(2008/06) June 2008

gd morning mummies!

morning everyone!

crystal,
gwen's sleeptime procedure sounds like lucas', esp the on and off fan part, hehe. but i never use sleeping bag.

<font color="blue">morn ladies,
check wif u all ah..those who always buy things online from those USA website hor..which courier service u all use ah?? i am trying to buy my ameda parts online but they want an america add leh..so i dunno how to continue liao..i checked vpost..but the charges like exp..got other alternatives anot??</font>

<font color="blue">hey ellysia,
i dunno if avent magic cream helps anot..i noe urs is eczema lah..but magic cream does help to clear rashes..i've been using it as a moisturiser also for my baby since his 1st week.. </font>

bizznow,
i use comgateway before, cheaper than vpost, but i have heard they lose packages, so you have to weigh the pro and cons, think the mummies started a thread on this topic in either the bulk purchase or overseas BP, check it out

morning ladies!

finally can squeeze in some time to come here....

teats:
my ger still using Y. i gave her L and she finished her 150ml milk in 2 min!! too fast! so i change back to Y....

<font color="aa00aa">bizznow, so far i only use Vpost, hvnt try oth courier services. I read in the thread mentioned by Fennie, tat most mummies said if small package is good to go via VPost, bulky, heavy type shld use comgateway. But like wat fennie's mentioned that comgateway had quite nbr of lossing packages.</font>

when's the right time to change teat?

i have been using the S sized teat till recently, i changed to a M size

what is Y size anyway?

i am testing out borderlinx right now. it seems easier to use than vpost. and i love the fact there's someone i can chat with regarding my purchases 24/7

cust service is def way better. less steps in ordering compared to v post, and slightly cheaper some more
only condition is you need to have a citibank credit card

<font color="blue">hey felicia,fennie,tailwhack
thks for the info ah..i think i shall stick to vpost..hehe..i scared parcel lost lah..and i hv UOB CC so can get 20% disc..

Mag,
thanks for your advice. I'm also using Desitin original - purple box. the redness seems to have subsided but the white pimple like spots are still there. I'm worried that it might be infected and there's pus. but baby has no fever and so far well.

mrswrx: WA!! you reali very 'zai' and super mummy eh.. you did so much things for her.. now you expert in skin care liao.. hahahahah..

ya.. my baby super impatient too.. leave her on cot for more than 1min, she will wail for attention liao..

and bathing her alone can make me sweat man..

and now she teething.. sigh.. so cranky now.. and its reali bad during evening n night time.. last night me woke up 4-5times to pacificy and pat her to sleep.. *now falling asleep at my desk*

cynthia
about the brown rice,why need to cook under gas?can't use rice cooker?mine is philips intelligent rice cooker,can use that one?
normally how long it takes to cook ?

btw,how to cut off ikan bilis head?seems like a lot of work..
seems like a lot of mummies here have started to wean off their babies,me haven't yet cause i think my baby still want his milk,he will be 5months old tomorrow.

regarding the musical cloth book,i also bought one quite some time for my bb from babysoft,my baby also love it.sometimes he will cry for no reason,i try to console him,but fail,i will just press the book for sound,and he will stop and smile immediately.amazing i think.

crystal
which series you bought for your baby?seems like bigger than mine.mine is sesame beginning what's that sound also from softplay.
those who have toysrus vouchers can bought from them,i saw they carrying these books also

hi all...

my boy is sick.. down with running nose and cough. still not drinking milk and not sleeping well... i am zombie-ing now...

Morning all!

I'm thinking of buying detinox to try. Can mothers who have used it share how long it seems to last? I want to see if it helps my boy drink better.. and sleep better... Matthew seems to prefer sucking his thumbs rather than drinking. We need to feed him when he's sleepy or when he is sleeping. From the time we apply it, how long does the numbness last? If we want to apply before feeds and for night sleeps, how many times and at what intervals do we apply at night? Also, do we apply just before we feed milk? Or we wait for some time before we feed milk?

