(2008/06) June 2008

cactus,

Thanks for ur explanation. But how we know is the older versions for the Advanced?

Ya, Ameda Lactaline is sold @ &365 by mumsfairy now. I had been considering this model for long time and in fact the price oledi increased from last year $ 320 to now $365.

Mummies, I have the following for sale:

1) Graco Aerosport for $100

1292019.jpg

2) Combi NU500 for $180

1292020.jpg

Interested parties, please pm me, txs!

Hi Felicia, TF posted some links to the newest Advanced model earlier in this thread. You may want to refer to them? I found them very helpful!

hey cactus,
i also drinking the soy milk from nutrisoy..i am drinking the reduced sugar with omega 3..i cant stand the no sugar 1..not nice..hehe..every morn drink 1 cup b4 eating anything..hehe..

hey liew,
what other things they have in OG sales huh?? my mum going 2mr but dunno wanna take leave n go with her anot..if nothing worth buying then i dun go liao..

hi shinely,
i also dun drink milk but i find this nutrisoy soy milk ok leh..quite yummy..hehe..

hey ellysia,
i always get my nutrisoy omega 3 reduced sugar from AMK Hub and Tampines mall NTUC and i always find that there's the no sugar 1 available leh..in fact sometime more than the reduced sugar ones and the no sugar ones have a slightly longer expiry date..

I can't find Ameda Lactaline easily in the shops. Came across a review. it is lighter than PIS but appears to be more flimsy too. Anyway, my friend who delivered at TMC suggested if we are oging for antenatal classes and not in a rush to buy the pumps before bb arrives, we can try out the pumps at TMC too. I'd be buying before bb comes though...

TF/ cactus,

Finished reading the comment on the amazon website. Seems like Advanced more noise than original. But i tot it was the most quiet pump.
For Ameda, i had check with mumsfairy, they'll try to get a demo set to display during Baby festival. So, i'll be goin there and take a look.

Felicia, I understand that TMC allows mothers to try out the demo pumps, but we shldn't do so now cos it may cause uterus to be stimulated and may cramp/contract/cause premature labour. So you may want to take note of that when you go see the demo set. I'm not sure if mumsfairy allows the use, but if they do, we shldn't try it out at this stage.

PIS Original was the most quiet pump. actually, noise is relative... that's what I feel. we just get used to it. but Advanced is a more efficient pump (shorter time - 5 minutes shorter or so.. and more milk).

cactus,

U may be surprised. AMK hub NTUC is so popular that things run out v fast. I always cannot get the no sugar one there. Dunno why, a bit pei chey.

U are right that nutrisoy is really quite good. I been drinking even before pre-pregnancy cos i am lactose intolerant.

cactus,

Yes, i know that we cant try out the pump now. I'm just goin to see the actual product. If i'm goin to BF, i'll continue even back to work as our company had nursery room. So i had to consider the weight of the pump as well as i'll be carrying it tru and flow fr home & office.
I need quieter pump as i heard my friend comment that everytime when she express her BM in early morning/ midnite, her hubby sure wake up due to the noise of her pump.
I dont think mumsfairy will allow us to use, maybe the most i'll request to switch on and heard the motor noise frequency.

Ellysia, my dad got me hooked on nutrisoy.. the omega 3, no sugar one... I'm lactose intolerant too but can drink HL milk..no more than 2 glasses per day though...
I personally find Marigold soy milk smoother than nutrisoy but still drink nutrisoy cos it doesn't have sugar and has omega 3..

cactus,

For me if i drink milk, my stomach get v gassy and if i drink a lot of milk i go toilet LS.

It is true that PIS is heavy, yesterday i carry it i can feel it. The sales staff show me that the motor can be detached and if i am not wrong, the motor is the heaviest. If i have no problem of latching at home and pumping then maybe can store the motor at office.

Sales staff told me that the PIS parts can be sterilise but not more than 5mins. There is a instructor paper on how to sterilise and take care of the parts.

I dunno whether i need to buy Medela milk storage bottles cos it be more compatible but i have ored bot 2 sets of storage bottles from Pigeon during sales.

Cactus
i notice the Mini Electric does nt have tubes, just the plastic structures to dismantle. I tot i wnted to just sterilize in hot water. The only thing tat cant touch water is the yellow motor, else all the transparent part can right?

TF, yes. only motor cannot touch water.

