(2008/06) June 2008

Fennie,
Yes, MIM baby sling is one sz fits all but I find it difficult to fiddle with the ring and adjusting. MIM also came up with a baby pouch but cost abt $42+ so this should be a good buy. They didnt state which branch, I will be going to the one at Scotts.

Cactus,
There is no need to get the feeding chair so soon. The baby needs to be able to support his neck before he can sit the bumbo sitter, that would be around 9 mths old?

Piyoz
Yes we start the Yahoo cos too many info floating around n each time need to search, must ask the owner resend, or go thru the deep archive. Also to keep the database up to date, easier for everyone to DIY so that dun have to bother each other much. Hope everyone likes the YahooGroup there.

Hi felicia,dun worry so much abt ur weight instead i should be the one ley...hehehe jan i gain 4kg,feb i gain 2.5kg this mth dun noe yet as i will be goin on 26mar(wed).Gynae told me to control if not baby too big very hard to gif birth..Nw my weight is 86kg..My Edd on 8th of june.Alots of ppls sae my stomach very small dun look like 7th month alady..So sad ley...

Hi gers,
Good morning.. I have half a day to tahan.. Yawnzz.

Ellysia,
Saw that you drastically cut down on your meal intake wor. Wun you feel hungry? I try to avoid snacking, esp on unhealthy tibits, but would still need my proper meals. Otherwise, ended up snacking more. ;p
Entire pregnancy can only gain 10 to 12kg and lesser for those who are big size before preggy? Siao liao. I gain 9.5kg and am in my 26th week. How to only grow 2.5kg for the remaining 14 weeks? Somemore will balloon more in 3rd trimester. I tot the max is 16kg. If that is the target, at least I still got hope. ;p

Err.. I tried gg into the yahoo thingy.. but I can only see messages wor..
I cant access any of the items under the "members only" menu.. Help, help. Sorry I abit slow when it comes to such IT stuff. ;p

Zu EN,

If u exceed 12KG is ok but dun exceed 18KG. 18KG is unhealthy range.

Yes whenever i go hungry, i will munch on wholemeal bread or drink a glass of nutrisoy. It helps to maintain my strength for another 2-3 hrs. Before i go home everyday, i will eat 1 slice of wholemeal bread.

If u want to take wholemeal bread, u can take Boujour soft wholemeal bread, it taste better than the rest.

Ellysia,
Munched on plain wholemeal bread? Oh gosh, sound torturing already.. I just took 2 Oreo cookies plus a pack of prawn cracker. Still in office and no proper lunch. I think I will make a hot milo and biscuits.
Do you put jam or anything on the bread? I think I must learn from you..

ellysia, u veri healthy leh. eat wholemeal bread n nutrisoy when hungry. i c liao aso veri guilty. i hate bread personally, so veri hard to swallow bread unless wif toppings/kaya. but its like once a mth type.
ytdy when out, pass by Ben & Jerry n e smell of waffle tempted me so so much til nw stil tinkin of it. told hb tml when go out, no matter wat i wana eat waffle wif ice-cream. e thot makes me drool liao. then last nite c taiwan food show, all e food so yummy til my stomach beatin drums.. *drool*. tink im e most 'tam jia' here liao. cant resist junk food n carbonated drinks.

Cactus & TF -Yup, agree with you guys. Docs are humans too. I guess the bottom line is we are comfortable with the Doc we choose. So far, we are comfy with our obgyn. So, went back to him for #2.
Catcus - as for the baby chair, don't have to buy so soon, IMHO. My #1 hates the Ikea baby chair. He can now unhook the buckle...haiz! He prefers to sit on the same chairs as we do.

piyoz - OIC, glad to hear that your boy is recovering. Sending over more quick healing vibes!

hello,

wonder anyone here goes to the paediatrician, Dr Heng Siok Kheng at Toa Payoh?

my edd is 12 Jun & looking for PD already.

just back from Taka. Arrived before 12noon, so is not crowded. Brought some Avent bottles , baby body wash , etc. I even buy a Farlin girdle at $27.60.

Ok, goin log off again as goin to Sentosa. hehe...

Hi gers,
Discussed wif hb oreadi n had informed my gynae tat wif rgd to keeping of the stem cord, we will be donating ours to the Singapore blood bank. RH will be arranging for a rep from KKH to come by to speak wif hb n me abt it. My gynae not charging anything for this service.

Liew,
Same here, from next visit onward, I ve to c mygynae every 2wks for 1 mth, then subsequently weekly liao till delivery.

hi ladies..

Crystal,
My next visit is 3wks wor...so fast now see gynae every 2wks liao?

