(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,
my hubby is e one who told them abt putting thgs inside e room, ya i thk MIL dont want us to invade in her daughter's room. like wat i mention earlier MIL very scared of hubby cos yesterday already kena scolded by hubby when she suggest to put e thgs in e living room tat's y now she target to psycho me to put e thgs inside her room thinking tat i will agree n go help her psycho her son.
hubby will not want to stay in a 3 room flat la cos he used to stay in a smaller flat when he is younger so his aimis to get bigger flat tat's y we ended up with a 5room old flat instead of those new flat which e floor area quite small.

cactus,
ooh..mrs wong got say for the eyes and ears can use cotton pads with warm water to wipe..but must be sterilise lah.. then juz wipe once from the inner eye to outside.. but for private parts can use baby wipes especially after they poo or pee..ooh yah..for umbilical cord must use sterilise cotton pad with umbilical cord spirit to clean..

cactus, my cl asked me to buy cotton wool in rolls as she will cut them and use to wipe bb instead of using wipes as she says contain chemical.. she says cotton wool with lukewarm water is better and it helps to save costs too...

Elaine, I think a 3 room flat is not conducive for 2 kids + a maid. esp if you continue working, you will need an adult to watch over the maid while your kids are still young (when they start going to primary school, not that bad already). I think a decent home for you is a 4 room at least.. just my 2 cents' worth.

bizznow, ioio, thanks for the info. yes, I've gotten sterilized cotton balls already.

bizznow...
u say to sterilise...with special liquid or?
cos i bought cotton balls and buds...tot can just use warm water to wipe..

shycloud,
i dunno must sterilise with wat leh..but i think the 1s i bought also not sterilise..so most likely i will go buy sterilise 1s lor..

Sorry to sidetrack a bit..

1st Qn: Can i ask how many maternity pads, nursing pads and disposable underwear are you ladies bringing to the hospital?

Cos maternity pads come in big packs and nursing pads comes in boxes (of 40) and i'm not sure how many to put in the hospital bag..

2nd Qn: This week is my 32nd week but my gynae is only seeing me on 16 may, which is 3 weeks from now.

I rem someone mentioned that from week 32 onwards, should be increasing the freq of gynae's visits to week 34, 36, 38, etc..

Should i worry? Cos i scare something will happen to baby in between these 3 weeks..

hi Angel,

I'm bringing 24 matennity pads, 4 pairs of nursing pads and 16 pairs of underwear.

My doctor told me he will see me once every 2 weeks from 32nd week onwards. But he told me in between visits, if I feel uncomfortable, just to give him a call. If you feel you should be seeing your doctor once every 2 weeks, then ask him if it's possible. Are you on a package? If you are on a package, and if you had previously "disturbed" oyur doctor often enough, he may not be too keen to see you that often in the later stages of your pregnancy. If not, if you are still told to see him every 3 weeks, then monitor the bb yourself, and if you feel something may not be right, just give him a call?

cactus.... 24 maternity pads? me only intend to bring 8.. 4 pairs of nursing pads n one pack x 5 disposable panties... hee....

hi cactus,

wow.. thats alot of maternity pads and underwear..

saw that you ladies were discussing about sterilising cootton wool..

how to sterilise? need special solution, i presume? so dump cotton wool in solution n dry it to use again ah?

Goodness.. i sound silly.. Pls pardon my ignorance.. never sterilise before.. 1st time heard of it in fact..

angel,

I din bring any maternity pads, coz hospital will provide. And then i'll bring 4 pairs of nursing pads and 5 disposable underwear + 2 normal underwear.

As for gynae's visit, diff gynae had diff visiting schedule. My next visit is oso 4 weeks later, same as urs 16 May. Hey, btw u r under which gynae? Dr Ang?

Angel, another thing, if your doctor is in private practice, maybe he is too overwhelmed with patients so he prefers to see his patients once every 3 weeks instead of once every 2 weeks, esp his patients who dun have complicated pregnancies.

i remember TMC provides maternity pads but is those loop type then every time must put 2pcs cos one is still not long enough after we just delivered. But i cant remember those they provide isit enough to last e 3days 2nite stay. I remember i brought my own too.

