(2008/06) June 2008

Piyoz and fennie,

thks! The changing table seems good. But i am worried if we put bb there, will bb roll over and fall down?

Hihi catcus, felicia,

Yah, my EDD is 31st May. But I had Bratox Hicks so often until contractions whereby my tummy tightens up and never release itself. Very painful experience. I had to double dose the ventolin and after like more than 6 hrs then it felt better. WHen I told my gynae, he sent me for steriod jabs. Very painful jabs. And I was told to restrict my movements cos the gynae is really worried that my baby might come out pre-term and have to stay in ICU. So end of the day since my current employment is Part time and no benefits, hubby told me to resign and just rest at home till I pop. Dunno to be sad or happy. At home so boring, nothing to do.

Shinely, becos my MIL like that, I'm very determined to be a better wife to my hubby. When my new house comes along, I want to make sure my house is cleaner than hers even if I'm working. So that no matter what she says, I'm still more capable than her and she cannot just keep complaining that her life very "Ke Lian" when it's already so stress free and easy. Imagine she doesn't even cook and we tabao for her. Such good life still always complain. I really buay tahan at times...

Ellysia,
You have to be standing near the changing table when changing bb, cannot leave bb unattended of course, bb cant turn for 1st few months

ellysia,
i was talking about a white colour container ,IKEA put it next to the changing table piyoz n i was talking about, at the tampines outlet, in the kids department, but piyoz was talking about other plastic containers which can hang beside the changing table, maybe you can find it in Daiso IMM,Plaza SG or vivocity, alot of such containers

Ellysia,
I try to avoid western food wor, cos it always come with fries and soft drinks and I cannot resist the fries and soft drinks. ;p

Cactus,
I was worried that bb's skin will be sensitive then the washing machine dirty bcos of my hb's working clothes. But I will really faint if need to handwash. I think I will just go and buy more laundry bags and throw everything into washing machine, hehe.

Tera,
I oso can get MC for my routine check-up, but have to ask. My doc has a night clinic, so I usually visit his night clinic. Not good to be MIA too often. Last Sat, I asked for MC when I go for my check-up. The nurse commented that I have to work on Sats, no wonder I got high BP. -.o"

Ellysia, Tera,
The Ameda pump at Robinson dun have 20% discount. I checked already. The sales said that Ameda is controlled price item, so no discount.

ZuEn,
Hehe, me also cannot resist fries!
Personally, I love the fries at MOS burger cos they are big and fat, hehe. Okok, must not tempt ourselves.

Actually, I realised those gynaes with night clinic very good. Cos can go after work and no need to take MC or AL. Hehe, the nurse so cute, she prob empathising with ur having to work on sat. Actually many companies are switching to alternate sats or sat off. Any chance of ur co doing that?

Hi ladies...

I just discharged frm TMC this morning..Was admitted yest morning cos felt contractions...so scary..this is wat happen..

i woke up at 12.30am yest, felt like crampy feeling like gastric like that...then i woke up, tot its normal gastric, then my back suddenly become so aching...then my contractions was getting worst...I waited til 1.30am, can't stand it liao, called my gyane...she asked me to go TMC for a checkup...meanwhile my bb was moving actively inside, i was so worried that i might deliver soon..

so by 2.30am, hb and i were at TMc labour ward there...Told e nurse that my gytnae ask me to go down for a check, then the nurse look bery serious...my tummy was strapped with some equipment to monitor my contractions and bb's heartbeat...after 1hr, realised my contractions was 2mins interval, so the nurse called my gynae..Was told to give me a jab to mature bb's lungs faster in case need to take bb out soon, i was so scare leh!...was also put on drip and med to calm my contractions..

At abt 4+am, my gynae came to see me, she told me lucky my cervic was not open lor, and becos i am only in my 31 wks, its still toooo early for bb to come out so she said heng cervic din open..

so i was admitted lor, was given 30days bedrest, was ask to rest more..

The jabs which i had its really really bery painful..hiaz....so ladies, must take care hor...

Kelcqi,
I understand wat u meant lor cos gynae gave me 2 stgeriod jabs yest too...when the springe on into ur skin, not pain, pain is when the med is injected inside, sooo pain, whole leg cannot move lor..really.....Yest I also had Braxton contractions lor, gynae abit worried also..hiaz..

