(2008/06) June 2008

Veniz
Ya, i think almost every library, the children place will be misuse. Especially weekend when its crowded n noisy.

Babycupid, Cactus
Ya, i'm taking the birdnest still. Same, duno baby benefit, wh shd have lah, but i nan de can eat this much of bird nest in my life!! keke

Ellysia
Congrats, u r on track!

Kelcqi,

seems like yr MIL really got depression. People who suffer from depression will tend to suspect and imagine things.

My mum has a bit of depression and so do my younger brother.. so i know how people who got depression behaves.

Dun worry i tink once u move out, things will improve. It is so lor. Last time i always quarrel with my mum and feel so stressed up. Now i move out only meet her once a week, so get stress up once a week better than stressed up everyday haaa.

Taking about PIL, I also have problem with MIL. HB knows about it he but still siding on her making me keeping all the problems which I have facing with her all in my heart never tell him. If tell him in the end we both quarrel. Haiz. I have been trying to avoid her if possible. Like when she come to my house, I will try not to be on leave. Previously was living together with her and manage to move to our new flat. Now that I’m preg HB plan to get his mum to stay over our place after my confinement to look after baby. We can’t bring baby over to her house cause they have a dog. During my confinement my mum will be looking after. I was also afraid that my baby will learn his mother’s pattern. My mum is ok to look after baby even after confinement. This I did not tell HB scare end up quarrel again. Now I still don’t know who to look after baby as my parents stay in Pasir ris while I stay in Jurong. Only way is 1 month to put baby at my parents house on weekdays & carry back home on weekend. 1 month my MIL stay at our house looking after. I can’t be so selfish only letting my mum to look after. Haiz…

About the house keys, we give to my n his parents and there is 1 time I was so angry as we about to go out (waiting lift) she suddenly appear without letting us know that she will be dropping by. I could not keep this in my heart and scolded HB about it to discipline his mother. Otherwise she suka suka come to our house without us knowing. What if we were making out in the living room and she come? At least now she come over will inform my HB.

Sorry to interrupt but I have just started a BP on baby sleeping bags. Do take a look when you are free.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1346505.html?1207738140

Many thanks..

Ellysia,

But these kinda doubts, she had it like so many yrs ago. And don't think it's possible to get her any treatment. HAha, is Depression contagious? I developed depression tt time cos their nonsense really driving me crazy.

Sharon, seems like we are in similar situations *Hugz* I used to quarrel with hubby over MIL issues also. But the counselor we saw told him off. Said he needs to evaluate situations and cannot always have the mentality that they are the elders, we should always give in and keep quiet. She told him off that he is also partly responsible for my depression becos he failed to give me support and that is why his parents getting more and more daring with their behaviors.

Sharon, I seriously think hor, if you have problems with telling your hubby issues and ended up quarreling. Sometimes u can just do some out-of-the-box action. When he ask, you just tell him innocently that the reason is his mum. If he asked why cannot tell him before hand, just said cos u wanna avoid quarrel.

Haiz, why so many PILs dunno how to respect their children's privacy one? My MIL opens my door without knocking also. I complaint to hubby last time and he said she's used to it. So when hubby goes out, I lock the door, and he came back and asked me why I lock. I told him upfront, "Becos I don't like it when your mum just open the door without knocking." He diam diam and said "Orh".

Sharon, headache rite? MIL's bad habits are really hard to accept already. Imagine next time our own kids are duplications of their bad behavior? Scold them and they'll say, "Ah ma also like that", by then will be very hard to explain liao. Like when I was teaching last time, the kids picked up vuglar languages from their parents and when I correct them, they asked me why daddy can scold, why they cannot.

