(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
think u gonna kill me liao...forgot to give u my bb's length at birth for u to update in yur chart. her birth length is 48cm, wtg @ 2.475kg. thanks once again...

gers,
by the way, bb's full name is now finalised too...she is Gwendolyn Goh Zhi Le

<font color="aa00aa">felicia,
thank god yur ger much better now, must ve a gd rest hor over tis long wkend b4 another one comes along, now i know wat is "Time Not Enf"...i sure hope mine will be more sticky to her daddy than to me...selfish me...cos then i will get more "Me" time lor...*grin*</font>

<font color="3FC4E5"><font face="Comic Sans MS">crystal.. little gwen so cute.. it's vesak day.. no killing.. ha ha... no prob.. tks for the update..

how's ur wound.. does it hurts? do hv more rest ok?</font></font>

long time didnt log in cos busy with bb. firstly bb jayden had jaundice and had to be admitted for phototherapy from tues to thurs. then on Friday i received phone call from PD telling me that my baby had failed one of the metabolic test and got to send him again for a retest yesterday. His level was exceptionally high at over 400. the normal range was 30+ to 170+. PD said it could be due to stress or jaundice hence need to re-test to confirm. Now waiting for the blood test result to be out next week...if everything is normal, we will not hear from PD but we need to see him again next week as bb is not gaining much weight.

I was sent to parentcraft for them to do an assessment on me as i am exclusively breastfeeding my baby. Midwife checked and said i got ample milk supply and bb seems to be sucking well and my latching position is correct as well. Hence, she suggested that i pump out the fore milk and then latch bb on so bb just take in the hind milk which is more fatty. i have tried a few times yesterday and then realised since my bb can empty my breasts most of the time so he shld be taking in both fore milk and hind milk and i decided to just leave it as the fore milk contains protein.

I think bb weight is not gaining much cos he was under phototherapy and was only back home on Thurs but PD was concerned and just wants to make sure so am hoping not to receive any calls from PD next week re: the metabolic test results. Otherwise, we need to see a specialist as bb lacks an enzyme to break down something and this affect his brain development.

Sorry for the long post...cant help worrying and just hope that bb jayden will be fine.

pls help me update particulars...bb jayden birth weight at 2.32kg @ 35 weeks. birth length 46cm. thanks.

Crystal, ur gal look soooo cute. Make me even more excited to see my son....still gt 4 more days to my 3rd CS. Remember to wear your binder, will help to reduce the tummy, the stretched muscle and ur wound. Have to wear for a month.

The weather is sooooo hot, im gg to get heatstroke......btw, any mummies gg to follow the no shower practise? Base on this weather, i dun thk i can

felicia,
Did you just say 6 months!??!! Oh gosh, I was hoping to squeeze back into my pre-preggy clothes when I return to work wor. Looks like have to buy new clothes liao. Sob.

feifei,
Intended to. In fact, can go for massage a few days after delivering. However, now that Lil ZuEn is still in NUH, I shuffle btw home, mum's place and hospital. Was hoping to stabilise before calling the massage auntie. My schedule very messy now.

crystal,
congrats! she's such a babe.. You BM kicks in on the 3rd day? Tat's fast wor. Mine only on the 4th or 5th day. Now, I spent almost an hr to express milk every time. So glad that I can read forum when expressing.

starmoon,
Dun worry too much. Will pray for Lil jayden.

By the way, how do you noe that your bb has emptied your breast? I am expressing and wondering when to stop. I realised that BM is increasing. If I keep leaving the pump there, milk will keep producing wor.

babyjo,
I also showered and washed my hair on the 3rd day of delivery, in the hospital. I would have died otherwise. Haha. Now, I try to shower lesser and use the herbs to do so. Duno clean or not.

Zuen, bb won't be able to empty ur breast completely. Feed the bb for 10 mins on each side. Then after feeding, use ur pump. This will definitely maintain n increase ur SS.

For my case, both latch n pump (no matter hw long), my bm still flow. As long as im nt engorge, im ok with it.

I will normally express till the amount my bb currently feed on. If you wanna store in freezer, then express more.

Babyjo,
Icic.. was wondering must express until wat time den can empty the breast. Maybe the whole day and the milk still dripping. ;p Seriously, I duno how does engorgement feels like. My breast are sometimes painful when pressed but not rock hard leh.

