(2008/06) June 2008

Leg swelling can be due too much intake of salt and water retention. Try to raise up both feet when sleeping. Gynae will also take note of leg swelling as not very good to have swelling leg. Hope the information helps.

Starmoon,
Ya sometime squat too much e pressure esp for 2nd time mummie the pressure is even more as what my gynae told me. But sometime I don care cos no choice gotta squat to do things etc. So I just treat as form of normal exercise.

Is ur show like normal menses and need to put and change pad when full? Cos I was like that too. Normally after 1week if no sign of contractions, gynae will check how much dilation and if already dilated 2cm gynae will tell you to go labour break water bag lo. Cos if show too long also wont do us & bb good. I think next week c what ur gynae say. Mine is 1week after show I have contractions liao so go pop pop

I checked with dr abt the pros n cons of taking the epidural. According to dr, no effect on bb. Only affect mo. He said its the safest as it only affect the muscle and not bone of mo. In fact safer than all the other stuff like gas etc.

Hwr, there would still be some pain experienced during labour when bb's head is coming ouut.

Backache after child birth is not caused by epi. More becos of posture during labour.

MLP,
thks, i will rber

christina,
i heard that too n have try not to consume too much salty stuff

cynthia,
noted with thanks

going lunch now, tty later

BabyJo, your maid is really quite funny. Has she been with you for a long time?

BonJovi, don't worry too much about your bb. I think most singaporean women can deliver bbs at 3kg naturally..

Veniz,
U so sweet to prepare goodie bags for us *hugs hugs*….i also wan to attend tonite’s feast, was so looking forward but cant now, partially afraid will pass e germs to u gers. Considering our immunity now quite low, will feel bad if any of u also fall sick cos of me now feeling well…I not shy one, like tera said, if e goodie bags can wait, I will ask u for it at our next gathering in Aug….kekekekee…..

Liew,
U still ve not drink coconut juice? I had been having mine since I wk 33 liao (now wk36+5days, EDD was supposedly 1st Jun), on average of 2 coconuts a wk, so refreshing….a real treat in tis hot hot weather….

Starmoon,
So chances r tat u probably be the 2nd mummy to pop here…..will save my congrats to u later then….:p remember to post bb’s photo here hor…

Roxy,
Gd to hear tat bb Isaiah is growing….so next tue u’ll cnf if u be c-sec-ing on 15th may then? If so, quite rush for u also, now ve to prepare everything liao…

Felicia,
Got fate, got fate, u can still meet me in khatib if u like. chances r tat we probably ve “bump” into each other w/o knowing….kekekekee….

K Ong,
Think the last time we met was something like 5 mths back liao if my memory still serve me correctly cos then most of us (or all) were oni in our 1st trim…

Feifei: I went for emergency c-section op. The hosp only helped me change the dressing on the day i discharge and they told me i dun have to do anythin to it when i'm home.. so they never give me anything to wash the wound.

Zuen: I use avent steriliser to sterilise my breast pump.. Ya. i dun sterilise all the parts, some of the plastic things i dun sterilise. You oso got ameda electric pump?

<font color="aa00aa">*counting down the remaining 7 days of peace...*</font>

had such a scary dream last nite. dreamt tat i had a show n bleeding badly, ve to immediately deliver naturally...woke up in a pool of cold sweat. thanks god it is all a dream...phewwwww...

Update: Baby Sheryl is off the drip but need to monitor if she is ok without the drip. If not ok, then have to put it back.. Hopefully dun need it anymore.. if not see her being poke very sad..

Tonight is the June mummies gathering. Take lots of pics and post here, k? =)

K Ong: Thanks for the well wishes! I will hang on.

<font color="aa00aa">veniz/crystal,

yeye...now can only wait till after our delivery.

Crystal, me now oso seldom go to khatib central, coz walking too much will cause pain at V part. But who knows, maybe we had meet before just we din realised. hehe....
So fast you're goin for ur c-sec oredy in next Thursday! By the time ur baby is one mth, not even sure if i had pop.</font>

Angel, that's very good news! Normally,if the drip is taken off, it means the doctors feel there is a good chance Sheryl will be able to do without it. Or else, that's because it is time to change the cathether anyway (the cathether needs to be changed after 3 days or more..if not will have infection). THe doctors may have decided to remove the drip cos the time is up to change the drip anyway, and also, there is a good chance that Sheryl will be fine without it.. so don't worry too much k?!!

<font color="aa00aa">angel, is good to heard tat baby sheryl is off from the drip!
When i saw her pix on the drip, i really feel heartpain but dare not said out, coz afraid it might affected you. Just pary hard she'll be discharge soon.</font>

Crystal, I not sweet looking, and does not taste sweet, heehee. Can hugz next time, otherwise, will be talked about our huggings again by TF and Felicia. I won't forget your share next time we meet out.

cactus, find it funny why Babyjo's maid like that one, asking so much lor. Dun tell me she planning to give Babyjo HBP like anyhow do work, etc.

angel_z, that's good news about baby Sheryl. I am sure she will do very well without drip since she has done so well till now.