Then I had to correct the parents. But parents will admit their wrong cos they do not want their kids to learn those vuglar languages. Come to own in laws, really dunno how to tell them, since it's already a habit... Sigh. Only to invite conflicts only...

crystal,

I'm planning to get the 'shi fu' from tai maobi to named my bb. In fact me and hubby few mths back, was passing by their office @ united square. The lady in charge told me actually bb naming is thru software. So i think basically there's no diff which 'shi fu' naming for our kids since all coming out from software.
And as i'll be delivered in TMC, it wld be more convenient for my hubby to pick up bb name and register bb BC at TMC.

ILs: talking about in law invading privacy, i think my friend's case more 'jia lat'. She was living w her MIL (FIL passed away before she married)and one of her hubby's sis whom not yet marry. They nvr treat her as family member. Watever she put in the fridge, if my friend din informed them, her MIL will throw away when saw it and claim that she tot the food in the fridge was expired or keep too long.
Then my friend even find that her MIL go into her room and mess around her things. According to my friend, her MIL is trying to check her hubby and hers bank statement and salary slip as they din told her MIL.
My friend now is waiting for her new house to be ready but most probly, later on she'll still ned to lived w her MIL coz her hubby is the only son.
But at least with her own house, my friend hope her MIL wont dare to behaved like now.

sharon,kelcqi,
Regarding keys to PIL...

We gave a set of spare keys to my PIL cos that time during our reno, need them come over to help jaga lor.,.

Then there was once, i din wear bra at home and hb n I were having steamboat...suddenly we heard someone open our iron gate, thewn the door open...I quickly went bk to bedroom to wear my bra...

Then i tol dmy hb, how come they come dun give us a call lor, so rude, see lah, i almost let them see me without bra...Fmr that incidient onwards, they always call b4 they come =D...

feifei,

My friend not able to lock her room else her MIL will make lot of noise coz she claimed she's the owner of the house, so she had the 'authority' to do as wat she likes within the house area.
Tats why my friend is lookin forward to her own new house.

Hi feifei,
Still online? Left on time to go and buy a fan for bb room and other stuff. Might not have too much time liao, so feel abit gan cheong. Hehe. Was clearing up bb's room, putting clothes into laundry bag to get ready to wash and stuff. Wat a joy! Hehe. My bb must jia you.

Lynda,
Thanks for your encouragement! Me & bb ZuEn will jia you. I felt much better liao. Much better than last night and this morning. Must remain as happie mummy. Anyway, cannot do anything much now. Just have to pray that she will grow big & strong.

Re: Durian
Couldnt find durian just now, so ended up with 2 scoops of durian ice-cream. Lol! Will go and hunt for my ice cream tomolo.

ZuEn,
ya lor....cos now weather bery hot, can start washing liao =D...quite fun to get things ready for bb hor =)..

u are rite, mus tbe a happy mum =D...bb can feel it de..Jiayou...

Hi ZuEn,
Sorry for the late response. Was on course today and was going through the posts. Just wanted to say jia you to you and bb ZuEn. You have already come this far, you and bb will make it! You'll be in my prayers.

feifei,
How are you doing? Good to hear you've cleared your work so now can "an xin" rest at home. ;)

Felicia
Was watching Ch 8 just now n realize baby lying diagonally, i think, ie. head on my left bottom n legs at my right rib. Cos always feel hiccups at bottom. So maybe the right rib pain from his legs bah..Just nw was so obvious, they 2 humps n movt diagonally. haha.. wondering if he is turning since nw beginning week 30.

TF,
Hey, u are online too! I just went to FFY (first few years) at paragon and yes, damage was done. Thanks for the price updates - bought the 2008 PIS Advance with Metro Bag. Was telling Felicia I really really hope I can breastfeed after such a hefty investment, hehe.

Nowadays, bb movements really a lot more and showing up on tummy yah?
I'm also in my 30th week. Sometimes, the tummy will go out of shape right? My coll was telling me some time around wk 32, some bb will start to be heads-down. I am really curious which position bb is in now.

Hey, also wanted to say, I was really glad to hear your bb's heart condition has improved. Praise the Lord! Let's continue to place our trust in Him.

