(2008/06) June 2008

I have the following brand new medala product for sale :

1. Medala storage bottle pack (3 bottles in a box)
- $25.20

2. Medala spare parts, Valves & Membranes - $24.40

3. Medala Nipple Cream (Big tube) - $15.40

Interested, pls email to [email protected]

Juz bought them yest at the bb fair at expo, with receipt to show. Selling coz my sis have extra for me liao.

morning all !!!
wow, so many mummies have delivered !!!

i'm still here !!! 5 days to EDD ... had contractions on Sun night and took the day off yesterday to stay home to monitor, but no sign of baby's impending arrival, so decided to come into work today

congrats to Tera !!! (same edd !!)

ioio : can u help me update my EDD as 15 June ?
thanks !

thanks for updating my particulars in the chart, ioio!

nss, my doctor never tell me must induce yet. So far everything normal at week 38. I was saying I will only take 1 or 2 days before delivery date if delivery date is certin (ie. induction case). cos dun want to waste my ML and so far, my work is quite relaxing.

sharon: me also leh! i was telling roxy the same thing! me right side always pump more than left...this morning my rite side pumped 80ml, but left side only 30ml!!

ioio, thanks for updating all these while
cactus, oic. Good tt your work is relaxing, have you handover yet? I also dont want to waste my ML, but the ppl surrounding seems more kanchiong. Probably bcos I have been around with a 2cm dilation for 3 weeks liao
jia you to all new mommies...

sharon/juliet,
at least you have BM, me still less than 10ml for both sides. And tried latch on but bb dun 1 cos no much milk so fed up. Me still trying hard. So at the moment bb more on FM. Think mine is no BM liao.

christina
we got to endure for the first few days leh... i also mah... at hospital baby cant even latch on well therefore did not eat for the whole day...

I was quite worried but nurses say its ok... at hospital the nurse bring baby to mi about every 4 hours to latch on.

try pumping to stimulate MS... i also do that... hee

christina
we got to endure for the first few days leh... i also mah... at hospital baby cant even latch on well therefore did not eat for the whole day...

I was quite worried but nurses say its ok... at hospital the nurse bring baby to mi about every 4 hours to latch on.

try pumping to stimulate MS... i also do that... hee

Priscilla,
Me tried in hos also but bb dun 1 so on FM, nurse did ask me to latch on in the nite but me too tired and pain cos me c-sec so only latch on at home and only yesterday have some BM only.

sharon/juliet,

u are not alone. My right side pump is almost double my left side pump. not sure why. and my left side always engorged coz I think the milk cannot come out even after massaging. so painful!

iamsnow
i think i opposite...
My left side got more when i pump...
Think i cant latch on well on my right side.. Baby will start crying when i latch on my right and then when i switch to my left side got no prob....

priscilla,
u latch and pump? i heard from my colleague that the supply is not always the same for both sides. quite normal.....

nss, christina: me try to latch him on as much as possible..then when he dun wan already, i'll put him back to bed and then pump out...but like this hor, schedule all haywire coz when he latches on, he's not drinking enough...damn sianz...me v. tired w/ bf-ing already...somemore supply so low, not enough for bb...damn demoralising..

iamsnow: me also. left side seems engorged but when pump, not much come out...

priscilla: me hor, bb doesn't latch well on my left...he latches on better on my right side...don't know whether it's coz my left side nipple shorter?! mwhahaha...

juliet,
i also like u. very sian. feel like giving up.... sigh. but still trying to press on.

i just realised with baby latching on the engorged breast, it helps to clear the engorgement. at least it works for me. once only. dunno if it's concidence!

juliet and iamsnow,

i find tat bb latching is better than pumping when dealing with engorgement. While latching, push hard at the engorgement area (hard areas) esp any milk lumps or blocked ducts towards the nipple.

If u use pump to relieve engorgement, DO NOT USE IT MORE THAN 15MINS. And use low suction power. I make the mistake tinking tat pumping long and high suction means will help to relieve, in the end it got worst. Later i learnt from website article tat if pump too long and high suction, it may send a message to the brain to produce more milk thus worsing engorgement.

