(2008/06) June 2008

feifei, I read articles and heard from my MIL that young bbs like to be swaddled very tightly for the first few weeks after birth. Also, some mothers swear by beansprout husk pillow for bb to place across the chest. Something like the Zaky pillow. Has your gal tried that yet?

hmm.. how come 8cm still allow epidural.. i tot the cap is 6cm? funny..

i had the mucus plug again.. this time round its with more blood.. aiyo.. when would it be? no contractions still..

congrats! christina & danryan!!

cactus,
tks for e infor..my mum made some beanspount pillow liao, we put that on her chest each time she sleeps lor...

babycupid,
maybe u wan check with ur gynae?

feifei,
checked with her yd when i had it.. she said as long no contraction of 5mins apart n waterbag burst and fresh blood bleeding.. den no nd to admit wor..

back from lunch... had sinful chix chop...

rooller...
i bgt the pigeon nipple puller... oni abt $4 nia... :p

cactus...
yes... its true... epi takes away the urge of pushing cos one dun feel pain anymore. for my #1, i wasnt pushing well cos of epi and this lasted nearly one hour... so my gynae ordered for the epi to be switched off. once i started feeling slight pain, i called the nurse over and said i wld try to push already... i didnt wanna wait till too pain... after a few contractions, my boy was born, wihtout any assisted delivery.

feifei...
i see... then how abt upping your fluid intake? and do try to latch charlotte as often as she wans... she is the best stimulator for the milk factory. if poss, try not to supplement anymore.

feifei, cactus...
i am a true believer of swaddling!!!! i didnt do it for my boy. i was using cloth diaper to swadle but he kept struggling free... cos the diapers were too small. so for this round, i hv prepared a few swaddling cloths. die die oso wan to swaddle... babies feel very secure when swaddled cos its like being in the tight and space-constraint tummy.

Hi, all, recovering from knee break. Will have c-section on jun 12, baby girl. Like to check any place to buy YUE ZI SHUI( Confinement water), and QU SHI SHUI( the water for bathing in confinement)?

rooller, I thought colic is just a term which people give to ceaseless crying for no reason? It's like, only if everythign is don ebut bb keeps on crying, then call colic but it dosen't get to the root of the problem?

soyabean,
if dun supp, can't feed her leh...cos at nite she normally drink FM so can sleep longer...

Babycupid,
i see..got to monitor lor..

feifei...
but to be frank... u cant be supplementing and be expecting milk ss to go up... cos u r not meeting all her demand wif BM.

ioio,
yes, c-section as i broke knee in apr, and the leg still does not move very well. have to go for elective c section

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, i didnt know lily's gynae coz she oso just recently joined in the thread during her last few weeks before EDD.
But hor, from the thread, lot of VBAC mummies suggested Dr Paul Tseng (hope u still remember i told u about this gynae before. He was quite popular for VBAC cases.
Of course, i hope u dont had to see him lah. Get wat i mean rite?</font>

feifei, from what I read, latching bb on is the best way. My SIL didn't latch her bb on often enough, cos she said she didn't have enough milk to meet demand. instead, she supplemented with FM and even fed plain water. in the end, her milk ss dried up in 5 weeks. our bodies are very smart. if latch on often enough, bb will natural send signals to our bodies to produce sufficient milk. important is nto to be stressed. you may want to check with your bb's PD,your doctor, lactation consultant, to see if your bb is feedig ok, whether you need any medication to boost your milk ss, and whether bb is sucklign properly/latching on correctly.

Felicia, yes, I've heard good things about Paul Tseng, and I remember our discussion. Yes, know what you mean. I hope #1 is normal delivery but can't take for granted.. I like to be prepared for all eventualities. I'm a kiasi kiasu cactus.

feifei...
yes... the true blue way is jus to latch as often as ur baby wans. bfg is not about looking at the clock and when bb wan to be fed. in our modern times, we are very prone to try to fix a schedule for bb to feed for several reasons e.g. our convenience, to keep track of feeding time etc. but bfg is not abt these at all. its abt feeding bb as and when bb WANS to be fed.

for my #1, i reali regret not being trying hard enuf to latch him. but i cldnt blame myself cos being a 1st time mummy, i was very flustered and was oso under alot of pressure from pple ard me to feed bb FM cos bb was always crying very loudly everytime i try. so in the end, i gave up and jus relied on pumping. and of cos, ss cannot meet demand, and i was supplementing FM. and post-natal depression wasnt helping things.

its very impt for u to establish ur milk ss in the initial weeks, and the best way to do it is latch. i am actuali very envious to know that charlotte can latch!

jus jia you... in weeks to come, the frequent night feedings will be worth it. and soon charlotte will fall into a more regular routine of feeding.

feifei,
best latch on.
but for whatever reason u can't

try to pump every 3hrly, n include nite hor

u still can keep up w bb's demand

my gf didnt manage to latch on her twin boys
she managed to fully bf them up to 1 yr old and still got surplus

roooller...
yes... must pump at nite oso... :p another mistake i made with my #1 was i didnt wake up at nite to pump.

i learnt so many lessons from #1... i hope this round i will be successful.

Hi gers,
Just finished Bf-ing my bb and took the opp to come online.
Didnt have time to look thru' the previous posts. ;p

Re: Night feeds
Can I check with the mummies here, how often does your bb wake up for night feeds?

