(2008/06) June 2008

Felicia,
Actually, it's about 2 more weeks, hehe. Mine is on 15th April which is 2 weeks away and urs is the friday on the same week.

Cactus,
So nice, can look forward to ur 3D scan!

Felicia,
2 mths b4 i went DS,Doc Ang say looks like a Girl..During the DS ..sonographer says..its XX...so its a girl..then the report for DS says..MALE..as genitial..hahah..went to see Dr Ang for review..he said i tot its a gal..why they put MALE..the scan shows XX..then he did another scan for me to confirm its a girl..heheh...he said the sonographer might be dreamin..
he said DS rather accurate wan lor.

Felicia,

Yah i find it really stress me too. dunno why boss like to give us more work when they know we are going on ML, maybe they want to maximise manpower usage.

I also almost "dou tai qi" when i tok to one architect last month, nearly "vomit blood" as u say. Really cannot throw temper but some people buay zi dong one.

Dan, my doctor was upset yesterday cos someone took his portable scan machine and he had to use another person's. The scan I did yesterday was not as clear (not that high in resolution) and the measurements were badly taken too... just sharing... :p

Tera, hopefully bb is still facing upwards... so we can get a good pix of the face!!! bb has been head down since 24 weeks and has been facing up. He doesn't move around much. very quiet bb.. but alot of punching and kicking though.

Rizty
Wow, this mistake also can make yah. Sound like the recent article abt the guy suppose to get 3 canning, but due to the clerk typo mistake, he got 5 canning n sue Ministry for it.

Babyjo & cactus,

I dunno, my gynae didn't mention. My 32 week checkup seems to be routine one.

But last checkup when i go on emergency to check on bb movements, i did go for a detail scan at TMC and the report got mention on waterbag fluid etc etc.

Rizty,

Yr sonographer from which hospital one?

cactus,

Wah machine also get kop. yr gynae must be upset.

How much is yr 3D scan?

Cactus,
Yeah, let's hope bb will be good during day of your 3D scan so that u and hubby can see his face clearly.
Ah, so ur bb is more of a boxer, hehe. My bb is opp from urs, moves a lot but punch/kick only once in a while.

Tera,

2 or 3 weeks still seems very long for me leh. Everytime scan only take about 5mins, then had to wait another few more weeks to see bb just for 5mins
So, sometimes i purposely asked question when my gynae is doing the scan to prolong the period of seeing bb. haha.....

Nur,
For my DS, the sonographer was quite firmed is girl oledi coz see very clearly the genital part.

Oh ya forget to mention, last weekend i just receive the late delivery of courts shelf, i have finish putting all bb stuff inside and still got space. But clothes haven't put in bec' haven't wash.

Can bb clothes be put in dryer? I lazy planning to wash in washer then put in dryer.

Also, finally me and hb order the bb cot which we have been eyeing for v long liao. We went to Taka and they still have bb sale price, and the cot is cheaper than Kiddy so we bot it. $299.

We didn't buy the mattress from taka bec it is latex. We plan to go to kiddy to get the foam one.

Understand from people tat must get more mattress in case bb soil the mattress etc. Also my colleague say put 2 mattress is better.

ellysia,

Somtimes i just trying to delay talking to all this ppl to avoid getting myself angry. I always try to email them i/o talkin direct to them unless really 'bo pian' only talk to them.

Tera, yeah.. he's a boxer.. and a kicker.. but his position never move much. From conception, he was already traverse lie.. then immediately head down. moved only 90 degrees at most...

cactus,

EH i tot u say u doing 3D scan leh.

i tink 3D scan no need, if got extra cost i won't do one.

Maybe bec' its in govt hospital, so yr gynae also cannot do much if his machine is relocated.
But nevermind lah, can see bb ored good liao.

when is yr next appt? 2 weeks?

My bb like to move up and down one.. swimming all around. But he does 2 major movements last week. Whole shifting and pushing my tummy to the extreme, i can see shapes moving.

Ellysia, I bought 2 mattresses.. foam too. But to protect mattress, I also bought the waterproof sheet.. cotton on one side, waterproof on the reverse side. Have 4 pieces of that. pigeon brand.

cactus,

tat pigeon waterproof sheet i bot 1 piece only, maybe i get more. I heard colleagues complain, mattress still get soiled sometimes even with tat waterproof sheet.

Also colleague say bb nose sensitive, must keep changing the bedsheets etc one. So bedsheet buy more.

Felicia,
Understand the agony of waiting.
But I think after your 18 April visit, it will become 2 weeks once? Hang in there! Yah, I totally agree that the scan is too short. Haha, u very cute, ask more qns to prolong it. Maybe i shld also do that next time.

cactus,

OIC yr gynae must be really angry. This kind of thing happens sometimes.

U dunno abt the charge for 3D scan, so u dun intend to bother abt the cost as long as yr bb position can do the scan?

