(2008/06) June 2008

felicia,
haha, i can just imagine u asking all ur qns while tummy is being scanned.

I also haven't washed bb clothes yet. Will do so in May.

Ellysia,

My gynae will told me that on screen only, but i normally will ask him the exact location on my tummy coz i cannot figure out which side is upper and lower. But if i choose weekday appointment, normally he'll scan longer and even do 3D scan for me. But i'm 'pai seh' keep taking MC for check up liao.

Felicia,
The MC is issued by ur gynae? I know of some gynaes who will issue MC for check-ups. My gynae does not issue MC, so I usu have to use my AL for my check-up. Have decided to schedule my future visits early in the morning like 8.40am so that I can go to work after that but will be on flexi work hours like 10am to 7pm.

ellysia,

I had very limited annual leave coz last year due to some issue, i even taken up unpaid leave. And i'm trying to save up my leave now though i still had 2 days childcare leave but must use it wisely. hehe....

But aft this april check up, i'm planning to take MC for next check up so that i can ask my gynae do a 3D scan for me. hehe....

Tera, why don't you ask your doctor for a MC? I understand that doctors will give upon request. I had to ask my doctor for MC too. Iniitally, I was clearing AL too.

Cactus,
I did ask the nurse previously and she told me that my gynae will only issue MC if I am not feeling well. Sounds like she's quite particular about that so I never bothered to ask after that. Also felt bad asking for it cos I am usu quite ok during the scans. When I told my SIL abt it, she was quite surprised cos she told me her gynae will auto issue MC upon request for her check-ups. Sigh..

Tera,

Yup, my gynae is very flexible in giving MC for check up. In fact this coming check up he wanna give me MC for weekday scan as he wanna do 3D for me again, but i told him, 'pai seh' to take MC again for check up liao.
Oic, you're on flexi hrs? So nice. Here though can nego with boss, but i try to avoid coz i know some collegue might not like it. Even when i take MC for check up, got collegue oledi unhappy thou she dont back up for me. Cannot understand why this ppl juz cannot understand our situation even she herself is also a mummy. (but her kid is working liao )

Felicia/Cactus,
How I wish my gynae like yours. Then can save on my AL.

Felicia,
Yah, the flexi hours quite good but I seldom use it cos start late = end late and then now so tired, I try not to stay back late in the office. Hehe.

Tsk tsk, what's wrong with that coll of urs? She also not ur back-up so ur being on mc also won't affect her what right. Plus also expect her to be more understanding cos she's also a mother right? Some ppl ah..

Tera,

This collegue of mine so-called 'lao jiao' (old bird) in the dept. She's very particular on everything we do loh. She's those 'MUST KNOW EVRYTHING', but dont want to do thing. With the new policy that parent with child below 7yrs old had 2 days childcare leave entitlement, she oso unhappy. This kind of ppl i dont bother her much oso.
But the unlucky part is i'm her back up.

Tera, sounds like your doctor is quite particular... maybe you just tell your doctor that you feel very tired? After all, 3rd trimester already. alot of mommies feel tired and some even feel dizzy... but it's good that at least you have the option of using flexi hours. I just started using MC last visit... cos before that, pai sei.. my colleagues told me to just use... haha.

Felicia,
Haha, ya i know what u referring to (those old birds) and yes, just leave them alone.

Cactus,
Okie, I will do that for my next visit and see how it goes. Like what u said, it's legit in 3rd trim to feel tired and dizzy mah hor? Hehe.

Shinely,

I found an article on shortness of breath.

Shortness of Breath During Pregnancy

by Marjorie Greenfield, M.D.
reviewed by Marjorie Greenfield, M.D.
When I was pregnant, I was able to exercise and do other normal daily activities, but at the same time I could run out of breath in the middle of a sentence. A question shared by many pregnant women is: "Why?"

Two main causes of shortness of breath during pregnancy

There are two main reasons that pregnant women often feel short of breath: the pregnancy hormone, progesterone, and the expanding uterus. Many women start to notice the effects of progesterone as early as the first trimester. This hormone causes women to breathe more deeply than before pregnancy, and gives them a sense of discomfort, as if they are not breathing deeply enough. Late in pregnancy, as the uterus grows, the lungs don't expand as easily, leading to shallower respirations and shortness of breath.

What can be done?

Pregnancy is a time when it is particularly important to listen if your body is telling you to slow down. Slowing down when speaking, and exerting oneself less can help diminish this sensation. If you are exercising, you may need to decrease the strenuousness of your routine. Later in pregnancy, sitting up straight can give the lungs more space to expand.

When is shortness of breath a sign of a problem?

Sudden or severe shortness of breath, especially if it comes along with chest pain, pain with deep breathing, or coughing up blood can be a sign of pulmonary embolism. This is a dangerous condition caused by a blood clot traveling to the lung. Severe shortness of breath with a fever can be a sign of a lung infection, like pneumonia. This can be particularly dangerous in pregnant women with chicken pox. In general, women with these symptoms should see their doctors immediately. In addition, some women with asthma notice a worsening of their symptoms during pregnancy.

If you are feeling short of breath with normal activities, see what you can do to make yourself feel better- whether changing position, varying your exercise routine, or speaking in shorter sentences. You will quickly breathe normally again after the baby is born.