Tera
Yah, just nw I almost wanted to grab my digicam to shot the out of shape humps he created and show him next time..haha. But when i move, he loosen. Today heard Ellysia on the head-down at week 32. Last few days I have also been wonder which direction mine was. So with his obvious movt just now. I guess he might be making his way. So interesting really to watch the humps n hardness each time he does that.

Ha.. real damage huh but i'm sure u will be able to breastfeed. Its all in the mind actually.

Ya, my mum told me to baptize the baby b4 the operation, if any. And i've nt found his godparents yet. Have someone in mind, but waiting hubby to consent. Actually i've nt enquire on hw the baptism procedures work. :p

Kelcqi, no use. My HB actually say me back say I unreasonable bla bla bla. Tried before that’s y I choose to keep it in my heart. On opening door, last time staying with her also like that. Never lock the door she will suddenly open. There was once when we hugging in bed she open lor. Scold my HB again n again till he scolded his mum. Lucky never make love. Imagine how embarrassing it is. There’s nothing we could change our HB’s parents. We can’t do anything just hope that our kid will not be like her. This is what I hoping for.

Felicia, my MIL actually did that too. There is once when herself n 2 daughters wanted to add their CPF nomination, and need at least 2 witnesses to sign, she actually went to our drawer which I have put all the important documents like bank book, payslip, passport etc…and took out my passport right infront of us! I was like ….. “wtf! How the hell she know my passport was there? She must have dig my drawer and see all the things!”. My Hb question her why take my passport just like that and scolded her. Reason of taking my passport because she need to know my IC number. Stupid right? She can just ask me what. Since that day onwards when I shifted to my new house, I locked up all my documents. Even the scan of bb I lock it up. If I just leave it on the table she will do the same thing. Dig n dig n dig kaopo seeing all the things.

Feifei, that’s good that they call before going. Tell u something funny. There was once when I suddenly don’t feel like wok and take leave to rest At around 10+ I heard my gate lock opened after that I hear is my MIL. I scolded my HB again why she come nv inform. Then my HB say he forgotten to tell me. Lol! Scold HB for nothing. Then u know lah…I don’t like to be at home with her cause she will talk/nag/loso which I will not have peace. Then I called my mum to come over accompany me.

Wow, really scary to hear all the MIL stories n open self-open door + hubby still siding MIL.
Now I appreciate why my hubby b4 marriage say he want to stay as far as possible from any parents tho' he's filial n still respect them. When i stay in my PIL house in 1st 2 years, my MIL always will openly declare she didn't/dare not touch our things. Initially i was wondering why she must declare when i did even suspect anythg about her. Until 1 day, whenever my hubby lost his things, he will first ask his mother where are they n his mother will say, "she didnt touch anything". She says my hubby temper very bad, she dare not touch, knowing will get scolded. Seems like my hubby already been scolding his mum since young for her nonsense, so my life much better cos my hubby will get piss off if anything happen than i do. So having Yim Jim (meticulous) hubby also got gd got bad, now come to think about it. Also lucky he exercise his own objectivity too.

Kelcqi,

Depression is not contagious. But sometimes, if one person has depression and his behavior is strange, it may cause stress to nearby person and thus may lead them to be so too.

I attended depression talk organise by my office so i roughly know a bit. It is v common nowadays and most people have some just tat they dunno and some are not so serious to have any serious impact. Depression is not "siao" it is only a problem which if left untreated for long maybe can become "siao" lah.

My mum is becos she got post-natal depression after giving birth to me. I dunno whether my brother got it bec' of inherit but his char is also more of pessismistic nature so maybe easier to be depressed.

Ellysia
Was your mum expecting younger brother when she was having depression? If so, the link will be stronger.