Haha! Yeah.. seems like alot of maternity pads hor! I read from somewhere that st 2 days, bleeding will be very heavy. If it is very heavy, chances are I hope to change once every 3 hours.. that's why prefer to bring 24 pads. 16 pairs, scared I stain.. haha.
Very unglam.

hi cactus and felicia,

my gynae is dr ang and he is in pte prac..

cactus: i never disturb him leh.. cos i thought if its common prac for other gynae to see their patients at every 2 weeks, how come mine didn't? so a bit worried..

felicia: yours oso dr ang, right? so you not worried about seeing him 4 weeks later?

elaine: each time must wear 2 pcs of pads?? then i guess must follow cactus liao.. need to bring more..

normally natural birth with no complication) need to stay 3 days 2 nights? not 2 days 1 night?

mine oso 2wks once now.. den dunno 38wks.. become wkly once..

thanks danryan~ nd to take the test now if not maid cannot come in..

angel,
i remember e nurse put 2 pcs i overlapping another to make it even longer so tat when we lie down it will not leak out. is normal for natural delivery to stay 3 days 2nite n c-section 4days 3nites.

babycupid
ya lor u have to take it fast....i took during my office hr....after that can straight away print out the cert...

angel_z
normal birth abt 2nites/3days and depends on what is the time when u delivered

angel,

yup, mine oso! Before i went for my check up last week, oredy knew is still 4 weeks visit after this, coz i heard from Riz (whom is oso under Dr Ang). So it din came as a surprised for me.

Anyhow, DR Ang only told me if i had contradiction, bleeding or water bag burst then need to call him immediately.
Like wat cactus's said maybe ours is not those complicated pregnancies, tats why he only see us in 4 weeks. But if you feel any uncomfortable, you can still give him a call.

Wat time is your appointment?

cactus,

Yr SIL can openly ask u like tat har? how old she is? i mean is her your hb younger or older sis? I tot its not v polite to ask this kind of question directly to u, if she want to ask she shd ask yr hb.

If my MIL ask me this question, i will also dunno how to ans, cos mine is more complicated as it involve my brother and i dun want my parents in law to know my family stuff too. MY mum will be upset if i divulge such stuff to my in laws.

See.. even govt hospitals oso advise to see gynae every 2 weeks after week 32.. thought pte dr should be more gan cheong.. sigh.. since dr thinks its not necessary to see him to many times then i guess no choice for me too..

cactus: i oso pai seh to ask him to increase visits unnecessarily.. dun wan to disturb him..

elaine n danryan: thanks for the info.. hmm.. if we gonna stay for 3 days 3 nights guess need to pack more stuff in the hospital bag..

felicia: maybe i didn't catch Riz's posting.. but i guess with dr ang's relaxed nature, its not surprising tat it would not be every 2 weeks..

my appt is at 1230 on 16 may, yours? i think i saw another mummy oso 16 may.. but forgot who liao..

Angel,

govt hospital must see according to schedule.. cos have layers of checks. Private doctors don't have anyone checking on them, so they just exercise their own discretion. All doctors want the best for their patients mah. If there is more complicated case, they will definately want to see more frequently. If less complicated, and if doctor no time to see, then won't see so frequently. That's what I believe. Don't mind me saying this lah... private doctors eventually just want to earn more money... that's why if they offer unlimited visits in a package, they have to prioritize.

angel,
I think the another mummy which u said is oso 16 may , high chance is me lah. hehee....
Mine is at 12.05, so maybe we'll bump into each oth.

Are you a 1st time mum? Coz in my opinion, Dr Ang is more suitable to those mummies with experiences, maybe 2nd pregnancy onwards. I wont be surprised he wont see us more often because he had too many patients liao. For me, watever i think is neccessary, i'll juz give him a call and if he said go down to see him, then i just go down to his clinic.
Btw, 16 May schedule seems to be very tight especially morning sessions. So, i think the waiting time is goin to be terrible.

cactus,

oh.. is it? i always thought pte dr better cos they will give more individualised attention.. (maybe i m being naive..)

true la.. i also agree that pte doc jus wan to earn more $$.. can see from their super packed schedule that the clinic jus keep on increasing the number of patients without thinking whether are they taking on too many patients or not..

felicia:

hey.. your waiting time is very close to mine.. so we will see each other..

yes.. i'm a 1st time mum.. so you will call him whenever you have discomfort? so far i have never called him before.. dun know when to call leh.. e.g. usu when i got stomachache, i will wait n see, usu it will go away after a day or so.. so never call dr ang before..

i oso think dr ang seems to be packing alot of ppl on 16 may cos he is going for short holiday after that cos of long weekend (mon is public hol).. so dun know whether i should change or not..

cos once we had appt after a public hol and we waited 1 hour before we can see him.. normally i only waited 20-30 min..

so you going to stick to 16 may?

angel,

During my #1, by wk30 onwards, will be once forthnightly, then by wk 36 is weekly. And in fact that gynae dont had much patients, tats why he can afford to see the patients more frequently. But of course, his fee is very, very ex compare to Dr Ang.
Tats why when Dr Ang visit is still 4 weeks after wk30, i'm able to accept as long as i feel my condition is ok.

