(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="0077aa">hmm i think its very individual on the cleanser and even like baby clothings washing detergent powder.. some ppl i noe of oso uses the normal detergent for the bb clothings.. but for my ger's case.. haiz coz we all have family history of sensitive skin so i took extra care in all this misc stuffs.. i have to use baby washing detergent powders so its not harsh on her skin and oso using those cleanser for her milk bottle oso and like certain brands of diapers and diaper rash cream oso onli can be used.. so i guess for those first timer mummies.. just got to try ur luck to see if ur bb belongs to the sensitive family or not

mrswrx,

So, u r aiming 3 kids? For me , 2 is enough. So, will close shop after this. Most couples oso hope to had one boy ,one girl, me oso but i'm hvin 2 princesses. A bit dissappointment initially, but lucky my hubby is ok with 2 princesses.
But not with my mil loh, she try to persuade my hubby to try for #3. *peng*

Hi Dan..i agree with Felicia...gettin a maid is easier...all can stay at one place...everiday can see the kids so nice ....

Me till now hvnt make up my mind ..whether to get a maid or not..bbsiter doesnt wanto take car of my #2...
Getting a maid at home wif no one ard is rather scary ...sigh.......

piyoz,
at 1st i wanted 1 bb onli wo. cos bad MS, bad experience for 4mths!! then if #1 is mickey, i can use e excuse say got boy liao can close shop mah.... but its minnie, so no excuse n hb veri persistent in #2 n #3... he wans big family wo.. n he wans them when we r stil young.. i drag 3yrs b4 tis pregnancy liao, so #2 n #3 i cant drag again liao.

hopefully bb has normal skin so use anythin in future aso wil be easier.. but let bb has a betta start 1st lor, then slowly change to c if she can adapt.

Hi hi

Besides the baby stroller, will anyone be getting the baby sling? I am thinking of getting one when I go out with the baby.

Any recommendations?

felicia,
my mil n mum ok wif princess wo.. they said most importantly bb is healthy can liao. but hb wanted boy boy leh.. i aso hope to hav a boy, at least can share interest wif him mah. i tink if all 3 r princesses, i needa go for #4!! *faint* lor. tats wat he said. so keep my fingers crossed when expecting #2. its easy for man to hav kids, but its us who suffer!!

rizty
i think i will hire a maid n my mom can guide her wif the kids n housework....at least i no need to run here n there and my 2 sons can play wif their bb gerl

For the 1st yr, i will use bb detergent &amp; cleanser for bb, and once everything is really ok then i change

hi star, I was previously contemplating getting combi miracle something.. it's suitable from newborns up to 36 months old. most slings are only suitable for 9 months onwards (once head control is in), but eventually, SIL told me when bb is that big (ie. over 12 moonths old, it's hard to carry him, esp if I'm pregnant with #2). So I bought Le Bebes or something. there are 3 or 4 ways of carrying.. also forgot how much and bought from where... from newborn onwards till dun know how old (3 or 4 years old) but much cheaper than combi. The Combi Miracle something is selling at $148.

star,

I ored get a bb sling (those cloth one, can tie several ways), bot at around $40+. I forget the brand but its v commonly seen in bb shops.

mrswrx
Wish u the best....anyway bb gerl or boy i still stop at 3...age catching up already n too tired have to start all over again.

mrswrx,

My mil initially oso keep saying girl is ok as long as is healthy but then after sometimes, she felt my hubby and i were serious about closing shop after this #2, so she start to 'brainwash' us to try #3. But hubby was firm to stop at 2, so my mil oso cant said much on this.

morraine,
ya lor, a lot depends on bb. I use mama lemon for washing. but for my bb's clothes, I buy pigeon detergent. cos my bb's skin super sensitive.

mrswrx,
your hb like big family. good leh.... envy envy..... my hb also super pro boys. hope you get boy boy for your #2 =)

star,
I got MIM baby sling. cheap and good. but must fiddle around quite a big to get the hang of it working. Depends on which kind of carrier you want also. MIM can only carry baby facing mummy. Some carriers can allow baby to face both front and back.

