(2008/06) June 2008

it's been a long time since I bought from Emicakes.. but I usually pick up the cake myself cos the emicakes tampines outlet is just 5 minutes drive from my parents' home.
I usually only request delivery if it's a big cake (ie. over 3kg) and usually not from emicakes. usually from bakers' inn or obolo...but they do charge for delivery.

Ellysia:

Thanks for all the tips on fast food.. You are a very good mummy eh.. Recently i think i indulge more on my own cravings rather than eat healthily.. *guilty*

I also bought 2 tubes of desitin from online spree. But i heard some mummies said desitin is too strong for their NB. But i jus bought 2 tubes to try. Hopefully its ok for my baby.

Pure addiction is nice. That's the only one I've tried though!!

If you like chocolate cakes, you may want to try Royal's Chocolate Truffle. Awfully Choc, Bakers Inn and Obolo have very good choc cakes too.

<font color="ff0000">haha tat is the one i have selected sitting inside my shopping cart now!

yeah yeah i tried the rest before oso!! i love chocolate cakes!!</font>

morraine,
im back frm isetan sale.. NUK nothin much leh. e variety is quite limited eventhou on 20% off. rely crowded. had a hard time squeezin ard wif unconsiderate ppl. e aunties at sale rely go crazy n push ard. + sch holiday nw, mums brought e kids out in strollers!!

another chocolate place - lana cakes @greenwood. veri popular.

Hi everyone, my name is Fennie, I am new to this site, just joined today as I was looking for a post natal massage lady, and while browsing the postings, i sort of like booked a lady Mdm Sadiah, she confirmed that she is available during my EDD around 15th June 2008 and she is charging $50/sessions, I ask how many sessions needed, she said she can only advise after the 2nd or 3rd sessions. I am now 6 months 2 weeks &amp; 4 days into my 2nd pregnancy, my 1st born will be 8 yrs old in May 08, anyone ard the same EDD as me?

Lana Cakes need booking wor... go there cannot buy de. Here's the number. 64665315/64668940.

By-the-way, beside lana's shop there is this fish market, they do sell western food and their fish n chip is very nice n fresh...

Fennie: Welcome!

Wa.. Your #1 and #2 quite a big age gap of 8 years.

My EDD is quite close to yours, mine is on 17th June. Actually here got a few mummies ard this date too.. =)

welcome Fennie!

ladies, all the way from office back to my home, it was raining. Even till now still raining. So i hope tonite can sleep well as long as bb dont kick me. hehe....

hey morraine,
hope not too late wif this recommendation - Getel Cakes. Check them out at http://www.getelcakes.com

My hb just ordered from them for my bday last wkend n they delivered to our hm. The Tiramisu cake was great but i dunno abt the choco ones though cos tis is the 1st time i tried them. alternatively, u may wan to check out NYDC choc cakes (which i usually ordered from for my hb's bdays) but NYDC unfortunately do not deliver, ve to self-collect...

Welcome Fennie!

Congrats Ellysia!! U mean this is the 2nd time you took the OGTT? Have to keep testing? Cos I dread drinking the orange drink. Almost puke out the last time.

Welcome Fennie, your child excited abt having a bro/sis to play with?? My EDD is 13 June, quite near to yours too.

Morr
Haha.. u miss me huh.. u thinking of me while I'm still in Isetan :p Anyway, like Mrswrx mentioned, NUK nothing fantastic there. They only have the 2 big + 2 small + 1 cleanser pack @ $35. Other than tat is the 20% disc which i tot u can get fr any shopg mall nwadays. Actually the Robinson that just pass last weekend had a better deal at 20% + 15%. OG having storewide 20% too.

Nappy Cream: My friend mentioned to me to get fr Mothercare. I nt sure hw gd. If anyone used b4, let me knw. Else, I will go for wat u gals mentioned here. I'm interested to get it.

