(2008/06) June 2008

feifei,is there a name for that plaster?I went to Chinese doc n she mention because of the way we sleep, it block the blood circulation. when she massage on my neck n press on certain vain, the pain from the wrist went to the neck.

<font color="aa00aa">TF,

I didnt rec' my $5 voucher oso but hor, my hubby whom dont carry Robinsons member got the newsletter and inside got the voucher leh. Is in a book form. So, i suppose not all Robinsons member will get it coz my husband only had OCBC credit card. So unfair, i carry OCBC credit card and oso member but i din rec' lor.

Btw, there's special price for member on 29 &amp; 30 April. I saw the Avent steriliser for member sold at $150 with lot of free gifts leh.

Linda,
My mil is here to take care of my #1, so i had no worry when i'm goin into labour. Maybe any of your relative can help you to take care when u'r in hospital? How old is ur ger?</font>

Hi gers,
Good morning..

Linda,
That happened to my elder niece too. In the past, her ignored all her toys and refused to be put in her playpen. Now her toys and playpen are taken out for the 2nd one and she started fighting to play with the toys and sit in the playpen. So funny.
There was a couple of times, she even climbed into the playpen and fell aslp inside. Something that wun happened in the past.

Felicia,
Good morning. My hb in the marine industry, so got to work when there is job lor.

Feifei,
The swelling takes so long to go away. I propped my legs up for several hours and the swelling managed to go off a little. But just 30 mins of standing, feet down, etc. and I got the elephant legs come back. The swelling goes all teh way up to my calf wor. I had been putting on weight despite not eating much these few days. I suspect it is water retention. For the past few days, I woke up weighing 0.5kg heavier. Duno why leh. Does that happen to you?
As for my MIL, my FIL is not working liao. Moreover, my BIL &amp; his gf are on leave preparing for exams. Heng ah.

<font color="aa00aa">Ladies,

Saw this pice of article, thinking to share with you all.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Foods to avoid while breastfeeding</font>
<font color="0000ff">There is technically no foods that breastfeeding woman must avoid. However some foods can cause mild reaction such as spicy foods, cabbage, chocolate and foods high in C concentrate. It will depend on your own body and the sensitivity of your baby.

Foods such as cabbage, garlic, chilli &amp; curry may cause your baby to experience discomfort with wind. Although there is no research to support this, centuries of mothers will agree that keep these foods to a minimum if you want a good nights sleep. Some strongly flavoured foods may change the taste of your milk, although babies enjoy a variety of breast milk flavours, if you baby suddenly becomes fussy at the breast after you eat particular foods (for example garlic) you be best to avoid that food while breastfeeding. However you babies tolerance may improve as he/she gets older so you may be able to re-introduce that food.

Other foods &amp; drinks to watch out for are; pineapple/juice (being the worst offender) and other vitamin C rich fruits such as oranges, tomatoes, grapefruit and lemon, that can cause your baby to get a nappy rash. If you think something you are eating is affecting your baby, you may need to do a bit of detective work to figure out the cause of the sensitivity. If you are not sure, try cutting the food out of your diet for up to a week to see if things improve. If avoiding the food causes a nutritional imbalance, seek professional advise before removing from your diet.

Moderate your caffeine intake, a small amount is fine, but too much can interfere with your baby's sleep, or make him/her fussy. Keep in mind that caffeine is found in some sodas, teas, and over-the-counter medicines, as well as in coffee. Having an occasional social drink will not hurt your baby, but may make him/her sleepier than usual. To a sleep deprived mother this may sound like a solution, however it is more likely to unsettle your baby and lead to poor feeding which may result in your baby waking more during the night. </font>

good morning ladies!
anyone went for the Durian Buffet last night from 930pm-12am @ carrefour?i was 2 suntec outlet yesterday afternoon and know they will have a durian buffet, but heard it will be thai durians,i couldnt believe i spent $70 for 6 packs of durian, but there were very good, creamy, bitter n small seed, alot of fresh, yummy, finally found what i am looking for

<font color="aa00aa">Linda,

Me plan to stop at #2 oso and had been considering method of contraception but still hvnt come to a decision. Initially thinking to had ligation as well, but after sounding out family members, i'm sure will get strong opposition.
Now, thinking to do IUD or arm implant as well.
*sigh* heachache lah!</font>