She told me BRaxton kick or contractions nvm, most important dun feel any pain lor...hiaz...i got a feeling bb will be out early...

feifei/ kelcqi

aiyo,you both seems to be experiencing the same situation. Really cannot imagine if it happen to me, i sure panicked. Did your gynae mentioned any reason of this sudden contractions?
Luckily everything turn out to be allright. Now you must rest well and dont move too much.

hi all mummies and mummies to be,

I am from Jan 08 thread. I have a Medela DUAL breastpump Mini Electric Plus for sale. I only used it for 1 time as i decided to be a full time mum and will let my bb latch on directly.

I still have unfilled warranty card, which you can fill it by yourself and send it back to Medela in S'pore. I bought this pump in Dec 07, and gave brith in Jan 08.

Picture of the breastpump: http://www.medela.com/ISBD/breastfeeding/products/plus.php

Price: S$200 (brand-new is selling at S$305.90 at major department store and Mothercare. I bought at the same price at OG Albert)

Let me know if you are interested.

Felicia,
no wor, she siad its common de...the experience is terrible...Now i am confirm that i will opt for EPIDURAL after yest incident...initally hb dun agree me to take epi, but aft he see yest, he ask me take liao..haha..the backache and cramps no joke..somemore yest was like only a "trial for me"...th ereal thing shd be 100times more pain....

feifei,
Oh dear, I can just imagine the whole situtation. Will def panic if I am told bb might be coming out soon. Glad to hear things have stabilised now. Have a good rest ya?

hi feifei

that was really scary. i got a colleague who juz came back from maternity leave. she casually ask me how many weeks am i now and i told her abt 29 weeks. she says when she was 30w and watching tv at home she felt some kind of contraction. but being first time mum, she dunno what a real contraction feels like. then she waited till at nite, the pain become very bad so she went to KK A&E (she was supposed to deliver at MAH) and was told that she has alredi diluted 5 cm!!!! quickly called her gynae and of cos gynae went WAH .. how come so late den call me!!

gynae went to hospital and did something which managed to hold the baby for 3 more days. but baby still wanna come out!!! in the end, baby came out very small, got to stay in hospital for 1 month!!

the way she related the story like very funny .. i think it must be really scary when it happens!!!!

Feifei, the experience very scary rite? The steriod jab hurts big time, the first jab, I was crying and telling hubby I don't want the second one already. COme 2nd one, I super scared and started crying before they jab me. My hubby in order to pacify me, promised me to buy me Chanel j12 after I pop.

When you had contractions, your baby kicking alot? My baby kicking very hard and can practically see the movements outside. But my gynae side never ask me to be admitted, only ask me to lie down and monitor.

I so scare it'll happen again. I think I'll guai guai move less from now...

Felicia, Such contractions take place when there is too much Bratox Hicks. Once you experience tightening, remember to rest leh. Don't move ard too much. Cos the more you move, the more stress you'll put to the baby and thus trigger labour(contractions). And remember if you take cold drinks or any "liang" stuff, once you feel any contraction, stop immediately...

Lynda, your colleague's case still ok le. My boss's wife colleague gave birth at 24wks, baby in ICU for 3 mths, and the bill cost them 100k.

I always tell my baby mummy don't have the money to spend, she better guai guai stay inside cos if not mummy no money to reno house liao...

Hi, happy waiting for your prince or princess to arrive. enjoy and rest as much as you can the last few weeks before having sleepless night after baby arrive.

i'm from mum Jan 2008, i have some items for sell. kindly take a look at http://www.flickr.com/photos/25128123@N03/sets/72157604291150474/

Morning all mummies,

feifei,
wat a good description as 'trial' for u! I nvr been thru contradictions before on my 1st pregnancy, so i really cannot imagine the pain. I think ur hubby must be very scare as well when he saw ur situation. So,now most importantly, u must rest well.

Oya, then cannot see ur 'early bird' post for the time being. hehe.....

Kelcqi,

Occasionally i still like to take cold drinks especially during warm weather leh, but aft hearing what you said, i better ctrl myself liao.
Is must be a scaring experience for you as well. But dont worry too much, rest well and asked ur bb guai-guai stay till due date.

I must ask my bb to be guai-guai stay inside my womb till due date liao.