Crystal, Thanks so much for the underpad px. How is it tat u ended getting fr NTUC Unity @$8 in the end, amongst those u saw at Watson wh i tot cheaper? Becos of the size or brand?

Fennie, Welcome! Wld u like to let me knw your email address so i can invite u to our Yahoo group where our database of information are stored.

Ellysia
Thanks on the note abt flashcards. Is it the black n white series or coloured ones? I looking out for black n white series if possible.

Mrswrx
Gd to see u at Isetan just tat so inconvenient to chat much wif the people n even salesperson pushing their way
So did u had your 2nd round?

Cot bedsheet: Got cot bedsheet set (fitted sheet, flat sheet n pillowcase) from Spotlight at $12.45 (50% disc). Design is white and small checks/pokka dots if u like the country style type. Gd deal

TF,
had yur isetan trip a more fruitful one than tat of taka? think i give isetan a miss cos more or less got my stuff ready except for a couple of misc like bb thermometer. will head for expo if possible next fri/wkend.

yup, Watson's ones are cheaper but smaller in size as well. in comparing the large size version from Watson (60cm by 60cm) @ $7+ vs Unity (76cm by 76cm) @ $8, i prefer to pay a few cents more for the bigger size underpads. afraid tat when at nite, i toss n turn in bed will stain my mattress. so the bigger the underpad, the more area i ve to toss n turn cos i m one who cant sleep in one posture thru'out the nite.
the ones i bought from Unity is their housebrand (i think) cos the packaging is simply a transparent plastic bag n the underpads are light blue in colour. hope tis clarifies...

Angel
The fitted sheet is 70cmX130cmX17cm
Flat sheet is 110cmX150cm
Pillowcase 30cmX40cm
U will nd to convert to inch.

Crystal
just bgt the long sleeves/pants jumpsuit, 3 in a pack for $21 (aft 30%+3% disc). Nthg much tho if just 20% for rest of items. Yes, looking forward to expo, least can sign up the magazine. Thanks on the underpad. Understood liao

TF: Thanks for the info.

Jus used online converter to change to inches and its 28"x52" in inches.

How many colors or diff patterns they have? Alot?

Which outlet of spotlight you went to? Plaza Sing?

Do you happen to know when will this disc end?

Will drop by to see see asap.. =)

Angel
No probm. I went Plaza Sing. There's Pink, Blue, Green, Purple, Yellow. U knw those tiny checks I mean right. Its 100% cotton Percale, made in China tho. Duno abt whn it will end. Pattern is either u choose checks or pokka dots. Stock still ok there

TF:

Wow!! Very pei fu you eh.. You can actually find the link of the pic to show me.

Thanks so much! Pai seh.. Pai seh.. Still make you do extra research..

I like the material and color! Very sweet.. And the best thing is that its only $12.95.. Heehee.. Gd buy..

Mrswrx, TF,

I was also at the private sale today. Grab alot of stuff today. Cos the prices are the same as Taka, but Isetan I benefit more. But cannot find Avent Uno. Anyone knows where can I get them?

Morning everyone!

Jenny,

Why u wake up so early? Well, my #1 is under Stemcord, so this round me and hubby was still deciding to donate to cord bank or not as i hvnt discuss with my gynae.

Hi gers,
Good morning.. Friday morning.. The weather is superb for sleeping in. Had a good sleep last night, no waking up and only 1 dream. Guessed I was too tired. Ironically, it was hb who toss and turn and couldnt sleep well, haha.

Ellysia,
Congrats! Another smooth 3 months ahead ya.

Jenny,
I am still considering to store the cord blood. Stemcord has called me and I am waiting for them to send me more information. Havent really decide yet. You are choosing cordlife over stemcord? Any particular reason?

Re: drawer
I am thinking of getting a nice chests of drawer for my bb room. Saw this pink one in Ikea for only $149 but am too lazy with the self collection and assembly. If we get Ikea to deliver and assemble, how much extras do we have to pay? Or has anybody seen any nice drawer anywhere? I prefer them to be in non-wood colour - pink, purple, blue, etc.