Hi ladies, someone mentioned that her gynae's clinic is at Sun Plaza &amp; charging about $500+, may i know the name of the clinic please, as a lady who is 9weeks pregnant, emailed me to ask for gynae's recommendation, and looking for gynae who is not too costly but good, please try to help? Thanks

Felicia,
thanks for the article on food and breast-feeding. I noticed there isn't any mention of raw stuff like sashimi... so it's ok? I'm so craving for sashimi! :p

Fennie,
I believe the gynae which you are talking abt is Dr Lawrance Ang. It's at Sun plaza, 3rd floor (beside food court). I know his charges are quite affordable. But he has a lot of patients and the waiting time can be quite long.

<font color="aa00aa">Fennie,
iamsnow is right! Is Dr Lawrence Ang at Sun Plaza. His package is $550 (included scan, multivit, plus free 3D scan). for normal delivery is $250 (after medisave).
I'm under him. Cant said he's a very good gynae as he had too many patients. If the lady is looking at someone really can pay full attention on her pregnancy, then Dr Ang might not be a good choice. I'm a 2nd time mum, therefore i'm ok with Dr Ang as i know wat i'm expecting from each visit.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Kylene, sashimi during confinement??? Better not lah. But if is after confinement and you still BF, then i think u might start slowly. Coz i was reading up on the food thingy during BF and realised that mostly recomended BF mum to start oth alternative foods slowly as to testing if our babies suit it.</font>

<font color="ff6000">Morning Ladies!

I also never rec'd the Robinson thing lei. Grr... Feifei, if i got energy, will go shopping. haha...

Fennie>> Ur durian thing makes me drooling. Btw, i passed by Geylang last night. Saw alot of durian sales.D24(3 for $10)... too bad i'm still heaty. Cannot eat. Haiz.... when will my throat recover?</font>

mylittleprince,
sorry for making you crave for durians, get well quick k!

I have received the Robinsons mailer, think I will go tomorrow night to look look see see, just in case see anything i need to buy

Felicia,
ya i guess u're right, no sashimi during confinement. but after that if still breastfeeding then can try right? and so many other things i want to eat too, sigh.

For the robinsons $5 vouchers, actually you can get the mailer from the cust svc counter. just tell them you never receive and want a copy of the mailer. That's what I normally does.

Hi Felicia
My girl is currently taken care by my mum. But problem is she has never slept or awaken without me before so I am kind of worried abt that. Of course, as long as someone is around not too bad, but she will be a handful to handle lor. She is 4.

Birth control - we dun mind the condom, but hassle lor. Hadnt been using them for so long keke.. So far have not considered IUD, but heard that it is better than hormone releasing pills or implants. Have you heard of the patch? Works like pills except you stick it on your backside.

BTW, will u be practising the 'gift exchange' thingy with your kids in the hospital? Me thinking of what to buy liao. Not much time... ehehe

Hi Zuen
A tell tale sign of water rentention is when you press into your feet, the depression takes a while to raise. Try and see if you can reduce salt intake. Try to rest as much as you can.

Yah, my girl plays with the stuff lah, she is curious. She stuffs a bolster into her dress and pretends to give birth then afterwhich she will put the baby in the cot and push him around at lightning speed. The pram also became her 'toy'. hahaha.... But I let her lor, cos I didnt want her to feel that when brother comes, everything she cannot do.

<font color="ff6000">iamsnow>> thanks for the tips. will try that if i head to Robinsons tmr or wed. hehe...

ladies, ask u arh. I can feel bb's movements especially when I lie on my side. is it normal? or is it bcos my sleeping position not right. And the bb feels squeezed so it squeeze back huh? 1st time mummy so abit blur blur here.

mrswrx, so u didn't attend last fri's class? Tell u smtg, I went into the wrong class last fri. so malu. haha... think i went to ur class which was teaching labour. mine was in lecture room. so if u went, u shld have seen a couple coming in one hour late and left shortly after.</font>

Linda,
u bought durians from chong pang? Is it the stall in the middle of the pathway, where there is a coffee stop and food centre around there one?