Re: Overfed vs underfed
There was this few days that my bb kept crying for milk despite constant feeding. Then yday, she kept sleeping and only work up 2x in the night for feed. I even have to wake her up for her day feed. Aiyo, when she drinks too much, I worried that she's overfed. When she sleeps too much, I worried that she not feeding enuff. Sob! So stressful.

soyabean,

my #1 also not easy as 1 of my nipple is inverted.

at nite, i also direct feed, after which still try to pump.

best can latch on.

imagine the convenience if u go out, u just need a sling + diapers.

all the best for our #2 hehe

feifei, soyabean, roooller,
Sometimes, my bb didnt feed much and I expressed my milk out. Just when I am midway or finished expressing, she started crying for more milk. Hmpf.. I angry.. Haha.

roooller...
thanks... how did u get your #1 to direct feed wif ur inverted nipples?

my intention this time is to get everything right at the hosp... and not wait until go home.

zuen...
hehe... how abt jus latching her on again? :p so much stimulation... u will hv plenty of ss in time to come... keke...

anyway, sounds like lil zuen is going thru growth spurt...

soyabean,
That's wat I do. She cries until her face red. No milk oso let her suckle for fun and comfort lot.
I tot so abt the growth spurt too. Then she started drinking lesser since last night. Sometimes I feel very inadequate. When she's in the hospital, I feel very safe with the nurses around. Now, I keep worrying that she's overfed or starving. -.o" I feed her as and when she demands, rather than the 3-hourly interval as practised by the hospital. I wonder if sticking to a schedule is better.

zuen...
dun wori... u r doing alright. who is to say we shld feed babies every 3 hr? :p if they are hungry, we will feed. they are the ones who knows when they are hungry and will show it. so who we are to tell babies when they shld feed?

dats jus my thots... i hope i dun sound very persistent to some of the mummies here.

Soyabean,
Growth spurt only last 2-3 days.. I think it coincides with Lil ZuEn sudden increased demand for milk then. Should have fed her more then, I kept worrying that she will be overfed. Then my mum (the older generation, as usual) asked me not to feed her so much. Asked me to coax her to sleep. I regret liao. She's still so tiny. Must feed her more during the next growth spurt. ;p

soyabean,
normal way for direct feed.
but he v.impatient for it.
but LC taught me, alway feed him w the inverted nipple first.
then i hv probz cos he lazy lor, cos need to work harder, so LC asked me to delay his feeds. logic is, if bb is more hungry, will suck harder.
ya get the LC to chk on ur nipples
for KKH, the services is free when bb is still there

ZuEn,
soyabean is right
try to get her latch on lor
then u can bf and surf concurrently lolz

rooller...
i see... ok... i will try this out... feed on the inverted side first. but hor... when baby gets too hungry, he may not suck harder leh... baby may jus refuse to latch then...

soyabean,
firstly try to feed on demand
if bb lazy, then delay his feeding time.
another thing, bb might 'cry', then u might give in to give him the other breast.
DON'T GIVE IN!
i feel heart pain lor.
but that's wat LC taught me.

when there's no fish, prawn also good!

roooller,
Cannot leh. I am in my bro's home now. My mum is helping me with confinement. Cannot bf in front of the computer. ;p When she was in the hospital and I was at home, I used to express and surf at the same time.
Moreover, very messy when breastfeed wor. She suckle on one side, the other side starts leaking. When unlatch her to burp, both side leak. Hahaha.

shycloud,
My mum say can wor. In fact she wanted to give me that but I refused to drink. ;p But I think for C-sect mummies, might have to wait cos got wound. Must wait until duno which day then can take chicken (I supposed chicken essence included).

im choosing my own "newborn" gift now...will be delivered to me once i deliver.

instructed by boss cos he dunno which gift would be suitable...so he asks me to choose myself..

browsing fareastflora.com

Shycloud,
I oso.. I think I will let my hb finished them up, then he can take over the night feeds. Lol!

Feifei,
I tried fenugeek earlier on and milk ss did increase. I took 2 tablets, 3x aday. The sales say that if milk ss stable, can maintain at 4 tablets a day. But I oso drank papya soup, so duno which is the one that helps. ;p I stop the fenugeek liao cos it smells funny (very herbal) and I alwauys feel indigested after swallowing the big pills. When I burped, all the herbal smell starts coming up. Yucks.

Shycloud - so cute, your boss! my boss gave me baby wash. haha. california baby, esermtan (something like that) and stretch marks oil for me!!! my boss is a female.. !!

roooller,
Haha, you very funny. ;p I become gan cheong spider when my bb starts crying. All tactics gone. ;p

Back from Expo, very much a diapers day - there's Pampers, Huggies, Softlove, Nepia, Sealer brand.

Soyabean, Cactus
No, waterbag nt burst yet, just leaking once a while, so put panty liner. Did nt see doc. Next appt is next Wed. Prev appt water level still ok. Only start fr y'day then leak when too assertive or different positioning.

JP, hv u even started work? Tot if u start work then found PG, they should continue to hire u if u pass 3 mths probation. Anyway, i feel if they dun hire, then nt really worth a company to be in cos sound like slave work...haha