Okie gers, I am gg off to see my bb. She has jaundice too. They shined the UV lights on her once liao. Yday, theu put it back. Although I noe most bb come down with jaundice, but I still feel very jittery.

Hi gers,just will like to inform u all if u got engage with a malay auntie call siti her hp no last 4 digit 0613...Beware of her my colleauge just engage her last wk told me she do v gd &amp; quite long nearly 2hs for massauge so she wanted to extend with her for 2nd wk n she ask my fren to gif her $100 deposit 1st so my frn gif her but nw she always late 1 to 2hrs or sms her tat she sick cannot come so my fren want to stop her &amp; ask for refund...Nw she dun bother to answer or reply my fren call so just beware of this malay auntie...

<font color="0000ff">hi mummies..... congrats to all the little ones who've arrived!!!! Have been very busy with work, lately..... suddenly so many mummies popped already =)

Crystal, bb gwen looks really sweet.... so much hair!!!

Zuen, starmoon,
My #1 had jaudice too. PD wanted him to stay hospitalised to shine the blue light, but I very heart ached to leave him there.... so rented the blue light bed home and shined him at home. His jaudice took one whole month to clear.....
Your babies will be fine =) stay positive</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ioio,
oppppssssss....forgot tat today is Vesak, or is it tomolo? i blurhead liao...okie, so thanks to vesak day, i got off unscathered then...kekekekee...thanks for your help on the update.
my wound doesnt hurt all the time, at times, there r raw pulling sensations but think tat could be i over-stretch them from sitting n gettin up from floor, etc. my gynae said tat surprisingly my pain tolerance level seem pretty high considering tat i was operated on n sewed up only by 3pm &amp; the next day when she checked on me @ 7am, i m oreadi sitting up on the dresser chair in the ward rather than lying on bed. but i dun think so cos if my pain tolerance level is tat high, i would ve done natural delivery liao.

starmoon,
take heart n dun fret, gonna bad for both yur physical n mental health. i know wat u meant though cos my PD initally wanted to keep my bb back for phototherapy as well as her level was @ 12.8 yd but hb n me insisted on her discharge. so tomolo we ve to bring her back for re-test. also hoping she will pass tomolo, if not sure kenna admitted in n i would hate to leave her in the hospital. it reai hurts to ve to c her under the lights. but let's pray alrite? tat both our bbs will be alrite n pass their respectively tests.

babyjo,
thanks! :p sure m wearing my binders but i took it off at nite when i go bed - to give myself a break lar cos it is so hot n warm.

on the bathing practice, nope i dun follow. i had been bathing in hospital since 2nd day of admittance (wif hot water n confinment bath foam/shampoo, of coz) on a daily basis. as of yd, i was so sticky tat i shower twice n i intend to do so for the rest of my confinment. told hb tat if i follow, i dun be suffering from backache n stuff but cnf will sure kenna heatstroke! i swore hb to scretacy (tat he wun tell his mum) n his oni condition is tat i shower wif real hot water n close all windows n doors, etc when i shower.
it helps tat i can do all these cos my MIL doesnt stay wif me for confinement, so i shower way before she appears on my doorstep in the am n at nite after she left....kekekekee....*evil grin*

felicia,
6 MONTHS!!!!! i sure hope u were kidding...
there goes my hope of getting my flabby tummy downsize in tis couple of wks...
i m still looking like 5mth preggie wif the left-over tummy. i gained 8kg during preg n immediate lose is oni 4kg, still left wif 4kg to go...i oreadi very sianz n now tis...*sign*

Zuen,
yup, mine kicked in on 3rd day tat even my gynae was surprised. tat's y she ordered me to pump it out cos bb wasnt able to take in so much at one go in the 1st few days n i was suffering engorgement. at least u can still read tis forum. when i pump, i couldnt even concentrate on the TV show, so can oni focus on pumping which is a real bore. so far, to pump 100ml, i need ard 30-40mins...

jesslyn,

feifei,
me not brave... I will immediately opt for epidural once i cannot take the pain!

bonjovi,
my gynae didn't really recommend c section but more of letting us know the likelihood of emergency c section. He's leaving it to us to make the decision. I would rather he 'instruct' me to go for natural or c section.