Oh! little Matthew can finally flip from his back to his tummy. He did his first flip over the weekend! Can flip both directions now. Also, he seems to prefer to be put down and patted rather than to rock to sleep. For 3 days and 2 nights, I would rock him as usual but instead of sleeping easily, he would remain very alert. Then, I put him down on his mattress, and he would slowly close his eyes (during the day) and finall sleep. I would pat him to help him sleep. But for 2 nights, there was no need to pat. Both evenings, we fed him milk when he was sleepy, then put him down on the mattress, then he would talk to himself! haha! for a couple of minutes, then his eyes would close and he would doze off!

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus... i think my boi oso leh...these few days he dun want to rock to sleep but prefer to sleep on his mattress or our bed.. dunno y leh?

dentinox.. the instruction says 20mins interval.. but think so long as they dun make noise again sld be fine lah...

</font></font>

cactus:

the dentinox box said apply every 20min when necessary so i guess its effect wears off after 20 min.. i applied dentinox on my ger and the effect last for like 20-30min..

but i dun apply again la.. cos constant numbing effect doesn't seem very good for the baby.. so if i see that she is upset when the numbing effect wears off then i will try distracting her with toys, walks, etc.. if i see her keep sucking on both hands n still crying then i will apply again.. cos i scare she feels reali uncomfortable...

wa... your boy so cute eh... he talks himself to sleep.. heehee.. so now you can actually train him so sleep on his own liao.. good for you!! ^_^

<font color="aa00aa">fen,
so far i bought oni one &amp; the title is called "opposites". the content will ve opposites like day vs nite, sea vs land, outside hse vs inside hse, noisy vs quiet, etc. yours is sesame series? wat's the content? is it good &amp; easy for bbs to understand? any recommendation?

tera,
i sound my hb out abt the jungle gym yd nite &amp; his 1st reaction was "no"...
then i showed him lucas' pic &amp; how lucas seem to enjoy himself in the gym, still didnt manage to convince my hb to buy...i so sian now...

bleh / angel,
take care gers....</font>

Fen,
I never try using rice cooker electric. I prefer to use gas as its more faster and I can keep stiring and roughly gauge the texture I want.
Ikan bills if buy with head I will use hands to pick out. You can buy those without head one.

Ellysia,
Not sure whether they will help to grind or not.. maybe can try asking.

I have friends bought EYS brown rice. Recommended start age is after 6mths.

DIY brown rice may seems very troublesome especially working mum. Market have alot of ready mix. One of the brand which is not sweet can be found in NTUC is a chinese brand "RABBIT" i think... very popular among all mummies.

cactus: aiyo.. so cute.. he can mimic sounds now.. sheryl still hasn't yet..

jus do what is comfortable for you n baby.. seems like matthew likes to take charge of his life.. heehee.. so you jus take cue from your mini boss loh.. =P

Hey Cynthia, do you know how I can add milk into brown rice to cook? I'm hoping to make rice creamier by adding breast milk to it, but breast milk cannot be boiled.. so I'm stuck here.

<font color="aa00aa">Fen,u can use hand to pluck off the ikan bilis head.

Btw, i wud recommend using the small silver anchovy i/o the big ikan bilis.</font>

crystal: heehee.. thanks.. luckily today no meeting, if not sure fall asleep in front of boss loh..

hmm.. maybe you wan to bring your baby to try out the jungle gym (but dun know where la, maybe fren's house).. Maybe if your husband saw that your baby likes the jungle gym alot n your baby reali enjoy n having fun (hopefully your baby can laugh oso.. haahaa.. then maybe he will 'xin nuan'?? heehee..

crystal,
nvm, bring gwen to my place and let her try it out and then ur hubby will be convinced!! hehe.
but seriously, i've pm-ed u last nite. go read, u might just be able to change ur hubby's mind. ;)

other than the space, i think it's a good buy cos lucas likes to bounce now when u carry him as in he doesn't want to sit keep on trying to stand so the jumperoo is the perfect solution, he gets to stand and we get some rest. ;)

bleh,
take care!

angel,
my boy also woke up last nite several times cos of teething discomfort. applied teething gel and luckily managed to get him back to sleep.