Ellysia,
really hv to learn frm u lor...I hv to cut down on my sweet cravings liao cos one of the other thread mummy told me that she likes to eat sweet things, cakes etc..then 2days before her due date, her bb's heartbeat stopped...She said it shd be due to those sweet things and advise me not to take too much lor...So i really hv to forgo those cakes, durians and fast food liao..

Zu En,

Yes i didn't put any jam on my bread. Jam is sweet anyway. Wholemeal bread is better than normal bread bec' the grains within can give u more strength and take longer to get hungry, so no need jam or peanut butter. But some wholemeal taste yucks, so i only eat boujour brand.

I also eat sweet stuff at times but try to limit and count the number of times i eat. E.g. once a mth a fastfood, once a mth an ice-cream or someting like tat. As long as u are conscious how much and how many times u eat such stuff, u can at least control and reduce the number of times u eat.

For cravings, wat u can do is this. Whenever u have a craving, u try to ren for 1-2 days. If after few days u still tink of it, then u take it. But if after few days u forget abt it, then so be it. Its a better way to control cravings.

Just tink tat u can eat those junk food and fast food after u give birth also, which will not affect yr bb. Then its only a few mths down the road anyway, so just ren for a few mths lor.

Also, tink of how hard it be for u to slim down after giving birth! So controlling now is better than having to slog at the gym after giving birth to slim back lor.

Ellyisa,
True lor...really hv to control now rather than have to work hard in e gym later on...really must ren lor...hiaz...jus tbot e nutri soy reduced suger drink frm Sheng Siong, bot HL Low fat milk also...Tink will stop drinking Anmum for awhile cos read frm e other thread that anmum is fattening also de...

Was wondering cheese can eat anot...hmm...

This morning when i brush my teeth, whole toothbrush pink and got blood lor...

feifei,
yup, i m surprise too, seem kinda of fast. there goes all my wkends liao...

eating sweet stuff will cause bb adverse effect? yur fren must ve been reai sad. doc didnt say wat was the exact cause of y bb heart beats stopped? due to sweet stuff? i jus find it very puzzling. if so, i better stop all my ice-cream n durians liao. my fast food i think i better slow down too...

annum milk is fatting? RH jus gave me a goodie bag yd wif 6 packs of annum milk, 2 sample of diapers (NB & S size) n 2 mummy n bb magazines. i tried 1 pack of the annum but not very appetitizing....

ellysia,
u reai very healthy ley. i wish i can be like tat but i cant, always giving in to my cravings.

shinely,
i be doing confinement on my own wif hb's help for the 1st wk, so cant comment much abt tis area.

RE: Holidays
if everything goes alrite (ie: can find appropriate travel destination,etc), i may be able to go away for another short trip wif my gfs end of the mth or beginning of april....yippeeee....oreadi got letter from my gynae..

feifei and crystal,
I also read somewhere that Anmum is quite fattening so I tink try not to drink so often.

feifei,
Instead of HL, maybe u can consider buying Magnolia's "Hi Cal Low Fat" milk cos the calcium content is higher. Of course, taste-wise, HL is sweeter while Magnolia's one taste more fresh milk.

So sad to hear about the mummy who ate too much sweet stuff and the bb's heartbeat stopped. Thanks for sharing, now we know we really must watch our diet carefully.

Btw, went for my 1st antenatal class yest with Mrs Wong. Found it interesting and informative. Must start doing those exercises Mrs Wong taught, hope it's not too late, hehe.

Crystal gal,
Short trip sounds good! I was glad I managed to go on a short trip, somehow felt more energised and recharged after the trip. Rem to take it easy ya? Dun over-exert urself.

Bizznow and Mog,
Were you gals at the antenatal class yest? TF and I were wondering where were u gals, hee.

Hi crystal,

No problem on that. Me last mins decided to take up, as scare MIL too stress to do for me (60yrs old liao). As maybe confinement that months need helper to teach and guide me, so after that i can look after the baby myself. (1st time mummy) so scare no experience to do confinement without another helper to teach and guide me. Else i also like to help my hubby save $$ as i am SAHM

Have ur doctor book the hospital bed for ur already? I recently just book mine, wow so expensive for the single bed.

ellysia,

Really salute to you! Like crystal, i oso always giving in to my craving.
There's few times i prepare my own breakfast and bring to office, but in the end i still go to our canteen and grab oth food, which is not so healthy. I think i really must learn to 'ren' from now onwards.

Shinely,

Where's ur delivered hospital? How much u need to pay?
Well, my EDD is on late June, so my gynae hvnt ask about the bed booking.