Who has brought a camera for tonight's gathering?

Veniz, yeah.. her maid really quite funny. If it is a long time maid, maybe she is truly concerned about BabyJo. If she is not a long time maid, then maybe she wants to try something funny when the bb is born? That's why also ask if there'll be other pple around during confinement??

Cactus: Thanks. Ya loh.. Reali reali hope she dun need the drip anymore.. This means she is doing better and can go home soon..

Felicia: Its ok.. The 1st time i saw her like that i cried but after that i told myself i have to be strong for baby.. So im much better now.. =) Praying every night that baby sheryl will come home soon..

Cactus, ya, i thought so. She seems to have something up her sleeves otherwise, may be thinking that she will not be overworked if there are other pple around the house to help out. BabyJo, meantime, monitor your maid's behaviour, better be alert early.

Veniz, Woah! we'll have goodie bags fm u tonight! so looking fwd to seeing all the attending June mummies!

I brought my camera so we can take lotsa pics tonight!

Those who are not joining, I will post them in yahoo group to share. =) Take care, rest well to all mummies here and ur little ones.

Angel, help me say Jia You to baby Sheryl yah!
v(*_*)v

veniz, christina: thanks!

hopefully when baby is back home, i still have time to chat with everyone here on forum and to upload sheryl's pics here..

mylittleprince: thanks! =) will tell baby sheryl that alot of aunties here are very concerned about her and praying for her to come back soon.. ^_^

ioio.. emergnecy c-sect is normally more exp than planned c-sect if u end up going to labour ward as well.. my gf had both and she incurred $500 - $700 more for charges of labour ward and machines etc

crystal, tentatively we are mentally prepared for bb to come out on 15th May at 1pm.. so you are still earlier than me
So this weekend is the final countdown keke My final mj session before bb comes out too :p But if gynae next tues says bb still growing well inside and want to keep him then i guess we will postpone to week after next...prob 20th may

congrats angel, little sheryl is off the drip! She can go home soon liao

<font color="aa00aa">I had check with my gynae on the charges of emergency c-sec. I'll need to pay $1200 if i really on emer c-sec. Tats about xtra of $700 for normal delivery.
But hopefully i dont had to ended up in emer c-sec lah, had been talking to my bb, asking her to be gui-guai mantain head down and engaged at the right moment. hehe...</font>

crystal &amp; ellysia,
i just back from lunch. saw fruits stall got selling big coconut drinks... too bad i can't drink man.. my mum said cannot drinks too early so i have to wait week 38.

was wondering whether can we eat watermelon or not?

BabyJo, I heard that some maids know "black magic". Not sure how true it is. Esp if the maid is from some rural area, Indonesian.

Veniz, im monitoring her very closely. Last week she even asked my MIL, does she like her???? My mil english nt gd, of cos she will tell her she likes. Then my maid come n tell me, i told her u just came her for a mth. Is unfair for me to answer ur question. She is still under my observation.

Then i caught her telling lies. Bcos my daughter saw her toking to other maids, then threaten her that she will inform me and MIL. Then before my daughter do that, she quickly explain to my MIL that an indo maid approach her and asked her hw cme she cut her hair. Then my maid replied her that it's none of ur biz.

Then i asked my daughter at night. she told me she saw auntie toking to 2 maids, short hair. It's different frm wat my maid told me. She told me that girl is long hair

She think im stupid! My maid hair was short at the very first day she came to my house. Then how come that so call indo maid suddenly pop this question since it's nt the first time my maid went to fetch my daughter from school.

I didn't question her cos im gg to monitor her closely

Liew, I ate half a watermelon 2 weekends ago. I was 32 weeks then. no problems. But I think every preggie is different. During 1st trimester, about 8 weeks, I cannot eat watermelon. will cramp. now, no cramps at all. If you want to eat watermelon, try a bit first.

<font color="aa00aa">liew, i really feel like drinking the green coconut juice as weather is extreme warm nowadays, but till now i only drink Thai coconut only.
As for watermelon, i think one piece wont cause any harm,coz i ate it but oso depend on individual. I got a collegue when she's preggie, she cannot ate watermelon, else her baby will keep moving and kicking inside her tummy. Is funny but not sure wats the reason lor.</font>

angel_z,
Congrats on little sheryl being taken off the drip!
Believe she will be able to go home very soon.

MLP,
Yes, please take lotsa photos and post them in yahoo group! Thanks.