Zuen, crystal, starmoon,
envy envy on ur bm supply! Hopefully mine wun be disappointing!

Tera,

I tink my gynae didnt do strep B test for me at 36 weeks checkup bec she can't find much discharge. Luckily at 37 weeks checkup i ask her to do, i feel more safe.

feifei,

Gynae said normal fungus is ok just need to apply medicine on BB mouth if bb accidentally got the infection while natural delivery. If the infection is in our blood stream then it is more worried bec scare will infect bb lungs.

I heard tat induction is painful and tiring.. u wanna check with morraine cos she is under induction for her no 1.

<font color="aa00aa">star,
tell me abt it...the weather is driving me nuts n my MIL still insist i wear long pants n sleeves n socks n slippers @ hm...i going nuts soon...oni thing to look forward to r my forbidden showers dones in secreacy...

ok, gotta run, MIL's coming again n she going to nag at me when she sees me on pc (like tis am) n i ve to express BM for bb too, try to catch u gers later if not tomolo after my bb's visit to RH</font>

crystal,

thks for yr update and wow! it must be tough on u and yr hb having to manage everything by yourself!

Starmoon,

So u still have to bring yr bb back for checks etc?

Zu En,

glad tat yr BM has come in!

<font color="0000ff">to all,

can check with u all on the steriliser.. do we have to sterilise the tongs together with the milk bottles or leave the tongs out? Cos i am tinking tat the tongs have to be sterilise bec it will touch the milk bottles while we use tongs to fix the nipples in the nipple holder etc.

In addition wanna check with those who bot breastfeeding or pregnancy milk powder. I just gotten the Similac Mum but i realise there is no milk powder spoon for me to scroop the milk powder and thus i do not know how much milk powder to pour in the water. Is it we have to buy ourselves at supermarket or wat?</font>

Last week i had contractions menses pain for 3 days (alternate days) but recently last 2 days there is no signal.. maybe it won't be as fast as I tink.. sigh, so dilemma now hope for bb to come faster but then it seems to slow again.

crystal,

I probably won't be able to use pc during confinement as my mum told me must strictly rest on the bed for at least first 2 weeks, if not rest on sofa but to avoid sitting near the pc...

guess i won't be able to be online during my confinement tat soon i guess.

hi zuen
my breasts feel soft when bb emptied it...usually i latch him on 1 side for 10-15 mins and then i switch to the other side if he wants more. this is what the lactation specialist told me oso...to let bb drink and empty one breast first before switching so as to make sure that he gets the hind milk as well. as for pumping, i usually pump for abt 15-20mins and then stop liao...unless my breasts still feel full and hard then i extend to max of 30 mins. now can only pray that his retest for metabolic will pass, if not gotta see specialist then he gotta be on special milk and medication so that it will not affect his brain development.

hi piyoz
my bb jaundice has gone down liao...at first was 16.6 which was pretty high and then under the phototherapy for 2 days, his level went down to 7.7 so can go home...but who knows more bad news follow...i cried when PD told me abt the blood test results from the metabolic screening. was so worried what if after retest the level is still high, then will affect his brain development...then cannot imagine so young gotta take medication liao. when i brought bb back to clinic for retest, the clinic asst very encouraging keep telling me there are cases like mine when they came back for retest, the level drop back to normal range and asked me not to worry. these few days can't help but worry lor.

hi crystal
think u mistaken liao...me wasnt worried abt bb's jaundice cos my #1 oso admitted for phototherapy and then after dat, ok liao. PD saw my bb yesterday and said that the jaundice is ok liao. wad i am afraid now is the metabolic screening test result cos that one if his level is still high, it will affect his brain development lor. then PD said if result is still abnormal, then his brain development might be affected temporary or might be for life and can only be determined by further testing. there is no cure for this and if it is for life, then next time when bb grow up, there will be some food he need to avoid and has to keep taking medication. my heart sank when i hear this lor.

hence, all mummies who have popped or going to pop soon, do go for this metabolic screening. This screen tests newborn babies for a group of disorders called Inborn Errors of Metabolism (IEMs). Over 25 different IEMs disorders can be detected using this new test and they reflect disorders involving abnormalities in the breakdown of fats or proteins. This test is compulsory for those giving birth in govt hospital but optional for pte hospital and I strongly urge mommies to go for it.

i have been bathing everyday since i am discharged from hospital...usually i will bathe in the morning and then wipe in the evening. as for washing hair, i wash it once every 2 days and then quickly dry with hair dryer. for my #1, i oso do the same. i never use any herbs cos i heard from my sis that it has a very strong herb smell and the colour is dark dark one when mixed with water. So i just use normal hot tap water to bathe.

