(2008/06) June 2008

soyabean,
cramps not regular. Ohhh, so not ready for bb's arrival..... How does the muscus plug looked like?

ioio,
can update chart for me? 2.47kg at 36 weeks. I'll be delivering at TMC.

<font color="3FC4E5"><font face="Comic Sans MS">cactus.. no prob...;p

finally on ML.. now staying at home.. </font></font>

Juliet,
DUn give up lor..Initially its like that de...u bery good liao, both side combine hv 60ml, my intinal MS only abt 20-40ml for both side leh...I taking fenugeek for abt 5days liao...find that it does works lor..Maybe becos i dun pump too often, thats y MS stays at 100ml fo rboth side...I also can't statisfy my ger, no choice but to supp with FM..

soyabean,
wow, seems like soon leh...u pack ur hospital bag yet?

piyoz,
Hv u been walking alot?

felicia,

ya lor.... don't know whether it's the real show or not.

So shocked when I saw it yesterday.

It's the normal off white discharge plus bit of brownish red colouring.

piyoz...
me soo opposite... so ready but bb dun wan come out. :p mucus plug is like a bloody show... u will either see a bloody discharge like ur menses... for some women, the entire can come off on its own, so its like a piece of blood clot...

<font color="3FC4E5"><font face="Comic Sans MS">piyoz.. look like you are gg to deliver soon.. all the best...

congrat to all mummies who have popped over the weekend... so many cute babies photos.. ;p</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies whom is still working, can i know how you prepare urself in case you suddenly need to go for labour?
I was wondering about this when my collegue keep stressing to me if water bag burst during at work or in MRT, then it'll be a big mess. I always keep a underpad plus one night use pad just in case such incident happen. But i know if really water bag burst, i dont think one pad is enuf lor. Then how about clothing? Cant be keeping one set of cloths in my bag mah.

Am i thinking too much liao? Stress man!</font>

feifei,
walking as per normal. I'm teaching in school, so have been walking a lot since day 1. Now holidays, so actually walking much lesser already. But over the weekend, think squat bit more, cos was playing with my #1 on the floor.

after seeing the discharge, rest of my sunday, I just lie down and rest. don't dare to walk to much.

ioio,
thanks!!!

piyoz...
the plug may be coming off slowly... jus monitor it... no cause for alarm yet cos no contractions.

feifei...
yup... hosp bag is packed and stationed in hb's car already. now jus waiting to activate it.
how often are u pumping? if poss, do try to pump every 3 hrs.

Felicia, I keep one set of clothes in office (my mom &amp; FIL send me to and from work so not too worried about waterbag bursting in commute). I have a piece of pad in my bag, together with my antenatal card for admission. That's about it.

Aprilmum,
Hi ger...my ger huh? at 1st was good but past 2 days she abit confused, hv to put my n****** into her mouth afew times b4 she gets it rite..but so far so gd =D...she can suck for 15-20mins each side and then fall asleep..sometimes suck one side ans slept, end up i hv to pump out the milk lor..

Me feel super tired lor...Been taking care of my ger since i dischagred..so frm the day i discharged til now, i nv slept a full nite sleep without waking up...Everyday wake up by 6am...cos need to latch my ger, also pump milk..Then afternoon helped my MIL to take care of my ger...sianz...its so tiring lor...kinda of regret having a bb..haiz..

felicia...
gee... i dun carry a pad ard with me leh... :p so i hv to pray hard it doesnt burst! my workplace is abt 10mins from GlenE actuali... so it will be quite fast for me to get to hosp if i ever go into labour.

Felicia, dun want to scare you, but my doctor told me if waterbag bursts, unless it is a trickle/leak, it is usually enough water to wet our clothes, inside and out. so even 1 pad is not enough... hopefully waterbag doesn't burst in commute loh. if really have to burst, then burst at office. better in that sense.

soyabean,

so the show will be a bright red discharge???

don't worry, think your bb will be arriving real soon =)

I'm not ready cos bb still quite small. Hopefully bb can grow bit bigger before she arrives.

can even focus to do my work today. Only planning to go on ML from 23 June onwards. Still got outstanding matters to clear!!!!

feifei...
dun be sad.... this is one thing about motherhood... loss of sleep... everyone goes thru it... jus nap whenever ur girl naps.

<font color="aa00aa">soyabean/ cactus, my office to TMC i think need more than half an hour leh. I think i better bring a set of clothing here liao.</font>

Hi ladies/mummies

Finally have some time to read the posting...
My gal is very lazy... sleep and sleep and sleep and was quite lucky as she is making minimum noise at night only when she poo or urine she will make noise...