Just heard from my Agent on all her 3 pregnancies tat ended her with 3 children with different character. When she had #1, she went thru lots of emotional matters cos her mother was ill n died, so she had lots of family matters to handle n feel down. So her #1 today is still an in-confident and pessimistic child. When had #2, life was better and easy going n she very relax n not working. So her #2 now is one tat knw how to enjoy life n take things easy, yet street smart. Then #3, she was running for an award and busy wif business growth n talks, etc.. so #3 ended most gifted-child today cos he got stimulated the most with knowledge when in mum's womb. So what we going thru nw will in some way be observe in our kids behaviour.

Felicia,

My MIL also throw away my food in the fridge wor. Same excuse she use, she thought it's expire liao. But if I bot Veges to cook, she ended up cooking my veges. My snacks I bot, my BIL sometimes also finish them off. In the past sometimes I bot food intending to cook breakfast for hubby over weekends, I always ended up cannot find my food. My hubby said I nv cook, I asked him, "How to cook when your mum always throw away my food?" He can only diam diam. My hubby then told me food wise dun make noise at most he buy back for me, think he sick of all the quarreling also.

Your friend they never tell their MIL how much they earn issit? My MIL asked me openly. Then even asked me how I divided my salary, then told me not to give my parents so much money, should help hubby to contribute to his family(meaning her n FIL). I straight complaint to hubby, and she threaten suicide cos hubby told her off. -_-" Scary rite? We don't have bank statement in the room, she find also no use. Haha... I kept mine back in my mum's place.

My MIL will also come in open my cupboard, those purchase I bot and still in paper bags. But I nothing to hide. But since married, I dare not buy any branded or new jewellery, cos once she sees I have new bag, new jewellery, she'll ask hubby to buy new rolex/LV bag for her. Sigh.

Felicia, tell your friend if can, prolong the time to let her move in. My hubby told me one day also need to let his parents move in, then I told him, one day then say. I told him unless one of them is gone and the other is unable to take care of oneself. Somehow, I hope is my MIL who pass on first, but unlikely lah, cos FIL have HBP and diabetic. If nothing happens, I still want my privacy.

On the other hand, I also praying my BIL will not be handle to purchase a flat next time, so he'll be the one staying with them. But my hubby told me before, very likely his bro also don't wanna stay with his parents. Sigh...

Sharon,

I think I'll lock up my stuff next time also. My hubby works from home so MIL don't dare to openly come in and mess our things. But I know she did that becos I only have 1 drawer to put my docs n personal stuff. Once, I found my things being arranged after I reached home with hubby. So from then I know she's been helping herself in our room when we're not ard.

I tell you something hor, the reason why I got into depression is becos everything I kept in my heart cos I scare hubby will say I air dirty linens, or being petty and cause arguements. I scare of losing my marriage so everything kept in my heart, then dunno why, I started crying over little things and when I cried, my FIL will scold me, said tt since I married to hubby, I am causing havoc in the house.

Then after seeing the counselor and even the counselor scolded my hubby n my in laws, I dare to openly tell my friends my PILs in front of hubby. My poor hubby can only diam diam cos my friends all also started scolding my in Laws. Heard already feel so shoik. U try lah, during gatherings, openly say what u unhappy wif ur ILs, see how ur hubby react. Don't keep in your heart. Very unhealthy one. I don't wish anyone kanna forced into depression like me. That's why I unhappy I bitch abt my ILs here, at least here with all the mummies, I feel so much supported. Anything just share with us loh. We'll always be your listening ear.

Ellysia,

Maybe I am under too much stress under my MIL... That's why I got depression also. Cos at times I really dunno how to handle my ILs already. To the extend I feel like walking out or ending my life last time and hack care everything already. Sometimes just feel so tired battling with all these. I guess maybe it's only the day they pass on and I'll have peace. But I'll prolly pass on earlier than them if I continue staying with them. Thank God we got our house, I really hope they'll leave me alone since I'm no longer in the house.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mummies,

Im from march mummy, selling 1pkt Nepia NB diaper, used 4pcs left 56pcs asking for $13. Keen parties can sms me at 91466419. Due to cant fit my gal. Thanks.</font>

Just finished reading thru all the post last nite. Wow, you all mummies sleep so late, must be shiok to chatting over the forum leh.

