(2008/06) June 2008

JP, Felicia, bizznow, roooller,mylittleprince,
thanks, photos to be uploaded later.

Ellysia, did u massage your breasts? i find that more milk comes out after massaging

star, did doc say jaundice due to what? dun blame yourself cos jaundice can't be helped

Tera, you can try to squeeze your areola to see if there's colostrum

roooller, i was 2-3com dilated when induced

ioio, please update my bb details: hospital should be mt a, bb's height is cm, my baby girl's name is Avril, & i delivered via assisted natural w/o epi. Thanks!

aprilmum, your birth story so detailed keke

KrispyKreme, roooller, rizty, veniz, jia you and good luck!

here's my birth story:

Around 3pm, found blood stains on toilet paper when cleaning. Called gynae to check and to my very surprise he asked me to check into hospital at 9pm

Left office to go home prepare.

Tried to sleep but can't get to sleep.

Bathed and checked hospital bag to make sure everything's there.

Wake hubby but he say gynae wun reach so early so we waited till around 9plus then left the house.

Got call from gynae how come i still not in hospital yet :p din think that he will be there early!! Really feel so paiseh!

Reached hospital around 9.30pm, not enough staff at the labour ward counter. Waited until one midwife attended to me, and brought me into the labour ward. At this time i was still feeling quite calm, cos back in my mind i still dun believe that i'm in labour already.

In labour ward, asked to change into hospital gown with nothing inside, then to lie on bed to wait.

Hubby asked to go and do the registration so left alone in the ward. Feeling boring until gynae came in.

Gynae put his hand in i thought he was checking my dilation only but it felt really painful.

After he's done he says i'm 2-3cm dilated and should give birth around 4-5am. I was thinking sian so long wait, boring nothing to do in labour ward leh.

Tried to chat with the midwife (who's a very very nice lady) attending me, and then found out from her that my gynae broke my waterbag (i still blur blur dunno). She ask me if i got poo at home i said little bit so she insert the liquid for me to pass motion. Was told to hold it for around 5 minutes so that can clear everything clean clean.

After done my biz, midwife say cannot walk around anymore cos will be put on the drip. She says the drip contains the glucose and induction drip. She says its gynae's instructions to help me faster cos i din feel any pain at all. (after the water bag burst i felt only slight cramps)

The drip was put on at around 10.55pm, once the drip kicked in, I started feeling real contraction pains. Its really very very very very pain, totally unbearable!

My hubby keeps encouraging my by my side and the midewife keep insisting i use the luffing gas but i hated it cos it makes me feel so drowsy but pain still there.

At around 12plus, the midwife ask if i feel like poo poo feeling must inform them which at that time i was indeed having that feeling. The midwife was all of a sudden very kan cheong and i think she checked me and announced that i can start pushing already! I was soooo surprise cos i was about to ask for epi already due to the tremendous pain.

Gynae came in and everyone got ready to ask me to push. At this time i already breathe in lots of luffing gas and everything was a blur to me. Vaguely remember that everyone's asking me to breathe in and hold it in and push all the way when i feel pain coming. I think they were all scolding me all the time cos i never did it right.

After 3 pushes, with gynae's help baby was out at around 1am!

Gynae stitched me up which seemed like a hundred years haha, he cut me so much that needs so much stitching meh? Hubby says he stitch so ugly haha

iamsnow,sharon,
My MS also bery little lor...can only pump max 90ml for both side...my ger drinks it all in one feed, so my MS is not enough for her actually...,hiaz...Been drinking green papaya soup every wk, eat fish everyday...haiz...mayb i din pump enough..

ND'sgirl,
Wow, ur birth story interesting leh...u din feel warm water gushing out when gynae burst ur water bag?

Aprilmum,
heng hor, almost csect liao..how u coping?

Roooller,
Wow, 3cm dilate liao...so induce in 2days time, excited?

feifei,
ya, contractions seem to kick in since yesterday
yest nite didnt sleep well at all.
then today got some brown discharge
dun noe whether bb can 'tong' till mon bo

ND's girl,

roooller,
wow, bb coming out soon liao, excited for u leh! =)

try to eat watever u wan now cos after delivery, can't eat alot of fd during confinement..i miss cold drinks, ice cream, etc..hiaz

hi aprilmum,

WAH yr birth story also exciting. WAH u manage to pump 50ml milk so soon??!

feifei,

how is yr BF?

Me only miserable 10ml but maybe cos i latch before pumping so unable to tell how much is the actual amount. Me still have to top up FM of around 60-80ml.

