bibs most babies can at least keep their clothes dry throughout the day, but without a bib a baby will be soaking wet from his own drool in no time flat. Its just the way babies are and everyone knows that. But, are you aware of the reason why babies drool so often? Maybe not. Consider the answer below so the next time you see your baby drooling you will better understand why it is happening.

Most babies begin teething when they are between six and eight months of age. However, lots of babies begin drooling non-stop around three months of age. As a new parent you will probably hear a lot of other folks saying that he is just teething and you will think they are crazy because your baby is only a few months old and wont be teething for a while yet. Nevertheless, the teething comment actually has some merit.

Even though the tooth does not actually come through the gum until six to eight months of age, it begins traveling upwards much earlier. Frequently, around three months of age you will notice your little one begins to drool at an amazing rate, wetting bibs every time you turn around. What happens is when the tooth begins traveling through the gum it catalyzes saliva production, which in turn means your baby starts to drool!

Another reason why babies drool so much around this age is because it helps them grow and develop. This seems unbelievable, but it is true. Stomach acid is neutralized by the saliva, the babys intestinal lining is further developed from all that drool, and heals the esophageal lining that may become very irritated from spitting up regularly. In addition, drool has special enzymes that will help your baby begin to digest solid food when he starts eating it around four to six months of age.

Amazing, I know. Who would have thought that all that annoying drool actually played some important roles in the babys development? So, the next time you put a bib on your baby that covers up that really cute outfit remember that your baby isnt just drooling to annoy you. He is drooling because its part of what his little body needs to do at the time to help him grow and develop.

Hi K Ong! Yup, most of us started semi solids. My boy fussy. dun like potatos alone, and dun like porridge with anything. So I mix some potato with carrot/pumpkin/broccoli. The carrot and pumpkin is because it's too sweet.. so give some potato with it. broccoli is so that the potato can give the broccoli some form. I have given asparagus alone. Also gave bananas, blueberries, peach, nectarine already. So far so good.
I started my boy on semi solids a couple of days short of him being 6 calendar months. You mentioned that you want to wait till 8 months before starting semi solids? You may want to speak to the PD regarding this because from what I understand, our bbs' iron levels will drop from birth but up to 6 months at least, their iron levels are still ok cos they got it from us via placenta during pregnancy. but after 6 months, the iron levels may no longer be adequate for our bbs.. that's the reason why commercial cereals are fortified with iron. If you do plan to wean your bb later, you may want to rush through the food groups cos nutrition will be more important - less likelihood of allergies for an older bb so you may relax with the 4 day test esp for the less allergenic food items. I'm currently giving BM still. expressing and giving frozen supply cos my boy is drinking about 950ml/day over 3 semi solid meals. JP posted a comment from a website - that bbs should be taking between 24 to 32 ounces per 24 hours + semi solids. That works out to 710ml to 950ml (approx) of milk. My PD said 950ml is okay for my boy. A ST article I cut out last year suggested 750ml per day from 7 months to 2 years old, over and above food. Hope this info helps!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">shycloud.. yalor yalor...agree... but i wonder whether it works huh.. else if it doesn't .they sld hv stop spreading the tales... not only one told me.. but two.. three.. and got one more is to use 12 "pon biah" and take one to let him suck.. they sound as if will immediately stop woh...</font></font>

Ellysia - I guess to each its own lah as the saying goes. My DH grew up eating porridge. Til today his comfort food is porridge. So, to him, porridge is the best. He doesn't allow me to feed #1 and now #2 anything from a jar...ha!ha! As for my parents, my Mom can't understand coz she fed me with jar food and she kept saying "My girl still strong like an ox and only falls sick once a year".....the debate about this is still on-going at my house...LOL

K Ong, if your boy "timbers" over, and you would like him to get started on semi-solids, one way is to get him into a bumbo chair. You can buy or rent one.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">thanks for all the info.

my mil once ask me to do massage for bb to stop the drool.. as if i am a chinese doctor.. i say i dunno how.. and she ask me go find out but i oso noe bb drool cos of teething.. nothing to worry... but u noe.. lah.. think shycloud noe the best!! hee...</font></font>

K Ong - As my #2 fell ill from 5th Dec and only recovered on the last week of Dec, I only started feeding her solid recently. Started her off with Frisco Rice Cereals for lunch only. Once she got into the momentum of eating, added in veggies like carrot and greens. Now, she is eating solid for lunch and dinner. Also do the 3 day test thingy just in case have allergies reaction. As for my girl, I place her on the Ikea high chair. Hope this helps!