mrswrx,
wah, must get boy then can keep mountain!! Dun mean to scare u but my SIL's fren has 4 gals before she has a boy leh. She must have a boy as her hubby is the only child so her MIL tells her to try until she has a son. For me, 2 is enough whether boy or gal cos I have difficulty getting pregnant and I am already 33 this year. If I ever have another, it would be an 'accident'

star, when you are choosing your sling, there are a few considerations:

1) safety
2) durability
3) ease of wash
4) comfort to bb
5) different positions to carry bb in (range from 1 to 4 positions)
6) Age/weight of bb (newborns must be carried lying down cos no neck control yet)
7) provides for discreet breastfeeding (?)
8) price
9) covered by warranty (the more ex models/brands have warranty)
10) lumbar/criss-cross support for the person carrying the bb, or else neck and back may hurt
11) easy to put bb into sling ?

if $ is not an issue, the best sling I've seen so far is Combi's miracle something. Isetan sells it and sometimes have Combi items on 20% discount. normal price is $148. Comes in 2 or 3 colours.

cactus,

I think my mil oso likes to had lot of grandkids but herself only had 2 kids, both boys. My hubby is the eldest. And my mil keep telling me she din had more children is because last time, they are very poor, cannot had more. Then she said since me and hubby is working, so we shld had more.

Worst case is my hubby's bro is telling my mil that he's not goin to married, so i think my mil worry no grandson, tats why asking us to try #3.

muffin,

I also have one friend 4 girls then finally 1 boy. Another friend 4 boys.

Another friend 3 girls, then want to close shop already. Cos many people tell her 4th one usually the same gender. The 5th one will be other gender.

last 2 weeks i met my schoolmates and have lunch buffet wif them....one of them is expecting #6 which is due on April.....wow...she's my junior...

<font color="0077aa">piyoz*

ya lor we had to spend extra on these misc things but luckily my ger was toilet trained when she was one so we had super savings in the diapers side so fair!! lol

as for kids.. i wil stop at 2 unless me or hubby get super great salary jump den wil consider my #3.. ha ha ha.. quite impossible i suppose.. so as far as im concerned.. my factory is closed till further notice!! </font>

danryan, piyoz,
thks for e wishes.

felicia,
i dunno whether mil is 'kou shi xin fei' anot. but dun care la.. she cant control me or hb aso. she shld be happy we r willing to hav kids. heehee

muffin,
i dunno wo.. tats wat hb said nw la. if in 4yrs time stil all minnies, then he wil decide lor. but by then i wil immune to child birthing liao. hahahaha.. like 'mu-zhu'!! *oink oink*

danryan,

#6!!!! oh.... hero leh.

morraine,
So lucky. Diapers also big cost leh. I using cloth diapers for my boy and disposables only at night or going out. See $$$$ being throw away everyday. Heartache also.

piyoz
ya lor...surprising leh....she got 2 maids to handle all the kids...

any mom have 5 yr old son?.......my son still using diapers to sleep at nite....he always give excuses he cannot wake up to pass urine...one more thing he still drink milk in the bottle b4 go to bed.........how to stop him fr all these?????HELP

cactus
Power rite?? I have a gal already wanna peng san. But when u have 1, he/she v baobei, when u hv 3 or more, basically u will close 1 eye liao. Her kids are pretty much look after themselves, her eldest dun go for any enrichment classes as she needs to look after her sisters. The mum was recently called to see teacher as her results were poor and her teacher suggested that she goes for tuition. Her mom juz told the teacher she dun have the time. hiaz

Danryan, I don't have a child yet, but my suggestion is let your son sleep without diapers. let him get used to the idea of wetness and if he doesn't like it (he shouldn't like it cos it's smelly and cold!) he will be forced to wake up to pee. You will prob have to establish that he is not afriad of using the toilet at night first.

as for the milk bottle, try telling him that he is a big boy now and big boys don't drink from a bottle like a baby. another thing is to let him drink milk from a sippy cup and dump all the bottles away.

I don't have kids but I'm very close to my younger cousins and I see how my uncles/aunts bring them up.

morraine/ piyoz,

My heartache comes when my girl refused to tell us when she's goin to poo poo. And she likes to poo right after we change new diaper. Just within few mins, i had to throw away 2 diapers.