Me intend to latch until 1 mth then try pumping again to see how much is my BM. After the engorgement period seems tat my BM is flowing but supply still lesser than demand.

Initally i was so upset abt not able to total BF but after discussing with hb he felt that partial BF is quite as good as FM has some nutrients tat BM does not have.

How many times do u change yr bb diaper? mine like to poo while bf, thus cause a lot of disruptions. My BF can be as long as 1.5hrs so tiring. cos he will fall asleep then wake up drink, then poo, then burp etc. A lot of gas also.

actually abt confinement the most i cannot tahan is cannot bathe so often.. my mum did allow me to bathe but tell me not to bathe often so i am trying to dong.. then last few days so hot my body all sweating and POURING, i can't tahan and have a super hot bath using ginger bath lotion from littledreamers cos i find tat is better in expelling wind. I also order the massage oil from littledreamers and apply to loose water at feet seems to be quite good so far.

Star,

how do u know tat yr bb jaundice level has went up? the PD check?

Connie,

I tink it takes around 2 weeks to 1 month. Some say heal by 2 weeks whereas some take as long as 1 mth.

ND girl,

Ya i massage my breasts b4 bf, and try to drink more water to increase BM supply.

Tera,

On day 3 then i have some colostrum so during hosp stay there is no milk at all, thus always end up feeding FM cos my bb seems to drink a lot.

On day 4-5 start to have engorgement so i bf and pump like mad then massage like mad too. also use cabbage leaves but put on 20mins as longer than tat will reduce BM supply.

after engorgement clear, day 6 onwards seem to have more milk liao but still nt enuff to feed my bb.

Ellyisa,
My BF also KNS lor..can pum pout max 90ml of BM if i pump 4-5hrly...my ger is drinking 90-100ml of BM at one go so my ms is still too little for her...soemtimes I latch her, after that i can only pump out 50ml..Then she will cry for milk 1hr later...I also supp with FM lor...No choice de..cos MS not alot leh..

I hv been drinking red dates drink, milo in e morning, green papaya soup, black bean soup,eat fish but still like that...But ever since I try fenugeek, my ms increase to 90ml for both sides lor...previously was only 50ml..Mayb u wan ask ur hb go GNC buy the pills for u to try?

For me, after my engorgement, my MS seems more leh...Did u maasage b4 u pump?

I change my bb's diaper every 2hrly leh, i using Pampers NB lor..shockin grite? cos my ger drinking BM and FM so can pee alot..I also feed her with plain water...My BF takes max 1hr..but recently my ger only latch on ard 15-20mins each side...haiz...thats y will cry for milk 1hr later cos she din suck enough..

i bath everyday lor, sometimes with herbs, sometimes without cos weather so hot lor..can't stand actually...

So tired hor cos need take care of bb.,hiaz...
Me learning how to bath bb now lor cos will be on my own after my confinement ends..

Hows ur wound?

Photos of my darling girl, Baby Floyce...

1473586.jpg

Hi ellysia,
my BF only miserable 10ml for both side...ultra low...using medala pump...i am at my third week already...no latching...thinking of giving up

hello fei fei, sorry har, me absentminded...this is also your third week in confinement? yours is first child?

cute bb!

iamsnow, I have been taking fish n milo already. can't take papaya due to bb jaundice. now I'm pumping n milk flow is better. think is because my last pump was at 2pm! got to monitor again.

ellysia, my flow was good when I have sore nipples. I can pump 150ml both breast n will feel breast harden n pain after 4hrs. but now....hiaz

talking about changing diaper, my little girl very nonsense. quite alot of times while changing half way n put on new diaper, she will pee. make me have to waste another diaper. zzzz

aprilmom - Wow! Kudus to you leh! Keep up the good work! Take more fish & papaya soup plus hot milo drink before BF or pumping. Thanks for sharing your birthstory with us.

roooller & Ritzy - Sending over lots of ELVs. Jia Yu & Good luck on Mon!

Connie Lim - Depends on individual. Mine took abt 2-3 weeks and the stitches disolved by itself. Congrats once again!

Veniz - Add you liao!
Jai Yu! Wow, good timing, man!

ND's girl - Thanks for sharing your birthstory with us!
Aiyoh, the stitches cannot see one lah. No worries!

