(2008/06) June 2008

christina,
yes. i'm using this brand. Palmer's Cocoa Butter.

ellysia,
i don have rashes or sensitive skin so i nvr use that brand. but my sis may use that brand cos she got lots rashes ard the tummy. now seem better le..

<font color="ff6000">chris

i cannot stand it leh.. if i dun bathe den i wil feel so dirty &amp; i wil be very short tempered.. i noe myself..</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">cactus... lemongrass and ginger ah? sound better than the da feng chao.. maybe i sld suggest to my confrontment lady oso..., yalor ur husband so sweet and caring...</font></font>

crystal,

For me my hb is not superstitious, i am the one who is more.. he doesn't bother whether i eat crabs, or do drilling at home etc etc such stuff.

liew,

Previously before i have rashes i use Clarins body treatment oil to relieve itch due to stretching. But recently got rashes so i have to stop using the oil and to use Calamine lotion to relieve itchness.

Christina, I used dry shampoo before. I had long hair during #1 confinement, sweating like anything with itchy scalp. then i use the dry shampoo, sprinkle some on scalp, combined with the wet sweat, scalp became starchy and the itch got worst. Really bad experience, i bought 2 bottles somemore that time.

This time I will go cut my hair liao to keep hair dry and airy.

For me i plan to use the chinese herbs to bathe as my mum refuse to let me use ginger to bathe, she say will be very "spicy". I suggested to my mum tat i use normal warm water to rinse just once after using chinese herbs, she is not v keen but tink if i am determined she has no choice..

My hb logic is as long as warm water then shd be okie.

Besides i have ored received the little dreamers shampoo and lotion, will use as backup.

My mum refuse to let me bathe too many times, she told me to try to control to cut down on bathing times. I told her if it is pre-pregnancy, i can tahan 3 days no wash hair but now i cannot tahan need to bathe twice a day, so see how. MY hair itch like anyting and smell if i dun bathe.

Morr/cactus,
Me got no choice cos my mum and my hb will keep an eye on me to make sure me dun bath w/o the herbs. My SIL ever worst, she tell me not to bath totally, me tell her i will become crazy if totally no bathing with tis type of weather.

roooller,
where to get the powder??

liew,

think can get at those chinese medical shop?
cant remember n exactly i dun recommend to use too :p

just buy those 'ah ma' use those 'hair net'.

read Veniz sharing her experience too.

actually I think it's good enough if we bathe with very hot water, and have very quick bathes.. dun take our own sweet time to bathe can already...
My mom only bathed with ver hot water.. very quick baths.. but she rub brandy on her skin and head after each bathe. she also drank DOM throughout her confinement.. her health improved after she delivered me.. her confinement was apparently well done.

once i woke up after labour....i will bath myself in the hospital before the doctor or bb doctor comes in...and during confinement i took a shower in the morning b4 the massage lady comes and will bath again and wash my hair in the evening abt 6pm...or else will feel so iritating after wearing the binder from morning.

cactus,
you hb is really nice and sweet to you.

ellysia,
me actually also thinking of using the herb to bath and then use some clean water to rinse again but my mum say cannot, she say all the water have to be boil cannot bath from directly the tap even heater on.

Ellysia, cactus, yes, grass jelly liang, I had it once weekly for 3 weeks liao. Now ren lor, not to drink anymore. Maybe check if can eat Gui Ling Gao or not lar, if not, better drink fruit juice liao, more nutritious.

My crave now is coffee. I purposely skip coffee during daytime today so later can drink during buffet.

Veniz, I think Gui Ling Gao may not be safe... cos it is made from herbs, I think? Not sure if those herbs are safe..

fruit juice is very high in sugar, even those with "no sugar added" sign. Fruit juice is not very nutritious. just alot of vit C and maybe A. Some have added calcium. that's about it. soya milk/milk is moreo nutritious cos it has calcium and protein.

cactus,

why dun u try the malay massage? Heard tat it will adjust uterus to correct position, it is not only just for slimming.

my mum dun really like me taking the malay massage, she say wait bb dun like the smelly oil etc.. maybe i will ask auntie su to use less oil so its less smelly.

mylitteprince,

instructor at prenatal class say can use normal shampoo and lotion during bathing at confinement.

Veniz

The best is PLAIN WATER lah.
Try not to take gui ling gao as got herbs inside, dunno will interfere with pregnancy or not.

Fruit juice if u take, try fresh one and not those articficial as wat cactus say, got sugar lor. Occasionally can.