Yesterday nite, had a sleepnes nite again. This round bb did not kick me, but suddenly felt my back very pain. I try to switch left and right to find the right position, but non of it is ok. Is funny that when i sleep on my right, i'll feel bit numbness below my breast loh, then switch to left, felt backache. Really a bad nite for me.

Jennie,

I was looking at the Disney spree that i told you yesterday, did you manage to order? Coz i PM the organiser but she seems like she din managed to help me to order leh.

Hi gers,
Good morning..

Tera,
Who can resist fries? I realised that I have put on alot of weight these 2 weeks. Duno if I consciously eat more for bb for wat. I worried later not only high BP but oso kena diabetes. -.o" My next apptm on 8 Apr, I think I better control abit.
My Company is talking about alt Sat when so many others are already on 5-day work week. There had been rumours for awhile liao but duno whether can materalise or not. Haiz..

Feifei,
I was oso scatching my head on why we dun see your posts in the morning. Tot that you were busy with work or on leave. Didnt noe you went thru' such ordeal. Take care ya. Dun move too much. Tell your bb to guai, guai, stay longer inside your protected tummy. Wah, 30 days bed rest.. By then, almost full term liao.. My doc was lecturing us on pre-matured birth during my precious visit. Sound so unreal then until I hear your experience.

kelcqi,
Haha, I oso tell my bb to stay longer inside and at least hit 2kg when she is out. Otherwise chiam liao. If really emergency and I noe that bb gg to be pre-matured, I might check myself into a govt hospital A&E to cut down cost.

Felicia,
I oso toss and turn before sleeping. I used to be able to doze off in a few minutes de. Now must wait for the Zzz monster to come and grab me. By the time it comes, my hand already numb, then must change side and try to sleep again. I will try to sleep on my sides, left especially for better blood circulation. But recently, I will wake up to find myself lying on my back. -.o" Several times liao.

Morning Ladies!
Felicia,
No, I didnt order anything from the spree, what time you PM her,i remember order must be placed as of yesterday night right?

Feifei,
Some ppl said epidural can cause backache problem after birth, but i refuse to believe that, i think its the posture that causes backache, so I am also going for epidural for my #2

Morning Ladies
Me also cant sleep lah. Wake up 2:30 after toss n turn. Tis morning wake up so early, which is nt me. I also feel the rib-cage under the right breast pain when lie on right.

I also feel so tired when i woke up this morning, like didnt sleep well last night,also have to wake up at least once ard 3am to pee, i still sleep better on my back, this #2 is quite different from #1,#1 i had to sleep on my sides

Fennie,

I PM her right after i posted the link here. But as i cannot post direct to her thread, maybe tats why i'm left out as normally PM take longer time to arrived. Anyhow, this morning saw another organiser oso had disney spree, hopefully she can rec' my PM loh.

Fennie,

Epidural will cause backache, this is wat my anaesthetic doc told me when he inject for me during my 1st delivery.
But if this round, i'm opting normal delivery, then i cannot had epidural, so i had to keep telling myself i can bear with it.

felicia,
i dont rber anaesthetian told me epidural will cause backache, but i will still opt for it,cos it helped me relaxed n slept thru while waiting for cevic to dilate the 1st time, and i hate the gas, it makes me vomit the last time, i doubt i can tahan the contraction

hi feifei and kelcqi
So scary to ehar of your experience. You all must stay in bed and try not to move around so much k? Me havent felt any braxton hicks or contractions yet so tink even if got, also blur blur duno wat they are. Have a good 30 days rest at home, by then bb full term liao (i asked my gynae, he said 37 weeks considered full term)

Re sleep... me also cun sleep well at nite now... still sleeping sideways and partial on my stomach.. but the problem is middle of nite always wake up at least once or twice to pee.. then after that always cun go back to sleep.. so everyday go work like zombie.. haiz

Fennie,

Mine is c-sec, maybe tats why he still had the time to chit-chat with me and took his own sweets times to inject for me. But unfortunately, the epidural failed and i dont feel numbness , so ended up i was full anaestetic.

Ya, me oso wake up for pee nowadays and it's so irritating when i'm oledi not able to sleep well.