babycupid and cactus,

I ored machine wash my bb clothes last weekend, using a laundry bag. I feel handwash may not be clean enuff, also lazy to wash. i even use dryer for bb clothes but i put gentle dry selection. Seems ok.

elaine,

I tink yr hb is sacrificing yr boy for his sis lor. i mean, yr MIL ored has a house elsewhere and they are collecting rental, then why not they move back and left the house for u and yr children benefit??
Its also bad tat u and yr hb and yr boy has to share 1 queen size bed together!
and to wait until yr SILs get married, wat if they dun have married at all?? 5 years down the road u will have 2 kids one possibly at Pri sch and another in Kindergarten and both need their space to study. without a good place, how to study?? won't be good for their physical devt.

angel,

Initially wanna change to 15 May coz i think is not so nice to take a long holiday as Mon is PH. But my collegue whom is my back up, said is ok. So, i'll stick to it lor. Anyhow, i plan to go for my lunch after i pass the appointment book to the admin. If still got time, can juz go to library.
Btw, you can request the admin to give you a call when ur turn is arriving soon, then u can shop around.

Not too sure how many times i called him, maybe 2-3 times kua. There's once i had brown discharge , so i called him and he asked me to go down to his clinic. And oso there's times when i feel unsure of certain thing i'll called him to ask for opinion. He's ok when u called him to ask anything which u r unsure.

Hi Angel,

Maybe I wasn't clear.. Govt hospitals have 2 types of patients. 1 type is subsidized class. meaning they pay lower rates ($21 for subsequent consultation minus vits, tests, etc) but they see whoeever is allocated to them and usually more junior doctors. but there will be senior doctors overseeing these files and ready to step in if situation calls for it. The other type is private class, meaning these patients pay normal rates ($45 to $72) per consultation only. But they get to see the same doctor at every viist and these doctors are all consultants (like in private clinics). My doctor has a package for 10 visits, but at $620 only for consultation. So actually it's not any cheaper than some private clinics. I get personalized attention from my doctor too. Hope this clarifies.

hi gers,
so much readings to do here. ve not catch up yet...

RE: Doppler Scan
went for my scan last sat liao. bb gwen @ oni 1.85kg @ wk 33/34. gynae said cos placenta kinda of aging (got white spots), hence bb not growing @ optimal level. but he said it is a common occurance, so no need worry. also amo fluid kinda low, so watch out a bit lor. but bb gwen shd cross the 2kg mark by wk36, so gynae assured us no need for NICU unless there r complications which shouldnt be at all. tat is a relief...phweee....

RE: Blood Cord
got the lady from SCBB to come by RH last sat as well to sign over donation of the blood cord liao. another matter settled...

RE: Hospital Bag / BB Clothings
finally after lots of dilly-dallying, got my hospital bag packed n on stand-by liao. did my washing on the cloth diapers as well as bb clothings over the wkend. also got hb to bring me to IKEA to buy a closet hanger to hang in bb's wardrobe for easier classifications after washing n all....now just waiting for 15th may liao....

ioio and cactus,

last time old folks only clean bb eyes area with cotton bud and water only, no sterilise cotton or anything.

Wat i know from my pre-natal lesson is we can use those facial wipes to clean also, cos i tink sometimes cotton bud may stick on to bb eye area then not so good.

I remember last time my mum clean my brother hands and other areas, cotton bud stick all around his hands and other areas. then i gotta remove it for him bec he is sucking his finger (and may swallow the cotton buds), this i didn't tell my mum until recently i remember.

Sorry to intrude into this thread.

Elaine
I always been a silent read of smh forum but i cant help to post when i read your post about your situation with your sils. I also live with my 2 sil and my pil. I do not have a good relationship with them because of the dispute arises due to living habits. The reason i live with them because i want to live near my parents and my hubby only give me this choice if i want to live near my parents. Now i regret my decision very much. My sils always feel that my hubby has the responsibility to look after them because my pil lend us some money for our house. But they should understand our responsibility is to his parents not them. Moreever we have repaid most of the money owed to their parents by paying everything in the house(from grocery, household items, utilities bill and hp bill for his parents)and giving them more allowances. Like your sils they only give money to their mother and contribute nothing to the household at all. Imagine the burden my hubby has to face since he the only sole breadwinner(im a sahm with 2 sons and my pil are retired) i prefer to look after my sons myself and i don't want to have further dispute with my inlaws because of my sons. Because of them, i nearly suffer from depression. My hubby also side with them and tell me to ignore them. How to ignore them when they have been telling others how mean i am to them and my mil without understanding things from my perspective. They always thought my hubby is very rich. Because of my hubby i tried to change myself and now I have been trying to be good to them and still they treat me like a stranger. Imagine the pressure and stress i have now. I also living in a room with my 2 sons. Imagine how packed our room is.Sometimes i feel like divorcing my hubby but i cant bear to forsake my family because of them. They may feel they are intruder but the real intruder to their life is me. I always feel im outsider not them. Sorry to write my lengthy post here. Just want to share my story with you.