Hi ladies!!

My bb is only 2.2kg as at yesterday tat is 35wks. And my doc say she is growing slower but water level still alot so should be okie. But mine BP is abit high and have done blood test yesterday and doc say my result shows tat there is sugar and protein in my blood and bit of infection in my urine. So my doc gave me a week mc and ask me to rest well. And also need to go back to do the blood test for the sugar level and the test will takes 2hrs, any1 know wat test is tat?? And wat should i eat or do to make my bb bigger??? Me so worry now and dunno wat to do. Haizzz.......

Hi Christina,

Most likely it is the glucose test to check whether u have any diabetes or not.

I have taken sometime during 2nd trim also due to sugar detected in urine.

To make bb bigger, eat protein such as more meat, rather an carbo (rice etc).

Ellysia,
I have been trying to drink fresh milk cos me cannot take milk since 1st trim. Hope bb will grow bigger. The nurse told me tat the blood test will take 2hrs, y take so long for this test???

<font color="aa00aa">ZuEn/ Crystal,

I'm not kidding. In fact most of the articles i read, said that most women will only return to pre-preggie weight within 9 mths. Of course, some women will be faster especially those whom BF.

And it oso depend on how much you had gained during ur pregnancy. But dont worry so much, as long as u continue BF, i'm sure you can lost weight fast. As for tummy, i think had to be diligently do some tummy exercise (not recomended for c-sec woman lah)to help to firm it up.</font>

Christina,

Firstly u have to fast overnight. Then nurse will take yr blood first thing u go to clinic. Then after 1 hour, they will take your blood again. In btw, u cont yr fasting. U only can eat after the 2nd blood taking. The blood amt taken is v little.

Likely results can know only on 2nd day.

MIlk help in calcium but not enuff for bb growth if u want to increase bb weight, protein is much better.

Felicia, zu en and crystal,

Most of the time my preggy colleagues got back their figure around 6mths to 9mths. I have a lot of female colleagues, the fastest who get back her figure is 6mths.

For firming, do try firming cream but if c-sect do avoid.

Hi hi all,
I went for a scan last Thursday,
BB's head is down... finally

Hi ioio,
thanks for updating the table,
my BB's weight is 2501 Grams.

Hi Starmoon,
Thanks for the info on IMEs. Can certainly understand your worrying now. Hang in there and stay positive ok? Esp based on what the clinic asst said, there are many cases where the level will go down so it is very likely Jayden's case will be the same, yah?
*Hugs*
Ellysia,
Oic. Actually I suspect I might have yeast infection but my gynae only tested me for Strep B and I cleared it. Guess will have to treat the yeast infection seperately after I have delivered.

Christina,
Like what Ellysia advised, take more protein.
Actually, I am also trying to "fatten" my bb cos his wt has stayed pretty much the same for the past 2 weeks, but i realised that even tho i tried to eat more, my bb still put on very little wt during the past week. So i am guessing my placenta is slowing down. Gynae will check on bb's wt again next visit and if still not much increase might induce and fatten him outside the womb. So don't worry too much ok? I have been told that above 2kg is quite an ok weight liao.

Tera,

Yr bb weight gain is much lesser now?

My bb weight gain also slow down.

The yeast infection is normal.. i tink i had it and even when gynae gave me the medicine to treat, still come back. I tink is bec pregnancy we are more vulnerable bec pre-pregnancy i dun have this prob.

Christina,

Take more meat is for bb growth, tat i am v sure bec i tried it before.
If u dun want to get the fats on u, u can take lean meat.

some people suggest take durians but i am not sure if this works bec' i didn't try it as i dun like durians.