Felicia,
ic, mine normal, the moment i felt contraction, after gynae induced me, i asked for epidural, but while waiting for epidural, they gave me gas

ya, took so long to fell asleep every night, then somemore hv to wake up at least 1 time to pee, sianz...

morning ladies!

talking abt cord blood banking, I still undecided over which one to store with.

I know this weekend, stemcord have a seminar. their promo is initial sign up of $950, first yr free storage. subsequent yrs is $250.

As for cord life, if I did not remember wrongly, the promo at the expo fair was $1100 + yrly $250.

anyone of u decided on which one to store with?

hey feifei,
wah..ur experience really like roller coaster ride leh..so scary..hope everything is ok for u now..i better pray hard dat my bb also guai guai stay in my tummy till full term..

iamsnow,
there is an article on cordlife, they are AABB accredited, whereas stemcord is not, so i think i will go for cordlife, it is recognised n accepted by all medical group, good thing is can use the CDA

iamsnow,

Do you check with stemcord, that if you signed up , ur fee will be $950? Coz last time, i refered my friend to stemcord, they quote her $600-700 depend on gynae as well. Mine initial sign up was $1.3k as my gynae got charges as well.

felicia,
i called stemcord and that is the price they quoted me leh.....

fennie,
CDA is only for 2nd child onwards is it? 1st child no CDA right?

iamsnow,

Oic, maybe because of diff gynae's fee. Btw, you can asked them if you was refered by existing member, you can get any discount? If got discount and interested with stemcord, you can inform me, i can refer you.

felicia,
i asked already. stemcord told me for the referal, the referer will get discount, not the referee. so means I wont get discount.....

Hi ZuEn, if you are concerned with working clothes mixed up with bb's clothes for wash in washing machine, you may want to consider buying a small washing machine (some time back departmental shops sold a small portable egg shaped washing machine for very small loads) for bb's clothes. Another thing is maybe you can buy anti-bacterial laundry powder? If you are still concerned, you can get a washing cum dryer, or a hot water washing machine, cos hot water/heat kills germs. Cleaner that way.

Morning ladies..

ZuEn,
tks ger...its really a scary experience lor...so ladies, must really rest well now ya..

Fennie,
ya lor, i also heard abt that..but hor, unless ur threshold of pain is high, if not, better opt..hee

Roxy,
Brazxton contractions is when ur tummy gets harden up lor...like bery tight lor...if not pain, then its ok, gynae told me if its pain, then must quickly tell her liao..

bizznow,
tks ger....tink all of us now need more rest lor...

Feifei,Kelcqi:

Hope you gals are feeling better now. Actually after 28 weeks, the chance of bb surviving outside of us is very high.. about 80% to 85% but need ICU care. costs will be high unless we are subsidized patient in govt hospitals..

Once our bb starts to have the hicupping motion, it means he is exercising his lungs and his lungs are developing. the steriod injections are just to expedite the lung development. ventolin is to ease off the contractions.

Try not to squat down too much. Lie down as much as possible during this time too. Most important is to listen to your body.

At about 26 weeks, I started experiencing braxton hicks. But it was only last week, that I felt cramping that wouldn't go away. Last night, felt it too. But thankfully the pain was rather short lived. About 2 hours or so only. I had planned to go A&E if the pain continued longer.

Cactus
Dunno if paiseh gv them thumb drive will they store for me from the G3. Usu the Senior Sono will do the essential routine scan, then when she start to focus on the heart the Prof comes in. So far the Senior Sonos are friendly. Maybe if i have the guts n find a suitable mood, i will request if i can get the 3D of my baby look :p

morning ladies

yesterday came back home fr work....all my both sons hand-off clothing & stuff have been washed by my mum....all are in white & blue....

just to share abt this morning, preparing & dressing up to work wif my son which going to kindegarten @8am....he made a slight mistake n i was so angry and scolded him and pull his ear....alamak....my temper was so high this morning.....till my son crying don't want to go to school....after sending him, while on the way to work, thinking abt just now and how i scolded my son makes me so sad and tears in the mrt....haizzz..

Danryan
Can imagine whn anger just got stir of moment. Maybe when he back home or tonite when u rch home, can share wif him abt tis morning how u feel abt his action and hw hurt u were seeing it, follow by a kiss n hug for assurances to one another. That would gv a better positive relationship back then to leave it open.