(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff6000"><font face="comic sans MS">My boss is actually on course these 3 days so I can really fang xin zuo-bo. He will be back tml... but... i will still continue to zuo-bo. HAHA.... just be careful.</font></font>

<font color="119911">mine is only 2 year anniversary this year, if ROM is 3 years. May is my ROM date, if bb come out early maybe be close to our ROM date.</font>

I ate Fried Kway Teow just now, now stomach all bloated

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">ellysia.... me oso always feel stomach hardened n bloated after meal.. appetite getting bad</font>
kao_smile2.gif

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">sometimes will feel sinful if eating food that doesnt cos any good to bb... me ate mee siam jux now.. it's the crave for certain food tt is hard to resist..</font></font>

Yo gals, will try out the colourful when i free, now clearing all my office backlots. My hubby bday also in June leh! His is 7-6-76. Hee

<font color="aa00aa">i'm like memory loss, cant rememeber how many yr is my ROM liao when i saw you gals' posts.
Oya... mine is in 2003, so is 5yrs liao! Then wedding anniversary is going to be 3yrs this coming May.</font>

Ladies...jus wanna share someting here...i jus went to visit my fren a KK..she gaf birth tis mornin...via emergency C sect..she was overdue for a day and had contractions for 2 days...of cos te 1st day wasnt tat bad ...but yesterday the contraction was strong..but found out cervix dilated oni 4cm..so doc say wait..finalli she canot tahan anymore..doc check and said oni 6cm..wait ..then gaf her epidural...
the effect of epidural gone at abt 2am..and she nd to suffer te pain again...by tat time cervix not even 8cm dilated..they immediately do c sect..Now bb is in NICU cos doc says bb not breathin well... i realli wonder if its all due to the delay of the c sect.. bb weighs oni 2.5kg...

Hi angel
no lah, i dun think i have high threshold lah, if have then wont be taking epidural lor.
yes, no epidural after you dilated more than 4cm. So have to decide before that. First birth i KIV, so they just called whomever on duty to come inject me when I requested for it. this round, i have the Dr's name put in the admission letter liao.

I asked for epidural not cos pain is unbearable but I scared I miss the 4cm mark. And I was VERY tired from bearing with the pain. The injection was done with me lying on my lie and trying to curl into a ball with hands around my knees bend as close to my chest as possible.

ritzy
really ha have to go c-sect although can have normal delivery....alamak....remind me of my 1st son 2.45kg when normal delivery n difficult to come out also

o.... Birth stories!

Maybe we should have blogs to mark the birth of our babies and link of June MTB. hehe

Miserable day at work. Really feel killing myself just by sitting down here

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="27aafd">linda... got to lie sideway n curl like a ball then they numb the area n inject the needle and put the tube into your spinal rite? one thing for epidural is if any emergency arises, they can jux add on to the doses to be use for c-section</font></font>

ioio,

Its common for 3rd trim to face some indigestion.
However i understand when bb descend/engage, we won't have such indigestion problem.

Linda,

My gynae also put the dr name on my letter cos i told her i will opt for epidural.

wat doc name is put in yr letter?

Rizty,

Her contractions is over 2 days?

I tot normally contraction faced then around 24 hrs birth shd take place.

Tera n Morr
Paiseh, i also Oct child.

Ellysia
Dr Wong seems thorough with what she had gone thru during the talk. Pretty reassuring person whenever talk about pain n fear matters. A person who want to see patient enjoy the delivery n nt in agony.

Hi Ritzy,

Just to share, I think. 2.5kg is okay birth weight. only less than 2kg, must go NICU cos bb not fat enough cannot keep warm so need incubator. I was born at 2.5kg about 30 years ago.. no problems leh. One reason why bb is not reall breathing well could be due to epidural.. cos epidural makes bb more sleepy at birth. my SIL's son didn't breathe well at birth also... although he was over due by more than 10 days.

Ellysia, my colleague had contractions for 3 days before she was admitted to hospital.. no joke. it really depends lah... varies from mom to mom. also depends on size of bb and positioning of bb. Jus thave to hope for the best when our time comes. some mothers have very strong contractions but bb cannot be positioned properly during labour, so in the end, only dilate very little.

TF,

hee.. ya i enjoy talking to Dr Wong, i tink she is more happy than me whenever she see scan and our bb lor.

cactus,

I tot where u go hee, didn't see yr posting.

I see... if contractions can be so long, then how to know when to go hospital?

TF,
Wow, you rem!
I did re-take at home and the results look quite ok: 117/73. Think for my next visit, I will go TMC earlier and then relax before taking my BP.

Yah, I also find Dr Wong very reassuring and very smiley.
My own doc in comparison, is not so smiley, can look quite stern at times. :p

Tera,

OH when dr wong talk abt serious things she will not smile lor. But most of the time she will smile to me when i enter her clinic le.

cactus and ritzy,

i tink maybe cos the bb in inside the womb too long?

anyway when i am born my mum said i look all purple and not good, but later also nothing ah.

Ellysia
You are indeed very proud to have her as your gynae. U shd have sat in her talk then. Nt sure hw the other doc did in your session. Initially when i first source for gynae in TMC, i also did consider betw Joycelyn Wong or Adelina Wong. But I think her schedule was full when i wnted to make appt for my 1st scan, so i gv her a miss n ended wif Adelina.

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, me oredy din wear wedding band since 1st preggie coz of very bad swelling. Then after delivery, i find the ring still tight coz i'm much much fatter than b4 pre-preggie.</font>

TF,

Adelina is also quite popular.
I was considering another female gynae, the one which TCS stars took. But my hb can't reach the clinic over the phone for 2 days, we leave voice mail also no reply. our conclusion is the clinic must be too busy tat they dun have time to respond.

so i check the listing for other female gynaes then check around the forum for reviews, heard good reviews abt dr wong so i call up clinic and book an appt.

