(2008/06) June 2008

Ops when hear Danryan 38 weeks gv birth, i also worried if i pop this week since i also 38. I'm hvg small drip of leaking this morning still, esp if i lift my leg up. Panty liner wet little by little.

TF, did you check with your doctor on the leaking? My understanding is normally contractions will start within 12 hurs if waterbag has broken. if it does not, labour needs to be induced, to reduce chance of infection and distress to bb.

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats Danryan n Mei!!! Bb Nadiah is sleeping so soundly.=) Danryan, ur birth process steady lei! It will be my dream!!! LOLzzz

Those chionging for Motherhood fair today, better go now cos alot of the sales items are like 1st 80 or 1st 100 set!

Cactus: Don't worry, it will be our turn to pop soon!

TF...
i see... hope u hear good news soon on the job...
and oh... ur waterbag burst already?

cactus...
thanks! hehe... hope ur prayers work...

congrats to danryan and mei...

danryan...
wow... u are discharged the next day after giving birth?

soyabean
coz me giving birth on 249am on 3.6.08...its counts 2 nites also lor...

yup contraction already felt abt 2 hrs only at 15mins interval then 10mins after that i called my doc

cactus...
u r not alone... though i am in office, my work email is down... i am waiting for the IT to get it up again... so basically, i am "working"... haha... so we can keep each other company.

for me, i may decide to extend on more nite too, given such circumstances... and oso if bb got to stay in for jaundice, i will extend oso. or if i hvnt manage to latch properly and wan to stay in longer to get it correct, i may do so oso.

and yes... i hv grown cactus that has wilt b4... though i water it... =P

psst!! I've killed cactus before by giving too much water before!!! It will turn from green to yellow, from hard to mushy. gross!!!

yes, it's a good idea to keep options open about extended hospital stay, esp if we need help with latching on..cos when we return home, we are bascially on our own. very easy to be depressed if we don't feel equipped to handle a newborn, esp for 1st time mommies.

all my 3 deliveries are at nite or in the early morning..#1 at 1250am........#2 at 1026pm and #3 at 249am....the hospital so quite and the midwife and staff gave more attention lor......for me discharged the earlier the better

Me so tired today..cos bb make a fuss yest, feed her, changed ehr dipaer but she still dun wan to sleep, crying til 4am then sleep..hiaz..

Those mummy who pop,
Anyone takign fenugeek? i took for 3days liao, ms still not alot leh..

cactus...
haha... i'm the oni one whose email is down... cos something wrong with my PW... IT had to reset it and they take one day to come back... totally inefficient.

yup... best to get it right in the hosp. wats more i hv inverted nipples... so bfg is reali going to be a big challenge for me. i reali hope to make it this round. i do not wan to rely on my pump 24hrs...

anyway, if u gals wan to hv a LC contact to call when at home and having probs wif bfg, let me know. my fren has given me the contact of a very good LC.

feifei...
can i check the dosage u are taking? u need to take abt 3 pills each time, and 3 times a day. some mummies here have been swearing by drinking more milo to boost ss.

can charlotte be hungry, dats why crying? sounds like she cld be going thru a growth spurt.

soyabean, maybe it's a sign!!! mayeb you are not supposed to be working today!! Myabe you are going to pop really soon!!!

Ok.. sorry.. cactus should stop being irritating!

I read somethign suggesting that we can wear nipple shields before delivery to try corrected inverted nipples. but best is to seek lactation consultant's advice first before doing this. think have pros and cons. erm, also, sometimes, there maybe one normal nipple, and the other may be inverted.

haha cactus... actuali my email down since yest... so today is my 2nd day "zho bo" at work...

actuali i bgt a nipple puller much earlier on... and i hv been using it on my inverted nipple once a day, but up to now still inverted. my other side is ok... it was "cured" when i was exclusively pumping for #1.

last nite i asked my boy "so when do u think meimei will come out?" he thot abt it and said "saturday"... haha... i wonder if he will be accurate.