Morning ZuEn,

For baby drawer, maybe you can take a look at United Sqaure. Tat day when i go to MUm&amp;babes at US, saw there's few shop selling children furniture.

Stemcord: well, coz the office is at Gleneagles, and my #1 is delivered there, so administration is much easier for me. Moreover, i checked and found that there's no much diff between the price Stemcord and cordlife quote to me. So, just decide to take from stemcord.

morning ladies,
yeah! finally goin for my check-up after 1 mth wait liao. wil update when back! cya!

TF,
i walked ard alittle more after our chat. wanted to get somethin frm the hsehold/beddin section. but e crowd was rely pushy, din wana take risk + hungry liao so took off. abit wasted but save $$ la.

i haven got my cot leh. so cant buy e bb beddin yet. stil haven decide wher to buy e cot cos din take note. hahaha. wil KIV yr recommendation, thks thks.

kelcqi,
i met up wif TF for a short chat @ isetan. i bought few items for bb onli, e $55 playin mat and some pigeon mittens, waterproof sheet, tiger thermo jar, and a weighing scale for myself! kekeke. needa keep track of my weight.

zuen,
i aso stil lookin for bb chest of drawers. gave ikea a missed cos needa self assemble, dun wana knock too much at hme. i went courts but e color n size not attractive. fr $149 - $499.

Hi TF,

I take a look on the spotlight website link you provided and any idea is the baby towel is those very soft type? I'm looking for very soft towel for my baby. So far all the towel i able to find is bit rough.

I'm going to Taka this saturday , any mummy is goin too this sat?
Hopefully the things i wanna buy still had stocks.

TF, thanks for the spotlight promo on the cot set. I thinking of buying that as well, maybe will take the free shuttle bus go there tomorrow. I heard there wasn't much of NUK promo at Isetan thus know that you must have been squeezing or being squeezed around. My friend who is also giving birth in June, bought $600 worth of items (hubby, herself and baby), had to carry all stuff by herself, then without any lunch, take MRT train and cab back home, so poor thing.

Felicia, with the drugstore link you provided to roxy, I went to PM dramaqueen on her ordering from drugstore as she is staying next to my blk. She say that I can still purchase the desitin cream from her. If anyone interested, I can try to get for you then can arrange to pass to you. Just let me know anyone who is interested.

Felicia
Didnt really feel the texture. I dun really knw hw u describe soft. But i knw is those water absorbable type, cos some towel doesnt absorb better.

Veniz
Ya, super crowded n Q are long. People really can big bag, small bag. But must say a gd sale generally for those no where to spend $...keke

Veniz,

Free shuttle bus to spotlight? From where? I nvr know leh. Coz i'll be goin Taka tomolo, so if possible might go spotlight to get some craft thingy.

How much per tube for the desitin?

cactus,

I ever saw comment from BF mummies on the method you mentioned. I think this shld be the correct method, as when you let ur bb latch on one side, another side tend to leak as well. So is advisable to latch on one side, pump at another side.
Last time, when i'm inexperience as 1st time mummy, i actually use a breastpad to hold another leaking breast when my ger latch on, now thinking back, so wasted.

i think more or less i have decided on cordlife cos all my friends put there. moreoever they are giving 300 promotion and 50 off since my friend referred me. it's until 23mar. they will have it at the baby fair at expo too. if u want i ask my friend to refer u.

Cactus/Felicia
No experience, but i tot BF shd be relax, so milk supply come. Then if left hand hold baby breast, right hand still got strength to pump right breast meh? Is that wat u mean, doing simultaneously? Or after breastfeeding, than pump the other breast?

Understand that breast milk has 3 phases, colostrum, hindmilk (act as water for thirst) n foremilk (nutrients). So gd that baby empty 1 breast first then to sucker abit from each breast