what durians did you buy and how much? last time I bought from there, I kenna chop carrot. the durians no flesh, and he dare dare tell me very fleshy. and it was very expensive....

linda,
we use condom after #1, but after awhile, he uses withdrawal method, and thats how my #2 came about, this #2 was not planned, but anyway its time, bcos my #1 will be 8yrs old in May

after i gave birth to my # 8 yrs ago, i was afraid of durians mayb i ate too much during the pregnancy, then just about 2 months ago, just started to want to eat durians, but cannot find the bitter ones, so yesterday cant wait anymore, cos already 33 weeks right, not sure when bb going to pop, thats why bought the durians, but they are really good

<font color="aa00aa">Linda,
OIC. Maybe you want to start training your girl from now, and maybe talk to her about it. My ger is 2 only and i had been keep telling her about her baby sister whom is joining our family soon. So far she's accepting well as she keep saying 'mei mei' and wherever i brought my girl, &amp; when back home, she'll said next time she want to bring mei mei along'. And she was sleeping with my MIL (except weekend) as my hubby and me woke up very early before my ger. So, i had no problem when i'm in hospital.

Ya, i know about the patch thing but i dont find it to be secure coz what if it drop off??
In fact most of the contraception oso got side effects, so you had to choose carefully.

Yes, will practise the 'gift exchange'. I dont really go to buy special toys for it, just some toy (crayola &amp; leapfrog prod) i brought from the spree here. In fact i wanna buy it for my ger to play when i'm in confinement but now can take it as 'gift' from my baby. One stone kills 2 birds. hehe.....</font>

mylittleprince,
so far, i still find it more comfortable sleeping on my back, and not on the sides, not sure y, feels like pressing on bb if i sleep on sides, like Danryan, i still feel bb on the right side of my tummy, gynae said most prob its bb's butt, feels hard

Felicia, seems like its known that only two of us trying VBAC. I am still very positive about it, the only fact is that the gynaes in my clinic support VBAC but we have to wait till after 36th week to finalise if it is possible for me to do so. One major factor for me now is that my baby does not grow too big, otherwise its a sure C-Sect.

I also have been prepared for last min C-Sect and was discussing about the possible date with my mum last night. I can only choose the very last week (maybe C-Sect Date on 9th June)till my full term to go for C-Sect as I will be needed in office for as long as possible, and not to forget, 8th June is the 'Duan Wu Jie', I want to eat my redbean bazhang.

I just let each day passes by as it is, so you also, dun worry so much. Just positive mindset about VBAC, towards end then see how it goes.

Felicia, Iamsnow, Feifei
Thanks for the tip on the voucher from counter. In that case, I will go 2mrw.

Linda
Your little girl so sweet, play pregnant mama. Good that she imitating adults n growing.

Veniz,
8th June is duan wu jie, so if my bb pop early, i will have 3 reasons to celebrate, its my 12th year wedding anniversary on 8th June

hi fennie, i also feel bb on the right side of my tummy. feel the head and shoulder there but not too sure. must ask my gynae in my next visit. i'm a side sleeper all along so have to sleep on my side.

Read fm my babycenter update for 33weeks tat our baby should start to turn heads-down liao!

Morning ladies

Fennie
now i can't sleep sideway already....must sleep on my back and put one pillow below my thigh...feel much more comfortable...to sleep on sideways very difficult to move or lift my body up...and pelvic area more painfull...

feifei
wow...yr bb quite bb hor...2.7kg @wk 35....my next check up will b on this Wed....don't know how much gain liao...

mylittleprince,
bb head in correct position, head at the bottom, according to gynae during my last checkup at 32weeks3days, so yours must be the same as well, since we are having same edd, so what you felt maybe the butt too, bcos i also thought its head, something round, and hard.

Danryan,

I have nvr sleep side ways so far, always on my back, but now feel alittle hollow on the back, and pain, maybe have to follow you, put a pillow, i feel painful to turn my position in bed, and also getting out of bed, sign.....like very useless, i was trying to apply mosturiser on my heels cos cracked, then too much cream, and got onto the bedsheets, hb have to clean it up for me

<font color="aa00aa">Veniz,

I know there's some oth June MTBs here oso is planning VBAC, cant remember whom liao. But for sure, i know you're one of VBAC group. hehe....

