(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="ff0000">Thanks ladies for all ur cake recommendations!! Appreciate them!! Should have seek all ur help instead of surfing the net and killing my own brain cells though they are limited in quantity already *heh*

mrswrx* &amp; TF*

ha ha thanks for the summary of the Istean Sales but i sneaked there after work last night, was crowded but due to the large area so therefore not so bad and the counters were great! fast!! very very impt factor when it comes to sales!!

bot lots of my NUK stuffs &amp; a few tops for #2 and toys and clothes for #1
bot a few bras from Triumph oso and ended the damages was S$400+

angel*

the measurement u mentioned about ur mattress is the standard sizing for most baby cot

TF, ya, I went Isetan Private Sale before and know how its like. That time I wasn't big tummy already cannot stand it (lots of women with prams jaming here and there, haiz), now if I go, I sure scream inside myself after hearing wat you and mrswrx said about the crowd.

Felicia, the shuttle bus the the usual one lar, every 1/2hr from tiong bahru - redhill - river valley road - Plaza Sing - back the same opp route. I stay redhill mah, so can walk down to the bus stop to wait. This service starts from 10.00am to 7.30pm. If you going from Taka, you will have to take bus liao, any public buses opps Taka (luckyplaza or heeren bus stop)go except 143.

As for the desitin cream, I haven't check with her the actual price, but I based on her spree thread, its 1 tube Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) - USD4.69, convert to S$6.95. Not sure if need to add shipping charge or not. Let me email her to check then I let you know. I am very happy to find her staying near me so that I can just walk over to pick the stuff up, and can buy from her next time with ease.

TF, it's a practical point you raised - not enough hands! But I'm wondering if we breast feed bb lying down, that will solve the issue? Maybe I'll check with the lactation consultant at hospital after I deliver. I think it very strange that Medela would include a single piston for manual pumping with their double electric pump...

Cactus
Could the manual pumping be if you only nd 1 pump (cos can u use only 1 pump n leave the other empty wh will spoil easily) or when the system malfunction? Check whether can only use electrically 1 pump, tho comes in pair. Of course, u r creative lah,nw u can tink abt the lying down. I will try it 1 days too, when leak the other side..soon we pro-pumping n milk producer..haha

Jenny,

In fact both cordlife and stemcord oso got this referral program. So, is the same. Tats why i chose the one more convenient for me. hehe...

Veniz,
Thanks for your info on the bus. I was quite an idiot on that area, coz hubby dont like crowded place, so seldom go there. Even go will like straight to the destination, buy and go type.
Hey, is good for you since she's living near you, coz i think she done lot of desitin and first teeth spree.

Cactus/ TF,
I think we can do it handsfree for pumping one side? Not too sure how those mummies do it.

Riz,

Yup, i saw that before. Actually after seeing that, i consider i was quite lucky as hvnt meet such situation. So far the nurse is quite friendly. I suspect the elder nurse they said is the one will stay w our gynae when we do scan, but so far she din show any attitude problem to me.

TF,
ya, dont need to hold on pump. Tats one function for Ameda, but i din try before so not too sure how it work. From some pic, it seems like got a string hang over our neck.

i just visit gynae last sat (7th mth). then he said onward i have to visit him for every 2 weeks liao.. anyone same as me? i don know whether neccessary or not leh?

Hi Girls!

Welcome to all new mummies!!!

I really pei fu you all....have time to log-in and post. My #1 is trying all ways to get my 100% attention 24/7, have to do housework, cook, etc. I guess SAHM is like that. Hiw is everyone doing?

With regards to BF, when I was BF #1, I will let #1 suckle on 1 BB and I attached my medela electric pump on the other BB. However, #1 needs 2 sides to get full....ha!ha!

BB Sales - Wah, you guys really did lots of shopping! I don't think I can manage going on my own, pushing the pram and carrying #1 whenever he wants to be carried. He is an expert in un-fastening the pram 5 point harness liao...haiz!

liew - Yup, in our 3rd trimester, our obgyn will see us more frequently....its norm.

<font color="ff0000">liew*

yesh its very normal for the visits to be closer and when u are less den a month or so away from ur EDD, may also have to see him weekly

angel,

I also bot 2 tubes only, try out then if good then buy more. else buy too much waited wasted.

morraine,

U can try out crystal jade cakes, i order them for my customary cakes and they are great.

Alternatively, can try out pine wood garden cakes, my frens bot for christmas, it is great.