MLP - I'm breastfeeding my baby and till now think only MS have not kick in yet but can feel breast engorge liao....

Just to enquire if any mummies feed their baby water.. My MIL insisted to feed baby water through bottle and now i think baby too lazy to latch on... Once she latch on she will sleep... Dunno if she uses my breast as pacifier..... *haiz*

Veniz - congrates to you.... welcome to motherhood.....

piyoz...
yup... the show will be red discharge. keke... then are u eating more now to build up your bb? jus cut down on the carbos...

felicia...
in that case, u better bring a set of extra clothing to ur workplace, or if better still, jus carry it in your bag wherever u go?

pris...
bfg bbs are NOT supposed to be given water. the bulk of BM is made up of water, so there is no need to give bb other water supplements.

feifei... dun be sad.. My CL is leaving end of this week.. I guess I will be in same situation as you all then.. I have been having a good life for 3 weeks liao due to CL, now it's time to face reality...

hi juliet
Me also feel like giving up BM..every 3-4 hrs need to pump, then middle of nite got to wake up once to pump sian... My MS kicked in also abt day 4.. so far it ranges from 120 - 250 ml depending on how long I never pump... haiz, seems like FM is the easier alternative out...

hi ellysia
Yes, the gripe water also states from 1 month onwards.. so far we have been giving him but seems so far so good..

hi ioio
When you are free, can help me update baby weight .. 3.64 kg at week 3.. thanks

soyabean,

hee hee.... have been taking full cream milk, ice-cream, lots of meat plus whatevery hi-calorie stuff. over last week, my bb gained 300g =) Hopefully she can continue at this rate.

pris,
tbf no need water. Does your bb have jaundice? My pd did mention for my #1 that can feed bb with some water if bb has jaundice to bring level down. Otherwise, no need for water.

pris.. me same as u... initially bb also treat my breast as pacificer.. he latch on n will sleep...i gave up in e end and express out...by right babies are not supposed to take water.. but i think very very little bit (eg half teaspoon) should be ok?we give bb abt half a teaspoon with his gripe water n also when he hiccups using a spoon once`a day... the water is supposed to help in clearing jaundice too...

hi all, ii did a glucose test and found that ive gestational diabetes during pregancy.. will se my gynae and a dietician for the problem this coming thurs but im already worried sick now!!

is it a big deal and is there anyone witht he smae problem with me?

1476131.jpg

This is Baby Eunicia jus born ....

tinyfeet, is your bb of average weight? the biggest prob with gestational diabetes is really an oversized bb. that's all. normally modification to diet is all that it takes to bring this under control. only if a mother is diabetic before pregnancy, would the mother require insulin during pregnancy.

pris...
normal for bb to hiccup often leh... cos they hv to get used to swallowing... and feeding them water like how adults drink water when hiccuping does not go together!

baby is 3.1kg(+/- 200g) at my week 36.

im worried that i will ve problems with breast feeding.. or even still having diabetes after baby is born!

so all i do now is to keep my weight low is it? im 54kg when pregnant and is now abt 67kg total abt 13kg for my 36 weeks of pregnancy

tinyfeet, normally GD will go away after bb is born. don't worry about it. you should try to stay away from sweet stuff &amp; carbohydrates. it's not so much your weight ,but your bb;s weight that you need to keep low. since you can't control bb's weight gain, you just have to take less sugar and carbs which will worsen your GD. GD mothers tend to have oversized bbs. Maybe your doctor can advice you further. your bb sounds like on the big size, but but not be oversized (doctors consider > 4kg bbs oversized - there is a medical term for this). My bb is 3kg at 38 weeks - I put on 19 kg from start to now though.

juliet,
Sometime milk kick in after 1-2wk. Now i am in day6, if jus pump b4 feed abt 40ml each side. When i have #1, my milk kick in after 10days. Relax ok n try ur best. As mention to u last x in our chat, even partial bf ok one.
Today bring nicole to pd check her jaundice, lucky stil mild just need sunbath. Now i also partial bf. Only latch n bf during day time. Night time formula. Pd mention bb wit jaundice, tbf may tk up 2 2mth den recover, for bb partial, abt 1mth, bb on formula alot faster. Why? Because of our hormones. So now i wil jus stick to partial lo and wait til milk kicks in.
Twinky,
Hmm ur urine prob got tel your gynae? For me i can hold my bladder. This round mine cut abit didnt really reach e buttock.

