(2008/06) June 2008

Veniz, there may be something in grass jelly that is not too good for preggies. I think it's the solidifying agent. I can't recall what it is but an auntie told me not to take it and she's not the traidtional sort. we were eating at Ling Zhi and there was a dessert with grass jelly.. she told me not to touch the grass jelly. that time I was in 2nd trimester.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">felicia... many hands.. so cute.. i think old pp always wrap the bb hands so that they dont hv so many hands.. ;p</font></font>

baby many hands is good. bb is naturally curious mah.
Only that caregivers will complain... my nephew also many hands, but very cute and very smart!

<font color="ff6000">ellysia

yeap! i agreed to be ur messenger!

fennie

yeap my mum told me before abt this myth

angel

great! soon BB S will be back home!!</font>

roxy,
goodness...i meant to type <font color="aa00aa">actually i HOPE my timing...</font> instead of <font color="aa00aa">actually i POP my timing...</font> my hand doesnt type out wat i meant to say...chiam...

thanks goodness tis kind of error doesnt happen at wk, if not dunno where to dig hole to hide my face.

Christina, woah ur hb really traditional. I have been eating ice-cream almost everyday when the weather was super hot. Me and my hb eat together as well. haha... See u tonight!

Liew, I also apply those cocoa butter before i leave for work and before I sleep. But yesterday, I had a feeling that my tummy want to explode when i was in office. think it's baby expanding inside.

<font color="aa00aa">ioio, we gave up wrap our #1 hand by about wk2 after she's born. In fact from the day she's delivered in hospital, she had been stretching out her hands. There's once we even try to tied a string around the wrap but her hand still manage to come out lor.

cactus, u're rite about curiousity. My #1 is very curious about everything. She saw someting, she'll take it and keep asking wat is it.</font>

crystal.. haha if you never highlight i also wun notice! Me also falling asleep in office, no mood to work liao... when is ur last day? Mine is next Mon... anyway tink the day before you also too gan chiong wun be able to sleep much :p

cactus, i thot grass jelly should be avoided coz it's very liang? I have secretly drank abit though hee but i did hear abt tou hua cannot take coz of the solidifying agent which is not good for bb

mylittleprince, i want ice cream! Ben and jerry!! Me so long havent eat ice cream liao... sob... you all eat more durian puree for me tonite k... my favourite yum yum

christina,
every mrn after shower i'm already apply at least 3 layers of stretch mark lotion on my tummy le... now feeling itchy on tummy maybe due to hot weather or my stomach need to expand more!!

tera, ah morr: thanks for the well wishes!

Would like to ask any mummies who had c-section before. What are the food that we cannot eat due to the op wound ah?

Can eat peanut, cheese?

littleprince,
ya. mine also cocoa butter with higher vitamin E! even since beginning pregnant i apply that lotion till now i still have stretch mark at lower part of my stomach(we can't see unless infront of mirror or use small mirror to view.)

Felicia, Your #1 must be a very smart child!
Naturally curious children are very very smart!

Roxy, I don't know about the liang part.. but my aunt told me not to eat grass jelly cos of the solidifying agent... my aunt is not the traditional type, so she won't know about the cooling/heaty sort of thing.. hehe.
Maybe grrass jelly and tou hua uses the same solidifying agent? I dun know...

Angel, my MIL told my SIL not to eat seafood and other "poisonous" things.. eat as if after operation..

cactus, is it about grass jelly?? Think I have to stop now. Due to such hot weather, I have cravings for it every weekends. Thanks for your advice.

Crystal, I think I should be savoury bah, due to so hot weather, haha.

Angel, I don't know leh... maybe after the wound has completely healed? I hear old people saying that these "poisonous" things will interfere will the healing of the wound...

Veniz, an aunt of mine told me about some solidifing agent used in grass jelly. shouldn't eat. but she didnt say why. I also never ask. Maybe you just eat less if have cravings?