Worst come to worst u can use cabbage leaves but dun use more than 20mins as it will reduce MS. After engorgement milk supply will increase le. U can also put cold compress AFTER feed (dun use before feed as it will reduce milk flow).

During my engorgement period i latch bb on very long as long as 2 hours per latch. It really help though a lot of missed sleep definitely.

Dun give up on bf..u can try drinking warm milo before each feed, then apply hot water or hot compress on yr breasts before feed. Also can try the hand compression method, i pick it up from kellymom website. While bb is latching and drinking milk (i.e. the suck - swallow stage), u can press down yr breasts using yr thumb on one side and other fingers on the other side to increase the milk flow and thus increase MS over time.

U can view at this link http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/engorgement.html

Btw dunno is it bec i feel more comfortable using my right hand to hold bb or bec left nipple is longer, thus my left breast seems to have more MS such tat now my left breast is bigger than right one.. looks a bit ugly

Yest nite my bb refuse to sleep in the midnight and cry throughout. My mum has to hold him and cuddle the whole night. I can't dong ored, after feeding him from 3am to 4am and he refuse to drink anymore but still cry, we know he is in his colic state again so i ask mum to take over and i went to sleep..simply can't dong. Heng got mum to help me out.

Re: One breast more milk
I oso, my left breast more milk than the right one and it is oso bigger than my left one.
When engorgement, I either latch on or express and it helps. I guessed taking hot baths help too. Whenever I take hot bath, my milk will start leaking, very messy.

Re: Sore nipple
My left nipple is super sore. I understand that one of the reason is that I didnt latch on properly, but left breast bigger than right and so is the nipple. I think my bb's mouth not big enuff. Hahaha. Pain oso tahan.

Re: Big breasts
I realised that my breast have grown ever since I started breastfeeding. The breasts will become smaller after we stop breastfeeding? Too big liao.. I think I at least D cup now. My sis and mum both commented on my breasts. Say that they are even bigger than my bb's head. Sob!

Zu En,

nurse at TMC said tat it is normal tat one breast produce more than the other breast.

Mine will leak esp when i feeding on one side the other side will leak.

U can apply the nipple cream purelan after each feed to relieve soreness.

I heard tat breasts will reduce after bf cease but some people breasts will remain same size. My colleague also D size while bf then reduce to B size after bf.

My breasts shrink after delivery then now is increasing again. But it is smaller than pregnancy size now.

ellysia,
thanks for the advice on engorgement. no wonder last nite i pump so long thinking that it will help but end up my engorgement become worse! only this morning i latch my baby then clear the engorgement!

juliet/sharon/iamsnow - dont be demoralized, let bb latch on as long as possible, try to drink more and rest as much as possible. Ellysia is right, try to hang on, dont give up.

LengLeng, dunt be lonely, me still here too.

Hi gers,i will like to check with u all iszit ok if baby finish drinking milk & i tried to burp but baby never burp so mil sae jus let him slp side way .isit ok?my baby nw 2wks alady & oso drink 90ml formula..

iamsnow,

me too also make the mistake tinking pumping long will help! Then it go so worst tat i couldn't sleep and have to use cabbage leave as last resort.. so painful n breasts are hot.. terrible experience.

I tink the trick is to pump more often BUT not long pump session. i.e. pump 15mins each time but pump more often esp after bb feed, then u can empty the milk from breasts. If engorgement is not v serious it will pass after 48 hours, if its serious it will pass after 2 weeks.

During engorgement me become so hardworking tat i doze many times during feeds but i do the normal latching method..

the worst is having to deal with crying bb and BF and bb doesn't cooperate sometimes..gets impatient when MS is slow and refuse to latch, or treat my nipples as milk teats.. sigh. take a while to train my bb so i prefer not to give him milk bottles now cos next feed he will treat me as milk bottle.. nipple confusion lor.

jesslyn,

if u bf then no need to burp so much if its FM better burp bec i encounter the same experience and bb end up with a lot of wind and have probs passing them out tat he cry for hours at nite.

