(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia is right.. if zero dilation, induction may fail or will be long and hard labour. Did your doctor advice on the chance of sucess with induction? What type of induction is on his mind?

cactus,

are u still doing the climbing staircase exercise? if u want to do w/o epi i tink u need to do climb staircase exercise and pelvic floor exercise regularly.

ND's gal, your baby so cute when she luff

mog and cactus,

yup.. see feifei example..

in my example, even when i am put on induce drip from 2cm dilation + break waterbag, it took me so long to deliver my bb. If want dilation u be put on pill which maybe few hours depending on number of pills, then if got dilate 2cm then u can be put on drip which generally is a 10 odd hrs for 1st delivery. Long hrs of labour will lead to usage of epidural also.

cactus, I hope for miracle to happen tonight. No particular why she wanna induce me except she worried my baby maybe too big, today she is 3.2 kg. My water level is 10.3 and placenta still okay, baby heartbeat also okay. I guess my baby too comfortable inside, till now still don't wanna come out.

I already did the strep B test, is that consider sweeping the membranes ?

I'm also doing squats every night.. not sure if it will help, but I figured if I'm physically fitter, it will be easier on me during labour. with or without epidural.

cactus,

good.. try doing the "hold the breath" exercise for 10 secs too.

squats can induce labour.. it really do. i do quite a number days before my real contractions start.

Ellysia, Dr wong says latest is Monday 16th June. She also said mine won't be fast coz mine is 0cm, now I also at a loss. In fact, juz now she wanna induce me already. Then she said I can go home and think and decide whether today or tomorrow induce.

mogu : tt means baby is still happy inside !!

did your doc discuss natural induction ?
ie - nipple stimulation, sex ?

strep B is just taking a swab from the V and not sweeping the membranes.

mog, no leh. strep B not considered. sweeping membranes is using fingers to separate waterbag from side of cervix. It's usually used before other induction methods. Believed to increase prostagladins naturally and can spark off labour. Least side effects. Don't think your bb is too big. actually, your bb sounds just nice at 40 weeks leh! My bb was 3kg at week 38. doctor told me to expect 100gm increase per week ( dun really believe him.. think it's more like 200gm increase per week). My doctor told me my bb will be average size. If he's to be believed, my bb will be at least 3.2kg at week 40 too. not too big. in fact, my SIL delivered 3.4kg bb at week 40 + 1 day. her doctor didn't say it's too big either.

cactus, my gynae wanna insert the pill then let me go home, then 6 to 8 hours go back hospital insert 2nd pill and then admit.

Mog,

OIC..
it really depends.. i tink someone done it without induce at 0cm dilation but can't remember who..
If dr wong say latest which day then bo piang..

My bb scan is 3.2KG but when born is 3.6KG.. when scan head is 3.4cm but born is 3.5cm.

THanks for the tip, Ellysia! Will try holding my breath too!

K Ong, even if squats don't bring forward labour, at least, it helps get bb in a good position. That's what stair climbing does too!

Ladies, logging off already! catch up tomorrow!

Mog, don't worry too much k. hang in there!

K Ong,

when u do squats try holding something firm to lift u up if u can't.. cos with the bb weight sometimes hard to come up once squatted.

cactus,

I tink sweeping membranes can be done only if got slight dilation.

Ellysia, maybe I go do squats later also. My V part is so pain till I have difficulty walking liao, no need to climb stairs liao. Cham, really foresee a long labour.

mogu : try spicy food and pineapple !!
google that, it apparently helps too ! haahaa

all the best !!!

Ellysia : ahh good point thanks !

Cactus : bye !

Mogudog,
My V part also so painful when walking, and also in the middle of the night when I had to wake up to pee, cant really walk to the toilet, if dont go, cannot go back to sleep, sigh...

hi mummies, i jux delivered tis morning through c section GA at mount A.. bb height hp 48cm and weight is 3215g..

K Ong, haiz, problem is I don't take spicy food and don't really fancy pineapple. I can only pray hard hard for miracle to happen liao.

Veniz,
Your gal is so so cute. Looks like a snow princess. So funny huh. We live so near each other and our girls have the same birthday.