Jessica - Thanks for sharing the pixs with us! So cute and love the eyes!!!

feifei,

WAH u pump for so long? I find tat pumping is more painful than latch so i still prefer latching. Trying to latch longer so tat can feed bb less FM.

my MS also increase after engorgement subside. I use huggies NB and pampers NB but find tat huggies NB seems to be better, less leak.
My bb also pee and poo a lot, i tink we change 6-8 times a day. He always like to poo after we change, but if we wait for him to finish pooing, he will cry if there is wet soil in his diaper.

I haven't tried pumping since engorgement cease. Intend to pump again maybe next week or further next week to test my MS amount. Only once when i latch for 2 hours, my bb didn't ask for FM. But i am lazy to latch so long, so always latch for 1 hr (30min each).

Anyway if MS does not increase, i will still prefer to partial BM than to give up BF.. cos any amt of BM is still beneficial to bb.

Me not tinking to try fenugreek cos heard of side effects, but not sure wat side effects. Maybe wait until few more weeks then i see how.
I also didn't take papaya fish soup bec hard to prepare as my mum is ored so busy with the washing and care of bb. Then the confinement food i order didn't have though it stated in menu.. but so far the confinment meal i order is not bad.

buttercup,

do not give up so soon, some people MS will only increase after 6 weeks or so.

sharon,

wah yr BS is quite good. How much milo u drink?

feifei,

Btw does the TMC nurse shave u at labour ward? cos i find it start to itch.. dunno how to relieve the itch. U know any cream?

ellysia, good previously n I haven start milo. dunno y suddendly supply is so low now. now trying to take milo see got increase anot.

<font color="aa00aa">congratulations Babycupid!

Roooller, still at home? When wanna go to hosp?

Any news from Riz and Veniz?</font>

Sharon,

so far milo works for me.

I been tinking.. tink it could be tat my milk supply flow is too slow, may not be due to MS low. cos i find tat my bb stop but milk is still there.. then it make the feeds so long to get him satisfied so i always cut short by giving FM in the end.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i think fenugreek not much side effect if compare to oth supplements. So far, most of the mummies taking fenugreek does not complain about anything. If i remember correctly, the only case i saw in website about fenugreek side effect is about weight gain by a ah moh mummy, but not sure if fenugreek is the cause or not lah.
So far, know tat domperidone will caused side effect like nauseaus and headache.
But if u can find oth more natural source to increase ur BM then it wud be good.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">roooller, seems like ur baby is eager to come out to eat dumpling. hehe....

Yest nite i'm having mild contractions for few hrs, causing me to lost my beauty sleep. V part oso pain pain. Wondering when is my turn?!</font>

Felicia,

i'm still around.
now running flu, take medicine fr my previous checkup.
just taken 2 bak zhang too

seem like the discharge getting lesser
contractions on n off but nt regular
can be within 5-10mins interval
but later no sound no pix.
maybe i hv bn sleepg whole morning :p

but felicia, ur EDD 26jun leh
be patience hehe
i can understand cos i've bn waiting for bb's arrival since early may

BabyCupid - Congrats!!!

Connie Lim - Try seating on a float (you know the ones that's being used for swimming)

roooller - Me also ate bak zhang. Darn shoik!
Sending over lots fo ELVs!!!

<font color="0000ff">Babycupid &amp; Veniz, Congrats!!!

Veniz: Woah! So it's gonna be the greatest bday pressie to ur hb!

Roooller, seems like it's gonna be ur turn next!
Jia You and yes lots of ELV!!!</font>

Connie,

My bb drinks around 20-60ml after me bf. This is provided i bf him for 1 hr minimum. Previously he drank 90ml at hosp when i do not have any milk.

So i guess its a matter of time.. hopefully can bf more cos FM quite hassle to prepare.

U can sit on float, NTUC pharmacy got sell but its around $20m or u can get swimming float. i sitting on float too.

For me i find it difficult to sleep oso bec my piles give me problem..

ladies...
i've been having menstrual cramps this morning (dunno whether issit contractions)...somemore im having menses-like blood flow now...

called gynae...was told to monitor if the pain is persistent for every 5 mins interval, must admit to hospi...

hi all! congrats to all the mummies who have popped! my EDD in 4days time and i am still working today at my booth at the Motherhood Exhibition. if any of you coming down today, do drop by my booth to say hi, it's booth A12 The Studio Loft. see you!

hi girls,
congrats to the new mums who have popped!

got sms from veniz last nite that she was in labour ward. think i'll go visit her later or tmr morning. me extended my stay by 1 more day to be more confident of latching baby on.