Suggestion to those who is delivering in TMC. You all can go to Parentcraft (3rd floor) and ask the consultants there with regards to BF, pumps, etc. They are very helpful.

muffin,

Nope this is the 1st time i done the test. Initally i dun have to do this test but gynae want me to do because 2 urine tests show high sugar.

I asked nurse how come 2 urine test show high sugar, she say most likely i took many sugary stuff few days consecutively before taking the urine test at clinic.

I also hate the orange juice, at first feel ok but made me feel like puking for the whole day, feel so uncomfortable. Dunno why tat orange juice make us want to puke.actually i dun find it v sweet.

TF,

The cards are black, white and red. No other colours besides that.

Felicia,

How abt pigeon towels for bb? I bot some but dunno how soft it is. Another place u can go is Robinsons, they usu sell better towels.

Hi TinyFeet, thanks for your message, my email is [email protected], i tried to PM you, however it says you do not have PM function. We are giving birth at the same hospital &amp; few days apart,my 1st born was 9 days late, not sure how is it this time. Btw, anyone attending the " First Mum's Congress " organized by ABBOTT tomorrow at the Sheraton Hotel from 1230pm-5pm? I am going there

Zu En,

Dunno smooth or not but at least one major thing less to worry about.

TF,

It is mixed i tink, i haven't open the packet of cards yet. But at least u dun have to draw and its foc given during the talk. If u ored sign up for the pre-natal class, u can skip this item off yr shopping list.

ellysia,
Thanks. This 2 weekends shall be my mad shopping weeks. Hope to get all the things i want within this month. Then April, can start cleaning baby's room and arranging all the stuffs, then May can start washing all bb's cloths and oth stuffs. Hopefully lah...

liew,

My gynae told me after my next appt (32 weeks), i have to go every 2 weeks instead of 1 mth.

Now i am coming to 29 weeks, and yes around 7 mth.

Felicia,

I have shorten my shopping list to half now. Previously it is double side but now only 1 side.

I am going to Kiddy Palace again tmr and also courts to see got any storage furniture. But hb want to buy furniture stuff in April as he got company benefits which is only effective in apr. But i dunno if got time to wait until apr cos not sure abt delivery time etc. So i tot go reckee first then ask abt delivery time etc, more info.

For bb cot, we have not bot yet. We have shortlist 1 cot at Robinsons, cost $399 but looks v nice, got cow pictures around. Another place will be Kiddy Palace which is cheaper but hb and i felt tat the cots there look quite normal.

My bb room is still in the midst of clearing. I left the job to hb but he is laidback. So i am setting target time for him, else he will never do the job.

cactus,

I didn't know the PIS can convert to manual if we want. In fact, i didn't really open the box to check everything yet..keep forgetting whenever i go home.

Actually i was contemplating to buy a cheap manual pump in case i need to bring one to hospital or can use at home when i am pumping at office, so i dun have to bring my Medela pump to and fro. I heard some colleagues left their Medela pump in office at mummy nursing room (the room for pumping milk) so they dun have to carry to and fro.

Anyone knows how much a normal manual pump sells?

Fennie
Ops, maybe i didnt activate the PM function. Will look into it. Where did u see my delivery details if u havent login yahoo? Cos I've changed to KKH if wat u see is TMC. I invited u already, in case u cant find the email, check yr Spam inbox.

Ellysia
Thanks. Ya, nw i can drop fr my shopping list. Actually havnt been able to find any ard so far (surprisingly most are coloured). Initially still tot have to wait till children education fair.

TF,

The card pack is a small pack with abt 5 cards i tink. Not many cards but i dun tink we need a lot of cards.

If u manage to find cheap and nice ones, can also let me know. i am interested.

TF,

Wat bed u opt for in KKH?

My colleague told me when she stayed at KKH C ward (8 person share), it is quite bad bec' no air-con and a lot of mosquitoes. Cos she got complication so she also change to the cheapest ward at KKH from TMC. My colleague give birth 1 year ago.