Another saying is to take cordyceps chinese herbs.. i only took it once so also cannot comment but my bb weight did increase during tat time when i took it.

tera/ellysia,
Tks, I will start to take more lean meat. For durian, i dun 1 2 take so much cos afraid of the sugar level. Me tues need to go back to take the blood test.

Starmoon, ur bb will be fine so dun worry. We used to be Nov 06 mums and now we meet again. I believe bb Jayden test result will turn out good. Hang in there. All mummies in June 08 are there to support u.

Babyjo,
How does engorgement feels like? Very painful and hard?

Crystal,
I only managed to extract about 60ml each pump. But I think the volume is increasing. Will continue to jia you, but I think my bb dun even drink so much. Just went to visit her. She's taking in 35ml at each feed niah. Reagrdless, must maintain ss. Btw, I gave birth in NUH, but nobody told me about the metabolism test leh.

mei,
No need to evy. I read somewhere that only a very small % of mummies dun have breast milk. Just need to jia you and npt give up.
I was very worried initially as well and teh outpput = very discouraging. Then suddenly, everything starts flowing.

Felicia,
9months! That is worse! My hb friend was teasing me when they last saw me (about 2 weeks ago). They kept asking me if I can shed all that extra weight. Sianz.. I somemore put on a total of 19kg. I faint liao. I ant to be pretty mummy leh. Hopefully the breast feeding helps!

Christina,
You might want to find out from your doc for the low birth weight. Sometimes, it is not bcos of wat the mummy eats or never eat. For my case, I oso got high bp and not enuff blood flow to bb. So wat I eat oso no use. Imagine that I gain 19kg but my bb only 1.89kg when born. All the weight is gg to me wor..

crystal,
wow, ur girl so cute wor...

Aprilmum,
=D..do keep us updated ya...Me have menses cramp whole day today...just now abit backache...now left side of my lower tummy abit crampy...duno is it contraction..still monitoring, told hb and he ask me,"so parental leave is to start frm tues onwards?"..hee...

starmoon,
dun worry ya...ur boy will be okie =D..

Lengleng,
happy for u cos bb finally turn down..

as i am tying all this, i feel menses cramp and lower back suan leh...duno is it contraction wor, trying to monitor now...getting excited too..hee..but duno is it false alarm..

Christina,
I need to take the glucose test as my bb is on the heavy type during the detailed scan.
My blood result was slightly high and was told to control my diet.

Like what ZuEn has said, there's could be other reasons that contribute to the low bb weight. Try to ask ur gynae more qn.

Roooller,
I took the gulocose test too...have to fast and take an orange gassy drink wor...Test result was that I am on the high sugar side but still not in the GD catagory yet...was told to cut down on sweet stuffs lor...also have to cut down on carbo stuffs...

feifei,

See how long it prolongs and how much is the frequency..

I have contractions on and off last week but to-date still no news.

hee my hb also hope to take leave from tue onwards!

hi ellysia
yah, i still have to bring bb back for weight review on sat but if his metabolic retest result is abnormal then PD will ask us to go see him earlier so can only pray that i wun get any calls from PD.

re: sterilise of tongs...i always sterilise it with the bottles cos u gotta use the tongs to assemble the bottle so need to sterilise if not got germs mah.

my MIL and mom oso nag at me and keep asking me to lie down...after a week i buay tahan liao so come in here while having my meals.

hi tera
thanks...now really praying dat the test results will be within the normal range. hubby and me cant help but worry...can only pray that i dun get any calls from PD.

hi babyjo
oh u oso from nov 06 thread...when was your #1 born? my girl was born on 21 nov.

hi feifei
thanks but i guess we just cant help but worry lor...just hope sat will come quick quick and no calls from PD.

feifei,
what's ur test result?
i'm not classified as GD but rather 'higher risk' lor as bb weight is on the HIGHEST range. also #1 is a big bb
now #2 consider ave wt.
i went thru the KKH diet course and has to be follow up w dietician.
the reason for the higher readings as our insulin is not workg for us :p

ellysia,
Tks ger...i hv backache too....
guess our hb tinks e same...hee....do u hv backache too?

Roooller,
my result was ok but on high side...

feifei,

Nope. usu only menses pain. In fact 3rd trim i have less backache unless i sleep on my back too long.

backache is also one of contraction sign.