(2008/06) June 2008

my msn is [email protected]

same address for my friendster and facebook account

Tinyfeet,
You apply as mask on ur bb's butt issit? How come u use so fast... So far I bought 2 tubes haven even finish 1 tube leh.

Veinz,
Dramaqueen stay redhill? I collect my destin from her at Jurong leh.

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">get to read some posts.. think many of us are blind by the materialistic gains.. buying too much which we dun need and it's can become an addiction to spend.. it's this a kiasu behavious as afraid of losing to other? carrying on buy and buy and buy and end up all in wardrobe or storeroom.. lying there..dunno what to do.. yes! i do agree that we have been blinded and neglect what our bb really need.. "they need a bigger room"? or "a room of love"? "they need a cup" or "a cup of love".. suddenly all these keep me pondering... maybe recession is a way to make people realise what are the basic needs that we need.. and not all the extra wants.. </font></font>

<font color="03b6ea"><font face="Comic Sans MS">sometime.. dressing up the baby.. i will asked.. "is this what my bb want? does he knows at this age? or it's simply that it's the way that i prefer rather than what he needs... something i will also ask.. i do this is purely on babies good or it's purely just to satify myself... so many Qs... what can a big house do when our soul are so empty... what can the brand give when we are so poor at heart? </font></font>

tinyfeet,
i only use the cream if there is redness,so far only use less than 5 times,will clean bb butt with wet wipes,even if its urine &amp; not motion, bcos i understand some mummies don't clean butt if its just urine

<font color="119911">oooops, too late in joining topic on cactus? i was so fascinated by cactus post tat i cant ignore n kept slient anymore. im a jun mummy n has been following this thread faithfully. learning wonderful tips frm mummies here, but tdy's topic was so fun n i love to join in!</font>

<font color="0077aa">hi cactus,</font>
<font color="0077aa">im taken aback by yr 'naive n frank' character in sharing details of yr income, yr dream home, yr wonderful job, yr hb, yr 2 maids in future, etc. i wonder how you look like in person and how you actually behave in front of yr friends/colleagues/relatives.</font>

<font color="119911">actually there is nothing much to boast on yr 17k combine income n paying off yr landed property. do you want people to envy you or you are just happy to share? y not share yr savings as well? or how much charity/volunteer work you have done with a 17k income??</font>

<font color="0077aa">buyin a 99yrs landed property and thinking that it will fetch a better price in future compare to a condo?? frm my simple-minded thinking, i will NEVER buy a 99yrs property and stay for 20-30yrs and think that i can sell off at a better price. sad to say that yr property will be $0 in 90yrs (since u said its 9yrs old nw).</font>

<font color="119911">btw, im a mummy who adores my baby and never ever think that rocking/patting her to bed is boring (no matter how tired im).</font>

<font color="0077aa">sorry for being so frank in my opinion.

Hi Cactus... I agree with shopping quuen... and mag and everyone else (sorry that we are talking abt this topic again - but but we are trying to help u!!!) i think watching ur baby grow is the most enjoyable thing to do... and yes rocking our baby to sleep is the most enjoyable thing to do..i even watch baby maia sleeps.
cactus, sorry to be so frank - but try to treasure wat u have - especially when ur son is ur first child. u shd use this chance to learn how to be a better mother especially when u r going to have ur 2nd one soon. cos at the rate u r going, i am sorry to say u need more practice. everyone in this thread loves doing things for their child be it changing diaper, or rocking them to sleep...and it seemed u r the only one who doesnt and seemed to adore ur high payig job and hubby...

<font color="0077aa">oh cactus,
1 more thing, if im yr SIL, do u think i should feel proud/happy or angry with u sharing generously on my combine income of 9k n my 200k 5room flat with my maid n 3yr old son n a car?? hmmm.... (how many yrs old is e car? wat brand? wher s e flat located? care to share as well??) lolz</font>

<font color="0077aa">no hard feelings, just very curious :p</font>

<font color="aa00aa">I miss my lil baby!!!!!
I feel so sad!
Actually my #1 is with me, but i cant help thinking of my #2. I'm so bad!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">crystal, me no problem on next Thursday!
Babycupid, how? Star, wanna join us?
Me will arrive Yishun around 6.30pm.
Wat time convenient for u gals?</font>

shopping queen, I didn't mean to boast. I'm sorry if my posts were boastful.