When i'm bak home, still bit chest pain when in MRT oredy. I felt very warm though i'm sitting, maybe too crowded and feel like fainting. But after reaching home, feel much better and i sleep at 9.30pm.

Tera,
Thanks for the updates on PIS. Lets pray we had lot lot of supply after such huge investment. hehe.....

About my friend's case, she and hubby nvr want to tell her MIL their salary and they always just give a rough figure to her MIL. According to my friend, her FIL passed away when her hubby and another 2 sisters still a kids, so maybe thats why her mum as single mum brought up 3 kids became very domineering.
Now her hubby is the pillar of the house, whom bring the bread home, so her MIL afraid she dont get her allowances as much as she used to get before her son married.

Worst part is the SIL oso 'buay zi dong', stay in the house but nvr bother to help out housework in the house. If my friend were to cook for her hubby dinner, she must cook for whole family member include the MIL and SIL.

When my friend was preggie last time, she boiled herself some birdnest and when her MIL knew, scold her why didnt she boiled more for her and SIL. *oh gosh*, really reasonable!

My friend was quite stress up as well, as her MIL had this 'zhong nan chin nu' mindset and my friend's #1 is a ger, so she MUST bear a son for her next pregnancy, tats why she decide to go for babychoice for her 2nd pregnancy.

Sometimes, hearing all this, i considered myself quite lucky with this MIL of mine though i do occassionally feel unhappy over her wording.

When i heard my friend's MIL searching her locker, i asked my hubby if my MIL will do the same. And my hubby said 'sure lah, curiosity mah" (maybe coz we nvr reveal our salary to her as well)But as wat my hubby said, my mil was not educated, so she cant read english, so even if i left my document in the room, she's not able to read as well. hehe....

Morning felicia,
Chest pain? Aiyo.. I also tend to feel breathless easily nowadays for no apparent reasons de. But the breathlessness gets bad when I am gan cheong.

Tera,
No worries. Ya, we will jia you de.

TF,
I love it most when I felt bb's moving right before I fall aslp and wake up the next morning to her kicking. Hehe. Your boy is trying to tell you that he is growing strong. Hehe.

Re: Pre-matured baby, underweight bb
Read up a little bit on it last night. Apparently, very low weight bb are those below 1.5kg. Bbs will be kept in the hospitals until they are 2kgs (not sure if in NICU). I think the 2kg mark is too far for bb ZuEn if she's is supposed to be out at week 34 ~ 35 since she only weight 1kg now. Help me pray that she will at least reached 1.5kg ya.

Morning ladies, update from my visit yesterday.

The scan shows that bb is small size, below average. Good thing is that at least the doppler test is fine, meaning the blood flow is alright. However, gynae still want to monitor closely. My next appt will be 2 weeks later, hopefully she grows bigger

ZuEn, I will keep you in my prayers too, our little one will be alright
Have faith

Kelcqi,

Try not to hurt yr couple rs bec of yr ILs issue. Bec couple rs is long term and lasting. No point u hurt the rs then when the old folks pass on, the hurt is still there. And couple rs can affect yr bb growth etc.

When u got yr own house, it is time to discuss on certain issues like how many times to go back to yr IL house, whether u want to go with yr hb together, how to settle yr dinner etc, how to take care of yr kid etc, how to distribute the household chores.

It is best tat u can cook yr own dinner bec' then yr hb has no excuse to go back to IL house to eat dinner. As for kid, if really dun want to let IL take care and u yrself can't take care due to work, u can try infant centre as last resort.

For the 18mths playgroup plan, wat i told my hb is tat it will help MIL to relieve her caretaker chores and she can rest more cos toddler can be quite difficult to take care, so send to playgroup will be better. Also i show my hb those playgroup programmes and how these programmes are benefical for kid development.