jesslyn: my bb sometimes nv burp also...sometimes i just give up n put him to bed w/o him burping...but hv to monitor n make sure he dun vomit out milk lor...if he does, i'll faster carry him again n try to burp him...my mum will insist bb burps b4 he goes to bed, but me sometimes v. lazy...especially nite feeds...:p

nss: ya, me still trying to press on. but now coz still got massage lady coming hor, v. difficult to time the schedule...so in the end he latches on v. little if massage lady coming coz simply can't find the time...n then still hv to wash bottles n pump etc...

juliet

me also lazy on nite feeds, feed for 40mins then sometimes even if bb still want milk i will just ignore and go to sleep.. too tired.

currently me latch still take 40mins each latch (both left and right)....dunno when bb can reduce to 30mins latch while taking the same milk amt.

tats why i give up on massage lady lor.. so chaotic at home ored dun want another hassle..
and besides my tummy ored shrink a lot due to BF and i use massage oil to reduce water for my legs ored now my legs back to pre-pregnancy size ored, but left thigh and buttock still fat.

Hi felicia,u can ask ur mil to cook threadfin fish or xue yu for you.my mil noes i dun like to eat pork but wat to do confinement so must tahan ...so mil alternate days cook fish & pork & chicken(start to eat after 12days later).

Hi Mumz..I am back from the 3 days 2 nites hotel stay at TMC..hehehe.. Yes finally popped last saturday at 7.43pm after 3.5hrs labour.. My angel weighs 3.84kg at 38 wks..hehehe..the biggest bb in the Nursery on 7 June...:p..Though labour was not tat long but was pain lor...kekek...i am thankful i managed to squeeze her out in time..cos gynea says bb is so big liao...i nd to push hard..she is 51cm in height...now i am back home wif sitting problem..cos the tear was long and got lotsa stitches..:p ..Midwife told me i can hv many kids cos my threshold high.. i went wifout Epidural, laughin gas and thigh jab..jus plain pushin and pushing...hahah..but they dunno my legs were wobbling like i hv ran a thousand miles.....

I'll upload my angel's pic once i hv it downloaded ..

Felicia, Juz for yr info.. Doc Ang is goin on leave from 14-18 June ..

I am real thankful I hv chosen Dr Ang..he did a great job ..bb Andrea almost got stuck at the shoulder..but he managed to get her out in time...wifout his followup call..i don even know i m hvg quite regular contractions...

For Mums whom hvnt popped.. beware of backaches..its one of te contraction symptom.

will be back to update more...Good Luck Mummyz

jesslyn,
Usually FM BB needs to be burped,
but if you are using anti-colic bottles,
BB may not need to be burp, cause BB didn't swallow air while drinking.

Hello gals, I am back home by now. Checkout out of TMC Hotel yesterday afternoon, same day as Tera.

Ok, overall info is, VBAC succeeded, thus its Natural+Epi+Vacuum (in case of old c-sect wound rupture via hard pushes). Baby Vivienne borned on 07/06/08, 10.33pm, 2.72kg & 47cm

My experience.... all on 07/06/08 (Saturday)

8.30am - Was already awake but still lazing in bed. Then felt a gust of waterlike discharge on pad (normally white discharge i had and felt its more like thicken mucus, but this one is very watery feel). Went to toilet, saw a bit pinkish. No problem and panic, since I am going for my gynae appt at 10plus.

9am - 10.25am - Went about nagging hb and son while steaming bakzhangs for breakfast. When for a good bath before we reach gynae's clinic 5 mins late than appt time.

11.00am - Suppose to give gynae on my decision of whether to induce or not that day, but told him i have watery discharge which seems pinkish, he did a VE test, use a cottonbud with a solution, told me if he sticked it into my V and if its out black, that means waterbag bursted/leaking. True enough, its black, he checked if I hv contraction pains, told him mild menses cramp, gave me till 2.30pm to check into hosp. He told me go have a bday celebration with hb first before checking in. He even did a prayer for me, hoping that my wish for natural birth will be fulfilled. I was diluted 2cm.

11.30am - Went home, did final packing, hb clearing stuff in house, etc. 12.00pm, on way to my mum's house for her bakzhang and my hb bday cake which was to be delivered there.

12.30pm - Had porridge, 1 bakzhang, very full. also two small cups of tiramisu, no coffee though, coz finished by my parents, haiz. Sang song and cut the durian cake for everyone except me coz i no eat durian. At 2.20pm, left for hospital with hb and son.