My doc talk tat i went, happen to be Caroline Khi giving talk... who is Dr Wong colleague in the same clinic... too bad i didn't catch dr wong talk. I didn't know she give talk for the TMC pre-natal class.

Ellysia, most hospitals won't admit us unless we are already 3cm dilated loh... but some hospitals just want to earn $ and will admit esp if they have vacant space in the wards (esp private hospitals and A and B1 of Govt hospitals). As for when to go to hospital, 0think we should heed our doctor's advice. at most, go hopsital, not ready to deliver yet, go home again loh. what to do?

Felicia,

I aim to slim back to wear back all my rings!!

I am able to wear them back but cos of recent bloatness, i have to keep it aside then wait after giving birth the bloatness reduce.

Hi CActus ..ya i know 2.5kg is ok..wat i meant was i tink the whole process took too long liao lor..she said she in pain..almost wanto tear down te bed...and yet they kp poking her to check her cervix dilation..she is so mad..
told me jus now she scared liao..dun wan no.2..while goin thru the pain she said she kept shouting she wanto die liao...hhaha

Ellysia, not sure abt the contraction ting..oni heard from her wat happen in those 2 days lor..

Tera
Oh yes, sure rem everythg abt u..haha. Hey, tat's a gd sign right. Good, so maybe the last visit really due to anxiety n nthg else. U can fan xing n try nt to induce early.

U got the front seat so u can see her face clearer, i couldnt, yet wonder hw old Dr Wong is. Tot fr her speech, abt mid-30s or late 30s bah. I like the part when she say the dilation is inside, nt the outside V, which all the while i tot is outside.

cactus,

dr wong told me if contractions is around 5min apart then probably can go hosp liao cos it shd be around 3cm dilated.

TF,

Dilation is inside cos cervix is inside. tats why gynae and nurse need to poke finger to check cervix.

Oh ya dr wong is around 30s, i guess is late 30s. she got 2 kids ored i tink. she is from KKH originally i tink. She usu dun put makeup one, quite pleasant and smiley.

<font color="e4287c">Anyone feels stomach hardens after few minutes? I’m now 34wks. Is that contraction? Heard contraction is tighten not harden leh. It happened for 3 days and when it hardens I could clearly feel bb.</font>

Ritzy, your friend very poor thing... sigh. Was she a subsidised patient at KKH?

Ellysia, usually if contractions about 5 minutes, then considered in active labour, but there is a minority of mothers who aren't 3cm although contractions at 5cm apart... it is a common assumption that contractions are strong and frequent and regular = cervix dilate. but if contractions are strong, frequent and regular but inefficient cos bb in bad position or mother not allowing gravity to help bb descend, cervix won't be that dilated. Cos bb has to descend/put pressure on the cervix to cause the cervix to dilate.

Sharon,

Yes contraction is stomach harden, same as tighten.

If come with pain and doesn't go away even after resting then maybe is real contractions. else shd be BH contractions.

Felicia

Logically yes but it be quite hard actually.

Same logic with our arms. Do u realise if we slim down, our arms still look flabby?? Thighs still fatty?

If finger is due to water retention i believe can reduce. if due to fats, it may reduce if we slim down but may not also.

maybe finger do more exercises lah, can slim down le.

<font color="119911">cactus,

OIC if like tat then sure v panic one.

but we won't know, so bo piang have to rely on the timing of contractions as a gauge.</font>

Ellysia
Maybe she, Adelina, all same batch fr KKH. Adelina always dress up like Trendy Executive loh, she seems more like going office for work than a gynae, so are her nurses. So I smtx feel like i going for a mtg in her room. Ya, they are very smiley 1st thing u open the door. And last qn is "do u hv anymore qn for me?"

this pregnancy i still can wear my band....just nice.

my gynea also told me not to go hospital if yr contraction not 5mins gap unless yr waterbag breaks....don't waste yr time there....or else hospital will charge u extra day

<font color="119911">feifei,

Dr Wong explain using a chart, stomach tighten very short while (e.g. few seconds) then loosen, then stomach tighten again then loosen. In btw the stomach tighten to next tighten, is 5mins gap. The stomach tightening process will have a bigger gap at first then the timing shorten and reduce to 5mins, then we have to go hosp liao.

Difference of real contractions and BH is that BH does not tighten a few seconds then loosen. BH is painless and can tighten for quite some time (longer time) before loosen and resting can make BH go away but real contractions, resting does not make it go away. </font>

<font color="0000ff">so so sleepy.. yet another long long day..

colls are leaving early to for the JP Morgan run.. and i have to be stuck in the office..

<font color="aa00aa">ellysia, i had been very diligently doing finger excercise everyday leh. My work required me to type almost every now and then, then at home my ger will asked me to sing twinkle twinkle lil star with her, so i'll do my finger exercise as well. But none of it seems to help slim down my finger. Maybe the fat is harden liao. *sob*</font>

TF,
Thanks, girl! Very touched, hehe. ;) Dr Adelina Wong's clinic is located on same floor as my gynae's. So always got to walk past on way to ladies.

I think Dr Jocelyn Wong is in her mid 30s but her skin looks good from where I was seated. Even my hubby also commented she looks very pleasant (think he prob meant quite good figure, haha).

ellysia
as for me if arm or thigh flabby....can reduce it by carrying bb or do brisk walking after confinement.....like wat i did b4....by doing dis u can tone back yr arm/thigh