Ellysia and ND's girl,
thanks for the advice.

my milk supply has not kicked in yet and this is already my 3rd day. the nurse checked this morning and still no colostrum.
so have told the nurse to give FM via cup feed while continuing to latch on to stimulate. baby din latch on properly at times and nipples very sore now. then bottom also very sore. jiat latz. seriously hope i will be able to cope at home and milk supply will kick in soon.

rooller,
all the best for tomr! to answer ur earlier qn - i was only around 1.5cm dilated when induced.

kylene,
so u did not induce on fri ya? waiting for natural signs or still going for induction?

MLP...
ya need to monitor...rem i posted few days back tat i dun have any symptoms showing...today kena the pain...

argh...i need to go office tomorrow leh to do the handover...

congrats to those who have just given birth too... welcome to motherhood....

Here's my birth story

8.30am - wake to to prepare for gynae appointment, went to bath and eat...

10.30am - appointment at doctor's clinic. upon reaching went for urine test found that i was having a show. Told doc about it and he did a check and said i open liao... 2 cm ask mi to admit. He said need to burst waterbag and put on drip.

11.00am - reached labour ward. want to poo poo lie on the bed and wait. doc come in shortly after burst my water bag and gosh it was so painful.... and was placed on a drip.

12.00 pm - all the while felt contractions but still bearable, husband just arrive and brought my hospital bag from home.

1.50pm - pain was unbearable think ctg hit 100 plus... ask for painkiller to be jabbed on the tigh. Ask the nurse to check and i was still 2 cm dilated. Ask the nurse at the rate wat time will i deliver and she say approx 1hr 1 cm so i told husband to go and do his things first later then come thinking labour will be quite long.

Was drowsy from the dose and manage to catch some sleep.

2.00 plus to 4 pm - keep asking for urine pan as contractions made mi feel like weeing... ask for urine pan for about 3 times and each time lots of urine and later the nurse drain the urine for mi again before giving birth.....ask for laughing gas... pain was so instense tat i couldn't take it liao...

4.00 pm - think husband was back liao... contractions was soooo intense that i have the urge to push. midwife check and i was 8 - 9 cm dilated and told mi to push liao... the next moment i saw my gynae... I could not push properly as i keep struggling. In the end doc put the vacume on mi and after a few hard push, i could feel the baby head at the rectum and keeping pushing and at last the baby was out with the help of the vacume.

The feeling was so great to have the baby out. Somehow treshold of pain become zero and had to be on laughing gas while doc was stiching mi up.

ioio - kindly update for mi

Baby name : Eunicia Yeo
Weight : 2.92kg
Height : 50 cm
Head cir : 33.5 cm

tks

<font color="0000ff">hey Prisc, peifu u w/o epi! Woah, u lucky lei... had show just before gynae's appt. Can ask him to check on the spot. are you bf-ing ur little one? =D</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Just got Veniz's sms reply.
She had given birth at 10.33pm yesterday. She succeeded in VBAC. Her baby gal was born at 2.72kg.

CONGRATULATIONS Veniz!</font>

Hihi Ladies,

Congrates to all new mummies who popped. Haven got time to read through the past 1 wk's postings.

Haven been logging in to this thread for awhile since I deliver. Too tired with baby and being a cow. I haven been faithful enough though, I only pump every 4-5 hrs cos 3 hrs really too siong for me...

For pumping of breastmilk, I brought the UNO earlier, but due to sore nipple, I'm currently sticking to Manual pump so that I can control e suction. Anyone facing problem with nipples hurting and Electric pump like me?

Ioio,

So sorry, mind u help me edit some changes.

Baby's name: Erica
Birth Mode: Emergency Epi C-sec.

So envious of you mummies who can deliver by natural birth. The thought of my birth story sends shivers down my spine. So better don't post it here in case I scare the readers here. Me so lousy, 19 hrs of labour still Emergency C-sec. I was crying like hell when I was told I had to C-sec and I fainted in the process. It's that bad loh. I think no mums in history here can be as lousy as me to cry until fainted during labour.

To all those who haven pop, Jia You wor... Don't be a coward like me... All the best. I'll try to log in frequently also. Take care ladies...

I've delivered my baby boy normal vaginal delivery w/o epidural on 6/6/08

My process was so fast I didn't have time to ask for epidural! My water bag burst at 9pm, I reached the hospital 9.45pm and baby was out by 1045pm! I was already 6cm dilated when i reached the hospital. When my gyne arrived, I was ready to deliver! My gyne was caught by surprise too as this is my 1st baby and she didn't expect it to be so fast!

Tera,
so in the end I delivered on the same day as you!