Soya milk also dun take a lot esp those selling at hawker as i understand got "shi gao" stuff added and is a bit poisonous.

Coffee is no no, got caffeine lah..

Christina,

When i mean using warm water to rinse off the herb water, i mean to use boiled water.

I will ask my mum to boil the herbs with a big pot, then pour it inside a big bucket. Then top it up with boiled normal water (using instant water boiler). Then pour boiled water to another small bucket for rinising later. no using water heater.

Ellysia, I dun really like the oils.. worried about safety in breast feeding. my thinking is if western women don't do it, why do I need it? Also, my mom didn't do it and she's okay. I also dun quite like the idea of bb being away from me for that 45 minutes-1hr... mayeb I'm being idealisitc. but I hope to spend every waking hour with bb after he is born..

Aiyo, Castus and Ellysia, seems like I taking crap drinks, haha. Yes, plain water is still the best, which do not have those 'after taste' in mouth.

Coffee crave is because I have been drinking coffee since 3 yr old, so immune to it. Beginning of preg, I stopped, but was stressed out at work, once I started on 1 cup in Feb, I needed at least a cup during workday. Weekends I avoid, drink soyabean milk instead.

ellysia,
My sis now still doing confinement now. my mum only allow her bath after 10 days! and till now she haven't wash her hair yet. she told me her hair now truely smelly!

cactus

agreed with ellysia, y not u try to massage so that bb will b in correct position....my mom aunty is a massage lady for so long....for my both 2pregnancy...she told me she had massage a lot of pregnant moms whose bb in breech position....but this time i didn't call her to massage coz she not in good healthy (old age)

cactus,

i can understand tat.. yr feelings is wat i feel too.. me also dilemma bec of this.

Also difficult to bf if bb cry during massage, then i got to prepare breastmilk in advance.

But then even my not superstitious hb also believe tat the malay massage can help to shift the uterus back to original position.

<font color="ff6000">MLP

ha ha i rem i bathe after my hubby sent my in laws back the previous time.. ha ha den my 'neighbour' sharing the room with me was like looking at me amazed den asked me.. u sure u wanna bathe?? *lol* den i went.. YESH! i brought my shampoo &amp; conditioner oso lor.. wahahahaha.. so was lucky the epidural dosage i had was super light hence i can move about straight after delivery

chris

den u better behave urself..</font>

Veniz,

Hmm try to avoid caffeine..
esp now u want to increase yr bb weight? so shd take more nutritional stuff?

liew,

A lot of people say tat can only bathe after 10 day or 2 weeks.

But my mum said actually the worst cold is catch at the freezing air-con at hospital.. which i agree. my mum theory is to reduce the number of bathing cos will expose to more wind. But she didn't restrict when to bathe.

I dun intend to bathe at hosp, bec they are not using boiled water and there is no herbs. I will only bathe when i come back from home after discharge, so tat my mum can prepare the water and herbs etc.

think i can't attend the dinner!! very sorry abt it! Just came back from gynae appt.. need to rest for 1 week... got slight high blood, bb position not so good, her face facing up not down, and gynae actually advise me to induce next week due to bb weight a bit big, she scared i can't be able to push easily and end up with csec.

Am now in office, need to settle some transfering job to my colleagues.. and really sorry abt the last min telling you all that i can't make it for tonight dinner which i really really hope to join.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, if you dont want to use Aunty Su's oil, maybe u can buy the Clarins Anti eau for her to use. She actually request me to buy the firming oil for my post natal massage. Btw, her own make oil got lemongrass, ginger, and dont know wat liao. All the ingredient was suppose to help us to expel out all the wind inside our body, but the smell is really strong lor.

After my massage by Aunty Su, the whole room was filled with tat smell and we open the windows and keep teh doors open for days before they smell can be totally gone. Imagine tat for post natal massage we had to do continuous for 5 days, the smell sure very very 'geng'.</font>

cactus

oh ok...i might read wrongly...ya lor coz usually massage 7 to 10 days only ma....should shrink...but we must know wat we eat and monitor yr diet....

one more thing do not eat food which have black sauce coz yr V can be seen black too hahahahha...dats is wat my fren told me

cactus,

Actually from wat i understand from my colleagues, malay massage does not really help to slim down. It only help to fasten the process of reducing water retention and to adjust uterus back to correct position, reduce milk clots if there is, relieve wind.