Ellysia..the sonographer from TMC lor..she even
teach me how to see boy and gal..then i say so mine is wat..she said oh..its a Girl la..can see 2 lines..
maybe typo error in te report lor..Dats why Dr..oso wonder how come the scan pic is XX and the report says MALE..so goondoo..luckily Dr.willing to scan again to reconfirm.

actually, I've not bought bedsheets leh... come to think of it!! Maybe I'll just buy good quality cloth, then tack it under the mattress... easier. after all, bb sleep on the waterproof sheets. I think waterproof sheet, should get at least 2. cos if 1 is soiled, the other needs to be washed.

Felicia,

Me too i prefer to email.. tok sometimes get pek chey.

Scan 5mins?.. my gynae depend on whether busy or not, if not busy the scan can be longer. Actually i prefer to visit her when her appts are not so full so that i can ask more questions and she got more time to tok to me, and give more info. Sometimes she will explain to me wat to expect during tat week of pregnancy. But if she is busy then she will chop chop. Tats why me and hb prefer to go during weekdays even though we have to take MC/leave etc.

Rizty,

OIC i dunno the sonographer can be so sotong.
Did they take pix of the genital and paste with the report? Cos mine take photo and paste with report.

cactus,

Why buy cloth so ma fan, get bed sheet lah.. won't cost much.

I intend to buy 3-4 mattress and 4 bedsheets. KS a bit.

Ellyisa,
I eat normal stuff leh. E.g of wat I ate yday:
Breakfast - bread + instant tea
10am - bread (cos hungry)
Lunch - Rice + fruits
3pm - 3 Orea cookies (greedy)
Dinner - Homecook dinner + soup + fruits
9.30pm - 1 big scope of ice-cream (;p)
I dun think I am super healthy or unhealthy leh.

Tera,
Your doc must be thinking that he is super humourous but us as MTBs get big shock out of his joke. -.o"

Re: Gender
Although I wanted a boy initially, I have already accepted that my bb is a girl. I think I will faint if she turn out to be a boy. Haha. I bought all my pink stuff liao. ;p

Ellysia,
Yap..theres a page of 6 different scans..one of the pic is the genitial lor..and it says XX.
then theres another separate report attached to it.Ya lor..sotong sonographer..but she is a nice lady.

Zu EN,

nope cos u mention u want yr bb to grow more mah. Cos i know certain type of food will help bb grow more one.

Tea will bring down BP.
Yr bread u eat plain? Try to eat wholemeal it make u last longer w/o eating another piece. Or u can eat bread with peanut butter (low fat/low salt).

Lunch- rice is mainly carbo so if u can eat meat with more protein and less rice, it can actually help u feel less hungry and bb get protein which help in growth.

Suggestion to make bb grow more: drink HL milk (or low fat milk) & or nutrisoy. It will help bb grow bigger.

Cordyceps are rumoured to make bb big too.

ZuEn,
U r so right, to me, it was "err, not funny leh", I already told ppl plus already bought some stuff. Keke.

Cactus,
The G3 machine sounds powerful. Cos I was running through my scanned printouts last night and realised some of my printouts are rather hazy/blur (poor resolution).

Cactus
I tink they have the machine u refer at KKH. Cos my scans are done only on that special machine where the Prof is there cos they nd to see the heart in 3D too. So they've been learning to use the machine too. First they will scan recordings, then can replay the scan to capture the shots.

cactus,

OIC. I dunno wat is the machine at TMC but the some machines seems clearer than gynae one, but some machines are more blur than gynae one. I understand tat my gynae machine is quite new.

Why ask yr maid to sew the bedsheet? tot shd be mother doing? :p anyway v odd lah.. no point to save on tat and more work. Moreoever, nowadays cloth not cheap.

Hi cactus, ellysia, Tera, babyjo,liew,

yup , will further discuss with hb and we will see how to proceed from here. Babyjo, no worries abt your experiences affecting my decision,
as both hb and i felt the same way after the consultations we had with him. Thanks everyone on your input! really appreciate it.

cactus,

Ya tats why i say buy bedsheet lor.. alamak why ask maid to sew.

I been doing housework. I still do my weekly cooking then now i cook also on some weekdays. Then i do laundry every weekend.
Yest i do laundry until so tired, my legs hardly can move. so i slept early.

At least yr MIL dote on u.. my MIL is ok but she didn't tell me to rest and ask hb to help me one. I somemore have to cook on weekdays cos have to improve hb diet.

Anyway just as i was playing mozart music, my bb suddenly move a lot and i suddenly feel his hand!!

Anyone encounter breathing difficulty during night?
Me yesterday, sudden wake up like not able to breath, so scarily lah.
not sure is it due to the air-con , as I seldom on the air-con.

shinely,

Maybe bec u sleep on yr right side. I find tat sleeping on right side can sometimes cause this problem.

wow cactus, so envy u, like a queen now.
Me still got to do the house work myself, almost everyday got so many clothes to wash. After washing me and my hubby one, next day will be my in-law one..hai..like never ending.

Ellysia,

I can't remember which side i sleeping, but just feel sudden nose block like that loh, but i got no flue lay, why sudden block nose.
Maybe i try sleep on my left and try.
thank you very much

shinely,

Oic u still have to wash IL clothes..