1 of my nipple was inverted when i deliver #1
i didnt know until i consult LC to clear my ducts.
best solution, get bb to latch on as much as possible.
be prepared lor, cos bb smart hor.
he knows which breast no need to suck harder lolz
so let bb latch on the inverted nipple first.
if still can't work, delay feeding time by abt 15mins

TF - So good. can still go for interview. Me lagi worst, went for interview, got the job, then found out PG, company said that can't get PG for 1st 2 years. So quit lor and am a SAHM again.....

soyabean, maybe your #1 is right.... kids tend to be very sensitive to these thigns. dun know why also. My nephew predicted that my bb is boy and said his mom's baby would be a gal. both accurate leh!!

I just had lunch. MIL cooked fish soup for me.
I eat very little these days. 1/4 chinese bowl of white rice and food.

JP, my MIL is nice. I can't say I love her, or she loves me, but we are just polite to each other loh. I stay with my ILs on Mon to Thurs, rest of the week, we move back to my parents' place. good arrangement for the moment. no need to waste precious couple time visitnig parents. haha.

cactus - That's awesome!
Some MILs are not too good though. Aiyoh, talking about Delifrance, very sian liao. Every time go to TMC to see my obgyn, we always eat Delifrance Set....ha!ha! Me crave for your fish soup...he!he!

Cactus - Guess each one has their own path to take and follow. Never mind lah, as long as DHs love their wives, everything else can slowly slowly settle. So, how are you feeling? I think my bb gal wants to break my #1 record leh - 40 weeks 1 day....ha!ha!

JP, I'm feeling okay. Im' at week 37, day 4. alot of BH, alot of pelvic pressure and pain (possibly bb's head pushing down everytime there's a BH or if he moves alot). other than that okay. constantly feel like pee-ing. I think I'm paranoid over my poo-ing frequency though. haha! Hoping to poo every day, but lately only every alternate day. I guess I shodln't be too greedy lah hor.. not constipated can already.

cactus - Its like that during our last lap to the finish line. Some mummies are lucky, don't have these uncomfy feelings. Peeing is often constant coz baby pushing the bladder. As for pooing, maybe can eat more fruits or drink more prune juice? Hang in there, we are almost there.

JP, yah. I'm eating 2 apples every day. find that really helps for me. But still poo every alternate day only. I worry about sugar levels in prune juice...

ladies, I came across this post in another thread. thought of sharing cos I found a few interesting things...

1) epidural takes away sensation of pushing (BUT you may be able to request for epidural to be half a dose - according to my doctor).

2) go for assisted delivery instead of c-section if that's an option open to you

3) epidural was administered to this mother at 8cm!

This is a VBAC case.

"lilytseng (lilytseng)
Username: lilytseng

Post Number: 60
Posted on Friday, May 30, 2008 - 6:12 pm:

Hi Yuying, thanks for updating for me!

Thanks mummies, sorry did not update as its been hectic.

My birth story:
23 May - my EDD! Going to see gynae tomoro to decide next course of action. Half resigned to a C-section as no signs of labour.
23 May 5 pm - waters broke, a slow continuous trickle, not the typical gush. Called hospital, told to check in immediately.
6.30 am - admitted to hospital, midwife checked cervix, 2 cm dilated, CTG shows contractions 7 - 8 mins apart but feel no pain yet
7 pm - gynae on duty came by, he says given my height (168) and size of baby (3.4 kg est.), can give natural labor a try, if no baby by next morning, will decide on next course of action.
9 pm - had dinner, not much pain yet.
10 pm - regular painful contractions by now, 4 mins apart, midwife checked only 2.5 cm dilated. Think its gonna be a long nite.
11 pm - cannot tahan the pain anymore, asked for epidural.
11.30 pm - anaethetist arrived, checked cervix - already 8 cm dilated - no wonder so painful. Also feel strong urge to 'poo' and push.
12 am - epidural takes effect, pain is gone but also no urge to push anymore
12 am - 1 am: cervix fully dilated and pushed for 1 hour but feel no strength in lower body at all. Started to panic and regret that I had chickened out and taken the epidural.
1 am: baby heartbeat has dropped twice to 70, midwife calls in gynae. He says baby is fine, but he will not let me push anymore as I am a VBAC case with risk of womb rupture. I waited for him to say "C-section" but he said "ok lets try the vaccuum pump". Thank goodness!
1.26 am: with vaccuum pump, baby is out in 3 pushes!