Ellysia,
Can check with u regarding the pyjamas u bought? Did u manage to get at robinsons or NTUC at AMK hub? I was at robinsons on sat but didn't see any reasonably-priced ones. :p Most were around $30.

felicia,

My last year leave and MC also used up for some reason. So end up i also took 1 day no pay leave.

My gynae will offer me MC bec' she want me to go back to rest after checkups. But sometimes i paisay i will tell her no need, i ored take leave liao.

Tera,

PJ i bot at both robinsons and NTUC AMK.

Robinsons i bot at city hall, less than $20, dress. If get PJ with pants set (i.e. separates), the whole set is $30++.

NTUC AMK sell PJ at $9.90 but is off cheaper quality than robinsons one and only have dress.

The robinsons one are on discount so maybe dun have now.

Oh ya, regarding the ameda pump i saw at Robinsons city hall, really got 20% stated v clearly there. But maybe it is ored over by now.

Tera,

Where u stay? Juz now i saw got a shop at Jurong West Blk 500+ is selling the cheap pjyamas oso.
I think most neighbourhood shop will had it, maybe.

Ellysia,
Thanks for the offer, dear. It's ok, cos I will be going to AMK Hub for my antenatal classes so I can buy if needed.

Felicia,
JW a bit too far for me. Me staying east side but thanks for the info nonetheless.

Tera,
Yeah, if you are not so particular, just need button down shirt dress, can get in most neighbourhood shops, price ard $6-$9.90/piece,quite thin fabric, usually cartoon design, i just saw at toa payoh pasar malam on last sat

Tera,

The one i bot at AMK hub is button down dress, short sleeve. Not cartoon design but floral design/simple design.

How many PJs we need to bring to hospital??
I bot 3 but considering to keep some for home use. how many do we need to bring to hospital?

Fennie,
Thanks for the info.
I'm not v particular abt the quality cos I dun forsee wearing the PJs much except maybe in hosp and during ML. If I have the chance, will go check out the neighbourhood shops - my house there the market under reno lah.

Im also looking for PJ leh....too bad throw away all my old PJ....i saw eastpoint sell whole set at $32, material like very comfy

Ellysia : i like your view on food intake !! i find western food better for proteins too !

i brought along 2 sets of PJs when i delivered my #1, and a "going home" dress - cuz we took some pics in the nursery and with the head nurse, so must look nice la !!
heehee

washing clothes : i was very KS the first time round, washed once when i first bought the clothes, then another time just before baby returned from hospital !!!
Oh, and the funny thing was, i bought a little cute romper for #1 as a "going home" dress, and it cld not fit !!! haahaa, the nurses were saying that my baby was the only one dressed in a too tight romper !!! :pPPPP
So lesson learnt - this time, i will bring 2 sets of baby clothes !

K Ong,

OIC i tot TMC will give us a set of bb clothes for going home.

So u also bring along a going home dress..
I tot just bring along maternity dress can liao, since figure hasn't go back yet.

Do u get those hippo to put in the drawers for yr bb clothes? Cos i dunno want to get hippo or not, i scare if dun put wait the clothes smell due to no air in the drawers.

i think our going home clothes, better be nursing wear, or t-shirt material easier to access, in case baby need a feed on the way home, right?

Ellysia,
If in taxi, still can feed, but if you are driving, then no choice, maybe feed bb just b4 leave the hospital bah, i mean breastfeeding btw

Ellysia,

I'll put hippo on all my closed cupboard. I find clothing tends to get bit smell in closed cupboard especially in air-con room.

Btw,sharing my 1st child experience on bb clothing , i'll had 2 separate baby clothing place. One is drawers and another one is for daily usage , basket type which i can carry here and there. As i'll use cloth nappy during daytime, so every morning we'll take some of the cloths nappy plus some bb clothings and put into the basket. Then i dont had to keep goin to the cupboard and take the clothing. And especially the cloth nappy, normally i'll fold it with the liner together and put in the basket, so i can easily use it whenever i want to change my bb.

Ellysia : not sure abt TMC, i delivered and will be delivering at MAH.
Besides, i want to decide what baby is dressed in

i dont use hippo (the moisture absorber right ?)
since u have a dryer, your clothes sld be completely dry before being packed into the drawers right ?

Fennie : you are absolutely right ! "Going home" clothes sld be nursing friendly in case baby wants to nurse on the way home. But then again, there's this whole debate on wte it's best to hold a newborn in your arms or place in a car seat ...

any1 of you got baby changing table/station for changing bb diaper at home?i got one from IKEA, self assemble type, $39,can used up to 12 months, then i also get a inflatable changing mat,$10, like a swimming float, so got cushion feel, not so hard

K Ong,
I will be delivering at MAH also, dont remember they gave a bb clothes the last time i delivered my #1 there.

i think newborn better carry on our arm right?

If you ladies intend to breastfeed for a long period, i suggest getting a " My Brest Friend" nursing pillow, as I used it for my #1, you can wear it on your waist b4 you feed your bb, as a support, so your arms will not get tired, especially when bb grow heavier after that

i oso prepare to let my bb wear new clothing on day of discharge and oso oledi brought one that got minnie picture towel with hooded to wrap my bb.