Me wash me and hb clothes only cos we live in our own flat.

I suspect could be bec' right side will cause obstacle to blood flow and thus oxygen intake.

Ellysia,
I dun eat alot of carbo in the night. But lunch time bo bian. Eat outside, sure end up more carbo then proteins de. I am trying to increase my beef intake too. During the last checkup, my doc has too many patients to pay much attention to me. He only say that bb is growing. I will be seeing him again on 8 Apr. Will see how it goes then. Kan cheong.

Shinely, Ellysia,
I am oso still doing housework. However, do minimal niah. Only hb and me so the house generally quite clean. Hb will automatically helps with the hanging after the laundry is done, hehe.

Shinely,
Common to have blocked nose. I get blocked nose every now and then too. No need to get flu for blocked nose to visit you. Worse when I lie down. At times, I simply give up and breathe thru' my mouth. Breathlessness oso a common preggy complaint. I pant like mad now if I walk too fast or climb stairs. ;p

cactus,

Haa.. for me i cook during weekends for my mum when she came over. she like my cooking.

Zu En,

Ever since i got the dryer, laundry cleaning is not so bad now. I just wash and transfer to dryer then put back to clothes hanger/wardrobe areas.

How i increase my protein vs carbo is i eat western food so more meat than rice lor.. then char siew rice etc, i add meat instead of rice.

lala,

Nope i intend to wash only around end of April as i dun want to wash again. If wash now, most likely collect dust and bb clothes have to be v clean.

ZuEn and cactus,

Me living with MIL so bo bian, but hopefully next year we can move to our new house liao.
As i find my MIL very dirty and lazy. Tot she is working, but after work or weekend never saw her mop the floor or clean the table, always is my hubby..so ke lian. Even her clothes before i married over, always done by my hubby too. So since i not working, so i take over my hubby house work loh. So next time i don't expect her to wash my baby clothes. hai..........

Lala,
i have already finished washing my baby clothes, even the towel etc all clean clean keep in the cupboard liao.

Lala,
I just bought my bb drawer, havent delivered yet. I will wait for the drawer to be delivered before I start washing my bb's clothes. Otherwise, no space to keep. My bb's room is in a big mess now, hahaha. I procastinator, keep thinking that I have alot of time. Will be taking leave nearing delivery to rest and to pack bb's stuff.

Ellysia,
Before I preggy, of all the chores, I love laundry best. Duno why. Hehe. I dun mind doing laundry, but I am not those hardworking type. I simply throw the clothes into the machine and set it to work niah.

Re: washing bb's clothes
Handwash or machine wash huh? I cannot picture myself handwashing the bb clothes. But I washed my hb's work suit using the machine and his work suit got dirt and grease and stuff. Aiyo..

Hi lala, I will prob wash bb clothes when I deliver. Cos need to be in hospital for at least 2 full days mah... enough time to wash and dry. Most prob MIL will get the maid to do it when I'm in hospital.

shinely, I'm also staying with MIL!
Weekdays at ILs' place. weekends we move back to my parents' place. part here part there. But MIL is quite ke4 ke4 qi4 qi4 with me... so good lah. I also ke ke qi qi with her.

Zu En, think it doesn't matter handwash or machine wash. but should use baby safe laundry powder/detergent incase bb skin is sensitive. I think handwash, clothes will last longer.. machine wash, try to place inside laundry bag.

Good day mummies,

Long time never come into this thread cos quite busy , yesterday last day at work. Finally can rest liao but having hips pain. Anyone have similar symptoms?

Re: Baby clothes best hand washed cos I read from May's thread they put those baby's clothes into washing machine, ended up the ribbons all frayed. So those of you getting baby clothings with ribbons tied to the side, better hand wash the clothes. I also intend to tell my CL to hand wash baby's clothes. Btw, issit necessary to get baby's detergent to wash those clothes?

Shinely, my MIL also very dirty and lazy. And she's not working somemore. I refused to help cos I feel that it's only going to encourage her to be more lazy. Imagine my kitchen floor almost a mth nv mop, one day I buay tahan I mopped and hubby saw it quickly take over. I hope she will not use my baby as reason next time to get us to employ a maid for her next time.

Thanks K Ong and TF for the info.. im also a procrastinator.. scared by the time i deliver havent sign up, by then too late liao :p

Kelcqi,

Why last day at work? U mean u r on ML liao?

For baby clothes, if you plan to wash using washing machine, you can put all the baby cloths into those washing bag and this can help to prevent the baby cloths from getting spoilt.
Dont need to wash now, too early liao. Me just sort out my #1 ger old cloths last week and will only wash maybe from mid May onwards since my EDD is end of June.

Tera,

My gynae 'very standard' type. When i entered his room, he'll told me wat he expect to see from my scan on tat day and will ask if i had question. Then he'll proceed to scan, and explained, 5 mins settled. So, i always asked question like 'where's the placenta now'? , where's baby head? etc. Then he'll continue pointing to the screen to explain. Tats how i can see bb more. hehe.....