(2008/06) June 2008

MLP,

my bb sometimes will lie down his head too even in high chair. i let him watch cartoon so he will lift his head.

sometimes also bec bb dun want to eat the puree or food. if they dun want, dun force lor. just feed to the amt they want.

Felicia,

actually when steam food for bb, is usu become v soft liao.. so want to use normal mesher also can. but need more work. i am lazy lah, i prefer to use blender. not v costly, for making bb food u dun need a powerful one. can get as cheap as $30.

ellysia,
oh oh.. for me time being i tried to prepare 2 day supplies cos i dun intend to try freezing.. i read frm the website u gave us.. jus refrigerate the food can keep for 48hrs-72hrs.. i will prepare more nex time if i consider to freeze the food.. i tink i will choose to give bottled puree too.. mayb starting nex wk.. kekeke..

Soyabean, I think the fridge is "toshiba". can't be sure. the middle compartment is a separate door altogether. I think more than 1 brand of fridge has this design. So if your parents' is not toshiba never mind. Erm, my parents' fridge's middle compartment has a tempreture knob, which states 0,1,2,3. Then on the inside of the door, it says 0 is 'closed'. 1 is "fridge". 2 is chill. 3 is "freezer". So I just turn the knob to the desired temperature. What I did was to store the milk in a pampers box (can stuff 55 180ml bags in one pampers box). Then put the whole box into this compartment and have "freezer" switched on.

Hi Angel_z, taken your order of 1 MG. Payment i will confirm wif u on the amt again cos I'm waiting for USD to drop a bit then ship to S'pore cos now Borderlinx is using 1.61 & I find a bit high lor.

Wah, every1 giving some form of semi solid food already? My monster still on milk leh. Past 2 days his milk demand increased. Now he's still drinking 4hrly & per feed he's taking either 180ml of BM or 160ml FM.

Mag, my boy still on milk. We're starting semi solids on xmas eve. when he is 6 months old!
He is consuming about 200ml every 4 hourly. TBM. Per 24 hours, he drinks about 1150ml. sometimes up to 1.3litres. sometimes about 1litre.

Mag, there are advantages and disadvantages to giving semi-solids early/later. All depends on our bb's development.

From what I know, bbs with family history or personal history of allergies, should give milk longer. If bbs are given TBM, should also be given longer because of antibodies.

But all bbs should be given semi-solids at 6 months cos bbs lack iron. First 6 months, bb have iron from stores during pregnancy. AFter birth, bb's iron levels drop slowly. At 6 months, bb needs iron from other sources because milk is not high in iron.

Also, if we give semi-solids later, we need to go through the food types quicker than a mother who gave semi-solids earlier. Because bb needs to get nutrition from other sources instead of just cereal/porridge/safer types of root vegs.

Also, some bbs find that milk alone is not enough for them. In such a case, the baby will have lower than 50th percentile weight. The doctor will be able to advice in such a case. They keep on wanting more and more milk. So it's important to monitor overall feed over 24 hours to see if it is an increasing pattern. It isnormal for 6 month old bbs to have a growth spurt. But it is important to differtiate a growth spurt from milk being insufficient. You can tell the difference because growth spurts only last a few days, at most a week. if milk is insufficient because bb needs semi-solids, bb's weight will drop AND bb will continue demanding more and more milk beyond 1 week.

Having said that, it is recommended that bbs be given TBM for 6 months (unless doctor recommends otherwise) and up to 12 months (with semi solids), although studies show that bbs need at least 9 months of BM to derived optimum health benefits/mental development.

So it's a balance we need to strike.

oh, also, some adults give semi-solids (esp the caregivers will push to give semi-solids) cos semi solids is more "filling" for the baby and it is easier for the care-giver to look after the baby instead of coaxing the bb to keep drinking milk every 3 to 4 hours.

Shinely, Avent teat 3 is up to 6 months. teat 4 is from 6 months onwards. Hope this helps!

shinely,
Avent no 3? I also giving my ger this lor..Now i add brown rice into her milk, so using no 3 still but use those for thicker liquids de..hmm..Like that, is it jsut recently ur bb intake drop?

Wah, all the mummies so hardworking, make pure wor. Ai Xin pai one. I lazy mummies, buy off-the-shelf one. ;p

Good afternoon

Home alone now, enjoying ME time

Mag, Cactus, I also havent start my bb on solid yet. But I think he is more than ready for solid though. There is one time my bb took his korkor's waffle(in a plastic bag) and almost reached his mouth liao, then my hb snatch it from him. My bb wail like kena tortured dez. lol

Finally can put up my feet and come in SMH
Just came back from doctor, first time doctor prescribed me to drink coca-cola cos I cant keep any food down, but cannot take much medicine cos still nursing. But milk ss also went down, my bb will have to go on diet tomorrow :p

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, ok. Thanks. Thinking to get my friend's help to buy philips blender coz they have staff's price. I think i'll just get a basic blender for baby food, coz not much use later on oso.
Btw, i read that most babies whom was on semi solid, only take 2-3 spoonful of puree? Or i read wrongly? Only 2-3 spoonful, enuf?
I nvr make puree for my #1 coz tat time i was a weekend parent. And we only let her eat porridge with fish and vege.</font>

mag,
cos my bb 6mths old liao ma.. so solid liao lor.. kekeke..

feifei,
duno which brand yet leh.. mayb heinz.. still tinking.. any brands gd?

Nss,
oh dear...u ok?

Babycupid,
my fren was telling me gerder brand good wor..