Ya, we had to prepare for the worst, emergency c-sec. I told hubby it seems like my 1st delivery coz i'm quite excited plus anxious coz nvr know wat is the normal delivery will be like.
I tot you would choose 7 June , ur hubby birth date rite?
I was thinking if my bb chose to come at 8June, then would be good. hehe....</font>

hi ladies..

TF,
ya lor, tink better call them..

Sharon,
The name of the medicated plaster is "<font color="ff6000">TOKUHON"</font>.

ZuEn,
I din weigh myself wor..cos my water retention also bery chaliat ..Imagine i started swelling at my 6th mth..

Fennie,
Pls keep us updated on the robinsons sales ya...Cos the mailer only puts up to 70% discount..nv say how much discount for nursery items wor..

Withdrawal method also will gana? cos all along hb and I uses this withdrawal method until we wan to try for bb then he release in me..If not we use the withdrawal method only...SO this method not safe hor..

Danryan,
Ya lor, thats y gynae says if bb's weight adds up to 3.5kg, hv to induce liao...We estimate it coul din 3wks time lor..

feifei

my #2, i gave birth to 3.01kg but i really can't remember whether my gynea induce me or not coz i can feel my contraction getting faster n faster when i was put on drips....then i told him to reduce it then feel much better....but after that he breaks my waterbag....after all i have normal delivery....by the way induce is it using drips or any kind of injection....

Fennie
I'm SAHM. So likely going during day, so tat dun squeeze wif crowd n take my time. Will start fr City Hall, unless sthg there i wnt no stock, then to Centrepoint.

In our last Mrs Wong breastfeeding session, she shared that it is common that for 1st 3 days, we may nt have much breastmilk, so dont get dishearten n tot that u have failed. But still continue to latch the baby on. Also, when we washed the milk bottles, do nt use those hard bristle brush to scrub. Use the softer ones. Cos too much scratches on the bottle inside will cos the bisphenol-A to leak.

feifei,
yes i will update after tmr night, withdrawal is not safe at all, bcos i gana liao, think when you are high, you may not remember you dont have a rubber on, hehe

TF, i will also go to Raffles City tmr lunch time, bcos there is Ben &amp; Jerry, tomorrow got free scoop of ice cream in some outlets

the 1st few days will have colostrum, a thick but very little breastmilk, which is very gd for bb, have to try to latch on immediately after birth, then milk will come in early

<font color="aa00aa">feifei/ fennie,

Me and hubby oso use withrawal method, but so far my both pregnancy oso planned lah.But sometimes i got worried oso lor but whenever use condom, i'm in pain.
Withrawal is not safe as some men might had pre-ejaculation which contains sperm as well. Tats when 'accident' happen.

So even your hubby might manage to withdraw on 'time' but he actually din realised he had pre-ejaculation and the sperm oredy happily swimming inside.</font>

for the robinsons sales, not all nursery items will be on sales. it depends on the vendor tie up with robinsons. some brands might not even participate in this sales. i think the brochure did list out the brands that are on sales.

feifei

i just watched the video from babycenter abt induce...so now i knew already thats mean my #2 was induced lor....hehehe...

Felicia, in fact, I wanted baby to be same bday as her dad, but my mum said no good if parent and child same day bday (dunno how true lar). Then I told her to check 8th June as I tot 8th June is a Monday, she said its good day, I was very happy, but then later, 8th June is actually 'Duan Wu Jie' and is a Sunday. Sunday deliver dunno need to pay surcharge or not. So later, i told her, I will most probably go for the next date, 9th June, so I can eat my bazhang, heehee.

Sat when after my consultation and waiting for booking of next consultation, I overheard the nurses saying that hospitals now charge patients who need to choose exact auspicious time and date, so they can pre-book the thetre for the C-Sect on time. Its around $200.00 for TMC. This is for hospital charge only, not gynae.

feifei,

heard tat withdrawal method is not 100% guaranteed. But i tink thats probably the most workable way through natural means.

wat felicia said is correct.

Fennie,

same as u, once i lie on my back, my back will become v painful soon after 5-10mins of lying on back, i have to shift to sideways but tend to go back again later.. which cause me pain again. so keep shifting in sleep.