Actually, for the mothers who have been following my posts would remember that I did share unhappiness and problems on this forum. If boastfulness was in my blood, I wouldn't have shared those troubles here on this forum. I would have maintained a picture perfect front, as some mothers here believe I did.

Anyway, I hope my apologies can bring to an end the issues here. I still hope to continue posting on this thread because I enjoy the time spent here but if I'm not welcomed, please do let me know too so I would stop being a sore eye to mothers here.

Babycupid,bleh,
No la 5yrs! So fast meh. We take 15yrs loan. So another 10years will do. But we intend to sell our flat and shift near PIL. So min required is stay for 5yrs den can sell
So we will downgrade no matter how as we need to buy AMK flat. Damn expensive. But just try not to extend the loan since downgrade need Bank loan No more HDB loan like now sian.. Alot calculation to be done. For me I don mind smaller flat = means easier to tidy hehehe and i will love my gals to share 1 room instead individual for more bonding too. Future whether they grow up how I don care so much now lo cos no one will know what will happen 10-20yrs time. Sakali I strike TOTO 1st prize then I invest condo hahahaha (day dreamning again)

RE: Rocking BB
Realise June bb alot need to be rock. Mine also. But sometime still ok, I put her side ways and pat her. Depends her mood also. When I rock her, I use my sling and put her inside so my hand wont to so tired. So she very fast, within 10mins knock out as compare carry her bare of my both arms! Maybe mummies can try this method to reduce ur chest pain or aching? I using Moms In mind sling. Sometime Pupsik.

Xris,
I also love to watch my kids sleep
They are such an angel when sleeping. My #1 even though already 2yo I still watch her sleep. SO Sometime I don mind giving up some sleep time just to see them
Even now I have #2 liao but I still feel both are of different character and different ways of handling. So no doubt 1st or 2nd we love too take care of them if we can yeah

Those full time working are very great too. Its kind of tiring and want to spend more time with bb normally fall during weekends as in SG all work till late and by time bb already sleep! That was why got SAHM, they chose to give up $$$ etc and some living within means and also trying to spend more time as they can BUT been SAHM must think seriously cos some may prefer to work in finding accomplishment. For me, SAHM since my #1 so I am kinda tired too without any help of maid (as we don like maid or stranger at our house too lo) So hoping can go back to work force BUT suay suay now alot places recession! Hai...

We must all cheers to FTWM &amp; SAHM

hmm me today like very emotional oh :p

Errr... very interesting topic we have today.. I showed hubby the posts and he can't help going "hmmm" or even "haha" at times.

Just a thought, if we throw everything to our maids (unfortunately I dun have maids, dun say 2, not even a single 1), how will we feel if next time our child is closer to the maid than us? When we go out and our baby wants to sleep but refuse to coz only want the maid to hug and rock him to sleep? And refuse mummy's hug. That, indeed, will be a very sad day for motherhood.

I too wish I can be a SAHM, my hubby is supportive, but I cannot as I still need to support my unemployed parents. And I want to work to be able to provide the best for Isaiah, not to buy a landed property or condo.I came from a poor family and had a deprived childhood and I dun want my baby to be like me. Just my 2 pences worth of thoughts. Sorry if I offend anyone

hi xris
Venuz told me you are staying in Japan? Which part are you staying at? Im now in yokohama but going back soon

hi felicia
I miss my little one too... call him everyday but he refuse to "talk" to mummy... making my heart ache

Hi gers,
I moo mooing. :0
Wah, today so many poeple very hot leh.. Cool, cool..
Actually, I used to find rocking bb to sleep very ma fan bcos she sometimes refuses to sleep and I am so tired after a long day at work. However, just now, I was rocking her to sleep and I realised that she only has me in her eyes (literally) when I was rocking her to sleep. Something that I didnt take note of in the past. I actually passed her to my hb to let him enjoy that moment. Then my girl started crying cos she wants me. Kekeke.. I am so gg to treasure the times that I rock her to sleep in the future. They will grow up so quickly.. Sonn, they wun even want us to rock them to sleep...