Ellysia, you may want to buy more bottles if you don't plan to build up a large supply. if you want large supply, storage bags are better cos they take up less space. I didn't buy storage bottles. plan to just Medela's 4 piece set which comes with PIS. So at any time can pump out into 4 bottles. go home, transfer into bag then freeze.

cactus,

I try to carry the Advanced at Mums& babes and agreed is very heavy. But the sales girl told me the motor can detached out and i can opt to use battery during at office. But if original the motor cannot take out. So far hvnt try to carry Ameda, tats why wanna go to the fair and try.
I really cant imagine for me to carry the pump from my home, khatib till Jurong and stand on train somemore. Tats why the weight is very important for me oso.

Felicia, that's a good idea!! I think if I get the Advanced, I will use battery. I read that batteries can last 3 hours! Should be enough at office.

I think I will have to carry PIS from Tampines to Raffles place. Or else, it will be from Raffles Place to Bishan station, then change to bus...

cactus,

Ya, if i'm using batteries, sure will invest a rechargeable battery at office. However if i remember correctly, Advanced will need 5-6 batteries for each pump, so total need 10-12 batteries.

Felicia, Cactus
Nt sure how expensive the adapter is, if can, consider get extra, then leave 1 in office so no nd to carry. Tat's wat i do wif my laptop battery at 2 location :p

Advanced needs 8 AA batteries. If fully charged up, can last 3 hours. So should be sufficient for at least 5 pumping sessions before it needs to be recharged. :p

liew,
haha..basically i wanna buy bb stuffs like cot mattress n the thing to put baby powder..steriliser all these i dun need..cos buy liao..then if pigeon wipes is cheap i wanna buy also lor..

If u dun need to pump at home but latching directly to bb, u dun need to carry the pump back home. U just carry the parts that need to be sterilised back to home to sterilise after end of the day.

cactus,

I just checked with colleagues, seem like PIS can accept Pigeon storage bottles too. I tink when i have time i try out the pump at home to see whether Pigeon bottles can fit directly, if not i have to use Medela one then transfer to Pigeon storage bottles.

I ored have 6 storage bottles and a box of milk bags.

Warmer

Regarding warmer, i understand from experienced colleagues that dun really need it bec' just put in a tub of warm/hot water will do.

Ellysia, good for you then!
I think bbs consume about 1litre of milk per day. So 6 storage bottles is about 1 days' worth. you'd have 1 day back up as you continue expressing. that's good! I'm hoping to build up more supply cos hope to stop expressing so often after 3 months... but yet hope to breastfeed until 6 months.

TF, if you plan to have #2 after #1 quickly, but wish to avoid tiger bb, the cut off date to conceive is 26 April 2009. 42 weeks from 26 April 2009 is 14 Feb 1020 - first day of Tiger year.

cactus,

I will most likely use milk bags for storing frozen - back up milk. Then bottles can use for easy retrieval/transporting to my MIL house etc. I didn't buy a lot yet, intend if i run out or need more then i ask hb to get for me.

TF,

Great! Then i can use pigeon storage bottles, cos it much cheaper than the rest of the brands (avent or medela).

My own house fridge is a door to door big fridge so i have ample space cos freezer is separate section (left door is freezer).

But my MIL fridge has many stuff and is a normal 3 doors, so i guess i have to ask her to clear if i need to store some at her house. But i dun intend to store a lot cos dun want to block up all her fridge space.

Ellysia - bags can be bought very easily. no need to buy too much yet. I also didn't buy alot. just 1 pack only. I don't have storage bottles though. You can use the $10 voucher from Mums & Babes to off set from your $50 spending. I think 2 packs of medela bags is about $50.

cactus,

I dare not use bags, tink flimsy though Medela bags supposely got double layers. I will prefer bottles.

So i am considering maybe i buy more bottles using the voucher or get some other thing. Anyway it is valid only for 3 mths.

Actually come to tink of it, if we have good supply, then shd be able to have enuff supply to last even when we stop pumping.

Ellysia, Medela bags are better than Avent bags. That's what I know... bottles are definately better and more hardy, but they are cost effective only if they are reused often, so if you plan to build up say 1 or 2 day supply, it's okay. but not easy to build up 1 month's supply for example.

Ellysia, I'm told supply is caused by demand, so we should be abl eto control the supply through demand.my boss actually increased her supply at about 3 months. before that, she was giving formula milk and a bit of BM to her 3rd child. she told me it's possible to increase or decrease milk supply. the only time we may find it impossible to continue pumping milk as easily is when our menses returns or when we are pregnant again. I understand it's a hormonal thing.

Ellysia
If u using bottles, the other adv is also, the NUK teats fits the bottle caps too, so u can just defroze, warm n put the teats, no nd to pour to drinking bottle too.Play around wif the teats, bottle caps n narrow neck bottle of these 3 brands: Medela, NUK, Pigeon -- shd b ok