Hi Cactus

Thanks for the info!
Wow Combi one is really high end o.. I also dunno should I get something high price or avg cos I think ultimately its still up to the baby.
Like u, I am also very 'niao' when it comes to baby stuff.

My hb not really supportive to getting a cot as he felt that the child will not be able to sleep for too long. I suggest to get those to convert to toddler bed instead.

However, at Ikea, we found out those child's bed is much cheaper then a baby cot!

hi star,

yes. combi miracle compact (now I remember the full name) is high end but there are other lower end combi slings which are about the same as the average type outside (save for the brand name). At the bottom of the rung, you have the sarong type of slings. I don't think it's necessary to invest is a good, long lasting sling cos chances are you won't want to continue carrying your toddler when she/he is 3 or 4 years old! What is importnat though is ensure you have good back support for the sling that you buy or else you will have back/neck ache.. not worth it. My plan is only to carry the bb with the sling for 4 to 6 months. when bb starts to wriggle more, I'll secure bb in the stroller. the stroller I bought is suitable for newborns onwards. if the stroller you bought/are planning to buy is from 9 months onwards, you may want to get a sling suitable for newborns up to at least 9 months.

as for the cot, Star, I feel cots are expensive cos they are a baby specific product. It's like, most bb stuff, the manufacturers know parents will spend on bb, so it is priced high loh. and it is a specific product. therefore more costly.

I feel that cots have their benefit - can separate newborn from older children. easier to communicate with a baby in a cot higher than on the floor. also, it is eaiser to pick up bb from cot than the floor. but if you are interested in montessari, they actually encourage bbs to be placed on a mattress or low bed on the floor!

Dan,

My colleague said she also sticky to milk bottle when young then force to remove the habit when all her milk bottles are thrown away.

Star,

How much is the difference btw kids bed and bb cot?

Cos bb cot need not be v ex, i saw at Kiddy Palace cost only around $100++.

Can someone add me to the yahoo group as well? Do we need a yahoo email to log in. If so, my email is [email protected]. Many thanks in advance.

I'll be visiting taka this thursday. Anybody need me to find out the prices of any products?

Ellysia - The one that I saw at Ikea the baby cot cost ard $250+ but the child's bed which is expandable only $190. And now with the sale on, I wonder will they be further discount.

Like what Cactus said, the cot definetly is much easier when placing the baby into cot esp when during our first few months, we should not strain our back.

Arrr... The manufacturers know that we will splurge on our kids and will just buy on the things 'willingly'.

Like what my mum said the other day, when I was a baby, they use the pot to sterilise our milk bottles. But nowadays parents must buy steriliser and this and that hehe

star,

Our mother time most of them dun work one, so can afford the time to use pot etc.

Now where got time to do all these things, of course use modern equipment lor.

Hi ,
Talking about slings, yes i bought mine from Mum's R us. was considering between the carrier baby bjorn versus the sling, eventually decided on the sling, thought it was more versatile. and baby may not like the hardness of sitting in the carrier.

Bought the SwaddleMe at taka fair, as well as the Avent VIa storage cups over at the fair. also bought a few essential items like the pigeon box wipes. (quite worth it),bathtowels and terry cloths.

As for baby cot, i bought mine at baby avenue along balestier road. Not bad, it's like baby kingdom or baby hypermar. around $270 comes with 9 pcs bedding set.

anybody looking for someone to wax their legs in the comfort of your own home? i've got a recommendation. just had mine done at my place. half legs waxing. Not as painful and no hassle to travel to shopping malls to wait. only $38 with an additional $10 for travel expenses. and the wax aint that painful as some others that i've tried elsewhere. anyway interested, just let me know.

mrswrx,
You aiming for #3!!?? Jia you, jia you. I had been gg home for dinner frequently (recently) and it is so nice to eat at the table with a big family. For a while, I was tempted to have 3 kids too. But now, the 1st one havent come out and I have phobia of preggy liao. ;p Moreover, I always tink that 3 kids will result in middle child syndrome.