Cynthia, do you have any way to help our babies sleep better? When my son was born, he cannot be put down. We bought hammock, even hammock with motor, but the minute we put him down, he will wakeup. At that point in time, he could only sleep prone on our body or in our arms. Then, as he grew bigger, we realised he could be put down after he was asleep but he had to be rocked asleep. Then, now, he can sleep but he had to be very tired then he would be allowed to be patted to sleep. He found his fingers about 5 weeks ago after we removed the mittens and since then, he would suck his fingers for comfort, food and even to sleep better. dun know if this rocking or patting is going to last. Also, my son cannot sleep outside unless he sleeps carried over my shoulders. The minute I put him down on a stroller, he will wake up!!! He only sleeps for long on his mattress at home but I can't bring his mattress out with me whenevr he goes. The biggest problem (which I shared earlier), is that he only stays awake for 1 to 2 hours before he needs to nap again! He really sleeps alot loh! So I can't bring him out for long to places. Also, he has a prob drinking milk. He can only drink milk if I put him down on his mattress... that's why I can only bring out to nearby places after he has slept well and after he has had his milk.

Just managed to catch up the posts after putting my bb to bed. Usually I need to carry him and pat to sleep. Today, he seemed to be able to doze off to sleep himself. (*Janiviy, I also find that theoretically, those sleep techniques taught by magazines makes it sound so easy but difficult to do lor...) So achieve a small small accomplishment tonight. And I actually watch him go thru the daze look n close eyes to dreamland.

To me, seeing my baby goes to sleep every nite is the sweetest thing. =) even at the expense of aching arms...

felicia,
i am ok with thurs too.. i knock off at 530pm.. so anytime frm 6pm.. jus let me koe time n where to meet.. kekeke.. anyone wanna join?

cynthia,
scare me sia.. i tot 5yrs! kekeke.. eh.. moving to amk.. ex ex ex.. me oso tot of moving to bishan.. my mil plc.. but ex ex ex oso.. haiz.. yes downgrading mus get bank loan.. do u koe hdb law ar? like 2nd timer apply for new flats and dwngrade frm current 5rm to 4rm.. will kanna tax bo? or jus cannot take hdb loan?

re: rocking bb..
i tink i am quite lucky.. my bb seldom nd rocking already.. jus leave him on bed n pat will do.. at times he nd some rocking..

Roxy,
Long time no talk. Hehe. Our trips to JP with Lil Shauna is always mad rush cos the little princess might decide taht it is no shopping anytime. Haha. Is Isaiah still underweight? Lil Shauna has caught up in terms of weight &amp; height @ 50 percentile, but she still cant flip.. -.o"

You are in Japan with your hb? So good. I wanted so much to go Japan. Must wait until bb grows up then can go skiing together. hehe.

Re: SAHM
After 10 weeks of maternity leave, I already decided that I cant be a SAHM. I think I will go crazy. That's why I always salute SAHM. So much sacrifice for the bb.

BabyCupid, I think you cannot take concessionary loan and will need to pay the resale levy because you will be buying again. You can call HDB hotline to check!

hi cactus, we are not offended by you. we are also not stopping you to join this thread - but i just think this thread is abt sharing joys and maybe sometimes unhappiness to get console but not to know abt your envied life. and i think alot of others know that you had been talking abt ur envied life for awhile since so maybe instead of saying ur such a person, a frank person etc maybe i suggest u can start usig another way to approach this thread?

ZuEn, you put my thoughts very nicely. I think I will go crazy also. I will worry about every little thing - from whether the baby is drinking enough or whether the baby is sleeping too much or enogh. Cos the baby can't talk and can only smile or laugh or cry. It's very very hard. I can't wait for my son to grow up and talk to me... but I also know he will only be a baby once.. and I need to treasure this period. My colleauge told me this.. she thinks she can be a better mother only if she works. I didn't understand this until now.

and cactus i am extremely surprised and yes now alittle offended by ur statement" I love intellectual challenges." u mean taking care of baby doesnt need brain??? i can say loudly takijg care of baby needs more brain and patience more than a working life... i am surprised u r a mother but u r talking like those typical man who works outside to support family to a wife. i can guaranteed u even a man who is a CEO in some company doenst know how to handle a baby any better than a MOTHER.

cactus,
I guess there is no fantastic way but only way to catch your bb pattern. Mine was a colic bb till 2mths she is better. Till now she need to carried, rock her sleep. Without her tutu she cannot get to sleep. Sometime when she very tired, just give her small bolster and she can doze off in my arms. I guess bb can sense us. When we get agitated tryin to make them sleep they don wan. BUT when we calm ourselves down, heart beat is slower which they can feel and they will feel calmer too.

