(2008/06) June 2008

Ellysia
Finally u made it!

Cactus
Yeah, i read abt the plates problem too on the PIS Advance. U read fr internet or got from other sources?

Whoa!! Thanks Tinyfeet for the info, am getting stroller tomorrow.
But would like to check with you which Britax CarSeat you referring to?
Saw 3 design on display, am thinking to get the Britax(selling @ $199) or the Graco which is selling at $299.

hi girl,

i will either get either the omega or royale. the difr between them is that royale has a sun shield canopy and a seat protector for yr car. its abt $50 diff only

whihc stroller u getting anyway??

Tinyfeet: Am not so sure yet. 'Cos I'm going with my mom, she getting it for her grandson. I like Combi, but maybe you are right, although its light but its flimsy. So will have to depends wht the paying master intend to get. What abt McClaren? Feedback?

Went to Taka fair and saw this "Gerber Infant Starter Gift Set". Consists of
- 2x 5oz bottle
- 3x 90oz bottle
(All bottles with cap & collars)
- 3x slow flow nipples
- 4x medium flow nipples

.. Very tempted to buy... Any feedback if it's good. The nipples set that are sold separately are both at 2pcs at $7.50.

Wondering if they're promotional price...

Can someone enlighten?

hi Jessica
I think really depends on your lifestyle tat you going. Some of us stay wif NUK brand becos the teats are closest to mother's nipple so as nt to confuse the baby. Some of us bgt it bcos of the pump we use, eg. Avent pump has to use avent bottles. So far been hearing mothers using along these brands: NUK, Avent, Pigeon, Tollyjoy. Hope someone will be able to gv u feedback on Gerber.

Hi gers,
Good morning.. Just finished the posts and was so surprised to read that there are still family with #5 or even #6!! I cannot imagine myself chasing after that many kids. Can found a sports team liao. ;p Envy mummies who can close shop liao. Wah, looks like I am jia you on my production after this one.

mrswrx,
My hb is not particular about the no. of kids. I was the one who brainwashed him about having 2 only. Personally, I think it is difficult to avoid favourism. So one parent dote on one kid lor. Then nobody will feel left out. ;p

cactus,
Totally agreed with you. I dun think $$ is an issue. Just that with both parents working, we hardly have time for the kids.

Jessica,

Cant help you on Gerber's bottles. My #1 is using Dr Brown, and this #2 will be using Avent. Btw, does Gerber's bottle help to reduce colic? For me this function is very important as i believe it does help to reduce baby's colic.

Morning ladies...

Ellysia,
Today going for the talk hor =D...

Finally u bot the pump liao, sounds like a gd deal leh...When i bot e m ini electric pump, it also comes with a cooler bag set lor...I find it quite useful cos comes with 2 cooler bags, 3 storage bottles =D...

ZuEn,
hi ya...zao an... I agreed with wat u mentioned lor...Its both parents working so no time for e kids at all...

Hi Felicia,

I saw the BP, but not getting any this time round. Still have some left from the previous purchase. I am currently having swollen gums and bad toothache but cannot take leave off work as mgr on whole week's leave. Feeling fustrated, restless and kind of not enough sleep due to this swollen gums. Later lunchtime going to see the dentist, hopefully he/she can resolve my pain promblems.

ellysia,

You brought the pump from AMK hub, rite? So, i assume now only United Square had stock. Tat day when i tot Robinson is selling @ 20% +15%, me almost rush down to buy liao oso. My hubby even offer help me to buy but i quite hesitant as afraid cant BF for long. Really headache over the pump.

Morning gals!

TF, you bought the Britax Omega?? I wanted to get that too coz the colour is beige.. so much nicer than the royale ugly blue.. but in terms of comfort and plushness, the Royale is so much more comfortable.. me and hubby also super tempted to sit on the royale.. and the base of the royale is v-cutted, smaller, hopefully allowing more room for passengers... but Omega really has the much nicer colour...actually the nicest colour one is the one going at $199 but it's very difficult to convert that from forward facing to upward or recline so we gave up on that...Taka is delivering it to us today..

Girl, the omega is retailing at $329 and the royale at $372... there is another model at $199, cannot remember the name, just that more difficult to recline and also to convert from forward facing to normal...

ellysia.. congrats on your purchase! Very good buy! I havent buy breast pump yet.. hoping there's other promos...

Poor Veniz, hope you are feeling better now...

Btw, the Britax car seats are also selling at Robinsons for the same price as Taka, so if you have OCBA card, it's more worth it as you get a further 5% rebate... but Taka is giving away a free Little Tikes bicycle for purchases above $500, so you all can see which is better

Hi Felicia and roxy,

Mgr on urgent leave for whole week, I have to stay in office, now and then take a short rest at workstation. Anyway, just 'ren' for 2-3 more hours and I will be on way to SOS. How I wish I can pull out that bad tooth to ease my pain. Dun think I can do any tooth extraction now that I am preg.