Felicia,
for the 1st few tries, can give afew spoonful lor... =).

feifei,
ohh.. gerber.. i saw too.. mayb can try tat..

felicia,
yes.. 1st try really is few spoonful.. but after tat ok le..

my baby is eating healthytimes cereal n she loves it...

its finishing n i tried to buy but everywhere out of stock!

i think ive tried 6 supermarkets also dun ve!

have u seen any??

soyabean: i oso wan to join your private sprees since we stay so near.. i can pop by your place anytime.. heehee.. have added u on msn.. thanks..

nss: aiyo... take care eh..

feifei, I am down with gastric flu. Whole family got it except bb. As a precaution, I sent him to bbsitter today. Actually it is just an excuse for me to have some ME time

Commercial bb puree: I got 2 bottles of Heinz pureed Pumpkin, potato and beef for 4-6months. Intend to let bb tried after I have intro the 3 ingredients separately. Anyone tried Heinz bottle food yet?

Re: Bottled Purees..

I bought Gerber, Heinz and Healthy Times de..

I saw Healthy Times at Cold Storage (Rail Mall, which is quite ulu for some of u) n Carrefour (PS de)..

HTHs

mag: thanks! ya. hopefully the exchange rate will go down.. but lately all the overseas sprees oso ard this rate.. sian..

shinely: my ger is 7mths n she still using avent 2 eh.. cos when i change to avent 3, alot of milk will flow down the sides of her mouth n she will choke too..

so i change back to avent 2..

but this kind of thing depends on individual bb too.. doesn't mean all the me age bb change teats at the same time..

feifei:

i oso bought braun handheld blender.. very good to use, easy to clean (dun have many parts) and small to keep..

jus that i busy so dun get to use it so often.. but u prepare food for your ger so many times a week, u should get 1.. heehee.. n cheap cheap onli..

esther: hahahaha.. u see the word 'spree', got so excited.. hahahahah..

currently mag is having baby cereal spree.. otherwise no spree i think..

angel,
seem like many bbs dun like apple puree.. esp bottled one.. like MLP said her boy disgusted wif bottled apple puree and not her homemade one..

avent still got so many sizes.. NUK only has 1 and 2.. now using size 2 medium hole.. will change to large hole soon..

BBcupid, ya right! My stroller was WET fm yesterday's rain! haha... i recommend u to use stroller last time so u using that now? my hse got an "old" high chair...already call home to ask maid to use that first.

Btw, I went to a party at Globetrotters last Sat and actually Jayden can sit well in their Ikea high-chair. Wa pian, I was super happy lor!!! Cos i don need to carry him. woahaha... He sat there very happy also.

Soya, hehe... we always have a reason to meet up! hiak hiak... Anymore sprees lemme know yah?

Esther, soya organises Old Navy sprees sometimes... can go oldnavy.com to take a look also.

I tried Gerber bottle food (apple puree) b4. taste yummy lei. although my boy super disgusted like tat... woahaha... i finished it off for him!

Thanks angel_z, I will not get any bottled apple juice then. For fresh apple, is it possible just to scrap from the apple with a spoon and give bb without steaming the apple? Do you which type of apple to use?

RE: Washing of Cloth books
I only wash those without electrical parts. Those with, I don't think we can wash. Just don let bb put it to their mouths.

My boy forever reaching his toes if i put him in bumbo seat. if not, he will lean super backwards. cannot sit still one

MLP,
wahahaha.. YEAH! ohoh.. i have try the stroller yet... nw he still sitting at maid lap while i feed.. will try this wkend.. kekeke..
oh gerber... nex time i shld buy n try.. see any diff frm the puree i make! cos i taste my own puree.. i find it abit errr.. still crunchy apple taste nicer!

nss,
i read frm website tat we nd to steam the apple to break dwn the sugar and duno wat.. for easy digest for the bb cos they system still not strong enuff to breakdwn those substance.. only banana, avocado and certain food nd not steam/cook..

nss: bb below 9mths cannot eat raw fruits.. so have to steam or boil 1st..

i use read apples.. green apples not as sweet.. its true.. my bb prefer handmade puree apple rather than bottled ones..

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">hi mummies...

a quick updates.. this public holiday so super tired.. sat afternoon realise bb having fever.. evening went to see doc... fever better after taking med.. midnite rise to 41 degree.. quickly let him take med, wet his body and then bring him to kk A&amp;E at 4am.. wait and wait.. took blood and urine test.. both ok.. then went back at 7am... after that bb is cranky and need a lot of carrying then can zzz...
this morn.. still vomitted a bit of milk and shit a lot (green black) poo after i massage ruyi oil..he nv poo for 3 days liao..

my bb like apple puree.. i gave me yest as he got no appetite for milk.. every feed he laught so loud.. which was so funny.. when he see me scoop the puree, he will laugh and laugh and laugh.. like so happy to hv the apple... </font></font>

Babycupid,
=).

angel,
my bb also likes pear puree =).I bot the handheld blender liao lor, been using it since many wks ago =)..Cos we prepared food for my ger everyday so fully utilised it now lor..hee

As for purees, fruits like banana and papaya, can give raw lor..apples, pears, we try to steam it =D.

soybean n shern,
wow, din know u gers organising BP for healthy times..hehe...we sure support u de! =D.

MLP,
ya lor, i hv 1 music clothbook, my get kept on drooling on it, i see liao bery er xin wan to wash but hor, got wire leh, how to wash leh..

feifei,

I bot healthytimes baby food. bot carrot and pea. stage 1.

esther,

My bb is also taking healthytimes cereal. it is oos last week but this week shd have stock liao. i have order from the sg supplier around 12 boxes n they deliver to me last fri.