(2008/06) June 2008

ioio...
i scared too concentrated leh...cos i rem i din add in water to thin the apple puree...quite sweet lor...so which puree must add water leh?

i wanna try pumpkin this few days...heh hope she loves it.

ellysia...
thanks...will have to trial and error for other fruits and veges.

any idea how much to feed a day for fruits/vege? twice a day ok? can i intro 1 food and 1 vege at the same time?

Yah, Ellysia. Just have to find ways to cope and coax bb to drink milk loh. I find that he tends to be hungry, but still hard to feed him milk.. just have to find ways to coax him.

shycloud,

I read that we are supposed to only introduce one new food item each time.

I'm currently feeding 2 cubes of peach/1 cube of banana for breakfast.
lunch is heavier. 1 cube potato, 2 cubes broccoli.
dinner is lighter with 2 cubes pumpkin.

I think it's not only the quantity but the type of food that matters. I give 2 cubes of peach or 1 cube of banana cos banana is more filling and stays in the stomach longer than peach.
Also, broccoli is not as filling as pumpkin.. so I mix it with potato (my boy doesn't take porridge or cereal...he doesn't take potato alone either but I need something to feed the broccoli with.. to hold the fluffy mashed florets!)

So far, my boy's poo is very soft. still breastmilk type of poo's consistency. It is also more frequent. When he's on BM only, he poos every 3 days. now he poos sometimes twice a day, or every alternate day. no constipation. I think cos I only give a little banana and have not introduced meat. I also give little carbs. most of it is actually pumpkin and brocolli.

morning ladies,
i fed my boy spinach puree today. he seems to like it more than cereal leh..
they say if bb turns head away means enough food/dun like right..but my boy keeps turning his head left and right non stop leh...

cactus,
can i ask u ah..when u freeze the puree into cubes..straight away u put into freezer, or must cool down first?
also when u take it out ah, u put in microwave to thaw it?
paiseh, im learning how to do all those stuff

my boy poo so much this morning that he dirtied the whole Bumbo seat! and his whole shirt all poo...

may i ask how do we know if bb is allergic to certain food? 4 day eat the same food continuously izzit? then if nothing means ok?

The pics are so cute! How come all your bbs are so nice & round while my boy is so long & lean.

I constantly worry abt whether his food & milk intake is sufficient.

Do any of u have problem with bb getting sick of his food? He seems to be bored with his solids liao, but there isn't a lot more that i can intro. H's only 7mths. Meat & fish not appropriate yet right?

Hi Shimin, I think to prevent bacteria from multiplying, it is better to immediately freeze the food. I usually put into freezer immediately, although I know it may cause my freezer to "work very hard" and may cause it alot of "strain". But I do check the pureed broccoli cos sometimes the stems may still be very hard.. so I still mash it all through the strainer.. when I'm done, the broccoli is already cold!! But for other things like pumpkin (and carrot which I'm planning to try next), I cook it piece by piece so it's fresh. no need to puree in a batch. It's possible with pumpkin and carrot cos we can peel it, and cut it into small piece before cooking it. Some mothers cook these in steamer. I used to use steamed, but recently changed to baking them instead.

When I take it out, I put it in my bottle warmer to thaw and warm up. You can also microwave but you should always stir it well before testing the temperature cos microwave tends to heat the food unequally.

<font color="0000ff">star, i have email u my orders liao. thks for ordering for me.</font>

shycloud,

how much to feed depends on individual baby.
for new food, i usu start with only 5 spoonful amount (baby spoon) for first day. 2nd to 4th day i feed more quantity depending on whether bb like or not.

Its best to intro one new food for 3-4 days before u intro another new food. so if there is any allergy u will know wat food cause it and u can stop feeding once it happen. allergy usu occur v fast around half an hr to 24hrs, can be rashes, vomitting, diarroae, gassy. as for food intolerance, it usu occur slower thus u need the 3-4 days to monitor.

for new food i usu give once a day. other food which he has been eating more than 1 week i may increase the quantity if i give 1 feed, or i may give 2 feeds. nowadays i usu feed cereal + 1 or 2 veg puree + 1 or 2 fruit puree, total is 4 food items per day but break into 2 meals, as my boy is going to be 7mths soon. For example, last 4 days i been intro banana to my boy. so on fri, he took cereal + pea in the morning, then banana + prune in the afternoon. Why i give prune is bec banana is constipative and thus prune will helps. also i give around 20ml water after cereal feed. if i didn't feed cereal i usu dun give water. Pea and prune he has taken before in past weeks.