Ellysia,
I also feel depressed at times. I think it's our hormones playing tricks on us. I didn't use to be so affect by my hb's rubber timing and long hours at work cos I know he's trying his best too.

But after bb is born, I was thinking about my failure to delivery naturally (I really really wanted a natural delivery), my failure to breastfeed (Everyone eg nurses, PD, gynae told me that it's not worth taking the risk cos I'm a hep B carrier and I don't want to pass that on to bb. There has been no medical proof that the virus can be passed from breastmilk, but also no direct proof that it can't. So, everyone just said, better not), hb's work hours and the fact that I have to handle bb with only my parents for help. My mil has also been dropping in every day and been more of a nuisance than help. She'll go wake bb up when she's sleeping, then bb will cry which will make her very happy cos she can then attempt to soothe bb. Sigh.. I know it's only cos she wants to be involved, but there has got to be a better way. Not making things worse for all of us. Cried in the hospital cos of the additional day stay there, then cried again at home etc. It's horrible. Feel so depressed at times and haven't even had time to even talk to hb about it.

I'm just accepting that it's part and parcel of hormones. Hope that things will look brighter in future. Don't think too much k. Let it all out in this forum and we can support each other through this.

Fennie, yeah, the baby is lower and lower, hence will feel the pain. I also have the same feeling as you. So pain until I can't walk.

<font color="blue">congrats to ioio, liew and soyabean..

mog,
dun worry so much lah..i think ur bb not consider big lah..ur bb is 3.2kg @ wk40..but mine @ wk37+ oredi 3.158kg n doc still said it's an average size..so dun worry so much..</font>

bizznow, thanks thanks. Then I also donno why she wanna induce me so early. I was hoping for my baby to come out naturally.

Ellysia, ya loh. Afterall the Ultrasound can only estimate, must +/- 10 to 15%. I think Dr wong scared I can't push her out.

Sharon,
I got the cakes from Melrose. I considered Choz too, but chose Melrose cos cheaper. The cake is not too bad. However, if you are looking for non-traditional full-month cake, maybe choz or ecreative might be better choice. Mione is the typical butter cake, red eggs, angku and g rice.

Priscilla,
Some days were super hot when I started my confinement too. I dun care, sure bath and even wash hair. I would have kill myself otherwise. Haha. But bcos I stayed at my own house earlier on, my mum duno when I wash hair. Hahaha..

mylittleprince,
You oso not very kwai during confinement hor. Hehe.

Ellysia,
I trying to latch on teh smaller breast 1st. Cannot see result yet. Actually, I am worried that my BM ss is decreasing. The massage auntie oso say that if I dun stimulate my right breast (smaller breast) more, the ss will dry up fast. My left breast is very heavy with milk. -.o" Can 1 breast end up with no milk while the other one continue flowing? Anyway, I do hope that they become smaller when I stop BFing.
I had the full-month celebration last Sat. Small scale one. My ger slept thru' her celebration. Pengz..
Hugz, hugz on the hb thingy. Sometimes I oso feel like hb's job very easy, play with bb niah. When I spent my nights at my own home, I handle all teh night feeds, hb slept soundly thru' the night. Good life. He always say that he has to work and that's why I get maternity leave. ;p

ND'sgirl,
Dimples!! I would kill for dimples. Too bad, my ger didnt inherit her daddy's dimples. Only got my big nose. ;p Haha.

Ellysia,
I already started to store EBM for bb. I will latch her on and will pump out the excess. I figure that EBM can keep up to 2 months in freezer. I am returning to work on 21 Jul. Watever that I express now can be kept beyond 21 Jul so it makes sense for me to start storing. If possible, I hope to exclusively feed bb on BM for 6 months. I foresee that I wun be able to pump frequently after I return to work, so started storing. Will oso standby FM after I return to work. Hehe.

Hi ND girl,
Such a coincidence! Ya I was waiting for me when in labour and nurse tell me not to push 1st lo so try to bear n bear. They were telling me stitching another person next door only hehehe. How long was ur labour?