JP,

my #1 fever ok already, but now down with rash all over his body!!! Must bring him back to see doc tmr....

Shinely,

I planning to stay TMC single bed too!! so exp!!??? This is hospital stay plus gynae delivery fee is it? Went for their hospital tour the other time. They gave me a price list. Must go and dig out.....

btw, my confinement my mum helping me.... so can't comment on the agency.

crystal,
I also not so sure lor..so now since gynae ask me go fo rsugar test and i came to know abt my fren's case, I better stop all my sweet things lor..hv to limit ourselves liao...I read in some GD thread that some ladies even hv to test their sugar level everyday b4 meals...

U will be doing confinement alone?

Where u intend to go holiday?

Tera,
Ya lor, so i stopped anmum since fri liao..Bot HL low fat milk today =D.

Ya lor, i hear liao also told myself to control my diet liao...nv touch ice-cream at all during wkends =)...hee..hope i can mantain it this way =D...hee

Mrs wong's class bery nice and fun de =D..

Ellysia,
tks ger =D...Hv u paid for ur single bed?

Zuen
Have u given me your email so i can invite u in for the YahooGroup?

Mog and Bizznow
Ya, were u in the antenatal? If u were, i guess u can spot me cos later i was the one who change to sit infront n Mrs Wong ask me abt my meals when she count Calcium input. Aiyo, i dun think i can ever knw which food has hw much of calcium, iron, etc.. no wonder people like me must pop pills cos dunno how to count nor bother keep track

Ladies who sign up TMC Antenatal, Tera n me were wondering if we suppose to receive any package or books when pd for the antenatal? Cos previously we heard some of u mentioned will get Mrs Wong 3 books.

Tera, I got something on, so I change my first lesson to 19th March, then 2nd lesson back to the Sat. We can meet next Sat liao, hehehe.

ZuEn, I think I also put on abt 10kg at week 27. During my 5th and 6th mth, I put on average 3kg per month lei. If this continues, then full term cham already, maybe will hit 18kg.

Ellysia, Dr Wong never mentioned to me to cut down anything lei, although I tot putting on 3kg per month is a lot.

Mog,
Oic.
Okok, look forward to seeing u this sat!

Shinely and Ellysia,
I also opting for single bed @ TMC. At my last visit, the nurse at my gynae's clinic asked me for my choice and said that TMC will mail me a form to fill up but till now, I still have not received anything. Just curious, did you receive any forms with regard to the booking?

ZuEn, I think I also put on abt 10kg at week 27. During my 5th and 6th mth, I put on average 3kg per month lei. If this continues, then full term cham already, maybe will hit 18kg.

Ellysia, Dr Wong never mentioned to me to cut down anything lei, although I tot putting on 3kg per month is a lot.

Tera, TF, we can arrange to meet either before or after our lesson on this coming Sat
No worries. Did Mrs Wong give a printout of her classes date ? Coz I donno change to when ? ParentCraft only told me stop for 2 weeks, but donno which 2 weeks.

Mog,
Sounds good!
Yup, we got a printout of the dates. I will bring mine so can pass to you in case Mrs Wong does not give them out again next week.

tera,
wun over-exert cos now know ve to be very careful. had such a hard time convincing hb to let me go on trip cos he very scare pple knock into me, dunno if my gfs can look after me, etc. finally he relents but i need to let him approve the destination 1st...

shinely,
nurse at RH booked for me liao for single bed, costing abt $2500 for 3D stay exclding cost of C-sec (est $1000) & OT cost. On confinement, i actually wish to hire CL if not for my MIL's intervention, so now ve to rely on poor hb for help lor. i also 1st time mummy, so dunno if i can cope or not...sian...

feifei,
yup, doing confinement alone wif hb's help lor. my 1st post natal check up so far tat the nurse booked for me is 30th May. holiday destination not cnf yet. hb originally oni allow me to go on cruise (cos he reckons lesser crowd), now jus manage to persuade him to let me take flight but can oni go nearby ctries (pending his ok on destination). my intention was originally HKG but wif the flu outbreak there, it is now a NO NO, so maybe heading for places such Taiwan or Bangkok.

Hi mummies to be...

I have the following for sale.

1) BN pack of Mammy Poko Newborn diapers 52 pcs

2) 10 pkts of Song Song Herbal Bath for mummies to shower during confinement - expiry 2010

Interested, please email me at [email protected]

Morning ladies..

TF,
the 3 books hor, we got it when we signed up for the FBI card..Towards the 5th lesson, Mrs Wong will have these 3 books together with the swaddle, towels for sales de =D..