JP,

ya lor.. i also cannot understand..then my hb say feed baby jar is ok.

u know.. when i see from this forum tat so many people are cooking for their babies.. me feel v guilty bec i been giving baby jars. it seem like i am the only one giving baby jar. i try to cook but its kind of hard sometimes when bb want to look for me and i have no helper at home, except to ask my hb to help. weekdays night quite hard to prepare bec' i get home v late due to need to fetch bb back from mil house.

then my bb easy wake from noise.. i use the blender so noisy.. so also hard to cook when he is asleep.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. not all can sit in bumbo.. like mine will use his strength to stretch his body and trying to get out of it.. ;p</font></font>

K Ong,

baby chairs have straps which will help to stabilise.. as long as bb can hold up head well then can feed liao. dun have to wait until can fully sit up well.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. frozen cubes can keep for at least a month, just thraw in fridge and warm it can serve liao...</font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">i tried apple.. quite ok but i think peas doesnt really freeze well... sld try again and see...</font></font>

Ellysia, I know this sounds gross, but mashed banana freezes well (if you dun mind the change in colour). There's no change in taste. peach and nectarines are good too.

thks to this forum and mag, i realise i can transport the homemade puree to my mil house.. me v cuckoo, i tot cannot transport so i only prepare for weekend consumption at my own house. thus weekdays use baby jars.

recent weekends v busy cos need to prepare cny.. will let hb take over bb then i go out to buy stuff.

ioio,

previously i dun feel safe using frozen puree.

last weekend i manage to try out frozen cauliflower puree.. so me more confident to try out more homemade puree. but no time to prepare so many i tink, so maybe still have to supplement by baby jars. hoping to phase out by next mth when start porridge.

Ellysia - Just give your very best to your precious and shower lots of TLC. My Mom always say I am a baby jar food kid...ha!ha!

ioio,

peas i find no incentive to prepare homemade bec' frozen peas also not v fresh. so may as well use baby jar. i find healthytimes ok bec they have no fillers.

cactus : thanks for the info !!! yupyup, i wld start him on iron fortified cereal first.
that's what i did for my #1 too

at his monthly checkups, the PD has been giving him the ok (weight wise, growth and erm, complexion - cuz the only way to tell if baby does not have enough iron is wte he is pale ! heee)
wow 950ml is a lot !!!
i remember my girl was taking 1litre ! heehee, for my boy, he's generally content with 200ml each feed and at 4 hourly intervals - he sleeps at 7ish and wakes at 5am for a direct feed before i go to work

wow, your boy has been introduved to so much food ! sounds yunmmy !!
have u started him on meats ? can do pork and beef and of course fish too - if you want to start seafood, u sld wait till he is past 1 yr old

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellysia.. i nv keep so last.. the most a week.. by so far only few days...

cabbage.. sound interesting.. want to try this week.. </font></font>

cactus,

my mum told me not to give banana often bec not v good for bb.. too liang. i will give peach and nectarine a try

ioio,
how u defroze it?

ellysia,
i oso tinking of freeze it lor but still tinking cos tot of refreezing abit troublesome..

K Ong, my boy doesn't take cereal... :p Yeah. 950ml is alot. He's 90th percentile for height and weight now. Prior to being given semi solids, he was taking about 1.2l BM per day. I've not started meats yet but planning to start fish soon. I delayed because I started semi solids relatively late (compared with other mummies on this thread who gave cereal before 6 months), and I was worried about constipation so I bumped up my boy's diet with alot of fibre in the form of root vegs and fruit, and less carbs. So far, he's not been constipated and I plan to intro fish when he turns 7 months. will intro pork and chicken when he turns 8 months and beef at 9 months. thanks for the tip about seafood. Yup, I plan to wait till 1 year for shellfish.

Ellysia/Cactus : thanks for the tips

i have a fischerprice chair for my #1, which she doesn't wanna sit in anymore :p so that can go to #2, and #1 can sit with us at the dining table ...

Ellysia : awww, there's nothing wrong with jar food !!! I think it's quite yummy actually ! haahaa
but if u dont wann use the blender, you can try to boil the foodstuff till it is very tender, and use the pigeon spoon and bowl to manually mash it - they sell this great bowl with a rough bottom on the inside of the bowl that you can mash the food against - the attached spoon holds onto the cover of the bowl so it's very handy to bring out

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">babycupid.. i brought it down from freezer to fridge few hours before i want to give.. after took out from fridge, i use pigeon food warmer to warm it..</font></font>

Ellysia, I usually give bananas on alternate mornings. 1 ice cube. His breakfast is usually 2 cubes peach or nectarine, 4 blueberries or 1 ice cube of banana. Bananas can cause constipation so not good to give in large amounts but should give in small amounts also to avoid fussy eater. Bananas have a strange texture that not every bb likes. My boy is slow to eat bananas but very fast with the rest of the fruits.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">ellyia.. ooh.. ok i will rem.. actually want to try brocolli and carrot oso.. think his favourite is still apple..

cactus.. peach? how u make it? the hairy hairy one right?</font></font>

ioio...
i dun wanna try and dun wish to follow!...if it works, my MIL will sure brag abt it! haha
one ear in one ear out lor...

Felicia, ya, PCF offers 4yrs from nursery and above. Some centres have Pre-nursery, you have to check the PCF website for the info. For enrichment classes, it depends on individual centre's arrangement. So far, for my son, he attended phonic cum english during his nursery year. Now in K1, he has to go for 3 enrichment classes, which my mil is not too happy about.

Shycloud, i think i will give him when he is 8 or 9yrs old. I think can only take at most 2 or 3 times, cannot too many times leh, coz its too heaty.

ioio, I don't peel the peach. I will core the peach, cut it into segments, add a bit of water so that it can be more easily blended, and throw into the blender to puree.
I make nectarines in the same way. 4 small peaches or nectarines can make about 26 ice cubes or peaches or nectarines.

cactus,

i give pang jio banana before but my boy is quite neutral to it.

he like earthbest apple n i wonder wat apples they use to make..

peach do u remove the skin?