Sometime bb sleep problem can last for 6mths -1yr depending. If teething arise, also another problem. So basically having bb = minus alot of own sleep. But most important spend more time with BB, know the pattern and let bb get used to your carry. For me now i use Mom in mind sling and make her sleep before putting her down slowly. Try to give ur bb a little bolster for comfort. For me i using a bolster case and insert diapers inside. My #1 also this way. So even future cannot find her baobao, just get her any cloth she can sleep liao.

xris... im there for training... just now made my first trip to tokyo-shibuya... wah!! eye opener, the gals there all so chio! And all dress so trendy... I can only see but cannot buy coz so expensive... but really very nice *drools* Are you staying there permanently or coming back?

hi cactus
That's good. Guess you are one of the lucky ones. Unfortunately nowadays alot of children are closer to the maid than parents, so let's not fall into this trap

hi zuen
Long time no talk le... Isaiah still super skinny, now already 5 mths, still only 6.7kg, tink he is at 15th percentile only :p But we have learnt to let go abt his weight... as long as he is healthy and responsive can le. Shuana havent flipped yet? Dun worry, im sure she will pick up very fast de. Isaiah loves to flip alot. Put him on his cot, within 1 min, flip over, smile at us, try to crawl then decides looking at ceiling is better, n flips back. So enjoy your time now while you can, coz once Shuana learns to flip, cannot leave her alone for even 1 sec, they flip super duper fast

Xris, when I meant I love intellectual challenges, I meant using what I learnt in school and apply it to a job. I don't mean to say that looking after a baby is not intellectual. Please don't get me wrong. I have alot of respect for stay at home moms. Thats the truth. Because I cannot be one. It's just not in my blood. My baby is not easy to deal with..that's why I disappeared from this thread for almost 4 months since his birth. I wasn't out shopping or enjoying myself (bear in mind I was expressing milk every 2 or 3 hours for the first 3 months). I was trying to deal with a colicky baby as I shared much earlier in this forum. Please please don't say that I'm suggesting that looking after a baby is not intellectual. I would say looking after a baby requires a lot of heart and patience and observation to know what the baby wants.

Cynthia, yes. my grandma warned me that teething will be tough for us when the time comes. My bb doesn't like the pacifier..he doesn't seem to like anything except his fingers which confuses me to death cos I don't know whether he wants to be comforted, to drink milk or to sleep. My dad and maid will be looking after the baby after I return to work. My dad is old.. 60 this year and being a man, he can't carry a baby well. Thankfully the maid now knows how to carry the baby well after 1 week of intense training.

Roxy, I think one way is to spend time with our child and if necessary, change the maid frequently.

ai yah, logging off already. tata! and again, my apologies for upsetting anyone here. I'm a very frank person and I don't mean any harm. I'm very direct with my words though and I'm starting to see that the way I put things across may be misconstrued if it is just in black and white, without any tone. so I'll be more careful. I hope there won't be any hard feelings.

ioio,
yes! yes! this is exactly how I was feeling...I need to shower my daugther with more love and patience(i lack patience..seriously
)not shower her with stuff she don't need.

babycupid,
Ask the right person liao hehehe cos I also been figuring all these.

1st, your current flat is buy direct from HDB? If direct from HDB, we must buy from resales inorder not to pay the resale levy back. Reason is 1st timer buying from HDB enjoy a subsidy rate as compare buying from resale. That is why HDB flat slightly cheaper than resales.

2nd, IF you are 1st timer buying resales flat and want to buy direct HDB, paisay I don know leh hehehe. Cos i m 1st timer buy from HDB so didnt ask the Customer service on this whether any levy impose.

Resale levy imposed if you decide to buy direct from HDB and the levy will deduct from your cash proceeds selling your current flat.