Congratulations to all mummies who has given birth! I am still waiting, today 39weeks 1 day, had VE last friday, gynae said cervic still closed, no contractions from CTG, water level &amp; placenta ok, bb heartbeat ok, maybe late again this time round.

ioio,
can you pls update my bb'w est. weight at 38wks5days pls, he est. abt 2.7-2.9kg, gynae said smaller than average, maybe thats why he wanted to stay in me for a longer time

roxy,
please perserve, do not give up BF so quickly, for my #1, i rber i also expressed it out whenever bb misses a feed, that includes middle of the night, like what you are doing, but BF is so much easier when you are out with your bb, dont have to bring so many barang barang, at night, you dont have to wake up to boil water to make FM, bb will not be overweight due to over feeding of FM, bb will have soft stools, less likely to have constipation, there are so many other benefits, most importantly, bb should be fed human milk whenever possible, thats the sacrifices we mothers have to make for our little ones, World Health Organization recommended at least to BF for 6 months

roxy: ur supply not bad wor! at least got 3 digits! :p mine so pathetic...damn despo...was telling hb now every little drop counts! then when i see bb nv finish his milk, i'll get upset coz i pump until so kelian to make it to 60ml n then he dun drink finish?! wahhaha...

cynthia: ya lor, think today i'll mix w/ formula liao...really despo already...

feifei: me pump v. often...every 3 hrs i try to pump, hoping got milk...if i not too tired, i'll let bb latch on for a while first b4 i pump...am still doing the malay massage, so always feel like i dun hv enuff time!

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats to all mummies who ve popped these few days!

ioio,
can pls help update TF's bb's length as 50cm, mode of delivery - natural wif epi. as of wkend, her bb was in Special Care for Observation. her bb is quite big &amp; her cut was till very near the anus area. will update u gers when I next hear from her...

RE: Gripe Water
bought my ger to PD over the wkend for her rashes (on face) &amp; PD recommend to take Gripe water although she did prescibe steroid cream. so now my ger on Gripe Water @ twice to thrice a day at 5ml to 20ml of plain water. her rashes is starting to clear finally.

she is coming to 1-mth old tis thurs liao...time reai flies...@ last visit to PD, she is now wtging 3.5kg (which is 1kg heavier as compared to her birth wtg liao). now hb n me r preparing for her 1st-mth celebration tis sat...&amp; i can finally say goodbye to my confinement...YIPPPPPEEEE!!!!!!

on the sad note is tat i prob ve to leave my poor bb to my MIL wef her 6th wk onwards as I may ve to start wk then (if my job search comes to fruitation)...feel sad when i think of it cos most mummies can keep their bbs company till they r 3mths old...but i ve to leave mine when she is 6th wk old liao...*sob sob*</font>

i'm just back from gynae again! was told my cervix still not open yet!!! i'm gonn crazy liao... he said i got to induce tonight due to overdue for 1 week liao.... faint

Hi fennie
so many benefits hor... But with all the breasts pain from sore nipples due to over pumping etc, it's so tempting to give up... but you are right.. I must perserve on, at least for another 1-2 more months ..till ML is over...

hi pris
It's best to latch bb on directly.. when bb is done, then pump out the unfinished milk. For me it's coz bb totally refuse to suck hence I have no choice but to pump out.. but if your bb is willing to suck, best to let bb suck as this will stimulate BM

Hi Juliet
You are same as me.. everytime my bb will leave abt 10-20ml not finished then I will heartpain that pump so hard to get this milk but he never finish... have u tried taking papaya and fish head soup to increase MS? And must drinks lotsa longan tea during the day as needs lotsa fluids.. can also drink milk to supplement and also very important must pump at least once from 11pm - 6am coz it is then that our hormones send signal to brain to incrase milk supply...

hi crystal
*hi-five* My confinement also ending this week.. so happy :p But I still sneak out during my confinement, my hubby give up on me.. haha And bb also having his full month celebration this sat.. same as yours

hi TF

piyoz,
u try to rest more hor...could be show also de..

soyabean,
me pump 4-5hrs lor cos really no time...and I need to pump 1hr before I can get 100-110ml for both sides...so cham lor..

Aprilmum,
wat pump are u using? cos I using Medala mini electric, the funnel like too small for my nipple so I need to squeeze out to get more milk..

juliet,
ya lor...so sian rite..Always not enough time...i also sian...no time to rest =(..

crystal,
ur bb also hv rashes? is it on her face? My b also hv soem on her face, neck, and back leh..

Liew,
so tonite u will admit?

Roxy,
u jiayou ya...BF is not easy, hope all of us can do it..