Wow! Ellysia, the scanned weight and the actual weight is so different! How many measurements did your doctor take to estimate the weight? My doctor usually uses 4 measurements, but the last weight of 3kg at week 38 was taken at another growth scan from a more powerful machine.. but still 4 measurements. my doctor did assure me that the measurements usually estimate heavier than lighter though... sigh. Could it be that yoru bb's bones are denser than expected?

Mogudog
I think sometimes it's ok to be induced cos many mummies even though got show or water bag burst, reach hospital still will induce. It helps to bring the labour progress faster. For me it really helped me. I did not feel much contraction pain, only start to feel after put on the drip. So maybe its not so bad? Talk to your baby, ask her to help you. I talked to my girl and ask her to come out and she decide to choose next day to come out.
Hehe, thanks I love it when she luff with her mouth open so big.

Priscilla
ya her eyes are big, thanks!

cactus
my labour lasted around 2-3 hours. I was 2-3 cm dilated when reach hospital and fully dilated around 3 hours later. I could not push properly so gynae used vacuum to help me. I very lousy dunno how and when to push. I pushed 2 times before got it right the 3rd time. Its really like constipated and trying to push very hard poo out.

Leng Leng
Ya love her dimples! Think she got the dimples from her daddy but her daddy's dimples are much higher up hehe

ioio

zuen
My hubby also sleep thru the night, does nothing but play with her, while i wake up every 2 hours for her night feeds.
My girl's nose is very big too! Thanks to her daddy's genes

BM storage : although u can store BM for 3 - 6 mths (depending on your freezer - 3 mths normal and 6 mths deep freezing) pls remember that your BM is produced to suit baby at time of production, ie the nutrients found in 1mth BM is not the same as that produced in a nursing mother of a 6 mth old.

Hope i'm making sense here ...

Cynthia
I was luckier than you. I reached hospital around 10pm and my girl was out by 1am.
Actually i was so paiseh cos Dr Adrian asked me to check in at 9pm but my hubby say doctors wun reach hospital so early and he wanted to catch more sleep end up we reach 10pm and Dr Adrian called me when i just left the house!

Cactus
For me I think the drip helped me. ;)

ND's Girl,
He tell me 9pm go in. He burst my water bag at 930pm like that as I was already dilated 4cm. Put on drip waited for the contractions to come so long. 2hrs laying there do nothing. Contraction only come 12plus midnite. So about 1hr plus 0226hr my gal is out

<font color="blue">mog,
i think different gynae got different practice lah..like my gynae said he will only induce if over due by 1week lor..other than dat he wont induce..he told me actually induce is easier for him..he can control n plan his timing better..but he dun 1..he prefer to let bb come out naturally unless really bo bian..

cactus,
i think ur bb will come out on Sunday..hehe..juz keep talking to him lor..haha..

Cactus
I'm not sure if its really due to the induction I was in such pain but I know my real contractions only kicked after the induction.

Cynthia
I think was around 10.10 he burst my waterbag and then around 10.55 i was put on the drip and my contractions started almost immedaitely. When my waterbag was burst he told me i was 2-3cm dilated and will deliver around 4 to 5am. I guess I was really lucky my girl could not wait to come out!
That means your labour pain was not very long too just the waiting time long.

<font color="aa00aa">Updates for my check up today.
My baby weigh 2.874kg at 38wk. Zero dilation and baby did not engage, facing side way.
Surprisingly, my gynae said i shld treat this pregnancy as my 1st pregnancy coz my 1st one was via c-sec at wk37 due to low placenta. His reason is my body never encountered real contractions/ labour before.

Then he give me some pills for womb relaxing. And my gynae said high chance my labour wont start so soon. Btw, my gynae is goin holiday fr tis sat and only bak by next Thurs. He gave me HL to rest. So now i think i can only pray hard baby dont come out during my gynae's holiday.

Tat means i might be those late June mummies to give birth liao.hehe...</font>

ND,
ur hubby is right, gynae don come so fast. They usually wait till the nurse call them.
Dr adrain reach TMC after almost 20-30 min after the nurse confirm seeing the head. the pain is really unbearable, no wonder so many pple scream.

CActus,
I guess unless u request the epidural early, else will be based on luck. I started to feel the pain after 6cm. So the nurse say no epidural. If u started feeling the pain after 4cm, you might have to bear with the pain w/o it.