Contra. If you are staying 5room now, unless you buy exec unit, if not HDB wont let you do contra. You have to sell 1st and buy after that. Unless able to pay off ALL the $ for 2nd flat.

Hmm actually recently i have post on my blog about this... maybe you can take a look
I have done the calculation example.
http://cynthiamemories.blogspot.com

Bishan flat not cheap too oh. Sian leh we always have to think of staying near PIL due to kids. Last time I move Jurong cos stay near my mum and she say will help me take care BUT now she back her words and she prefer to work lo.. SO SO we cannot predict future one sian.

roxy - ya shibuya alot of chio woman...haha sometimes i no make up i go there, i a bit paisey..waahaha people in tokyo dress damn well even to supermarket...i am the one who dress shorts and t shirt like an aunite...hahah but dont care la.. i am here for 3 years cos HB got posted here lor...been here for almost 2 months liao...

ZuEn,
Ya remember that time you mention you cant be SAHM hehehe. Actually sometime working can be alot better cos u have ur own time. We still able to spend time with our bb even though working ah. Just that some prefer to chose be a SAHM for 1st 2-3yrs to spend more time and watching bb growing. But been a FTWM also can do that and will realise and appreciate more with every single time spent

Janiviy,
Agreed! Shower with love instead of material. They are young and we should not cultivate the kind of $$$ value to them. Like my #1 is a headache now. She is very spoilt cos 1st one. Everytime daddy buy this buy that NOW she will say MUMMY buy DADDY buy! Crazy how can buy this and that. So msut start to brain wash her again..

Love is important. Like what Xris mention, we need to be more patience too hehehe. I used to be impatience one oh. But having kids realise been a mother is not easy..

Salutes to OUR OWN MOTHERS

cactus, knowing u b4 u give birth so roughly know wat kind of person u r.. no doubt knowing tt u r a frank and straight forward person.. but too much focus materialistic elements will draw a great differences between u n average folk like us.. to u u r using a hammock but to many, we can only afford sarong swing.. to me i am jux using a piece of clothe to join e both end to become a sarong and i sew every stitches till my hand pain but i am very happy n its love for my little one.. sound stupid rite? hee

cynthia,
hmmm hmm.. i bot my 1st wif hdb lor.. so 2nd time wif hdb mus pay levy.. i checked the 5rm levy is 40ks i tink.. duh.. and i tinking of dwngrade.. to 4rm.. haiz.. looks like mus buy frm resale..

Babycupid,
5room $45k levy! Sian oh. That why HDB set alot rules on these lo as in the past alot people trying make alot profit from selling and buying.

ioio,
Fantastic! You can sew every single cloth. I guess i m those need sewing machine. But normally all my slings are pass down from friend. She is very wasteful. Buy liao use few times don want and she give me (we are best friends like sister so we share alot stuffs. I am those don mind old stuffs but she is those want good &amp; new). I think most important can use

Logging out liao. Hope tomorrow topic will be something else too and today seems bit heaty for everyone even though its rainy now

I guess in conclusion every mummies will love to give everything to babies no doubt rich no doubt poor cos we carry them 10mths and born them out is not an easy task too. Still long way to go. Jia you everyone

Sharon, Dramaqueen no longer have collection at JW st 51, coz her parents shifted to near Tiong Bahru liao.

tf, tomorrow I will msn you about your creamy lar, ok?
its really up to you if you want to go direct to collect from Dramaqueen, I am not earning anything from this, but I enjoyed going to her home to play with her gals and she to play with my kids.

Zuen, I used to be SAHM for 6 mths, during that period of time, I almost die of 'no social life'! Everyday facing the cry baby, aiyo, also became yellow faced wife. (unable to be as good as the few of us here like Cynthia, Xris, bleh, etc). Its really good to be at work and have some time to ourselves during break time to keep us sane. I understand how you feel, now I also dreading weekends lor.

Roxy, my #1 was taken care by mil, and we can see that he is very attached to her and my playful sil &amp; her hb. I was also used to be very attached to my grandma as she is the one who cares for me (even now). Hope my #1 will grow to be closer to me when he is gradually older bah.

ioio, I am also one who sew much, except when I was a kiddo, sewing clothes for my teddybear and dolls, lol. But now, I buy ready made sarong cloth for my babies lar. In terms of clothes alterations, I also hand sew them, rather than using machine or send to seamstress to do.