Check in at 3.00pm. 3.30pm goes into labour ward. 4pm on drip, hb came in accompany me whereas son was picked up by in laws. I was still diluted at 2cm.

5pm - Labour kicked in, being very mild for every 20 mins. By 6pm, labour was like every 3-2mins, not intense.

7pm, Diluted at only 3cm, contraction pains was very intense, every minute interval. Used gas, no use, more miserable and blur. Gynae came and told me, he offering epi and some food before epi inject. I refused food, but signed form for epi. Thanks god, the anest for epi came 20mins later before his dinner, Joked, gave info on epi during administering. Joked again, well wishes then left. By 8pm, relieved, but felt slight contraction pains only. Managed to sleep a little bit. I was also shivering a bit due to epi.

At 9.00pm - Afternoon shift nurses came in, I diluted 7cm, so wait.

9.30pm - 9.45pm - Night nurse came in, fully diluted, she wanted me to try pushing coz waterbag still there not fully cleard of water. Gynae called, she told him stay home wait. Started to push whenever a contraction came in. pushed till see baby's head (told me full of hair), gynae came in at 10.00pm. Pushed and pushed at every contraction (around 5 times), during interval, can feel baby shifting her position. When finally baby is out at 10.33pm with help of vacuum, she was facing top (gynae said no wonder, pushed for so long then she came out). Immediately gynae threw her to me, her eyes so big and later meowed till cry loud.

Stitched and chat with gynae while baby was cleaned up. Towards end, the nurse got me to latch her on and after 1/2hr later, was pushed up to my ward.

Overall, gynae told me, i experienced c-sect, normal, labour pains, epi and vacuum of baby, I should be very experience liao. Told him no use, this gonna be last manufactured product.

I am now trying to increase milk flow as latching Vivienne on. Still only very little trickles, drinking more liquids and eat more fish.

Sorry for the 'lorsoh' story.

To all mummies having confinement now,
Wat are you doing here!?!?
Rest, rest & more rest,
sleep when BB sleeps,
rest your back well, else backache will hit you soon.

<font color="aa00aa">Feifei,
I let mine take gripe water cos PD says ok. I noted that the instruction label states for bbs 1 mth &amp; above, can consume 5ml up to 4 times daily. As mine is just a NB, I let her take oni 3-5ml twice daily with abt 30ml of plain water. So far, it clears her rashes quite drastically. I vain mummy lar, wan her to look good tis wkend mah…. :p

Felicia,
Not 'kua zhang' wah…I think it is ok…kekekeke….

Ellysia,
Be careful of cream cos some may contains steroids. The cream tat my PD prescribe for my bb also ve steroids, so although PD says can use, my hb wun allow me to use it on her. So far my MIL applied once on my bb’s face but she disallow me to tell hb cos she knows her son will yell at her abt it…try to let yur son drink plain water to get rid of the rashes lar…

Cynthia,
Dun cry / think too much cos post natal depression can also strike after 14 days. It is the hormones playing tricks lar…come n chat wif us here or msn me also can, alrite? Sometime, we jus need pple who r going thru the same thing to speak to n things will look much brighter, okie? *hugs hugs*</font>

Rizty, I do not have your contacts otherwise can visit you at TMC hotel leh, hee. But I did manage to catch up with Tera and her darling Lucas.

Dear ladies, thanks for your well wishes. Will be biz these few days so I will drop in only now and then to read or post lar.

Hi Ellysia,i never breastfeed i use formula..ta wat i sacre bit mil sae is ok just put him slp side way but he fart alots..hehe

2nd questions,i dun noe y my baby at nite hungry v fast.he every 2hrs hungry n he drank 90ml but morning he can tahan 3 to 4 hrs to drinl 90ml..Do u think i should increase the milk at nite?Pls Advice....

<font color="aa00aa">Riz, i was still thinking if u had discharge after seeing yoru last post last week. Me goin for my check up with Dr Ang tomolo. I was aware he'll be on leave this weekend and come back next Thur, so i'm bit worry. Just hopefully me oredy dilate by tmr.
Wow, u really another June heroine mum whom delivered ur baby w/o epi at 3.8kg! Salute! </font>