Hi kye, just continue to apply as the pimples will slowly dry up &amp; peel off then voila, baby's skin become silky smooth again. BTW, do u apply powder on your baby's bottom?

For me, my brown rice is added with some ikan bills so I will jsut cook with water without any milk. Normally after 6mths, some people will start by giving porridge too.

A sample of feeding from 7-9mths depending.
Upon wake - Milk
9am - Cereal.
1030 - Milk
12-1pm - Porridge
Mid afternoon - Milk / Some fruits puree
The rest of the feeding will be just MILK.
This is just a rough gauge of timing to give our BB lo. Some other mummies have their own routine too. Normally Dinner to intro rice or porridge will be around or after 1yr old.

Hey cactus, glad to know Matthew can sleep by himself at nite already. I'm sure it'll b less tiring for u. Good boi &amp; well done, Matthew!!

Hey crystal &amp; tera, I bought the rainforest jumperoo also but have yet to let my boi try cos I think his head too heavy so he can't really lift his head up for long. I think i'll let him try when he's 5mths which is in 2 wks time.

Tera, my boi also likes to jump when we hold him that's y i decided to get jumperoo instead of Evenflo's exersaucer. At least can do some exercise &amp; lose some weight, hehe...

Tera: so u oso didn't sleep well last night loh.. i didn't apply the teething gel cos she didn't reali wake up or open her eyes.. She is jus whining in her sleep...

I jus pat pat her for like 5 min then she will go back to sleep liao..

<font color="aa00aa">angel,
yup, tera offered... :p
realised u also bought the switches &amp; wall stickers from the BP, u rcved yours oreadi? mine in batch 1 but i still waiting...cant wait to put the stickies up.

tera,
got your PM, you've got mail...

thanks for your offer, will talk to hb again tonite &amp; c wat he says.

mag,
my one obstacle - convincing hb on the buy.... </font>

crystal
u show the videos fr youtube lor. i told my hubby must give athan some form of exercise since he's scared his son too fat so i intro Jumperoo to him lor.

<font color="blue">tera n mag,
how much u paid for the jumperoo??i wanna buy lor..but my hb also said dun 1.. </font>

crystal,
me just bought the cloth books from carrefour during lunch - hope lucas will "read" and enjoy them like gwen. ;)

bizz,
i just bought the jumperoo from toys r us on sat @ $239 -they stated it was a value buy, not sure if it meant discounted.

angel,
oic, sheryl was whining. mine completely woke up, cried and was like in pain. so quickly carry and try to pacify him.

mag,
yah, hang on first till Athan's (correct?) neck is stronger, 2 more weeks! ;) i'm also treating the jumperoo as a form of exercise for lucas. :p oh, i read abt the exersaucer as well but preferred the jumperoo.

bizz,
try to join the spree to get cos u can save quite a bit (based on the amt mag paid).
i went to toys r us cos i had their vouchers.

<font color="blue">tera,
dat's wat i saw also lor..i wanted to buy leh..but my hb said very exp lor..super sianz.. </font>

<font color="blue">now dunno still got spree anot..i juz went to amazon n check the price..now got 25% disc leh..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">mag / tera / bizznow,
wow, $200+? my hb will say even bigger no liao cos he jus spurge $160 on my ger's walker.
her rocker is now sitting in one corner of my living rm cos she out-grown it liao &amp; wun wan to sit in it. kinda of like white elephant now.

tera,
which titles did u get? think lucas will luv to "read" them. :p</font>

y dun u all just organize 1 jumperoo spree on your own? Fr wat the spree organiser told me, she shipped 2 sets @ 1 time cos shipping charge cheaper.