More and more ladies here getting stuff like car seats, strollers, mattresses, pumps, etc. I think I am the only one who still haven't prepare. Been telling my hubby to get all this stuff, dunno what he is waiting for, I suppose by the time I 'pop' he is still dili-dalying around, and I can't carry the bulky stuff myself, haiz.

veniz,
go for those dept stores which offers delivery svc. I think taka deliver for $100 & above. robinson is $150 & above. since there's taka fair, u can go down to take a look and dump everything at the counter after u bought.

i believe most dept stores have free delivery svc.

iamsnow, I went taka fair last week, nothing much as mentioned, but I saw the stroller and car seat I like. The thing is, every big items I am getting, I will need to get hubby approval by providing him the brand, serial no then he will do his checking. He doesn't like shopping, and by the time he comes back with approval, the fair will be long gone. Sometimes, just dun understand why guys like him like to do last min work. Worst come to worst, next month I will start to look around for stores with delivery services and buy direct liao, forget about his big approval then.

Thanks for this recommendation.

All,
Anyone can advise how many pkts of the herbal bath shd we buy? cos i intending to buy and stock up next mth liao =D..need to buy red dates,longans too...

veniz,
u are not alone. I think a lot of guys are like that. they dun like shopping. and always wait till the last min. at least for my hubby lah.

but i told my hubby my energy level dropping liao. if dun buy this mth, dun think i can move around for the next 2 mths. maybe u can sound him out.... spend some time to look for the major items now and then the next 2 mth he can relax..... at least it works for my hubby.

then for the rest of the 'smaller' items like clothes and consumables, I just buy as and when i see cheap. coz these things dun need him to see. and I can carry.....

Veniz,

I think is not advisable to do any tooth extraction when u r preggie. Maybe ask dentist advise to get something to ease ur pain.

For me, i'll just jot down whatever i need to buy in a list and those bulky or heavy items, i'll just 'inform' my hubby when & where we are goin to get it. So, his job is bring me to the place and carry for me . And when he's with me i dont had to pay. haha....

feifei,
i'm very kiasu, oledi brought the herbal bath at msia last weekend. I brought 40packs. Assuming one pack a day for 30days plus 10packs for washing hair.

feifei,
my mum did bought the red dates, longan and herbal pkts for me liao... she bought big pack for me. sure enough for a month use.
Did anyone got buy Tollyjoy electric food warmer?
i received OG offer booklet shown Tollyjoy elec food warmer+1pcs 4oz feeding bottle+1pc 8oz feeding bottle+ipc 2-in-1 warmer bowl now sales only 36.90dollar!

hi ladies, my advice for first time mummies is not to buy the breast pump till the first few days after delivery. reason is some women do not have milk (Mrs Wong's advice from TMC) and then you would have wasted money with your purchase. her advice to is get the pump only when your milk start flowing (get hubby to go and buy). don't need to worry your breasts will be engorged etc as the best pump for your breasts is your baby. they will suckle the milk out till you get the pump
hope this helps in your decision making.

felicia,
u noe wat the herbal bath thing is call?? any name for tat? how to describe to medical hall?

veniz,
my hb aso e same type of man. so i do all e shoppin myself, get e saleperson to carry to my car, then ask hb to take frm car back hme. n he can stil complain so many things to take when he is not e one shopping hor. if i wait for him to shop, my bb has nothing at all when born liao. hahaha...

zuen,
favoritism issue is not on our thots wo.. no matter how many kids we hav, they r ours n hopefully we wun show favoritism twds them lor. me onli has a elder bro, so cant rely judge favoritism in my family. hb has 3younger siblings n treatment r quite equal, so i guess it dun pose a qn for him aso. we'll c when time comes, now is stil too early to noe.

after seein some frens who hav difficulties conceiving/cant conceive liao, its rely a blessin if we can hav kids, so i'll let nature takes its course lor.

Felicia, I buy as and when I see some of baby stuff, esp clothes can buy from BP which seems to be cheaper than retail.

mrswrx, at least you drive, I dun. So our hbs same same lar. hee.

The herbs if not wrong is called da fong chao. I also haven't get, planning to get soon.

mrswrx,
u just tell them herbal bath for confinement. It's prepacked like bigger version of tea bags. not loose herbs....

i saw at medical halls before.

<font color="0077aa">yeah i strongly agree on Maryann's post coz i have seen a few friends ending up spending lots on a pump and the milk supply was not there.. the money invested could have easily been well spent in other areas.. </font>

maryann,
my mum also ask me not to buy first.. cos she said some bb refuse to drink mummy milk at all.. one of my colleague also.. feed her baby but bb keep refuse to drink and keep crying loud..

iamsnow,

Not bathing everyday? Can tahan? During my #1, i bath everyday, i oledi feel very irritating oledi, somemore June weather is quite warm.

mrswrx,
Ya, is called da fong cao (大风草)。I think is sold at $1 to $1.50 per pack. I brought RM1 per pack. hehe....