Reducing water retention - you can take black beans soup to acheive tat.

relieve wind - u can take ginger dishes but not eat the ginger.

reduce milk clots - u can do yr own breast massage, we did learn in pre-natal class.

the only thing is the adjusting uterus back to correct position which i am considering. else i probably won't even consider malay massage due to the same feelings u felt so.

ellysia,
same as you. my mum don allow me bath at hospital too. but i don understand why she not allow me drink water after give birth.(during at hospital stay)she said will "jing feng"...

Aprilmum, sorry to hear the news. how big is your bb now? How many weeks are you at now? Just to understand, your bb's head is already down, but your bb is facing your tummy (back against your spine) is it?

Ellysia, thanks for sharing... I will bear your advice in mind.. black bean soup, ginger flavoured dishes and breast massage...

I really dun think the uterus will be mis-positioned through birth leh.. even if it is, I dun know what the consequences is...

Felicia,

But her oil is supposed to help work right? if we use our own oil then may not achieve the result we want.

I dunno if i want to do take full 5 days, i will see how the situation is. Cos i tink my mum is worried abt the smell in the house, she probably cannot tahan.

cactus,

for breast massage it is impt to do teh massage before feeding and after feeding. Before feeding, do massage and squeeze out a bit milk to wet yr nipple, then clean the nipple, then feed. It will help reduce milk clots.

Worst case scenario, if got milk clots and can't relieve even after massage, book an appt with lactation consultant n they will come to yr house to do massage for u.

aprilmum

so is yr position anterior now?

liew,

Drinking plain water my mum also dun allow. She say only drink red date water and milo.

Wat i know from colleagues is sometimes they cannot tahan, they will drink plain water but WARM water. NEVER DRINK COLD WATER. This bad experience my mum encounter from cold water, i hear liao also scared.

Aprilmum, take care &amp; don work too late!

Morr, u wash ur hair in hospital. They got hair-dryer there meh? Don't tell me u brought ur own hair-dryer there as well? *woahaha*

Aprilmum,
Take care ya? Keep us posted on how u are doing. Just curious, how many weeks are u in now and how big is bb?

Cactus,
Really sweet of your hubby to source for the massage ladies! I dun think my hubby will bother lor, hehe. Oh, i also enjoy spas a lot with my hubby.
I love the ones at Bintan, hehe.

i bath immediately the day i discharge (cos 3 days in hosp didnt bath at all). right now, i m bathing every alt day with chinese herbal water. i will also wash hair but with normal heater water.

right now my diet is reali only veg, mushrooms, pork, fish n ginger.. so far baby is still drinking my breast milk, she didn't reject..

but i'm concern that ginger will worsen the jaundice eh.. cos baby sheryl aledi got jaundice.. will ask nurse later..

cactus,

yah i also dun understand the uterus part. Anyway i ored book auntie su. I see how the sessions go, maybe try a few then see how.

Maybe u can consider to buy firming lotion since u dun want to take massage. u can apply firming lotion yrself then help firm yr tummy skin back, i can expect it will sag and look "nua nua" after we give birth.

and not forgetting a good binder to bind yr tummy back to trim shape.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i suppose her oil is more effective in helping to expel out the wind lor. I was thinking to use her oil for alternate massage day, so at least can reduce bit of the smell effect.
Actually i'm quite addicted to massage lor. I had been to chinese 'tui na', malay massage and spa massage. To me i find 'tui na' &amp; malay massage is quite effective for me. But 'tui na' is really very painful lor. For malay massage u really had to find someone tats realiable and skillful, then u'll feel the effect.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia,
need to remind you to prepare a pair of in house slipper, coz the oil was very very oily. So, after your massage is better for you to wear the slipper, in case you walk around the house and make the house floor oily.</font>

Felicia,

I see. The oil u refer to is the body treatment oil right? I still have some left over cos i stop using it recently. I dunno whether the oil will be enuff for 1 session though if let her use it.

actually it is worth considering if it is just massage using our own oil..
I am considering to ask auntie su to apply less oil so tat it is not so smelly.

so auntie su is open to tat idea?

<font color="ff6000">MLP

nope! dry naturally lor.. ha ha ha..

chris

tie up ur hair if u can.. thats the second best alternative</font>

Felicia,

I have a slipper cos my mum insist i wear it during confinement.. wah in this case i will need 2 slippers if like this.

HMMM.. auntie su only massage tummy and breast area right??? Got massage feet meh? how come feet dun wear slippers will spread oil to house?