Baby is fine but with a baluku on his head from the suction pump. He is 3 kg and 52 cm long. Now struggling to breastfeed..

Some takeaways from my case: (1) The epidural definitely took away the urge to push. If I didn't take it, maybe could have delivered without any help, who knows (2) I am very lucky that my dilation was super fast (3) so thankful that the gynae tried the vaccuum pump instead of opting for C-section."

soyabean,
i taking 3pills 3 times a day...i drink milo in e morning wor...seems so little..

ya lor, i so worried abt her...she will half open her eyes when sleep, seems like can't sleep soundly lor...

cactus - Thanks for sharing the story with us. I guess it depends on the hospital, nurses and works of it lor. My 1st delivery, everyone was so attentive and everything went smoothly. As for epi, I could still feel the "feeling to push" and the nurses were shouting "push" when I need to push. So, within 3 pushes, #1 came into this world. Am keeping my fingers crossed for this time around. Hope everything is smooth sailing.

feifei - Don't worry to much! Some babies need more time to adjust. Hang in there! Some mummies will pick their babies up and rock + sing lor.

hey ladies..
my hr calculated the 3rd month ML if to be taken on flexible dates...to be only 20days...is tat true?

<font color="aa00aa">MIA for some times as i was teaching my collegue on my reports process in the morning then rush for my lunch.

MLP, so BF mum can drink Frisomum lah?!
OK, ladies anyone want Frisomum voucher which can get a free tin of frisomum 400gm milk powder. It can be claimed from Guardian. I had the list of the participating guardian. I dont drink milk powder , so it better i give away the voucher than wasted it. Btw, the voucher is valid till 30 June only. So, anyone want? I can mail to you.

Danryan &amp; Mei, Congrats!

Cactus, i read up the story in VBAC thread coz i occasionally will participate there as can get some advise on vbac. Actually lilytseng's story somehow enlighten me on certain area.</font>

hi shycloud, my hr calculates the 1st 2 months as 2 calender months then the last month as 22 days cos we are on a 5.5 day/ work week. so 5.5 days x 4 weeks.

BUT I think I recall seeing that 3 months ML is to be calculated as 54 days leh.notes to the ML form we had to fill in for our employer to claim the 3rd month ML from govt.

Felicia, yes. it's quite enlightening cos I thought usually VBAC cannot have epidural.. and in this case, epidural was given rather late.. 8 cm despite the mother having demonstrated very quick dilation (meaning, there was a chance that epidural may not have worked in time and studies have shown that eipdural given very late may pass on the bb more than if it had been given earlier). So I'm a bit confused too. Epidural seemed to be lily's lifesaver though.

ya so is correct lor...
4 weeks X no. of working days...for me is 4 X 5=20days

first 2 mths based on calendar days.

Felicia, do you know who lily's doctor is? He seems very pro natural and encouraging of VBAC. I don't follow the thread and was wondering if you know since you pop in there too. Am thinking if my #1 is a c-section and if I were to consider VBAC, I may go to him/her for #2.

cactus,
no leh, tot she has nitemare so we carry her, but she cry til so many hrs..

JP,
i did lor, sing to her, rock her, but she still cry..sometomes wonder if she is hungry after 1 or 2hrs feed...hiaz..