(2008/06) June 2008

morraine, Ellysia,

Thanks for sharing. I'lll think about it.

Ellysia, yeah, I know what you mean. I don't want to get a mattress just for the massages. And I'll be at MIL's place for confinement... dun want to impose on her also..cos it's her home ultimately. I also hope to express BM as much as possible and feed bb directly too, so dun really want to commit to any timing yet for the massages... maybe I"ll speak to my SIL and see what she says... she had a pretty good massage lady last time.

<font color="119911">bizz*

hmmm coz i have chalet and fren's son's first bdae to attend on sat.. so have to plan timing first

feifei*

hmmmm.. eat lesser salty stuffs and DRINK MORE WATER!!</font>

bizz,

Ya, we are almost in same week. I'll be WK25 in another 2 days. Anyhow, this 2 weekends, i wud be busy as well coz of Taka and bb festival fair. So, maybe will call her next week for month end appointment. Hope she can remember lah. hehe....

cactus,

Yup disruptive if we doing BF. I scared bb will cry halfway during my massage. So i gotta pump to prepare some milk in advance, or feed formula worst scenario.

Though i have a old mattress, I need to clean it up cos it smell of dust ored as i keep it away for 1 year ored. Its a v thin mattress which i used to sleep before marriage in our new house. I hope it won't be mouldy bec' if mouldy i cannot use for massage also. Then my study room got so many furniture around and bookcases, i got to clear also.

feifei,

Ya agree with morraine drink more water and eat less salty food.

Do u have swollen feet yet? Cos if swollen feet too early is not so good.

Ellysia: Oicic.. Good to know that piles will go away.. Ya.. Saw your diet plan tat you posted.. Very healthy! =P Cos i tend to snack on fast food..

Morraine: You said that water retention will kick in few weeks before labor.. So does that apply to everyone? (keeping fingers crossed) Everyone sure will have ah? (i dun wan!!)

Those mummies who work in raffles place, have u heard tat China square food court is going to be renovate or demolish?

Cos i heard 2 news, some say going to renovate, some say going to tear down to build office.

Thanks TF.
Later I go and try. ;p

Feifei,
I oso constipated. Had a hard time trying to move my bowels. I had been diligently taking fruits and water wor. Looks like I have to ask my doc for help when I see him on coming Monday. You seeing your bb tomolo, must be excited. My last appointment was 4 weeks ago. I missed my bb too.

Ellysia,
It must be hard to control your diet. I had been trying to control snacking but it gets really hard at times. I cant imagine having to control normal meals as well. I am trying to eat more at home and skipped fast food bcos of salt intake. My BP had been climbing..
I have bad dreams too, but I am dead to bb's kick when I am alseep, hehe.

Morraine,Ellysia,
tks gers....trying to drink more water now =D...

ask u all hor, during massage, we hv to be naked hor? then must we lay something water or oil proof on the matrress in case e massage oil drip there...hmm...

angel,

from wat i understand frm my mum, most people will get some water retention no matter wat, and normally during last few weeks near term.

I also like fast food. U can still eat fast food but choose the following healthier fast food:-

1) BK burgers - they are grilled and not so salty/oily
2) Subway - a lot of vegs. Can try tuna as its fish.
3) KFC - original seems to be better than crispy in terms of healthy.
4) Macdonald - fillet O fish is recommended but i also understand some people say the fillet at Mac is not so good bec' its not v fresh.

Avoid the following at fast food:-

1) All drinks esp coke and lemon tea. If really need to drink, drink half of it. U can opt for barley at BK which i tink has less sugar and no caffeine. Or u can opt for orange juice.

2) Fries - a lot of carbo and fats involved. Recommended to avoid fries (i saw in books and websites). I cannot totally avoid so i eat the small pack one, no upsize.

3) Not on a regular basis. try not to eat fast food on regular basis as i understand bb tend to get obese if pregnant women eat too much fast food.

feifei,

Yes naked but i tink some massage lady will put a mat on top of our mattress.

My colleague say prepare a cloth for wiping cos she say her milk spill out when doing breast massage.

Swollen feet &amp; water retention will go off slowly after a few weeks you gave birth n you can tell your massage lady to massage more on yr feet too....dats wat i did for my 2 pregnancy

Zu EN,

Yes it is a torment when i first change my diet.. now getting better.

Sigh. I am the type who like fast food, spicy food, food with strong taste, laksa, satay etc one. I also like coke and ice lemon tea. Ask me not to take this can be v torturous. Wat to do, for the health of bb and myself.