Ellysia,

It's okay not to check the box if the seal was securely on when you bought it. shoudln't be a problem. But please mail out the warranty card within 7 days of purchase and keep the receipt k. Cos warranty valid for 1 year. Important. What I did was to staple the receipt to the warranty card which we are supposed to retain.

as for manual pumps, my suggestion is no need to bring to hospital cos first few days, only colostrum. milk only flows from day 3 or 4 - by that time, we are home already. Also manual pump may be tiring. most pple who use eletric don't like manual. manual pumping also takes up more time. actually medela pump isn't that heavy if we have it over our backs..like a backpack. it's not that bad. besides, the more weight we carry, the more energy we burn! I plan to carry to and fro. I tried it.. it's not heavier than my secondary schoolbag!

cactus,

Mum &amp; babes help me to send out the warranty card on the day i purchase. Maybe i shd staple the receipt with my copy of warranty card.

Haaa.. i am afraid it will hurt my back and worsen my backache problem. I have backache problem for many years ored, last time in sec sch always need to go for x-ray for backbone. So i have to be v careful for my back.

I tot must bring pump to hospital bec' sometimes if anyting, cannot latch on bb imm then have to pump. And i understand the hospital pumps is not v good cos a bit smelly due to usage from many people.

Ellysia
Ok, will let u knw whn i do come across. I'm getting the B+ (5 bedder), the highest i can go under subsidy. Any feedback for B+? I nt so worried abt ward charges, I'm more worried abt after delivery baby consultation charges falling under pte if i go pte.

Qn: Actually got a qn. Say if I opt for Pte in KKH for purpose to have exclusive gynae during delivery (later stage), can I request back to Subsidy agn thru Poly, this time under Baby's name? I just wnt the subsequent Baby consultation to be subsidy later. Tat is the more expensive part.

I dunno if anyone experience same thing as me.
Recently maybe bb has grown bigger, i find that bb movements in tummy, the feeling different now. Less of the "bong Bong" feeling (like water splashing) but more of my tummy shape shifting and i can feel bb touching my tummy and pushing. I can even see my own tummy moving occasionally if bb kick v hard.

Yest when i sleep, bb push my tummy left side and right side at the same time (maybe he stretches) when i try to sleep on my left side. At first i try to find a comfortable position so as not to disturb bb. But in the end he doesn't seem satisified with any position so i learn to ignore him and go to sleep liao, dun care cos too tired.

I wonder if coming another 1-2 mths and near term, will we sleep on our side hurt our bb?

Hi TinyFeet,

I saw your EDD and Hospital Info when i click on your user id to PM you, maybe you have to edit your profile, it is written as Mt Alvernia

TF,

Not sure on that. My colleague is subsidize all the way. Her bb is premature and need to be in ICU for v long so she change to subsidize patient, she didn't change throughout. But i guess the best is to check directly with KKH.

I help u ask my colleague whether she know anyting abt B+ ward.

U are right the bb charges is a lot.. frm wat i understand from my colleague.

Ellysia, Oh I see! I prob won't be bringing PIS to hospital.. cos too complicated to sterilize on the spot. don't really want to irritate the nurses.. and I don't think I will be using a manual pump in the meantime either... feels too troublesome. I rather try let bb latch on directly, if not, pump after I get home.

<font color="ff0000">ellysia*

its normal for the baby movements
and no we will not hurt the baby coz the baby is super well protected

Ellysia - Its normal. Our BB is growing. This is the best time to bond with BB. You can even play games with BB. You can tap-tap, wait and BB will tap-tap back. No worries, BB will adjust him/her-self. Enjoy your PG. After delivering, you will miss these moments!
As for the pump, for the first few days, I did not have much milk. So, no need to pump. My milk production only started after 5th day.

Fennie
Ok, I changed already. Thanks. BTW, which specification to check to activate the PM? It will send message to my email when PM? Or how it works cos i dunno the function in this site well :p

cactus,

Ya i am tinking v troublesome to bring pump to hospital.

Maybe just latch lor.. then if really cannot latch due to some issue, then i will give formula in the meantime.

Seriously if there is a problem with my supply of BM in the inital period i intend to supplement with some formula milk cos dun want to starve bb.

TF,

U just click yr profile and uncheck the box "do not send me PM". Then there is a space for u to indicate yr email address, which is the same address u sign up this nick at this forum. The pm will be sent to yr email.

im back frm check-up! cant c bb face, kept facing other ways, manage to c her head n backview. naughty ger, playin hide n seek always. 665g at 24wks. doc says medium size bb. i KS, got flu vaccination aso jus in case. he jus gave me cream for backache, say safe to apply, look like those normal muscle pain cream. dunno works anot..

JP,
I tried tapping before but my bb dun respond back.. -.o" Ya, I love to feel bb moving inside me. I think I will miss that very much in the future. Hehe.