Gg off now.

zuen,
me no choice wo. hb wans 3, i go ahead lor. at 1st i aso phobia of pregnant but its like part of e 'package'. hahaha. hb kept saying: u'll get used to it! / #1 is like tat, #2 n #3 wil be smooth sailing liao. *faint*
at least he is e 1 who likes kids more than i do, so leave to fate bah, if fated we hav few kids we'll take it!! + my bro is married so many yrs w/o kids (sil dun wan kids), so my parents pinned hopes on us so badly.

hi girls..

do not read on if you are not interested in strollers!! its a very long msg!!

i went to taka fair just wanting to find out more abt quinny zapp($588 with infant car seat), peg P3($498) and perhaps combi miracle turn($629)

i went with a frn who is a mother of a 6 mth boy, and im surprised how much ive learnt from her and also the eventual choice i have for strollers.

quinny zapp's infant car seat is so nice. it looks so sporty and the baby feels nearer to you becoz of the height..its like a pram rather than a stroller. i really love the look of it. but it can only last till abt 1 year of age and the baby has to be on the main stroller. underneath basket has to be removed when using infant car seat and u have nowhere to put yr shopping bags. the stroller has a very big down side which is , it cannot be reclined. like it or not, yr kid, right up to age 4 if still using it, will have to doze off upright. i pushed it around and the wheels are steady n smooth.

peg P3. its very bulky to me with lotsa cloth folds. however it has a bigger bum space compared to quinny. if u buy the infant seat togther at #319, the baby can face you but will last u till only 1 year of age. it has got this supension on four wheels that gives the baby a smoother ride on rough flooring (then again, i think i will only ride on smooth mall's flooring, rather than pebbly garden grounds). it also has a step that allows a older child to "hitch a ride" and proves that it has very good balance system whereby the storller will not collaspe backwards in case of shopping bags that are overloaded at the handles. handles are height adjustable for yr tall husband.

combi miracle turn. just learnt that its not that u need 4 wheels for the stroller to be nimble! its that the handles can be adjust to allow baby facing u or otherwise, and hence, the front or hind wheels that will be decided to be the ones at work. effectively at any pt of time, only 2 wheels are rotatable 360 degrees while the other 2 will be locked to only move forward or backward. i pushed it around and realised it the worst in terms of stabliity..its very flimsy and shakey!!!

to my surprise, i pretty much like this Bon be be FREESTAR..usual at $399 but going for $199. its like a imitation and revised version of the quinny! it doesnt comes with a option of a car seat. but the good is that the stroller seat itself can be reclined. it looks almost exactly like a quinny side by side. it has a mesh that allows u to peek through to see the baby(coz it cannot face you).handles height not adjustable. i tot the "bedding" looks a bit bare compared to the plushness of peg P3 but my gal frn whent to take a stroller/car seat cushion and we try n test on it...and it fits well! so no problem with the neck support part. it weights 7.5kg and can last til 4 years of age. peg P3 weight 8kg. only that this stroller is china made. which i wonder if its inferior in quality in any way. i pushed it around and to my surprise, it very stable and smooth.

ive accepted the fact that i will end up buying another stroller anyway in time to come for a lighter stroller. so its not exactly economical to splurge on $500 and then will end up buying a light n cheap one for travelling (overseas) again.

heavy stroller= STABILITY
light stroller=convenience

i need both and they happen to contradict.

so since the bonn be be is abt the same weight as peg p3, i believe they will both feel more solid when we are now handling an infant. will buy a light one when we bring our little kid to travel age perhaps age2-3 onwards n it doesnt make sense to bring along a peg P3 anymore..

i will also buy a britax car seat instead that last me till 4 yrs of age and has been proven to the best on a crash test at $329

hope my info and feedback helps! sorry for being so loooooooooooog winded!!

mrswrx,

If you &amp; ur hubby can afford financially plus ur hubby is willing to help out in taking care of the children, then having 3 shldnt be a big issue.
Thou this is my 2nd pregnancy but occasionally i still had probia oso.

HI all,

I bot a Medela PIS pump just now!!

Hb agreed to share part of the cost, so i bought from mum &amp; babes just now, last set left. The promo price is $688, and include a cooler bag, one box of Medela milk bags, Medela nipple cream &amp; one box of Medela breast pads. Overall, the freebies given is more worth although taka sell the same pump $10 cheaper.