felicia:

icic.. will discuss with husband and see whether wan to change the date or not..

oh.. he looked so busy so i dun dare to disturb him.. do you call him at night? i usu have stomach cramp at night..

cactus: icic... i didn't know that govt hospitals function like that.. quite good eh..

Angel, no worries. most pple dun understand how govt hospitals are run. and it's true that govt hospitals are cheaper than private hospitals (only if you choose subsidized care - meaning you deliver in B2 or C class ward and you don't choose your doctor and see different doctors each time). but if you check MOH website, you will see that KKH's 1 bedder is qctually more ex than say TMC's 2 bedder. and usually private hospitals' 2 bedders are more popular than private hospitals' 1 bedder cos the cost is very high there.

angel,

Most of the time is morning when he's not in clinic yet, coz once he's in clinic is quite hard to talk 'peacefully' with him liao.
Btw if is Friday nite, not sure if it'll be less crowded. Coz i had my visit on last Friday (at 7.30pm) and i was shocked as i'm nbr 2 in the Q and if not mistaken, i'm the last patients in the appointment.
Just after my registration, there's few walk in patients.

OH ya i just went this noon for my 34 weeks scan @ gynae clinic.

BB is growing well at 2.3KG now and average weight. Head still at bottom and facing towards my buttock. My weight gain since the previous checkup (2 weeks ago) is 0.5KG gain, total around 12KG gain since pregnancy.

Gynae said my finger joint pain got no remedies, i have to ren until after giving birth. Also, gynae said my bb actual weight may depend on the weight of his bones so utimately his weight may be heavier than the machine prediction.

Next appt at 36 weeks gynae will do the VE liao.
and i just got my EDD letter and admission letter. Gynae told me to keep the admission letter with me always.

cactus,

I tink almost every govt hospital got subsidized patients and non-subsidized patients. Its true tat non-subsidized i.e private patients get slightly better treatment for the higher price they pay.

My mum visited KKH for menopause issues and I visited SGH Singapore eye centre for my eyes problems, so far we been private patients as we walk in w/o referrals. I remember several docs at govt hospitals told us the private patients rates we paid is equivalent to private hospitals so actually we shd go private hospitals instead, bec of the short queue we get. else everytime we go govt hospital, even though we are private patients we still have to queue like 2-3 hrs.

cactus,

on elaine case i tink her hb seems to like her a lot too and there is still room for discussion.

Elaine,

I dun tink it is too much for u to put yr stuff at yr SIL room. Afterall it is still yr house. since yr hb support this decision, tell yr hb tat yr MIL and SIL refuse to do so and u have a problem tat he need to settle.

as for the taking back of teh room, if u dun want to force yr SIL to move out now then no choice u probably have to bear with it for another 3-5 years.

OK i going to eat my dinner now. me v hungry, just now eat delifrance at 2pm, now hungry again just ordered mac.

Ellysia,

Yeah, every govt hospital got subsidized patients and non-subsidized patients.

It's true that the $ we pay as private class patients at govt hospitals = $ we pay seeing private doctors at private clinics, so most pple like to go to private hospital. honestly, for minor issues, I will go to private hospital, but for major issues, I will prefer to go govt cos they are more in the "know" for latest treatments and they can cross-refer across different discplines with less lag time. That's what I feel lah.

I see. I think I shld talk to my doctor next Monday then.. sigh. I don't think mine is water retention.. cos I can still wear my rings very easily and only the joints hurt.. they are warm and red.. and very stiff... quite gross...

hi All !!!
i'm at 32 weeks !! and my baby decided to turn ard, and is head facing upwards now :p grrr ...
i've been telling him to turn back downwards cuz i am looking forward to a natural birth !!!
Gynae doesnt wanna talk abt birth plans at this stage since baby's position is not "fixed"

elaine : perhaps it's the hormones that's making you feel more irritable with this issue ?
take some time to calm down and try to speak to hubby again yah ? I can imagine how anxious you feel now, since #2 is going to be born soon !!!