Ellysia,
thks..actually i dunno if it's allergy, cos my son's eczema seems to be coming back. small spots on his chest..wonder if it's bcos of food or bcos im not religious in moisturising these days..

soo, some pple say can start fish at 7 months, others say wait till 8 months. I plan to intro fish at 7months but intro meat only at 8 months. you may want to consider if you bb is prone to constipation. if he is, you may want to wait a bit longer before intro meat, esp.. cos meat is very high in iron. although it is good to give some water, not good to give too much to "remedy" constipation cos water takes up space in bb's small stomach too.

cactus,
the baby cube u buy from where? i just ordered 1 from BP..
then when u go out do u bring ur bottle warmer out to thaw the cubes?

cactus,

for fish, according to the list given by my pd, it says to start at 9mths. i didn't read anywhere tat can start at 7 or 8 mths.

anyway, cos my boy has eczema, i intend to let him start at 10mths or 11 mths.

ok thks..
haiz..im so tired these days..my boy's been waking up at 3.30am AGAIN...and crying every hour..i applied Denitox leh..but doesnt seem to help..

soo, I only started weaning my bb last week.. on 20 Dec. My experience on this is much more limited than other June mommies.. some of them weaned their bb's over a month ago!
But there is a list of vegs and fruit that I'm waiting to try for my boy... you may want to consider if you want to try them out too before introducing fish/meat to add variety to your bb's diet.

I've tried brown rice porridge, cereal, potato, pumpkin, broccoli, peach and banana. My bb rejected porridge and cereal, and I'm guilty of rushing through the food groups without waiting out the 4-day period! :p
I'm going to try carrot and nectarine next.
Others that I plan to try before introducing fish is asparagus, papaya, honeydew,spinach (puay leng) and avocado. I feed one orange coloured food and one green coloured food per day.. so bb gets a variety of nutrition when he eats fruit and veg.

Ellysia, I didn't read anywhere that can start fish at 7 or 8 months. I said in my earlier post, that "people say". My MIL, my grandma, my mom said loh. :p I go see if any internet articles not!

Shimin,
i usually steam, puree with water, then straight into freezer. Nutrients are all locked in if u freeze asap. Some believe in cooking small amounts daily rather than freezing, but i'm too busy to cook everyday. Make sure your blender &amp; freezing tray can take higher temperature though.

When prepping to eat, bring frozen cubes down from freezer to lower fridge to thaw. Never thaw in normal room temp. Bacteria multiplies.

I normally drain out melted water, mixed in a scoop of milk powder, cereal &amp; hot water to "liquify" it. If ur bb hates milk by now, just water also ok coz cereal is iron-fortified anyway. Hope this helps

Ellysia,
I never though abt prunes. His poo is really hard these days. No amt of water helps. I even tried china barley, but he hates the taste. Where do you get the prunes? The preserved kind or fresh ones? Sour or not?

shimin,

bb biscuits shd be fine and tasteless, no added salt bah.

soo,

so far u intro wat food ored? there r many food to intro before 9mths.

Ellysia, I just did a Google search. The first hit I got was a babycenter article. they say can give fish when bb is at least 6 months old. So maybe don't need to wait till 9 months? But this is because of allergies. I think maybe your PD recommend that you start fish after 9 months cos your boy is prone to ezcema? It's better to follow your PD's advice cos internet articles are all just general advice. Every child is different.

soo,

i get gerber prune baby jar, cheap less than $2 per jar and u can keep for 48hrs in fridge once the jar is open. its effective for constipation. or u can try prune juice but i tink the prune puree is more effective. when my boy didn't poo for 2 days, i let him take for 2 days and he poo liao. since then prune is quite regular esp if i intro constipative food such as banana, and cereal also constipative. so eat prune really helps. better than water.

water only give 10-20ml if constipation. dun give too much cos it will fill up stomach.

cactus,

the list pd give me is for normal babies, with no allergy history. if got allergy history shd intro at 1 years old.

cactus,
i also started same day as u..but u introduced so many food liao..me stressed..

soo and cactus,
thks for ur tip..
so far my boy likes my milk..i hope he wont hate it till 2yrs old..haha

may i know where to buy pang chio from supermarket?
everytime i go it's always out of stock...and i lazy to go wet market lah..

