(2008/06) June 2008

sorry, K Ong!! I'm so bored and tired at work.. suddenly thinking of making guo tei/steamed dumplings or fried wanton this weekend....

Dun know if I'm being overly ambitious not... planning to cook rosemary chicken stew with pasta for lunch on Sunday.. then perhaps chinese cooking for Sunday's dinner... Saturday going out for meals.. so I dun get a chance to cook.. sigh!!!

Fennie,

Ya i tink better feed bb before going home. Else even on taxi oso v ma fan.

cactus,

Buy readymade ones from supermarket?

Felicia,

where u buy the towel with hood? It is the receiving blanket right?

Tonight i planning to cook but yest buy some food from supermarket, forget to check home stock and realise my veg is running out liao.

Ellysia, I dun really want to buy readymade ones.. I like making stuff from scratch.... I like baking cookies, cakes and muffins.. that sort of thing.. like mixing dough alot.. the recipe for guo tie dough is not difficult - it's just plain flour and some salt and water. it's the folding that I find tricky.

Ellysia, alot of departmental stores and bb shops sell towel with hood. I saw Ikea selling them too.

Wah!! Cook on weekday evenings ah, Ellysia!! I don't think I can ever do that. no energy. by the time reach home, already 615pm... It takes me at least 1 hr to wash, prep and cook the food. by the time, food is cooked, it is 715pm at the very earliest..not to mention I'm dreadfully tired and sleepy by then!! these days, I eat dinner at 630pm.. if not easy to have heart burn. I don't eat too much either.. just half a bowl of rice each time. I eat more during breakfast and lunch.

cactus,
u r making me hungry leh

ellysia,
ya,better if can feed b4 leaving hospital, just in case lor, so better be prepared

fennie,

I got that Ikea changing table. Find it very useful. Have it placed in the living room. So day time when my boy is using cloth diapers, can just change him outside.

Used to just change him on the baby cot. But once he starts to roll and crawl, we have to lower the baby cot. The changing table provides a good height to change bb.

Ellysia,

You looking for receiving blanket? I bought one with hood from Tollyjoy previously, but it doesn't wrap around very well. The nurse mentioned Pigeon has very good receiving blanket. Can wrap round baby very tightly. They don't come with hood by the way. Can use a separate hat.

ellysia,
towel with hook a lot of dept store eg metro, kiddy palace also got sell. metro selling $12.50 for pigeon one.

but my colleague tell me use adult type of towel can liao so that bb grow bigger still can use.... now not sure whether want to buy or not.....

iamsnow,

Actually my receiving blanket I only used it that day when I bring bb home. After that never use liao....

So you are right, actually don't buy also can.

piyoz,
receiving blanket at least can use to wrap bb when bb is sleeping....

how abt towel ar? u got use hooked towel? or u use adult type of normal towel?

piyoz,
ya, i find it the cheapest i can find in Sg so far, and my #1 fixed it up with the help of his dad, and it seems ok,and the height is just right, if change on the bed, think will get backache after some time,i used to have bad backache b4 this pregnancy, maybe got it after the #1, but it some how disappear when I was pregnant with #2 now.did you also buy the white colour plastic container to hang on the side, for bb's like powder, nappy rash creme etc?

ellysia,

I brought the towel in the disney spree with a matching cloths all got minnie pictures.

Like wat oth mummies said, the towel with hooded can get form any dept store. But, if you plan to buy, buy 1-2 enuf oledi as this will only be used when bring bb out.

iamsnow/ piyoz,
Initially thinking to use normal towel oso, but i find the towel with hooded towel, the material is more soft, so beside using for outdoor, i oso use it to wipe my bb after bathing.

iamsnow,

my baby sweat a lot!!! Whole pillow will be wet after a while. So we don't cover him with blanket.

towel for what use? For showering, I just buy normal adult towel, but new one just for baby's use.

We brought baby out on MIM sling when he was small, so already wrapped up. So didn't use separate receiving blanket.

Fennie,
I didn't buy that white containers. I use white baskets I buy from $2 shop, then hook them on the side to put the powder, diaper cream, cotton etc. Used to put them at the lower rack, but keep having to bend down, backache la... so the containers at the side really help.

Cactus : no worries

it's tea time ! haahaa
dunno how to make dumplings ... why dont u google and see what search results it brings up ?

i love to cook too ! When i was expecting #1, i used to rush home to cook, get home by 7pm, and eat at 8pm. Starving by then, but better than eating outside food right ??
unfortunately (or fortunately haahaa), i live with my parents now, so will eat what they prepare for dinner ... which is not usually to my liking ... a lot of rice :p

Receiving Blanket - i buoght mine from mothersatwork at Great World City- some disney character one ! Will probably use that for #2 as well.