Dun give yr hb the impression tat u want to send kid to playgroup upon 18 mth bec' u dun want yr MIL to take care.. try to use other reasons.

Mog,

How is yr visit with dr wong? Yest noon seems quite good, dun have so many people so i manage to ask dr wong all the queries i want.

Glad yr doppler test also show ok. how much weight is yr bb now and at which week?

felicia,
the shi fu from tamobi is Fu Qian Loon rite? cos I got his name link to tat ctr too. was thinking tat since i be at RH, easier for hb to collect it from their KKH outlet. since u be getting tamobi to do naming, would u be letting them do the 1st bb hair cut for the "scholar brush"?

TF,

Nope my mum has recovered from post-natal depression by the time she had my brother. My brother is 8 years younger than me.

But my mum did say she is under more stress when had my brother bec' of dad's job and have to take care of me, financial constraints etc. also cos she had my brother after age 35 and got spotting for 7mths so she always worried a lot. she also suspect tat cos of the worrying and depress moods, brother is pessimistic in nature.

It is true tat pessimistic people tend to get depression and harder to recover. Whereas optimistic people if get depression will be easier to recover.

In this case, now tat i am so busy over work and doing "intellectual" work hee.. (i.e. got to use my brain often), hopefully my ah boy will be intelligent.

Mog,

yest dr wong want to give me the hospital bag list but bec' hb told her i ored pack my bag, she didn't pass me the list utimately.

dr wong also told me if want to apply stretch mark oil or cream, now is the critical time cos 3rd trim likely to have it...and once have it no cure le. cos i told her i v lazy nowadays always no apply my clarins oil.

HI all

I am selling off my dry confinement powder bought from littledreamers @ $10...Brandnew... coz i break e rules of bathing during my 4th day of confinement..=X...pls PM me if interested..thank

Ellysia, no worries abt the list, I can scan and post it to Yahoo group to share.

As for stretchmarks, I have it on my buttocks and thighs already, really an ugly sight, heng tummy now still okay. Must be diligent, I also apply the oil every 2 days coz lazy also.

hi Lynda, cannot give honey to bbs under 12 months. something about some bacteria. seafood except fish is unsafe for under 12 months also. egg and peanut too. cos of allergies.

Hi ladies..

Mogudog,
great to hear ur little one...must continue to jiayou ya...

Ellysia,
how heavy was ur bb yest? u put on any weight?

Mog,

I didn't apply on thigh or other areas, and i can't see if there is any stretchmarks there or not.. hopefully none.

hw heavy is yr bb?

feifei,

Yes i put on around 3KG since last mth, now total 11KG weight gain. My bb gain from 1.3KG to 1.9KG over 1 month
is considered normal weight.

gynae said if everything proceed normally, bb shd be around 3KG plus minus if born on due date.

crystal,

just back to my desk after running around to prepare for afternoon meeting. *sigh*.
Well, i dont think i'll do the 'scholar brush' as we din do for our #1, so must be fair. hehe....
Hubby and i dont want our 2 kids to compare with each oth when they get bigger, so try to be fair on most of the things.

Clarins oil: my collegue lend me her member card but she's not sure how many % of disc can get coz she had long long time din purchase clarins prods. Anyone had idea how much disc with the Clarins member card?

Ellysia
I'm sure your little boy will be good n bright cos you are doing fine so far.

Zuen
Yes, love it when tummy hardens, then can feel the baby even closer, n guessing the hands, legs, head or buttock..keke. U must every day visualize that Little Zuen is carried in your hands the moment she is born n you can bring her home (means she's healthy). Tat is the end result you want to see. Dun count the weeks anymore n get worried. That's the law of attraction, think of what you want to see ya.

Mog
U will be fine since droppler ok. Enjoy your last lap and baby will grow from here.