Wholemeal bread sucks initally when i eat. But now getting better i actually find it delicious.
I ate Boujour brand as it is nicer than other brands.

Ellysia,
I have been having swollen feet since wk 20 liao...now worst lor..hiaz...been a long time sine I saw my ankle..hee...how come too early no gd?

ZuEn,
Ya lor, terrible to be constipated hor..hiaz...

Tink better to ask ur gynae for some cream or seomthing lor...Dun end up with piles like me, bery xinku de..pain pain...sometimes cannot sit down, only lie down then dun feel pain..

cactus,

Its recommended to let the oils and binder cloth stay on our body until next day. But of course no one can tahan lah, my colleague say smelly lor.

I tink i can only dong for 3-4 hrs then i go and bathe liao.

My colleague does 3 times and she say 3 times is effective ored though recommended is 5-10 times.

if you gerls paisey to be naked during massage....y not take 1 bathtowel to cover...like when massage lady massage yr leg cover the top lor...or vice versa....and a small towel to wipe yr spill milk

Ellysia,
tks for the infor on fast food...really hv cravings for fast fd every wk de, duno y lor...hiaz...

I also take wholemeal bread lor, but e fibre seems not enough for me lor..hiaz...

feifei,
i was like u.. swell since in my 20 wks or so.. swell till bery badly somemore.. n ache.. but after i came back frm bangkok.. it jus shrink.. to normal.. only slight swell.. dunno hw come oso.. n no ache now..

<font color="119911">angel*

not all so dun worry first

ellysia*

yesh tearing down confirmed..

massage*

those opting for aunty su need not worry.. she wil use a towel to cover parts she is not working on whenever she is concentrating on other areas</font>

feifei,

Yr piles seem serious. I tink u better try to resolve yr constipation problem asap.

I tink my mum said her gynae said bloated feet too early a stage may be bec' high blood pressure or high cholestral level or someting like tat. Let me check it out i let u know.

<font color="119911">TF*

wat other things are there for today's isetan member's sales arh? as in bb clothings wise or items like milk bottles u saw?</font>

I have tried the following ways and seems to relieve constipation:-

1) Take veg EVERYDAY - and a good amt. U can do this either by asking the stallkeeper to add $0.50 cents vegs for soupy noodles (fish soup/fishball noodles/ban mian etc). Or u can take yong tau hu and add more vegs. Or u can eat vegetian food or cai fan and choose more vegs than other stuff. Do take note not to choose those oily vegs or those with spices/sauces as it will defeat the purpose of healthy diet.

2) Take fruits EVERYDAY - try apple as its help to maintain yr bowels to healthy level ( understand from a doctor it regulate the stomach). Banana and Papaya is suppose to help constipation but i understand cannot eat too much during pregnancy.

3) Take at least 1 soupy meal per day instead of fried stuff/rice.

4) Drink water - 8 glasses is recommended for pregnancy.

hi gers,

fyi on the cost of underpads for those of u who r interested during confinement.

From Watson:
10pcs (42cm by 60cm)-$3.50 per pack
10pcs (70cm by 70cm)-$7.50 per pack

From RH Pharmacy:
20pcs (unknown, will check tis sat n update)-$5.20 per pack

Crystal,
Thanks for the info on the underpads.

Btw, you ladies can check at NTUC healthcare as well. I rbought there last time. I think i'll be goin to buy some again this week. If do, will update the price.

feifei,

I read some articles just now. seems like bloated feet if too serious can be bec of high blood pressure. Hw is yr BP check at gynae?

!! Teahouse ored close liao! Oh then i gotta to let my FIL know, sometimes we go dim sum there.

My office just next to Lau Pa sat, me not so close to Goldenshoe lor. So only left LPS.

I heard goldenshoe probably will be tear down too.

felicia,
no worries, cos i also thinking of getting them, so now scouting ard for best px &amp; for ease of those who r thinking of getting, no need to run ard places lor. can just zoom in liao...

crystal,

I still had some pcs left over from my previosu purchase. As i had heavy menses, tats why i had been using it.
Then yesterday, i use one piece for my girl as i was been inspired by Morraine's toilet trained story. I din let her wear any diaper and she was sitting on my bed reading, so i let her sit on the underpad, just in case but she really urine on it. Luckily i put the underpad else, i had to sleep with urine smell.