Shinely,

DO you know how much diff if u choose 2 bedded? Coz seems like ur charge is quite high. I ever check w my gynae's nurse, she told me i need to top up around 1k+ if i choose to upgrade to single bedded room, but i forgot to ask her if the amt had been deduct my medisave.

Btw, i heard fr my friend, that if we opt for 1 bedded, our room shall be at TMC old building? Any idea?

Morning gers,
I am gg to see my bb tonight. So exciting. Yday night, she was kicking non-stop while I was watching TV. Hb was so amazed and excited. Haha. I told her to lie properly today so that the doc can estimate her weight and to not cover her mouth. ;p Hopefully she is an obedient ger.

Ellysia,
Fastfood once a moth? Ice cream once a month? I faint. I just had ice-cream on Fri & Sun. Fastfood on Wed & Sat. I think once a week is barely achievable liao.

feifei,
I oso suffering from bleeding gums. I switched to a soft toothbrush, Oral B teeth and gum care toothpaste, started drinking milk again, use mouth rinse and booked myself a visit with dentist. I think it is helping, but still bleeding. -.o"

TF,
I think I did wor. Anyway, my email again [email protected]. Thank you.

Mog,
I realised that my weight went down by 0.5kg this morning. Strange.. I think it must be the healthy food and little snacking over the weekend. If based on this morning, I gained 8.5 ~ 9kg and starting my 27th week. Oh boy, I am hungry now. ;p

ZuEn,
hehe,...I am sure ur ger ger will guai guai =D..

Maybe we can make it once every 2 wks?hehe..cos really dfficult to control but we hv to try lor..

I see...ya lor, using mouth rinse does helps..

These 2 nitez I din sleep well lor, always woke up at 4+am..find myself too hot leh..hiaz..then swelled feet pain also..hiaz..

felicia,

for 2 day stay, diff between one and two bedder is ard $600.

for 3 day stay, diff is ard $800.

Can request for a price listing for the maternity packages from TMC. Got it when I went for their hospital tour.

morning mums...
hi Tera not sure if u nd to update..last fri checkup says my minnie weighs 1.1kg at 27wks+...

Hi Ellysia...seems like our bbs are almost the same..size..sad to say doc ask me to cut down on carbo..cos i put on 3kg within a mth.. :p

Told him i oni take salad for dinner everiday still i am puttin so much...he said if i kp increasin..he will put me on diabetes test..sighh.. so far gain 8kg overall the trimesters...faint....

Hello MTBs,

Last sat just attended my first parenting class by Mrs Wong. Heard that some malay massage are not really that qualified. You may end up injured. Hmmm... how confident are we to engage a malay massage? do we really loose weight after going the massage? or is it more for relax?

Good Morning Ladies,

The "First Mum's Congress " I went to on sat at the Sheraton Hotel was quite informative. Speakers spoke on If we should have or should not have sex during pregnancy, tips on breastfeeding, Prenatal Education:to develop the right brain of your unborn baby ( suitable for 2-7 months pregnant mum) as well as the role of a husband when we are pregnant. Quite a nice event by Mediacorp TV. I was also introduced to " Similac Mum" the milk supplement for pregnant as well as breastfeeding mum, i was told it is "Low Fat", so I bought 1 tin to try, just find that its abit sweet for me, as I am a person who drink soya milk kosong, guess its alright for the rest of ppl. Abbott offers 1 tin of 400g milk powder for each household, just need to fill up a form & send to them, the milk powder is for 6 months & above, so just nice after the 6 breastfeeding months which World Health Organization Recommended.Just wonder if any of you ladies going to breastfeed baby for 6 months or longer?There is a Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group in SG which is quite good, I went to their talks before I gave birth to my 1st born.

Some of you are talking about delivery rooms in Hospitals. I have booked mine at the Mt Alvernia Hospital & their Single Room normal without Epidural is $1827.56 for 2 days & $2153.91 for 2 days with Epidural.For Double room 2 days stay, it is $1260.46 without Epidural & $1586.81 with Epidural,for 4-Bed Room for 2 days, it is $1044.32 without Epidural & $1370.67 with Epidural, all inclusive of GST liao, maximum medisave deduction is $1350 for both cases & Additional Medisave Claimable of $450 if you produce clinic receipts for your check ups, like the supplements receipts when you check into your hospital for delivery.

Hello TinyFeet,

You were at the Parental class by Mrs Wong ah.. What time was your session? I was there too, saw a pregnant mama being asked what she had. my session was 4:30pm - 6:30pm thought it started late and ended at 7pm..

Hello Mummies...

For those which already signed up for one-room with TMC. Any idea how much cash we were to pay at the end of the day, assuming we doing normal delivery?