<font color="aa00aa">angel, i started my chicken meat on the 2nd week after c-sec. Btw, Egg and duck meat oso a no no food.</font>

just wondering.. if all these things cannot be eaten after c-section, then the new mother will lack iron and protein right? If she is breast feeding, how to maintain proper nutrition?

cactus,
think no choice ba... and i heard breast feeding will cause tire easily also. always need more rest and avoid fall sick and cannot eat medicine at all.

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">mummies.. think not too much fish oso.. as heard from someone that her bb dun drink her milk as she every meal eat fish.. thus the breastmilk also become fishy and the bb reject.. think should eat more veg as well..</font></font>

Liew, I think it's okay to fall sick. it's actually good to fall sick, cos our bodies will produce antibodies to fight our own infection and these antibodies will be passed on to baby through our breast milk. When we are sick, there are drugs that can be safely taken during breast feeding also. just that we cannot feed bb directly.. must express out. I also heard breast feeding will cause us to be tired easily. so must rest more, and drink lots of water and eat well balanced meals. cnanot be stressed and must be happy.

<font color="aa00aa">angel, morraine are rite. Only fish and pork.

Cactus, the only source for c-sec mum will be fish. Tats why i really dread of another c-sec, coz pork really make me wanna vomit.

Ya, about my #1, i know is good for kid to be curious and ask, but being the curious kid parent is not easy. We had to be very careful in our wording and explanation, else she'll learn it real fast.</font>

ioio, yes yes! I heard about that too! What we eat will affect what our milk tastes like..

I think when we breast feed, also cannot take alcohol, chinese herbs, and cannot take diary products if bb is allergic to them.

Felicia, I know what you mean. pork is quite gross.. sigh.. eat too much of it, I mean. I would love to have a very curious child though.
But I agree it's not easy raising one.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, beside those u mentioned, i read tat ginger is not good for BF mum oso.

Btw, for alcohol is recommended to cook it with dishes and only expressed out the milk 1-2hrs after our meal.</font>

cactus,
Tats wat my mum say also abt the orange, she say orange have vit C so can eat, but my hb say not good for bb so cannot eat.

Felicia,
you can tell your hb tat eat crab does not affect the bb to be active.

<font color="aa00aa">soree, ginger is not no good for BF mum, but it'll caused jaudince in BF babies. Too fast in my words. hehe....</font>

huh... so many food to avoid during confinement also... think i will leave to my confinement auntie to decide wat i can eat liao. But my baby nanny who is my MIL's friend tell to me get pearl powder for my bb to eat when she go home and need to eat for 3 days and 1 time everyday. Tis will help to clear bb body and she will not be heaty and "yellow" too. Me will just follow if it is good for bb.

Liew and cactus,

I have to apply calamine lotion as recommended by my gynae in order to relieve the itching as my rashes have appeared and spreading.

btw will you all be bathing after delivery??? Cos my mum tell me to bath only after 1 week and need to boil herbs for bathing also and if 1 2 wash hair can only wash wif the herb only if not need to get the powder for "dry" wash the hair.

felicia and cactus,

Yesh dun eat the ginger itself as my mum also told me her gynae last time told her no need to eat the ginger itself just eat dishes cooked with the ginger.

<font color="aa00aa">Christina, i did give my #1 pearl powder but i think not the 1st 3 days after discharge. Not too sure wat was it for, but i just act according to my mom's advise at tat time.</font>

cactus,
tell me abt daddies being cautious.
yd one of my hammies' eye kenna infection (by his own doing) n was bleeding real bad cos he keep scratching till eye socket popped out. my hb dun even wan me to look at e hamster lor. i so heartpain cos wan to console n sayang the poor fellow b4 his op n my hb said tat since i preg, better i dun look at my hamster in tat state. i asked him y but all he said was jus take it tat he patang lor....anyway, now my hammy becomes a one-eye muskateer liao...