BabyJo,
Ur maid sounds strange leh, personally find it a bit hard to believe her concern..but just give her the benefit of the doubt for now but make sure u have someone to keep an eye on her during your hospitalisation stay.

roxy: thanks!

babyjo: your maid is reali weird.. if you going to monitor her, better have a short time period.. scare later she do something funny to your family.. better take precautions.. hoepfully she is not cooking for the whole family?

felicia,
thai coconut shoudn't be a problem. cos my mum say thai coconut is not "liang food". this few days weather too hot, feel like grab some watermelon lor...
cactus,
maybe really depends individual lor.. if i take coconut drinks now my mum sure scolding me..:p

My MIL tells me that certain things are very cooling. preggie cannot eat. Like coconut (can only eat later in pregnancy), watermelon, water chestnut. Personally, I dun believe in this heaty/cooling thing. But after I personally experienced stomach cramps (like menses) after eating some of these things earlier in pregnancy, I'm scared also..cos cramps means uterus may be contracting and expelling bb from my body... but since 32 weeks, I can eat unlimited amounts of coconut, watermelon and water chestnuts. I have drank 2 coconuts, eating half a watermelon, and about 12 pieces of water chestnuts before. no problems. feel less heaty only.

after lunch... my stomach start itch again! must be no more space expand liao...i must endure and control myself for scratching! ahhh...

MLP,
me also counting down to meet you all for dinner later cos me 1st meeting up so many mummies.

Babyjo,
think you have to keep an eye on your maid liao cos she is so new and can lie liao.

Felicia,
Now can drink coconut drink liao, but watermelon me only dare to eat a small piece only and ony when i reach 32 wks. Cos now we need to "cool" down our body liao so bb come out will not be so heaty liao.

liew, yah. it depends on individual. I spoke to my mom about it. She's more modern lah. my MIL very traditional so I only eat those things at my mom's place!
My mom says as long as dun have cramping, just eat. she doesn't mind and won't restrict.

I will monitor her closely. anyway, im gg dwn to my agency to collect her passport. Will suely feedback to the boss abt her.

Anyway, she can't do anything funny bcos she will be at my MIL hse during my hospitalisation. My hb already keep aware of her liao.

Will use her until my confinement then see how. If change again, will be my 3rd time liao

Liew, it used to happen to me. From then on, I would apply alot of moisturizer before I leave home for work. then apply once more before I sleep.. tummy never itch again. maybe you can try it too.

cactus,
seems like my hb is more traditional cos he dun even allow me to eat ice-cream and no cold drinks only untill when i was 32 wks liao then he only let me drink a few sip of cold water but ice-cream cannot. Then my parents say nvrmd cos ice-cream okie for bb 1.

Babyjo, ya, find your maid really funny by the way you describe.

Cactus, I have been also eating some cooling fruits on and off, like watermelon, papaya, pineapple, orange juice and cooling drinks (grass jelly, etc). so far so good. Haven't start on Coconut though. Singapore so hot, I do think sometimes its is good to 'cool' down, otherwise to heaty may lead to certain heaty sickness.

<font color="aa00aa">Christina, ur hubby not traditional compare to my hubby, coz he only concern u might too cooling and deliver early. My hubby dont allow me to eat crabs leh.
He afraid my bb will become 'too many hands' in future. But hor, my #1, i din eat crabs, she oso very many hands.!</font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">i jux drink water melon juice and ate coconut every few days... think my body heaty type so cool stuff is ok</font></font>

Christina, actually, I think the objection is that cold things may cause our uterus to contract (but for that, each preggie is different). The other believe is that cold things cause bb to cough and have asthma. That cannot be true because when cold food is swollowed, it will be warmed up before it reached our stomaches, and even then, bb doesn't dirnk the cold water that we drink... the nutrients in that liquid will be passed on to bb through the placenta. It is the same issue with oranges.. some pple say oranges will cause bb to have asthma or cough.. but I don't think so.. cos it is only the vit C that goes to bb through placenta. Orange will not pass on to bb.

felicia,
for the past 2 wks i also ve not been going to khabit central liao, cant walk long...at the rate i m walking, i think i waddle more than walk...hahahhahaa...

veniz,
hmmmm...if u not sweet, then must be salty lar...LOL. felicia n TF ve each other to hugz, then morr's partner is who (i forgot liao, bad memory me), then we ve each other lor...kekekkee...

MLP,
take more pics tonite hor n share here but dun take the food cos i sure salivate then. dun tempt me.

angel,
gd tat bb sheryl is off drip liao, god bless her, she will be hm wif u soon!

roxy,
oic...gd tat u n hb r mentally prepared liao. actually i pop my timing can also be later in the day, at least i can catch some sleep but i oni ve one timing given by the master.
so ve to leave hse by 5am to go hospital liao, sure panda eyes one. somemore the nite b4, hb ve to attend his nite class, hm oni at midnite, by the time we get ready for bed, will be 1am, not much sleep at all...