Morning Ladies

Just wondering why you all ladies so keen in buying breast pump???Maternity leaves 2 to 3 months at home ma.......can breastfeed as an when the bb needed....

i have tried the herbs from my 2nd prengancy....

felicia,
some CL tell me 2 weeks cannot bathe! can only wipe body....

but heng my CL tell me can bathe, prob 2-3 days once for the first 2 weeks.....

i also cannot tahan leh....

i guess depend on how strict u want to follow the practise loh.... some pple start bathing with herbs straight away everyday.... also like that loh...

Veniz,

I oso brought some new cloths from spree. Anyhow, this round i dont had to buy too many clothing as my minnie can wear hand me down from her sister. But sometimes i just cannot ctrl myself from spending on bb clothing as girl's cloth really look very nice. My hubby commented that i had brought too much for my girl, tats true oso but cant resist temptation.

feifei,
i not getting any herbal bath packs cos be sticking to the ones from little dreamers in bottled forms. easier tat way cos use like normal bath foam n shampoo wif very hot water can oreadi. sorry, no help on tis...

jessica,
hb n me saw the gerber set u refered to at taka as well, the set itself is going at ard $27 (if i recall correctly)? although more worth it in terms of the package, we finally stick back to the Avent Starter Kit ($36+) &amp; NUK teats instead cos can prevent colic. Gerber cos we hve not much info, we decided to forgo.

iamsnow, felicia,
okok. got it! thks thks.

i got few silly qns:
cook e 'da fong cao' or jus brew like tea?

how much boiled water we need for e bath?

use 'da fong cao' to wash our V-part aso?

iamsnow,
Even wipe body oso must use herbal bath leh. Anyhow, is better to buy more , then i had more reason to bath more times in a day.

morraine,
u mentioned tat u got yur ger toilet trained at 1 yr old, rite? can advice how u do tat? m keen to learn as well so tat can toilet train mine as soon as possible...kekekee....thanks!

mrswrx,
i understand from my CL that u use an unwanted kettle to boil water. put the satchet inside to boil together. boil how much I dunno. but she was telling me that 1 pail is enough.... so maybe 1 pail loh....

V-part, not sure leh. I never ask. but I guess its the same. I know my friend's CL boil the herbal pack and pour into a potty, ask her to sit on the potty for the steam to steam her V-part to cleanse....

i guess diff practice????

felicia,
ya loh, wipe also need herbal bath pack....

<font color="0077aa">mrswrx*

cook e 'da fong cao' or jus brew like tea?

<font color="ff0000">- yesh, boil water and place them inside a pail and pour water den water slightly cooled off den can bathe with it using scoop or like me is use the water heater's water and do the same

how much boiled water we need for e bath?

<font color="ff0000"> - up to u one

use 'da fong cao' to wash our V-part aso</font>

<font color="ff0000">- yesh yesh</font>

<font color="0077aa">crystal*

in fact i think its very individual, but i did to let her start is during day time at home, we did not let her wear diapers den we kip bringing her to the toilet every 15mins or so and we tell her each time we do so.. baby shh shh ok? next time tel mummy or auntie ok? den keep repeating this but the downside is tat she wil most likely end up urinating on ur floor for a period of time but its for sure a passing phase and soon voila u wil notice the little one either doing some kind of action or other to show u tat she wants to urine.. for my ger.. she started with pointing to the toilet each time den thereafter she starts to tel us.. and as for night time, u have to see the character of ur child, mine is a deep sleeper as she does not wake up for night feeds so i bring her to the toilet after her last feed of the day and the beginning, we place those waterproof mat under her to prevent her from urinating but she has not disappoint us so far so we removed the mat after 2 weeks

the main point is we parents just have to be more supportive and show patience..</font>

mrswrx,
Ya, boiled together with the herb. My mil will pour out the water into pail and reboil the herb with new pot of water, till fill up the tub for me to take bath.
When i saw some mummies here like Morraine is using water heater, i go bak and sound out my mil, she said cannot, must boil. So, is very up to individual and depend how strict ur CL , mom or mil.

morraine,

i try ur toilet trained method before, but failed coz my girl urine few times on my sofa, so we gave up. Maybe i shld just cover my sofa with water proof material, then start re-train her again.

TF, I read about the faceplate problem from the internet. According to Mums &amp; Babes promotor, PIS advanced has no bad reviews so far. I think they are the sole distributor of Medela products.

Yesterday i brought my son to see PD, so went to Isetan as well. I got nothing to buy ley...
TF, i not going to the private sale liao hehee

veniz.. my hubby is exact opposite of urs.. im always the one compare here, compare there for best prices etc.. he dun like shopping, so his mentality is if this is good, price not impt lah, just grab and run liao... so e bulk of our bb items never compare much also, just heard not bad, then buy liao...
tink we can still extract tooth but cannot put anasethetic.. so will be very painful...

liew, the tollyjoy set seems like a good price.. pigeon already selling food warmer at $50 plus...

err.. do we need to get starter kit? and are the teats impt? coz i got a free starter kit from the pigeon steriliser.. i thought enough liao, not buying anymore :p