Hi gers,
Moo mooing..

Cynthia,
Hehe, you still rem ah. *shy* I really think I will go crazy lor. Time passes so, so quickly when taking care of the bb. I was actually quite glad to go back to work. Maybe I am one of the selfish one. If given a choice, I wun be a SAHM too. Yet again, I no such life. Tat's no way we can survive on one pax's salary. The car &amp; givibgs to parents + bills already use up one pax's salary liao.

Veniz,
Hehe, I tot I m the only one who dread weekends and I was so guitly about it cos we working mummies already no time to spend wif bbs, so should be treasuring every single moments that we have. However, the mere fact that I m so busy at work left me much drain during the weekend and taking care of bb 24/7 sort of kills me. Bad mummy.

Star,
Oh no, stop me, stop me.. I cannot control my fingers.. Haha.

I tot of buying T-shirts for my hb this time. Anybody noes of the Men's size for Gap &amp; ON? Big or not? My hb = big size... 1.85m tall. Usually wears XL for nike, puma, etc T-shirt..

Morning ladies..

Re:rocking bb to sleep
I also like to rock my bb to slp..Still rem when she was young, I used to latch her and rock her to sleep..she can sleep in my arms de.I find it so nice and touching when I can carry her to sleep, sing to her, they looks so angelic when they are sleeping...Ever since she moved to mil hse, she dun wan me to rock her anymore =(.. At 1st I was sad but tot on e other hand, it might be a gd ting cos if she is older n heaier, bery tedious lor...hiaz, kind of miss that type of bonding now cos now bb belongs to EVERYBODY and not me myself onli =(..hiaz...

I really missed those times where i can spend 24hrs with my bb during my ML..Yest after i reach home frm class, i went into the room to see my ger, she wokeup, saw me,then she cry, i carry her also she dun want, then when my mil wokeup, my bb kept on looking at mil direction, when my mil carry her, she was ok..*i was upset,cried again* becos my mil can tell me, y u wake her up,let her sleep lah! =(..I just left the room and tinking wats wrong and wat happen here...

Shycloud,
hehe..so how much ur damages yest?;p.

Veinz,
u are most welcome..hee.>We are talking abt organising a dinner on 1 of e wkdays evenings without our bbs so that we can catch up more lor...hehe...any idea where we shd go?

Sharon,
I paid $149 for this mat cos one of the sellers in the BP was selling some kids bag i tink, then my fren getting e bag and the seller having promo for the mat, so i quickly order lor..It was bot last yr leh..

Xris,
U coming bk when leh? We all miss u here wor =)...Come bk must inform us hor =)..
I agreed with u when u mentioned that its an "honour" to be able to coax bb to sleep, but guess I am not that honoured anymore..

Felicia,
Dun be sad ya..when ur #2 coming home?

Roxy,
Dun be upset ya...u will see ur boyboy soon =D...Believe u must hv bot alot of nice things for him too, he will be happy to know that de...After reading wat u hv posted, realised this is happening to me..Now my ger dun wan me to carry her to sleep anymore, prefers my MIL who is the main caretaker lor..I feel sad..really..

Star,
Oh no..spreee again...must *tie* my hands liao..hehe..

ZuEn,
hi ya...I also duno wor, cos tinking of getting soemthing for hb for xmas but duno abt the szing lor..

Cactus,
Of cos you are welcome here =D...Rem the time when we all realised that we are expecting and thus this thread was setup? Then slowly we have more mummies joining here?..Then we are all facing different prob of our preggnacy and you are one of the ladies who provide "medical" advises and knowledge for us at times until we tot u are a nurse!!rem?.....We are all here to share happiness and sadness, so I guess its the way u put across some words which I tink it might due to the written language that caused this misunderstanding here ya...Dun be mistaken here and do carry on to join us =)..I am sure the mummies here are bery "forgetful" de, will forget this incident as time goes by...

cactus,
My ger sometimes also nap for onli 1hr or so, at times she might nap for 3hrs lor, I rem reading soemwhere that as bb grows older, they sleep lesser lor...