Anyhow, i still failed my toilet trained , coz after 10-15mins, she urinated again on floor. *sigh*

Ellysia,
Looks like you have done a detail study on fast food. I tot MOS burger oso quite healthy. I just had MOS burger on Tues. Wanted to indulge in the all-sinful Long John Silver but no space. ;p

Feifei,
I used to have piles problem but it didnt come back when I was preggy. Strangely, I didnt suffer badly from constipation until recently. I was wondering if it is the vitamins that we took that helps. These few days got constipated cos too heaty le. Then fell sick last weekend. My mum made heaty soup for me somemore, faint..

Re: Pads
How many do we need huh? I didnt buy the maternity kind but those extra long for heavy flow de. I bought 2 packs of 8s, but dun think it will be enuff if flow very heavy and drag for 2 weeks.

felicia,
maybe shd be like morraine, every 15mins bring yur ger to toilet to "train" her. but seriously, 1 try is too fast to tell if u failed or not lar. i would say u hasnt failed cos it definitely will takes time to toilet train kids lar. be patient....

Zu En,

I also tink mos burger seems healthy, but i am not v sure if it is really so. BK is proven as the meat are grilled.

I tink it is due to calcium pills tat cause constipation + also due to slow digestion. Last time pre-pregnancy whenever i take calcium pills i will have hard stools.

zuen,
i bought 4 packs of 8pcs each just in case, those nite use normal type of sanitary pads (ie: 28cm &amp; 35cm respectively). m thinking of reverting back to normal day use types after 1 wk or so. if reai not enf, then prob give hb the packaging n ask him to buy for me lor.

Ellysia,
tks for ur tips..me taking an apple and orange everyday after lunch lor..tink its not enough...i must eat more liao... =D..ask for drinking water, mayb i drink less than 8 glasses..hiaz...Sometimes dabao outside, also not much vege to eat,...hiaz..

My BP okie leh...all e time, ACJ nurses will take my BP before seeing gynae wor, all say ok and gynae also nv say much wor..hmm...

Babycupid.
so shen qi hor...hmm...at least now dun ache liao lor....must drink more water also.

crystal,
tks for e infor on underpants =D..

ellysia,

Accoridng to my collegue, for most childcare ctr, they do provide toilet trained. When kids just enrol, they'll allow 2pcs of diapers (for NTUC childcare) to bring to centre. Then evry 0.5hr, they'll bring all the kids to line up and go to toilet. This steps will keep repeating till the kids know to tell the teacher when they want to pee or poo. My collegue's son is fully toilet trained about 1mth into childcare.

crystal,
Ya, true oso as is my 1st try. But of course i'll still trying especially weekend when i'm at home.

ZuEn,
I din buy any maternity pads, i just brought those my normal overnite pad. Now, Soft brand got 40.5cm. I brought 2packs of 4pcs each pack. Then i oso had oth overnite pads to standby which i use for my normal menses.

feifei n babycupid,
my feet also started to swell when i was in 20weeks..i asked the gynae why like dat..he told me could be due to too much walking or too much sitting..he asked me to monitor..then @ nite put my legs up so that the blood flow will be better then swelling will subside..so i tried what he said lor..i tot i sit too much..so always walk around in office..then when go home walk from mrt stn to my house..but didnt help leh..it subside a bit then come back again..i remembered got 1 time it swell until i dun even hv knees lor..it swell all the way from the feet to my knees..super aching..

i told my fren abt it..so she suggest i lift up my legs in office also..dat's y now i put a box below my table then put my legs on top n rest..at least like dat the blood can flow..n it really helps..nnow the swelling gone liao.. so u all can try lor..

crystal, felicia,
I am worried that I will flow like a tap after delivery (haha). I only bought 2 packs of 8s now. I tot of asking hb to buy too if not enuff, by giving him the packaging, but worried that he still buy wrong ones or he pai seh. I used to have irrgular menses and flow not heavy. So if I dun finish wat I buy for maternity, I doubt I will use them in the future for normal menses.
Initially, I tot I am the only one who didnt buy maternity pads. Hehe.

bizznow,
now i no more swelling le.. kekeke.. bery relieved.. my aunt who is a nurse told me too swelling at early stage not good.. which will lead to preterm labour, high blood pressure and some complications in pregnancy.. so she ask me better ctrl salt intake, dun walk too much.. lift up my legs as n when i have the opportunities.. lucky now gone le.. thanks god.. kekeke..

ZuEn,

Or maybe u just buy more normal pads to standby. If afraid flow out, you can buy those panty specially design to wear during menses period. Not too sure wat it called. I brought from Triumph. But if we wear this kind of panty, we had problem for washing as we are supposed not to touch water during confinement.

feifei,

Then maybe it is due to poor blood circulation and nothing to worry about.

To eat more veg, u can ask the stall keeper to give u extra veg by adding 50 cents.