Fennie, yeah.. I get hungry most of the time too.. that's why enjoy baking more now. :p

iamsnow,what's mao shan durian? A type of durian is it? Since Jan, Emicakes raised their price for durian cakes. My BIL told me durian now expensive cos Mas Salemat hunt caused congestion along causeway.. so less durians brought in to Singapore.

But Goodwood park hotel now has durian fiesta.not too expensive. their durian mousse cake. 1.3kg (for about 10 to 15 pax), selling only $48! Take away have 15% discount if citibank/UOB card holder. Promo till 31 July!!

Re: hooded towel, I'm not planning to get. normal good quality towels can already. I do'nt know about wrapping bb. I understand that we only wrap bb until about 1 month.. cos after that, there is no need to swaddle already. in fact, bb will start to use arms more, and will kick more.. not good to swaddle cos may impede physical development. swaddling is done early weeks after birth to recreate the cramped environment in the womb.

K Ong, google results for how to wrap dumplings not clear leh. Also, I can't find wanton skin recipie.. never mind. I go library later to find.

cactus,

I like baking too =) enjoy making muffins and butter cake.

But since #1's arrival, weekends totally no time. Now #2 coming, think must really put baking on hold for a while.

The nearest thing I can make now is pancake with instant pancake mix.... hee heee

piyoz, baking is so fun hor??!! Easy too! I'm also thinking the same.. when bb comes, prob have no time.. so have urge to bake and cook as much as possible now...

Felicia,
i was prompt to choose either Disney.com or Disney International when i click on the link on the Disney Spree, how should I go about looking at the items?

you ladies are making me hungry.....i thk ive to go back bake cake already. Learn baking for 5 years, i love to bake also

cactus,
mao shan durian is another species of durian. like D24. but heard that it's much better than D24 leh....

i feel like eating the durian fruit itself. durian cakes and such not shiok enuff.... haha...

babyjo,

You professional baker? Learn for 5 years... wah!!!

cactus,

ya, baking is fun. very destressing...

I went to this Prima building at Keppel Road to learn how to make char siew bao. So fun!!

cactus,

I cannot find the towel with hood at robinsons. Then at Kiddy i also cannot find. I dunno is it i ta stamp, cannot find.

Piyoz,

Yes i am looking for a receiving blanket, cannot find.

cactus,

Actually the bao skin harder to make. Cos must knead for very long time. Must have skill to make it thin enough also.

Aye... the filling, we cheated. Just used ready-made ones, and chop it up.

Ellysia, maybe you can ask the salespersons at robinsons or kiddy? They should have it there leh.. It looks exactly like a normal towal.. just that at a corner, there is a triangular piece which is extra sewn on. I definately saw it at ikea tampines over the weekend, but didn't think the quality was good.

piyoz, Wah!! sounds very hard hor.. I think I will just keep to tang yuan and dumplings. bao is beyond me. I just like to eat it!!

Anyway, logging off liao. Catch up with you all tomorrow!!!

ellysia,

You can ask the sales girl in robinson or kiddy help you to find the towel with hood. I'm quite sure kiddy shld have it.

ellysia,
kiddy palace got sell leh. i saw quite a lot of diff types.... maybe u go to those bigger outlets one to see. i saw them at causeway pt...

cactus,

Normally i reach home around 7pm, by the time i finish cooking, it be around 8pm, then i bathe and eat dinner.

So i will ask hb to go gym run so that he came back dinner just complete, just nice.

piyoz,

Ikea got a lot of bb changing table?

wat basket u toking abt? u mean to hang at the cot and can use to change bb stuff?

Just came back from a conf call..wah, so many of u ladies can bake/cook. *Salute* For me, my pathetic baking is limited to ready-mix (is it betty crocker?) as well as my home econs classes. hee hee.

Ellysia,
I bought my hooded towel from Metro. But I believe robinsons should have. Maybe ask the sales person. Yah, kiddy palace should have it too.

Ellysia,
Receiving Blanket i saw at Kiddy palace causeway point just on sunday, maybe you can try

the changing table from ikea, i got mine at the tampines outlet,s called "SNIGLAR changing table"
I can send you the image if you provide an email address

tera,

I love betty crocker (i dunno spelling also). Their blueberry muffin and chocolate cake so nice. Just add water and bake =)