Ellysia,
I'v been doing the yellows and some greens - carrots, s potato, pumpkin, butternut squash, potato (failed), broccoli, angmoh spinach, chinese spinach (failed...he pui out), avocado.

Planning to try intro fruits this wk. Prune is gd idea but i really dun like jar food. Hv u tried them yourself? They taste yucky. My boy somehow can taste difference &amp; pui out when i give bottled carrot vs cooked carrot.

He has phlegm from young. Wondering if banana will make it worse...my fren's PD told her to avoid bananas coz he son keeps coughing

Ellysia, I think you should follow your PD's advice. Since you pay $, might as well follow.
My grandma and mom told me to intro fish at 7 months, white fish, cos it's high in protein. I worry about protein intake, so plan to intro at 7 months but meat will come later, cos now my boy gets iron from other veg sources.

Shimin, don't be stressed. Take your time. It's fine. I only tried porridge for 2 meals, and potato for one meal. It wasn't really even one meal. My boy didn't like those. :p My hb's side have sensitive nose, but no other allergy, and we waited till bb was almost 6 calender months before introducing food, so we are quite comfortable that bb will not be allergic to anything so far, so didn't bother to wait the 4 day period.
We will be more careful with eggyolk and diary products though.

u know some ppl said that brown rice too heaty and 'heavy' on baby's gut, so shd not introduce so fast, is it true?
Mrs Wong BB from TMC say must mix 1 serving of BR with 2 servings of white rice..

I came across this nice weaning chart!

http://www.hipp.co.uk/weaningchart/pdf/HippWeaningChart.pdf

Shimin, I just used regular ice tray. I didn't buy baby cubes. I didn't know brown rice is too heaty, but I know it can be harder to digest. yet it is more nutritious than white rice. If you are not keen to mix the rice, you may want to give just brown rice alone, but fill your bb's stomach with veg/fruit that can "relieve" the "heatiness" and you may not need to give so much brown rice too.

feifei...
yeah..just afraid its too sweet...heh but anyway she managed to finished 1 cube of it...so far so good

tat time i chk with u on mixing BR cereal with milk hor...for eg if she's drinking 100ml now...im supposed to add how many scoops of BR? then need to add more milk or water?

Shycloud,
hehe..regarding BR, ur scope is it the friso Fm scope? 1 scope = 30ml is it? normally 100ml is how many scope? add more milk lor..

feifei...
mine is 30ml per scoop. if i add more milk she will not finish...can i just make for eg. 100ml of milk then just add in maybe 2 scoops of BR? i can;t increase the amt cos she wun finish. or i reduce the milk to 80ml then more BR or?

<font color="aa00aa">Wow, our dept is hvin 'slaughtering' since last Friday. Heard tat there'll be another bigger slaughtering session this week. *sigh*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies, can i know anyone still hvin hair loss in large amt?
Mine still dropping tremendously leh, going to be bald liao.</font>

Shycloud,
Is it the 1st time u giving ur ger BR? If yes, I would suggest you to try out 1st cos not all bbs like BR lor. U can put 3 scope of FM = 90ml, then add 1 scope of BR for her to try 1st lor.Amt mantain at 100ml. See if she likes it anot.Then u slowly increase lor..increase the amt of BR, then increase the amt she drinks also slowly.

For my ger hor, her scope also 1 scope = 30ml. I will give her 3 scope of BR + 5scope of FM, total = 240ml now.

When I 1st gave her BR, she was taking 180ml of FM(= 6scope of FM), so I started off with 1 scope of BR + 5scope of FM, then slowly increase to 2 scopes of BR, then mantain at 5scope of FM. This means that my ger increased her intake to 210ml lor.

sounds confusing hor?

shimin,
ahyo, i duno wats e max amt wor..hmm..to me, I just give her cereal in the morning for breakfast, then lunch porridge, next wk will start t give her porridge for dinner too..

Felicia,
oh dear, economy real bad hor..

Me also still dorpping hair..haiz..

<font color="aa00aa">shimin/ feifei,
I bit worry of the hair loss coz during my 1st delivery, my hair dont drop so much lor. Not sure is it coz of i'm still expressing BM.
The amt of hair loss is really terrible. Even i dont comb my hair, will still drop lor. Pray hard it stop soon.</font>